If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

I get it, but the thing about most unplanned murders/homicides is that the circumstances are usually such that if a couple of things had been slightly different, then the murder wouldn't have happened at all. This is usually just coincidence not evidence of planning. They are most likely just the circumstances of her death, without needing a reason for being so. If we look for reason, we will inevitably find one, but it doesn't mean it's valid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Good post.

It is easy to fall into the trap of over thinking things and being drawn into increasingly complicated scenarios.

Many theories are possibly correct but the simplest is usually the best starting point.

Another way to look at it could be, if the killer knew her, and knew that she was alone this time, he might be more willing to act like a prick when he knew she had no one to back her up or protect her. Happens all the time in bars pubs when women are alone vs with another person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭tibruit

Absolutely. He was seen in the village across the street wearing a long black coat and black hat when Sophie exited Spar minutes earlier. He acknowledged himself that he was in Schull at around that time. Marie has often been photographed wearing glasses when she`s been out and about, so it is obvious to conclude that they are for distance. She wouldn`t have been wearing them in the shop with a customer handling cash, labels and receipts etc. Looking across the street then at the figure that she probably assumed was in the company of Mme Du Plantier, it is easy to understand how the blurry black hat that Bailey was wearing on the day was confused for a beret. Ooh La La.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Zola1000

Definitely,I always felt it was key..she wanted few people to travel with her and nobody was available so she travelled alone..it's crucial I think to overall opportunity presented to perpetrators.

Agreed, possibly a car helped the perpetrators and if it wasn't bailey, that car was kept out of sight for a while or kept somewhere good bit further away remotely. But nothing to verify any of that..but as you say gloves protective gear or plastic would really have brought it to level of planning...but if we say that were saying they went there with intent of murder..or was it just conversation that led to rage...

Right so the premise of the whole case is let's make Bailey the prime suspect and rule out everyone else based on an eyewitness description that looks nothing like him. Ooh la la indeed.

So he must have at least arrived with gloves and some kind of cloth or plastic or the likes to cover Sophie's head whilst bashing her head.

Why?

Yes thats good assessment as well to show the type of perpetrator, clearly deluded and it's level of beating she got..it just always feels that there was something that says they were at odds over something previously and one of them wanted to have final say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,159 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

We are relying on the testimony of a witness without her glasses! Who mistook Bailey for a man of medium height.

A witness who has tied herself up in knots with different versions and withdrawn and contradicted herself.

Why say beret if not sure? You dont. You would be vaguer.

It was also described as a beret by Griffin:

“He said he saw this man wearing a long black coat and black beret that he didn’t recognise and he said he saw him walk up Ardmanagh, but he makes no mention of ever seeing Sophie."

Two people mistaking a beret?

Was he not wearing his glasses too? Or what excuse will you try?

The logical objective explanation is that it wasnt Bailey.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

She was out five inches in the height but she said "very tall". He was wearing a black hat not a beret. Other than that she was spot on and I have produced photos of Bailey from the time period on these threads in the past to support the thin frame and sallow skinned descriptions.

Her original statement made no mention of very tall. Which would be the most obvious thing that occurred to anyone who actually saw Bailey and were actually trying to describe him.

Not a beret ffs.

If she saw someone it wasnt Bailey.

She only came up with very tall after the Guards worked on her.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2014/1204/664598-ian-bailey/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,350 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

If it’s a pre-planned killing, which I don’t believe it is - one thing is certain- it wasn’t Bailey

Look you either accept eyewitness testimony as it is written, or you pervert the course of justice. You can't go around interpreting things different than they are written. You use it as is, or you lose it. That description was not sufficient to make Bailey a prime suspect, in fact to doesn't even contribute to evidence of him being a suspect, in fact it would be evidence for the defence in a trial, not the prosecution.

Ah yeah. The Guards worked on her. Says who? Marie? She said "very tall" in the same statement that she said "beret". I wonder why the Guards didn`t work on her on that one so?

Use it as it is then. She says she saw the same man on the Airhill Road early next morning and the Gardaí were not aware that Bailey had been there on that morning at the time she made her statement. The man was clearly Bailey in both instances. To this day she still claims the same man was also at Kealfada as far as I am aware.

Though they are willing to tamper with witnesses and witness statements, as we have seen they werent the sharpest minds trying to pin this on Bailey.

Plus bit hard when you have two original witness statements mentioning a beret even for dodgy Guards thats a lot. Neither of the original witness statements describes Bailey mention the most obvious thing that he is a big man. Something the Guards tried to play up to pin the violent murder on Bailey without realising it discredited this angle.

And they probably didnt cop that no one else mentions Bailey having a beret.

Thats how weak their case was and is. They tried to make something out of nothing without realising objectively it points away from Bailey.

Unless you can find a credible report of Bailey and a beret- this is a busted flush.

I wonder where the lad in the beret was when Sophie exited Spar? So then Bailey was seen across the street in his long black coat when Sophie came out of Spar. The witness knew both of them so there was no confusion. But minutes later, when she was in Marie`s shop, there was a different man in black across the street. Then Bailey spent the night in a house close to the Airhill Road and on at least one occasion left early in the morning apparently to try to get home. Wouldn`t you know it, Marie saw the same man she had seen outside her shop on the same road early that morning too. How unfortunate does a fella have to be? Busted flush indeed.

Ok everyone will have still different opinions on this. Like can we really say that someone didn't know she was going to be at house alone or travelled alone...does that warrant some form of pre planned to go there..

I know it might dispel the theory the killer went back to close out the door if he did and check if someone was there. Eitherway like it just seems like incredible amount of variables.

The killer knew the terrain taking the block at pump house or killing her further down lane out of sight..could all these be just opportunity that presented themselves in moment..

image.png

Out and about with the glasses on. Distance only it seems. Wouldn`t have been wearing them when she saw the lad in the beret.

How unfortunate does he have to be… Well he was unfortunate enough to be 'placed' in the vicinity of the crime scene by one of these witnesses at 3am, a sighting well is there anyone on the planet who still thinks that is credible?
    A most unfortunate man. Well that's what happens when you have a police force out to drum up evidence against you, by fair means and foul.

Let's make it simple.

Bailey's a big man, no beret.

Two witnesses see a man with a beret, not described as a big man.

We also have another witness on Schull Main Street that day:
    Restauranteur John Evans also saw a man in a long black coat in Schull on the same day, a man who appeared French/Italian to him. Evans knew Bailey but didn’t identify him in his statements.

Objectively beyond all reasonable doubt - the man seen was not Bailey.
    And the man seen did not look typically Irish \ British but Mediterranean.

So the interesting question is, who was that man and what was he doing?

Seems like we have another potential lead not properly investigated by AGS.

This undermines her statement even more.

Let me get this straight, you believe that Bailey should have been the prime suspect because of an eyewitness report which doesn't describe him. The gardai stopped looking into other lines of enquiry, and then a few weeks later he was arrested due to the same witness providing another implausible eyewitness report. And that same witness later retracted these statements and appeared on both sides of the case prosecution and defence in two different trials. And yet you wonder why people question the garda theory and circumstances of the case 🤦‍♂️.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,350 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

That is complete and utter rubbish and debunked again and again on this thread- why do you keep drumming up lies to prop up your pathetic case against Bailey?

“Ms Farrell said she was told by Det Garda Jim Fitzgerald that they needed to "do something to tidy up" the file for the DPP because the description did not fit.

She originally told police the man she saw was 5ft 8ins tall and of slim build.

A later statement described the man as Mr Bailey and said he was taller than a particular police officer who was 6ft tall and that she may have been mistaken about his height originally because she was standing on a higher level than him across the street.

She also said that statements she made about numerous incidents of intimidation by Mr Bailey, including phone calls and cut-throat gestures, were not true.

She said she was told by Det Fitzgerald that they needed the statements to build up a good file and to put pressure on the Director of Public Prosecutions to charge Mr Bailey.“

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-30337533.amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I'd say that Farrell's evidence can be discounted as she has two versions. One is wrong or even both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,490 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I think I've explained this often enough.

Suppose one uses a cavity block to bash Sophie's head in multiple times, one would with utter certainty be full of blood. The killer was either full of Sophie's blood or he found some way of preventing this from happening. Whilst doing the bashing he couldn't have been more than one meter away, I'd say even less, unless he had extra long arms.

He could also have worn a haz mat suit, but I'd say that's unlikely.

It'll be a bit obvious if he killer was hiking home, or drove home whilst being seen by others, neighbours, his wife, etc…

Bailey would theoretically have had the studio to shower and change and dispose of everything.

She wasn't wearing her glasses. But we're expected to believe her when she positively identifies a specific individual months later?
    Was she wearing the glasses or not?
    Does she need the glasses or not?
    Catch 22.

Similarly Griffin had a fleeting glimpse of an individual at 70 yards walking away from him… and then can positively identify a specific individual months later? Nope.

Plainly, whoever it was, it wasn't Bailey.

And?

What if he was covered in blood?

I think he probably was.

Doesn't follow that he wore gloves and certainly no reason to belive he carried some cover to wrap Sophie in to protect him from blood spatter.

Far more likely he lost his rag with her, battered the poor woman and left the scene with bloodied clothes/shoes/hands etc etc.

For the front door, the top portion of the lock has been latched which means that it cannot lock behind her if she stepped out. It would have to be physically locked with the keys, however the keys are in the lock, therefore it would have had to have been locked on the inside. Am I missing something here?

Unless in this case the bottom, door handle locking mechanism, is the one that latched locked when she stepped out, is that correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,490 ✭✭✭tinytobe

The man with the beret was apparently identified on the photo taken at the funeral in France. The police have apparently spoken to him, but he probably denied everything, even ever having been to Ireland. Also the credibility of Marie Farrell is to be questioned.

It's just a deduction I have made. The killer must have made it home from the murder site, so much is clear. If he was full of blood he'd risked everything if he was seen, if he wasn't having blood on himself, nobody would have suspected him. No neighbour, no wife, no other family member, not the employer, nobody.

So unless he was lucky and nobody saw him or he was a total loner living at home alone as well, he'd have to have had some kind of preparation to keep the blood from himself. If asked anybody would have remembered a man full of blood on himself that night.

Another speculation, if the driver of the Fiesta was the killer and he was speeding and forcing somebody off the road it would indicate the killer was nervous. Everyone would remember a speeding car trying to force somebody off the road, nobody would remember a car driving normally.

Again, all speculation but worth a consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Mannesmann

I wonder was the discarded bottle of wine brought by Sophie or by the killer as some kind of Christmas present to her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,587 ✭✭✭chooseusername

The top lock is a ‘drawback rimlock nightlatch’. Both the drawback latch and the deadbolt are in the ‘open’ position in the photo. If this is how that lock was found in the morning Sophie did not lock herself out. The bottom lock would require taking the keys out with her and locking it from the outside, since the keys are inside this did not happen.