If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭lmao10

You won't get answers as usual.

As far as Muslims go, I've met a lot of people from Arab countries in my line of work and once I got to know some of them well enough and we were bringing up topics, naturally the topic of religion came up and almost all of them turned out to actually be atheist. Some also believed in a god but not a man made religious god. Especially the younger ones. Even the Saudi Arabian ones who grew up under Sharia Law. The actual ones that were Muslim were sound. I can't recall any weirdos, just polite lads and lasses with good senses of humour. The far right types have probably never interacted with any of them and just got propaganda'd into their beliefs by incel far right influencers. Most of those incels were lifelong outcasts and we all know the type. They were probably left wingers before they got roped in and I know of a lad myself who donated money to some of the far right lads who upload videos and then put the obligatory "buy me a coffee/go fund me" link lol. He regrets it now to be fair to him.

At the end of the day the core belief of the far right posters here is that "the government hates the indigenous Irish!!" and "England has fallen due to Islam!!". Speaks for itself really doesn't it.

I saw a chap saying he's been living in England for 35 years. A migrant complaining about migrants. However one thing that struck me is that he's probably 60 years old. I'm in my mid 20s. I think the older chaps are more easily propaganda'd by the internet since they probably sit on those sites and consume the content for hours a day. I suppose you only have to look at the far right protests to see the demographic.

If people actually wanted to talk weird conspiracies, I can imagine a scenario where it's all some kind of large scale MK Ultra mind control type program. Controlling the social media platforms behind the scenes and using big data to propagandise different parts of the populations. It sounds wacky but these exact things have been done on large scales by governments before. My dad is surprised at how the loyalists were so easily able to infiltrate and use far right lads to propagandise (traitors I think would be my preferred term). Money talks I suppose. He knows how all of these far right types would have been treated in these areas back in his day, probably because he was partaking in giving out some slaps himself lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

1. Never said that
    2. Never said that
    3. Never said that

Once again, if you feel like engaging with some of the points and discussion above please go ahead - if you could address actual specific points that have been made rather than whatever your own reductive spin on them is, like in a normal conversation, that would be great

You quoted me responding to those posters posts.

I never said you said anything.

I am asking do you believe these things. I was replying to posters who posted those posts you inserted yourself in that discussion and now you seem upset that we are having this discussion.

Lets focus on the first assertion.

Do you agree that Ireland is at real risk of islamification?

I don't think the onus is on me to prove that Ireland isn't being islamified but rather on those who put forward this mad notion. To prove it is.

For the record the most recent stats says Ireland population is 1.6% Muslim.

What percentage is too much for you?

What is your actual point here?

What, that most of those migrating aren’t really practising Muslims, or are in fact atheists?
    That’s really not borne out by what we see over in France or the UK

Oh right yeah they’re just polite lads that force their women to cover their heads because of a book - yeah no it’s the people that have an issue with that that are the weirdos.

Not just far right but we’ve moved onto far right incels now? Lol wonder what’ll be the next “I can’t make a point so I have to rely on smears/labels/insults” ad hominem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,328 ✭✭✭prunudo

In the Republic of Ireland, there were 83,300 Muslims recorded in the 2022 census, making up 1.62% of the total population. This represents a 29.1% increase compared to the 2016 census

Given our population has increased drastically in the 3 years since the '22 census, it stands to reason, given the demographics coming here, that the Muslim population has also increased through both immigration and those already here having babies.

Anyone who can't see the similarities to what has happened in other European countries and what will happen here over the next few years, either has skin in the game or their heads in the sand. But yeah, just keep throwing out insults and name calling to divert attention away from the changes in the country.

We as a country have in recent years finally moved on from the BS of the Catholic Church, and as such I would oppose the growth of any sector of society that holds similarly regressive beliefs, as I also oppose the growth of the far right

The patterns of migration and population growth are there to be seen in the UK, France, Sweden etc - this is not something I would like to see in Ireland

Do you take issue with any of the beliefs and practices of Islam?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

@RobbieTheRobber don't post in this thread again

Hopefully now we can have some discussion without the hysteria.

To those who ridicule the idea of Ireland being “islamified” (however one defines that - let’s say for the sake of discussion, that it means Islamic influences creeping into politics and law as they have in the UK, France etc.), what is it that makes you so sure that Ireland is immune to something that has affected so many other European countries? What makes us different? Especially given that we now have one of the highest rates of immigration per head of population of any country in the EU, and pretty much no checks or balances, why do you feel we are somehow going to avoid this issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Repro212

For those that are unaware, Peter Sutherland is long gone but in 2012, as the UN's special representative for migration, he attended the House of Lords EU home affairs sub-committee which was at the time investigating global migration. Sutherland, a regular attender at Bilderberg meetings, told that committee that the future prosperity of EU states depended on them becoming multicultural and that the EU should be doing its best to undermine homogeneity, however difficult it may be to explain this to the citizens of those states.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-18519395

What we are witnessing all around us is no pie in the sky, right wing conspiracy theory. The mass movement of people was planned and enabled behind the scenes years ago while we were busy getting on with life. Some countries have since recognised the folly of this plan and pulled back but the non-entities running Ireland bought in hook, line and sinker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

We as a country have in recent years finally moved on from the BS of the Catholic Church

That’s a strange claim to make when according to the last census in 2022, 69% of the population are Catholic?

In Census 2022, over 3.5 million people living in the State reported that their religion was Roman Catholic, accounting for 69% of the population.

And 77% of those, are Irish citizens -

• In total, 77% of Irish citizens identified as Roman Catholic and 13% identified as having no religion.
    • The proportion of Polish citizens who were Roman Catholic was relatively high as well at 70%, with a further 15% having no religion.
    • Over 41% of UK citizens had no religion, while 26% were Roman Catholic and 14% were in the grouping of Church of Ireland or England, Anglican and Episcopalian.
    • Almost half of Indian citizens were Hindu and just under a quarter were Roman Catholic.
    • Nearly two-thirds of Romanian citizens reported their religion as Orthodox (Greek, Coptic, Russian).

There was an error displaying this embed.

Hopefully now we can have some discussion without the hysteria. 

To those who ridicule the idea of Ireland being “islamified”

That second statement contradicts the first 🤨

No, based on the experience of the rest of Europe, it doesn’t. But I wouldn’t expect you to admit that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,803 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The government need to grow a pair and sort this out. They're pushing all this division onto the people and sitting back

Yeah I’m sure that’s why mass attendances are at their lowest ever levels, ordinations are at their lowest ever levels, church marriages are at their lowest ever levels (actually a minority of services now), church is embroiled in numerous scandals, we elected a gay Taoiseach and we voted as a nation for gay marriage and abortion - yeah we’re really well in the grip of the Catholic Church

The Church is an irrelevance in modern Irish life - you couldn’t prove any more succinctly that you don’t actually live in Ireland if you’re attempting to argue otherwise

The idea of Ireland being “Islamified”, even based upon your own criteria, which you are suggesting is the experience in the rest of Europe, is nothing but hysteria. It doesn’t come anywhere close to being entertained as a reasonable suggestion when by your own criteria -

however one defines that - let’s say for the sake of discussion, that it means Islamic influences creeping into politics and law as they have in the UK, France etc

Islamic influences have not crept into politics and law in either the UK, France, and in countries in Europe which have a Muslim majority, those countries have been Muslim majorities for centuries.

Can you give an example of either laws or political policies influenced by Islam in either France or the UK? It’s not a gotcha question or anything else, I can’t think of any, much less any influence of Islam in Irish politics or laws. Regardless of their religious beliefs, everyone is compelled to adhere to civil laws in Ireland, UK, France, etc. Those who choose not to, can find themselves facing prosecution, regardless of their religious beliefs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,328 ✭✭✭prunudo

Seeing as anecdotes are allowed again, personally speaking, in my local church I see Sunday mass numbers being steady and even climbing slightly. With a combination of Catholic immigrants attending and also locals returning to the church.

We both know I’m wasting my time responding to you, as you will either change the goalposts or ignore the evidence, but I like to try to educate where I can, so here goes:

https://www.theguardian.com/law/2017/mar/01/inside-britains-sharia-councils-hardline-and-anti-women-or-a-dignified-way-to-divorce

Fair enough if that’s your experience but overall it is dropping and that trend will continue, as I noted above ordinations, church weddings, funerals and otherwise keystone touchpoints most lay people have with the church are all in decline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Rather than saying 'the second point contradicts the first', could you address the points the poster made?

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/mass-exodus-over-41pc-of-worshippers-fail-to-return-to-church-after-covid-survey-shows/42404299.html

Boards being funny and won’t allow me edit to add, but I also wanted to point out that our popular vote for gay marriage and abortion clearly shows that church teaching are not something the majority of people consider when making their political decisions

Not a single Muslim country has legalised gay marriage by popular vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,803 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

We stopped building churches but we are building mosques, that would suggest the opposite

Natty while I don’t mean to complain about the enormous benefit an opportunity to be educated by your good self provides, I think it only pertinent to point out that the article you provided for me to read not only contradicts your assertions of Islamification, I mean it directly contradicts it -

I am at the mosque’s sharia council, which in the past year has dealt with 400 requests for divorce. Sharia councils – often mislabelled as sharia courts – have a sinister reputation in the UK. Like halal meat and the niqab, they are a dog whistle for those seeking to imply that there is a creeping Islamification of the UK. In part, this is because sharia – Islamic – law is synonymous in many people’s minds with terrifying punishments such as stoning. The reality of the councils is much less bloodthirsty but there are still reasons to worry.

Almost all the sharia councils, which first appeared in the UK in the 1980s, were founded to facilitate Islamic divorces for Muslim women who need a religious scholar to end their marriage where their husbands don’t consent (they may also offer religious advice on inheritance, wills or issue religious rulings). They are not the only religious councils – there are also the Jewish Orthodox Beth Din, and Catholic tribunals. The sharia councils are often accused of operating a “parallel legal system” in the UK, but their rulings have no legal standing here or abroad, and they have no enforcement powers. As unofficial bodies, they also have no jurisdiction over custody or financial issues. What they rely on is the weight that religious rulings carry in the Muslim community.

Not that I think you were dog-whistling or anything, though if you’re unfamiliar with the subject I don’t expect you or anyone else would know better. Where it rises to the level of hysteria though is when you make claims which aren’t supported by evidence. When the claims you make are directly contradicted by your own evidence, I’m not sure what I’d call that tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭bilbot79

When Emmanuel Macron was in a spat with Recep Tayyip Erdogan and criticized Islam Erdogan went on about him offending 1bn people and the next thing you know, France was in flames.

When the Turkish president and the 1bn Muslims in other countries are able to set France alight with a few words, you know you should have arrested the march of Islam when it was just 1.6%.

In the UK there are politicians who will speak of nothing else but Gaza. Britain and British people's everyday lives don't come into it. I seriously doubt UK would have threatened to recognize Palestine if Muslims were not so enmeshed in their politics.

When the west wants to act as one, it needs to make a concerted and deliberate effort. Islam needs no effort, there is immediate international consensus because Religion comes first not nationality or politics or law.

Some folks make arguments about how normal regular Muslim folks are but these are still the folks that Erdogan inflamed and these are still the folks that will privately vote along Muslim lines becuase they see themselves differently.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/10/26/french-president-comments-over-islam-keep-sparking-outrage

😂 “Show me evidence of islamification”

shows evidence

“But this islamification is GOOD islamification”

😂😂😂

Hold on a second now, you defined Islamification as this -

let’s say for the sake of discussion, that it means Islamic influences creeping into politics and law as they have in the UK, France etc.)

I asked you for an example of it, because I couldn’t think of any, and you responded with this:

We both know I’m wasting my time responding to you, as you will either change the goalposts or ignore the evidence, but I like to try to educate where I can, so here goes:

The article you provided makes it clear that Sharia Councils have no legal recognition in the UK. I haven’t changed the goalposts, I haven’t ignored the evidence which you provided which doesn’t support your claims.

By all means have another crack to educate me with evidence that actually supports your claims next time, particularly when you’re making the point that hopefully now we can have some discussion without the hysteria, while relying on nothing but hysteria to make your point about the Islamification of Ireland, as though that’s an argument that deserves to be entertained.

What are Sharia councils? What is their purpose?

It says what they are and what their purpose is, right there in the article which you provided as evidence of the influence of Islam in law and politics?

Almost all the sharia councils, which first appeared in the UK in the 1980s, were founded to facilitate Islamic divorces for Muslim women who need a religious scholar to end their marriage where their husbands don’t consent (they may also offer religious advice on inheritance, wills or issue religious rulings).

They have nothing whatsoever to do with politics or civil law, they’re an entirely religious concept pertaining to adherents of Islam. They don’t apply to anyone who isn’t an adherent of Islam. They’re similar to the way in which Tribunals function in the Roman Catholic Church - the conditions of religious marriage have no bearing, no influence whatsoever, on civil law or politics, and they like to keep it that way because it allows them to imagine they have some sort of authority that isn’t over-ridden by the civil laws of the jurisdiction in which they operate.

Ok your turn to educate me again 🙏

You’re so intellectually dishonest it’s actually funny.

They are law courts. Islamic law courts. Allowed in the UK.

Wriggle out of that one.

“The Islamic Sharia Council (ISC) is a British Deobandi organisation that provides legal rulings and advice to Muslims in accordance with its interpretation of Islamic Sharia based on the four Sunni schools of thought. It primarily handles cases of marriage and divorce and, to a lesser extent, business and finance.”

You accuse me of being intellectually dishonest, while the article which you presented as evidence in support of your claims of Islamification, which you defined, makes this clear -

Sharia councils – often mislabelled as sharia courts – have a sinister reputation in the UK. Like halal meat and the niqab, they are a dog whistle for those seeking to imply that there is a creeping Islamification of the UK.

They are not courts, they are not Islamic law courts, and the reason they’re allowed in the UK is because they are not in violation of civil laws.

I’m not sure what you think I have to wriggle out of. I’ve not contorted myself in knots claiming that we could now have a discussion without the hysteria, then jumping off with this absolute belter -

To those who ridicule the idea of Ireland being “islamified”

If that’s how you define intellectual honesty, it’s no wonder you would accuse me of being intellectually dishonest 😂

You said it yourself.
    islamic law courts.

Case closed.