Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Hamas strike on Israel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,359 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

I found this video today, fascinating. It's hard to believe it was released 7 years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Perhaps Israel is the most anti semitic country in the world.

Well, considering how it routinely murders people of a Semitic ethnicity, that wouldn't be a surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,695 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

It wasn't. As you have demonstrated in that other post, you clearly have no understanding of the legal definition of Genocide and are just reciting talking points you are finding online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭sheepysheep

Ireland ranked around 21% of adults endorsing antisemitic stereotypes in early ADL surveys up 1% from 2014, putting it in the middle-to-lower range among surveyed countries.

You found a survey that showed that in a country with a popularion of roughly 3000 Jews, incidents of adults endorsing antisemitic sterotypes had risen forom 1% to 21% within 10 years, and you'r not shocked by that.

What have these 3k Jews being doing? Have they driving around the country in a rickety van, jumping out and kicking random people in the goolies?

Or maybe, have a huge percentage of the Irish population being slowly radicalised online?

I wonder what is it now towards the end of 2025?

I think it's much higher, but those figures alone should give everyone on here pause for thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭Miniegg

What does the number of Jewish people in Ireland have to do with anything?

Any surveys performed weren't about Irish Jewish people. 99% of Irish people have never met an Irish Jewish person. Antisemetism is born from ignorance - I'm fairly sure 20% of Ireland is ignorant, and probably more ignorant about Jewish people, as most Irish people don't know any.

Now - to your point - we are patently not one of the most antisemetic countries in the world according to probably the main body in the world who actually tracks this stuff. In fact, only 8 countries in the EU ranked lower than us.

So again I'll ask - retract your horse's*it pls.

And just think, maybe for a minute, you could be absolutely lost in Twitter rabbit holes and have no idea that it isn't reality.

Either that, or like many of your other buddies who have been caught out on this thread, you are spreading disinformation.

And lastly, as I said, antisemetism is the hatred of Jews. It is not whoever Israel doesn't like because they want to undermine a humanitarian view that them committing genocide is wrong.

Post edited by Miniegg on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,934 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Where did I post this about all 2 million people leaving Gaza? Show me the post please.

And then answer my long post re bulldozers.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

That, in all fairness, is good advice, but if you don't engage you're just choosing to live in blissful ignorance.

There are Irish 'Influencer'personalities online with followings of 150k and 200k and it's just a constant daily stream of lies, misinformation, rants and propganda about Israel and Gaza, and it is lapped up by people who are clearly Irish.

It's an education in itself. You're not particulary missing out, but you are uninformed, but maybe not a bad tradeoff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Yes, that would make an interesting study.

“The ongoing genocide and famine in Gaza and its effects on the Jewish middle class in Ireland”.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

You clearly have never studied anything involving research methodology. If you think you can generalise about a population based on posts on a social media site, one that has turned into a toxic hellhole, a toxic hellhole actively encouraged by its owner, an individual who literally made a Nazi salute during a speech, you are even more clueless than I thought. Being completed biased like some of the other Israeli cheerleaders is one thing, being a fool is something entirely different.

Happily uninformed.

Twitter is a cesspit. Nobody on it is real, unless you know them or know of them is my take on it. Might be an over- reaction, but I don't trust anything I read on it (outside of scores for matches) - it is so extreme and never transfers to the real world and to people I meet, outside of a few who have been taken in by it (mainly during COVID and regarding "men of military age" crap).

I have my doubts about some on this site - but this would be a far better metric, who the fek would bother being a bot here, you might influence a couple of people in Leitrim.

If you knew anything about research methodology yourself you'd know that it's not the source but the data from a source you use to generalise to the general population.

Let me guess, you think no one is using Twitter for Quantative, Qualitative or thematic research? What the hell do you think Google and Facebook and co run their algorithms on?

Here's a good article from an investigative journalist who used social media to immerse himself in antisemitic groups in Ireland, England and Scotland in 2022.

His article title. What explains Irelands extreme antisemitism?

https://www.meforum.org/david-collier-what-explains-ireland-extreme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

It wouldnt be hard to find racist groups on social media in any country. You still have posted nothing to back up your claim that Ireland is considered the most Anti Semitic country in the world.

It would be about as relevant as " The ongoing genocide and famine and its effects on the Irish population as a whole".

A more interesting study, would be why we are so interested in the first place.

https://www.meforum.org/david-collier-what-explains-ireland-extreme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭freebritney

Watched a interview with Lt Colonel Aguilar and heard him describe how the IDF murdered that small boy who had walked 10 kms to get some food. As if you couldn't hate the scumbags anymore he went on to describe how they don't distribute water to the poor starving people as the weight of the water makes it unprofitable to truck in. The final indignity on them is that all the food they distribute needs water to cook i.e. lentils, rice, flour.

I genuinely doubt Reinhard Heydrich or the worst of the SS could be a calculated in their cruelty as these creatures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Noworries!

Just out of curiosity, what do we do about the HAMAs problem? If we recognise Palestine as a state, we're going to have a state in the middle east which is governed by terrorists. How do we stop them attacking Israel, who presumably will retaliate? All the silliness about what other countries think of Israel is probably irrelevant, I highly doubt the US will allow Israel to fail, as it's effectively a base for them out there. How do we give the Palestinians a fighting chance at actual autonomy?

I will wager I know slightly more than you about research methodology. All you are doing is saying is 'look at all the Irish anti-Semites on Twitter, Ireland has to be anti-Semitic', which just proves my point. Trying to back up your beyond weak argument with a link to a site like meforum.org just proves you are just regurgitating talking points you don't even fully understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,521 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

'Investigate journalist' is an interesting way to describe this fella

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2025/jul/31/the-mathematics-of-starvation-how-israel-caused-a-famine-in-gaza?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Other

Horrible reading this. Israel's own figures show it is starving people in Gaza. Those poor people.

In fairness there has been a consistant stream of posters posting a consistant stream of antisemitic posts daily. Some of them got thread bans, others just went away.

There are a few on here currently, daily calling for the eradication of Israel. I count one confirmed Hamas supporter and two who make consistantly antisemit posts, always deniable of course. If it's the same old slop day after day, you're entitled to read between the lines and draw a conclusion. What racist or antisemitic is actually going to hold their hands up and openly state it?

The anti Arab posters doen't tend to say much or stay long, and arent't worth engaging with. I don't rememner you calling out either btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,674 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Hamas are a small group formerly in charge of Gaza. The majority of the Palestinian population live in the West Bank, Arab East Jerusalem and the Golan, with others in camps in Lebanon or in exile in Jordan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Twitter is a cesspit.

It's extraordinarily difficult to stress just how hilarious, ridiculous, ludicrous and ultimately grotesque that someone who's constantly bleating about "antisemitism" would hold up Twitter as a place where one should go to for information. A place that is now as you say, a cesspit, populated by some of the worst that humanity has to offer. A place that now run by a wanker who thought it was perfectly fine to do this a few short months ago.

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Noworries!

Oh I thought they were still in Gaza, apologies I didn't realise someone else has taken over. Who is in charge now? I suppose all we have to do now is ensure terrorists don't take over again and hopefully the Palestinians will stand a chance at getting a state that's internationally recognised and safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

How could you read the second part of my post (which you didn’t quote) where I clearly state that Hamas committed a war crime and should release the hostages, and still conclude that I’m justifying Hamas holding them? That’s a complete misrepresentation of what I wrote.

You keep quoting the line, “what then? You can all go home,” but you’re either misunderstanding my point or deliberately twisting it to fit your narrative.

You claim that the war would end if the hostages were released. I see no realistic scenario where that happens. Just look at the rhetoric from members of the Israeli parliament — the same ones Netanyahu is dependent on to stay in power, and thus out of jail. (Although an Israeli jail is maybe a better option for him now considering the possibility he’ll end up in The Hague). They talk openly about cleansing Gaza, forcing Palestinians out, or locking them into what are effectively glorified concentration camps. Add to that the continued settlement activity in the West Bank and the behavior of the IDF there. After the scale of atrocities and war crimes already committed, it’s obvious they have plans for Gaza that don’t include a future for Palestinians with any say or dignity.

I’ve been clear and consistent in my posts. I’ve repeatedly condemned Hamas and called for the release of the hostages. Your accusation — that I’m justifying Hamas’ actions — is made in bad faith. It’s part of a pattern I’ve seen from you especially lately, as the world is waking up to the barbarity of Israel in your attempts to justify their war crimes.

Don’t ever accuse me of supporting what Hamas did. I’ve condemned it repeatedly. But, as I said before, my condemnation applies to both sides. Yours clearly doesn’t.

I'll wager you dont.

I never said "look at all the Irish anti-Semites on Twitter, Ireland has to be anti-Semitic". You said that because the data is from social media it is inherently invalid for some reason known best to you.

All the algos do is churn that social media day in day out, data mining for monetizable trends. Social media is the epicenter of research data in the world today in every field including psychology and sociology.

They generalise that data to individuals, communities and larger. Don't know why, just because you don't like Elon Musk or Twitter, you ignore the reality of the absolute data mine that these social media hubs are, but that's on you.

You post in a very childish manner. I never said that data from social media is inherently invalid, I said what you are inferring from posts on Twitter is. Either your reading comprehension skills are poor or else you are deliberately trying to misconstrue what I am saying to you. Give your other posts and general behaviour I'm assuming it's the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

My goodness Sheepy did you read the article you linked? Alan Shatter had to resign due to antisemitism! FFS

Also, by going undercover in Facebook groups he was able to figure out that 50% of people on Free Palestine demonstrations are hard core antisemites!

The man has zero credibility.

David Collier! Jesus wept, your algorithm is brainwashing you. Think objectively. Think for yourself.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,674 ✭✭✭Odhinn

O they're still in Gaza but they aren't in control of it realistically. Armed gangs, various clans and of course the Israelis have far more influence in general.

Sheepy - I saw one poster who supported Hamas in 10 months or so I have been in this thread

I know what page it's on, because every f*ckin time I open this thread it opens on that page which is very annoying. That poster was challenged -not by you or Blanche or that crew oddly - but by some of the people you are slurring.

They were actually like Hamas Danzy or Potatoeman posting nonsense (no offense lads, but ive said the same to ye), instead insert Hamas instead of Israel, and insert Israelis instead of Palestinians. It was uncanny, a radicalised poster in the other direction.

There has been a recent poster, which you allude to, saying Israel should be dismantled and American Jews kicked out or some such, again, tackled not by ye, but by many of the people you have slurred.

If Odhin said he/she supported Hamas, and then stopped after October 7th, I'd believe that he/she doesn't support Hamas anymore. That event was appalling and changed alot of minds - it just so happened Israel's appalling conduct made all this goodwill disappear around the world. I'd say every poster you regularly slur has condemned Oct 7th multiple times.

If you came here tomorrow and said you were wrong, it is genocide, id believe it and wouldn't go on saying you still support it.

Anyway - I do find it odd that those who actually said things I would consider antisemetic are never really challenged by your crew (it's possible you could have missed it), yet you try to put the same accusations on people who are putting forward reasonable views, almost always backed up, on this disgraceful conflict. They then end up having to fight about whether they are antisemetic or not, and not the actual people being blown up, maimed and starved!

If I didn't know better, id swear it was a deliberate tactic. But what I don't understand is - why.

Yes. Twitter is toxic. It is a cesspool. And it is populated with plenty of Irish influences and personalities posting their rabidly antisemitic material for consumption by their Irish antisemitic followers.

Did it not occur to you when posting that picture of Musk that they would all be well suited there. Just because you want to pretend it doesn't exist, doesn't mean that it's not rampent amongst a large section of people.

The 'information' isn't the issue. That's seemibly beyond you to comprehend. It's the trends that are significant.