Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,576 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Works best when covers are on the lighter side and excellent quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

if you know your cows you’ll know fairly quick during milking is one is off form. Bar the heifers I could tell you what a cows number was if you just described her to me

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,517 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Walking them in and out to the paddock is a good time to check boards.ie and see who's waving their willy and who's telling him to put it away

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭green daries

I think it's essential to see them coming in or out once a day minimum

😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣I just laughed out loud....the dog is looking at me funny 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,909 ✭✭✭straight

Most Farmers give them fresh grass after every milking. It doesn't take long to move the wire while the cows are strolling in.

I tried the 36hr thing and it was fine but the cows became very hard to manage. Wouldn't come into the parlour. Wouldn't eat nuts in the parlour so I had to get a bucket and pick them up before the next row. They were do full of grass and packed up in the parlour they kept sh1tting. One cow got bad bloat, had to call the vet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭cjpm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,808 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I know of very very few that allocate grass in 12 hour blocks …majority of my paddocks are 36 hours …they are buffer fed too…don’t have any of issues you outline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 mike3215

Have a mix of paddock sizes here. Mainly due to ditches and drains of old so some 12hr paddocks 24hr 36 and 48 hr paddocks..Find the cows much more content on 36 hr paddocks. Tend to get sick of a paddock after a 3rd grazing. Much more uneasy on a 12hr paddock. Find as herd have grown significantly over the past 10 years this has become a problem. Cows definitely produce more on 36 hr paddocks. Like grass to milk do almost all milkings here apart from the odd weekend so could tell even by which row a cow comes in if she's off form.

traditional 🤔🤔….12 hour blocks is another unnesecary job IN MY OPINION…

I'd say you're probably right but that's the way it is around here. We must love the hardship. Most lads do day/night paddocks too.

each to there own ….i hate hardship especially when there is an easier way ….day/night paddocks must make grass management tricky

Pure bollix of a job. It's like two herds and it slows down recovery. Just nice to have the cows nearer to the parlour for the morning and lads do be mixing aftergrass by day with normal grass by night or vice/versa. Alot to be said for a smaller / flat milking block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭visatorro

There's probably alot of lads crossing roads with cows during the day. I'd imagine they'd have to go with 12hr grazing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭john457

Definitely can’t see the point of fresh grass after each milking. Not only is it extra labour for no reward, it is restricting cows ability to produce milk. It runs the risk of misjudging the correct amount of grass. If you misjudge the 24 to 36 hour grazing it will only be the last few hours will be wrong. In the 24/36 system if they eat too much grass and don’t finish their nuts it’s win win!

At the moment 24 to 36 hours grazing with maybe 1 kg of meal is surely a good option in the best year weather wise any one of us has ever farmed in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,304 ✭✭✭alps

367mm rain since 1st of March ang I knkw lads with a lot less. Extremely challenged for growth in many parts this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭dmakc

At a community AD plant plant consultation this week, a developer rep said "its proposed that ireland will lose derogation at the end of 2026" (accidental verbiage, or inside knowledge who knows), but that AD plants will allow farmers to stay above 170N by exporting to the plant. I don't recall hearing about this nitrates potential?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

that will only work if you’re inside full time imo. You’ll have no slurry to spread if you’re grazing and use the export to stay farming above 170

Ah Sure, all those lads will have the early grazing photos up on twitter/X. Can't have it every way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,497 ✭✭✭Grueller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,363 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I don't think these community plants will work. Too many mechanical things and people to manage. There's one working in South Kilkenny, not sure how it's going now, I was there a few years ago and he said it's not as easy as it's being made out. The grid connection could be up on 500k depending on how close it is to a sub station.

Derogation is on borrowed time. The only thing that will save it now is the threat of job losses in the industry.

I'll have to drop 15 cows. I'll be rearing my own replacements and I won't be paying anyone to take my slurry. The AD plants business plans are based on farmers paying them to take the slurry. They are probably lobbying for the end of derogation.

They are definitely in favour of dero going they will be the only game in town in certain areas with the price they are quoting for land rentals …. Just to grow grass .... none of them stack up from an environmental point of view. no more than a large majority of the electric cars in the world.which will never be less pollution than an ice vehicle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭dmakc

What do they tend to quote per ac?

One thing I don't understand is they say they will reduce the need for chemical fertilizer. But they're stripping the land of P & K with multiple cuts, and the digestate just has some nitrogen and no P & K worth returning to the land. So isn't it increasing the P & K chemical usage to balance the soil? And considering multiple cuts (more than a livestock farm would), wouldn't they need to horse the chemical nitrogen out also?

What went wrong in the Kildare receivership case anyone know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Farney Farmer

How much was the plate cooler if you don’t mind me asking. Was thinking of getting 1 fitted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,561 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

There's a big push by officialdom to increase the tillage in this area.

Officialdom (local councils) are using soft power to put pressure on the livestock producers to switch. Officialdom though see an increasing tillage area as somewhere to spread human sludge from the sewage plants on the rivers. Farmer plants are pushing this in saying it's only about displacing imports from south america. They are saying the grain from here will be better than from SA. Except the grain from SA most likely will not be grown on ground spread with human sludge. The problem in sludge is the PFAS (forever chemicals). There's land here that's been receiving this for years. Guinness won't take grain from land spread with sludge except the gov here approves it going to animal feed.

There was a documentary in the US about a dairy farmer that was taking in sludge in the 80's and 90's and just for his own health sake and a wonder of soil health. Tested the ground for PFAS. The EPA there are not doing it as they don't want to know. He tested himself and it came back in the clouds. The dairy stopped taking his milk and the gov depopulated his herd and declared the land could no longer go for food production. His neighbours who were also taking sludge are still producing food as they didn't test themselves and there was no laboratory to inform the government. It's a case of see no evil, hear no evil.

The government here want more land for sludge and if someone lets the cat out of the bag and tests for PFAS. Then the crops from that land will be limited to the Anaerobic digestors. Whoever owns that land will be over a barrel though in only having that one outlet. And if that farmer in the US was told your land can never be in food production till 200 years time when these chems will be gone from the soil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,977 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

You should pick up a second hand one on donedeal. I sold mine last year, think I got 200 for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭cjpm

The best money you’ll spend this year. The estimated pay back on a new one used to be two years. A good one from DoneDeal would be paid for in less than a year.