Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,980 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

The multiple comments from the manager and various players (particularly the Shaw interview) about the team spirit, atmosphere etc just go to prove how important it is (and how likely IMO) that those toxic players never get back into the fold.

We've kicked the Rashford can down the road for a year, Garnacho & Sancho need to go next. I'd almost pay Sancho off at this stage but I reckon he'll go on loan just to minimise his wages and then release on a free next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Completely agree. Attitude and professionalism is so important in a player. Despite all the brinksmanship and delays with the Mbeumo deal, he behaved impeccably. Never downed tools or leaked stuff and was 100% professional in my opinion. A really good sign for the type of guy and character he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,725 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

not really. if on at respectable hour i would have been up commenting on it, be it good, bad, or indifferent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,591 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

apparently he just chilled in th club gym pretending to cycle the bike for the week he was there 'training'. But he was there, and didn't make a public show or anthing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭jayo44

That Ethan Williams interview afterwards is a joy to watch. So much happiness and maturity from the kid. It's on united YouTube channel at the end of the interviews upload.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭GolfPar

Thought the same of Casemiro from the highlights. He does seem to take a few games to get up to pace. Dorgu looks a unit alright and only 20. He does seem to struggle to strike the ball well though when shooting at goal. Great ball from Mount to set up up but the shot was weak as hell and should have been saved.

The Bournemouth manager thought United were impressive as well but it is hard to know how far along teams are in their pre season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,725 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

the lads who aren't involved - are they training?

i'd make them come in every day and run laps or some ****, or else fine them (once in line with employment law).

garnacho and antony have ambitions of going to a world cup - like WTF are they doing? find a move, get a pre-season, have a good season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,279 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Exactly I'm not getting excited until the actual season kicks off and we see the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,867 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

If Watkins came in I'd say you could talk Hojlund into staying given the ages of both players but still might want a loan for the first season. But Sesko and Watkins are the same age. If it's Seko I can see Hojlund wanting to leave.

There's surely a free agent somewhere that can come in to act as cover. I like Vardy and while he is 38 the lad does look after himself or has good genetics because he played almost 3000mins in the league while starting all 35 games he played in.

Wilson is still free but Newcastle would have kept him on if he wasn't a sick note and can see them replacing him with another sick note in DCL.

Agree about Sancho. Cut your loses and just let someone take him on loan with no fees as long as they cover his wages. Wash your hands off him.

Must be some kick in the balls for Garnacho this summer to see there's feck all interest in him. Might hopefully soften his cough and deflate the ego a bit but I doubt it.

I can see Garnacho coming back into the squad. Unless Amorim's comments were just for show then it's likely a loan deal. I can't see the club getting the money they'd hope for him. Especially if Chelsea are the only team with a little interest and let's be honest they've an interest in every player at this stage.

Was that a typo or did you mean to say that you can see Garnacho back in the squad?

Letting that happen would be team spirit-suicide.

Hes stroppy, petulant, has a history of being involved in leaks and social media passive aggressive nonsense.

The Villa shirt was the last straw. No way should he come back in any way.

It's good to see he's got a fighting attitude or could just be saying this until a signing happens. Don't want to come out and actually say I'm leaving if another player comes in.

I hope he stays because it might work out well for him having the pressure of being Uniteds main man off his shoulders. Keeps us with three numbers 9s also.

Would maybe like to see Chido get even a January loan if Hojlund stays and Chido's minutes are minimal.

No I can see him back unless RA was just saying all that stuff about we have a price for the reporters. If RA is actually open to Garnacho coming back I can see it because nobody is paying the money the club want for him.

I wouldn't have him in my way and would even take two young players with potential from Chelsea for him. But if RA was being honest about the players being welcomed back if the club don't get the money they feel the players are worth then I can see Garnacho back.

Fair enough.

For what it's worth I don't think for a second that he was serious about welcoming them back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,122 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

You just have to have two proper strikers in any decent squad. The pressure becomes less of an issue when you have two strikers focused on competing to be the number 1 pick, or one striving to get better to dislodge the other.

I would like to see Hojlund been given a chance in that kind of environment but if he is sold, we need to be bringing in 2 strikers.

The last few years has been an absolute shambles in terms of that.

Highlights looked very good. Dorgu is looking like he'll be a big player for us, so refreshing to finally have an attacking full back / wing back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭NITRO95

I've seen Jamie Vardys name mentioned multiple times here and I don't understand why. Jamie Vardy will never be welcomed at Old Trafford nevermind be a Manchester United player so long as Kai Rooney is on our books.

That's why I'd like to see him stay even for just one season. Means you're not trying to sign another no.9 this summer. Cunha and Mbeumo can do a job there but you don't want to be moving them from the positions you signed them for long term if Sesko picks up an injury.

I hope so because you can't really go from telling the lad he's not wanted to welcoming him back with open arms. Then the subtle comments coming about standards being set within the squad this pre season aren't being done for no reason.

Signing another striker and keeping Hojlund is the best move for me as well.

I don't like talk of other players doing a job there (I'm sure they can) as it takes away from the fact that a proper squad should have 2 players properly competing for one position. That's the way standards get raised imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Seattle

It's different with no European football though. It just doesn't work to have Sesko, Hojlund and Zirkzee.

People are forgetting about Zirkzee who imo will be viewed as the CF we look to that offers something different to a traditional #9, which is useful in certain games. I don't see him as competing for a place as the right sided #10 because Amorim says he thinks it's important to have left footer there, so either Mbuemo and Amad will play there. And then we are stacked in the left sided #10 position with Cuhna, Mount and Bruno. So Zirkzee's role will be false 9 imo.

So I don't think there's room for both Sesko and Hojlund.

I think the plan for the front 3 is:

Cuhna/Mount, Sesko/Zirkzee, Mbuemo/Amad

And if both Sesko/Zirkzee are injured/out of form, then play one of Cuhna/Mbuemo there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,371 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I think you need both Zirkzee and Hojlund as options along with Sesko. As you say, Zirkzee is the option to change how you play - but you also need an option to stay playing the same way, but with fresh legs. Hojlund’s the continuity, Zirkzee is the change up. And of course if Sesko gets injured, or is rested for a game, you don’t want to have only one remaining option to have to start and finish games - you still need someone on the bench. I just think any lone striker system needs two backups to be sustainable over a season, even without European ball.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

I don't think anyone is forgetting about Zirkzee and more people are just talking about the actual number 9 options we'll have.

Yes Zirkzee is a CF but his style of play isn't going to see him stretching defences and making runs in behind. He'll want to drop deep and be a creator for others instead. It's good to have him as an option but the lad also has fitness issues.

Its why I think a loan move for Chido wouldn't be a bad thing. Get him some minutes while he's 18 and 19 before trying to integrate him full time into our senior team.

My reply would have been similar but you've put it much better.

Zirkzee should have been this Summer's signing (a luxury signing of sorts) and we should have gotten a proper CF / goalscorer instead of him last year to compete or play ahead of Hojlund.

No European football isn't a reason not to address this glaring hole. It may mean that Obi goes out on loan, which I don't think would be a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭jayo44

Even looking at obi last night it's clear he needs a loan. He is snatching at chances and just needs to settle into playing in a first team environment with less spotlight on him. Score a few goals and developed himself would do him the world of good.

He is a bit like Amad when he joined us first. You could tell there was talent there just needs experience and games.

Maybe we should have sent Chido to Switzerland for senior minutes and kept Kana-Biyik with the underage for a bit before sending him out.

But the club could have been thinking we'll need three CFs and were waiting until we signed one before sending Chido out. Then again one of the Ethan's could have been kept around with Chido going to Switzerland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,048 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

I would think a loan to the championship would be a lot more valuable to Chido than going to Switzerland. If he was being sent to Switzerland at this stage it'd be like a death knell.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Agree, Garnaho is not even training with the team. There's just no way back.

Whatever about Antony and Malasia at a push, but they'll probably be told there's near zero game time. So, I think they will both settle for whatever's on the table at the end of the transfer window as unlike Sancho et al., they both want to play football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭mobydopy

No it wouldn't. The man we are about to spend +£70M on was in the Austrian second division at the same age and didn't move to Germany until he was 20. Wasn't a death knell to him.

The other lad we're linked with who's bossed it in the PL for the last five seasons played a season in the sixth tier of English football at 18/19. Also didn't make his first start in League 2 until a couple weeks before his 20th birthday.

So no one season in Switzerland at 17/18 isn't going to kill Chido's career so no need for the hyperbolic BS honestly.