If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭satguy

Phil Lynott , born in the West Midlands of England, is Irish.

Paul McGrath, born in Greenford, Middlesex, England, is Irish.

But a child born here to Nigerian parents, just off the boat, is not Irish. To be Irish is a state of mind.

A child born here to Japanese parents, is not Irish. So it is not a skin colour thing.

All of us here know what to be Irish is, or why a man from Glasgow would say he is Scotish, and not English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭nachouser

Well, if a child born to an Irish parent in Australia is Australian - and you're not arguing against that? Then I don't get the point of your question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭tom23

when the state stated using

government have contempt for the Irish taxpayer. IPAS applicants are further up the rankings than we are. The social contract is with who presents themselves as IPAS.

Just to address this again, do you consider a baby born to Irish parents in Australia to be Australian? Maybe it was a careless post on your behalf. But you're arguing against yourself.

You don’t get to ignore a question and then ask one yourself in afraid, that’s not how it works.

We're agreed then, that Irish people can have Aussie kids and them being Aussies. Cool. I guess you can see where your argument goes from there.

Following the mod warning about pointless arguing, I will leave it here, since you are afraid to answer my question and simply want to post incessantly. Thank you.

I have not been afraid to answer any question, for the record. I've just posted reasonable responses to your posts.

Have a good one.

Edit - sorry if this was off-topic posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

This thread is gas sometimes. If I were to create a parody of it, it may look something like this

A thread is started in the motoring forum -

What's the best car made, based on design/looks, reliability, build quality, value etc?

The chat is all about Aston's, Ferrari's, Lambo's etc, with sub-chats going on simultaneously about the pros and cons between Audi, BMW, Merc's and so on

Then a couple of very passionate Lada fans join in with - 'Yeah well, an Aston Martin looks a bit meh, but really not a patch on a Lada in the looks dept'

Petrol heads: 'WTF?'

Lada fans: 'Just can't accept that a Lada looks better then?…lol'

Petrol heads: 'What is wrong with you?'

Lada fan: 'So you're just getting personal now?' (call for mods)

Petrol head: *posts a pic*

AM v Lada.jpg

…and adds, 'Look, it's blatantly obvious!'

Lada fan: 'Simply proves my point - love the lego-block style way more than the flowing curves - you're all blind'

Petrol head [exasperated]: We're all blind? The Lada is just horrible!

Lada fan: 'That's anti-Russian - So this is just an anti-Russian thread now is it…makes sense alright…lol'

And this goes on for 2/3 years - when most reasonable people know that the best thing that could've been put at the end of a Lada production line is a massive skip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Joe 90

If the Muslims never attacked the West then why is John III Sobieski so famous? Funnily enough there was a shop named after him in leytonsone in East London for a while. Given how many Muslims are in the area someone had a sense of humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭lmao10

It's a simple question that proves your point perfectly, hence why you will only get deflection in response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Water2626262

Ireland has had a massive transformation in the last 50 years with a shift away from religion. This is a very positive move given the troubles we had be it the magdeline laundries, the abuses and overall shame we carried.

Now we have a growing conservative religion into the country. A religion that considers our media, the food / drink that we consume and the clothes that we wear to be unclean or against gods will. This promotes divisiveness and creates a more insular community. This causes issues with integration and there is a proven track record of this across Europe. Let’s face it, you don’t hear about the ongoing struggles of the Chinese or Indian communities in the UK or France or wherever.

If we had a growing influx of evangelical Americans from the Deep South who were against homosexuality and favoured more traditional roles for women, people in the press etc would be up in arms.

This is a remarkable article for the Irish Times to allow, and would have been unthinkable 12 months ago:

"The term “racket” aptly describes the huge international people-smuggling industry that makes mass migration to claim asylum possible. Closer to home, this State is paying vast sums – more than €1.2 billion annually – to accommodate asylum-seeking migrants in highly profitable centres. The eye-watering amounts paid by the Republic to lessors and providers defy belief or justification"

There is no way any Irish media outlet (outside of Gript) would have allowed this article using the words above to run any time before the past few months. That it is the IT that prints it is seismic. It represents a real shift in what is allowed to be said publicly. If McDowell had found a way to publish these words 2 years ago (he certainly wouldn't have been able to in the IT), it would have led to his public vilification and cancellation. That this article has passed with little or no public comment demonstrates just how far public perception (and more surprisingly, media perception) has changed in a short time.

The past is a different country, and I think those who have pushed the agenda of near- or unlimited immigration will soon find themselves foreigners in this new land of public opinion.

*Edited to remove most text from article due to mod copywrite warning*

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I honestly believe at this point the Irish are just second class citizens in our own country at this point

“The [residents] accept that the State has a legal obligation to provide accommodation for applicants for international protection but seem to ask the court to prioritise their personal interest in having a hotel in their locality to accommodate tourists and provide a local venue for their family events over the State’s attempt to comply with those national, European and international obligations,” the judge said.

Up and down the country this government are destroying communities after communities all just for the 1% to get richer and for illegals who shouldnt be in the country in the 1st place

While this government spends billions on the immigration industry, it's Irish citizens are still feeling the pain of inflation and record high electricity bills which are going to get higher

This country is very very much broken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

I think you are incredibly naive to discount the role that evangelical Christian faith plays in US politics and foreign policy (including the fact that you seem to think that George Bush was just, I don't know, having a bit of craic when he said God gave him a mission to invade Iraq). You seem to believe that the political / strategic aims of that invasion entirely discount any notion that Bush also had a Christian motivation to his actions. No, it must be one or the other for you - it cannot be both in tandem apparently. I also note that you have still decided to simply ignore the contemporary example of how Christian beliefs in the US affect its policy towards Israel and its tolerance (and enablement) of Israel's slaughtering, subjugation and starvation of Palestinian Muslims. But I'm guessing you take the view that it's exclusively the American strategic interest, right?

And even if we did entirely discount religious motivation - why does it even particularly matter? If the motivation of Islamic terrorists, who have been responsible for a miniscule number of deaths in the Western world versus the death and destruction the Western world has inflicted on Muslim countries, is religious and the Western motivation for its own provision of death and destruction is some other philosophy (be it strategic or economic or political), it's still a philosophy nonetheless which is used to justify death and destruction.

And to go back to the point again, if a Muslim were to make all Westerners responsible for this (the same way, I dunno, US administrations seem to happily conflate or allow the conflation of innocent Palestinians with Islamic terror for example), you would rush to say the entire Western world cannot be accountable. Yet Muslim immigrants must always be collectively responsible for the entire Muslim world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,052 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Why are guys like you utterly obsessed/ afraid of foreigners! Give it a rest, this narrow mindedness is not just laughable any more it's boring, maybe go back to gossiping or sending chain letters or whatever ye lot did years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,328 ✭✭✭prunudo

Quick Muriel, call the girls for morning tea, the Irish Times is informing us on a new way to think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,621 ✭✭✭Allinall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭emo72

The Merriman, the very place I mentioned in this thread a couple of times. That village is destroyed because of that decision. I haven't been there since the hotel was closed. It's so wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,323 ✭✭✭creedp

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod: Please read Boards Terms of Use that is linked in the forum charter.

Copyright infringement is not permitted, if you are quoting directly from a source you should only quote a maximum of one paragraph. You can add your own summary of the remainder. Warnings will be applied as normal for any breaches of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

i suspect Bush was not just ‘having a bit of craic’, but likely was bolstering support from typical Bible Belt sorts, along with a large part of Christian America, who might likely get behind the message that God wanted the US to invade Iraq. Cynical maybe, but Bush was always scripted within an inch of his life - that message re God’s invasion had calculated intent.

While it's true that motivation to invade/oppress matters little whether religious or political, a better comparison between Muslims and conservative Christians in US would be if the conservative christiians in US had leaders that were calling for death to all Irish as they were turning their backs on Jesus and becoming infidels. And then Ireland reaching out to invite those US Christians to come live with us, signalliing we will happily provide for all their needs.

I find it odd that you assert that Christian beliefs in the US affect its policy towards Israel - Christ doesn't feature all that much in Judaism. I thought it had been relatively established that the influence affecting US policy with Israel is a powerful Jewish presence in higher echelons in the US..

And absolutely #not all Muslims, but some regimes have the potential for more radicalised Muslim beliefs than others. For the safety of our entire society including those arrived here recently, the govermemt has a responsibility to enact better checks on applicamts.

(this aside from reducing immigration in general until we get our house in order)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,323 ✭✭✭creedp

Yea us Cork lads have renewed dislike of those foreign Tipp lads from across the county bounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,269 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

No ,you were not discussing ethnicity in relation to Immigration ..for the last time .

You were discussing the arrest of an Irish citizen who may have a different colour skin.

But is not an immigrant .

The two are not one and the same and only someone who believes in pure Irish being white would try to say that .

You said you made the phrase up ..it's the same rhetoric used by people who have racist beliefs the world over . I am pointing it out ...should I not in case I offend racist sensibilities ??

And if you don't want to be labeled 'racist' maybe stay away from talking about Pure Irish ethnicity .

As regards the race card being " pulled " .. Well if it walks like a duck …

Is that clear enough for you or must I now apologize for posting in reply to any drivel posted here . No reasoned debate here anymore ,just disgusting gossip and invective with stuff being spread like manure on this thread now and you want me and others who find these posts objectionable to shut up about it .

Hence the aggressive attempts to back up your use of racist and discriminatory language to spread hate and fear with impunity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Ireland has had a massive transformation in the last 50 years with a shift away from religion. This is a very positive move given the troubles we had be it the magdeline laundries, the abuses and overall shame we carried.

Are you having a laugh or what?

In Census 2022, over 3.5 million people living in the State reported that their religion was Roman Catholic, accounting for 69% of the population.

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-cpp5/censusofpopulation2022profile5-diversitymigrationethnicityirishtravellersreligion/religion/

Now we have a growing conservative religion into the country. A religion that considers our media, the food / drink that we consume and the clothes that we wear to be unclean or against gods will. This promotes divisiveness and creates a more insular community. This causes issues with integration and there is a proven track record of this across Europe. Let’s face it, you don’t hear about the ongoing struggles of the Chinese or Indian communities in the UK or France or wherever.

I’m not sure what religion you’re referring to as that description covers quite a few, but what promotes divisiveness is ignorant stereotypes about other people or groups of people. Let’s face it you don’t hear about the ongoing struggles of the Chinese or Indian communities in the UK or France because given they are a minority in countries like Ireland, the UK or France, their struggles don’t get much coverage in the media. That’s changing though as a result of greater integration in society -

https://www.bbc.com/creativediversity/nuance-in-bame/chinese

https://www.bbc.com/creativediversity/nuance-in-bame/indian

BBC didn’t get the memo -

https://equalities.blog.gov.uk/2022/04/07/why-we-no-longer-use-the-term-bame-in-government/

(issued under a Conservative Government)

If we had a growing influx of evangelical Americans from the Deep South who were against homosexuality and favoured more traditional roles for women, people in the press etc would be up in arms.

Is that a criticism of our media? Surely not 🤔

Besides, who needs American Evangelicals when there are a family of Evangelicals who are constantly courting media attention for their attitudes and behaviour, they don’t integrate into Irish society at all, and when they do gain employment, they appear to be keen to play the victim who are being persecuted because of their religious beliefs. Religious beliefs aren’t necessary to favour the more traditional role of women, it’s enshrined in our Constitution, and when there was a referendum to change that recently, the Irish electorate voted against it. That can’t be laid at the foot of a minority religion in Ireland, and the media weren’t up in arms about it either, quite the opposite in fact when they learned of CEDAW recommending that the Irish Government not give up on the idea. They also made a whole boatload of other recommendations to address inequalities in Irish society which affect women and girls in what still remains a largely Conservative society -

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/social-affairs/2025/07/07/ireland-should-hold-another-referendum-on-women-in-the-home-un-committee-says/

The Conservative religious element which you refer to, manage to integrate well into Irish society as it is, with divisiveness being artificially manufactured by an even smaller minority who would wish to promote ignorant stereotypes about other people who don’t share their views. That’s par for the course though in any society, including any country across Europe, where Ireland doesn’t have their history of Colonisation of other territories which they claimed for their own Empires. Ireland took a different approach and sent out Missionaries instead of conquering armies, which is why immigrants coming here find it far easier to integrate given how much they have in common with Irish people, as opposed to the way they have historically been treated by the Governments of other countries in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bloopy

I did not know that Denmark had a Rwanda policy of its own since 2021.