Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Danny healy rae and the guard

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

I agree, needs to be called up for that. And I hope DHR makes a complaint. As he is who he is, it might make some impact. The next person who gets shoved around might not be listened to. Big small man vibes….

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,816 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

AFAIK Healy Rae has already decided to not make an official complaint. I dunno how Garda discipline works, if that means he won't be hauled up for it internally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭FREDNISMO

I guess I'm reading that video completely different than some, I see a garda with bottles that he must of confiscating for whatever reason and DHR walking behind him raising his arm up and down to the bystanders who react by roaring and cheering the garda turns around to go back down the street and it looks like he wanted DHR to get off street and onto the footpath and it's more of an attempt to redirect him than a shove, that's my reading on it, why did DHR feel the need to start doing what he done was it because it was a younger member of the force to try and belittle them,would he have done the same if for example it was a more mature garda, having said that everyone is entitled to interpret the video what ever way they want but my interpretation of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,247 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

so he doesn’t want to make a complaint. Shows you what his attitude to public service is. Guard gets a formal warning for that it might readjust his and the potential attitudes of some colleagues and save members of the public similar treatment.

But I’m sure auld Danny is glad of the headlines and attention for himself..Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

If that's your reading of it,you need to go to specsavers,but maybe you just don't like HR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭FREDNISMO

Yes it is my reading on it, may be you are a HR or related to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭mulbot

If anyone else did what the Garda did on a street you'd be well in your right to turn around and introduce his nose to Jim Johnson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,480 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

There are people here that care more about what happened than DHR himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭chooseusername

“would he have done the same if for example it was a more mature garda”

A more mature Garda would know the Kilgarvan Set and have a swing with Danny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

MMost Of the comments are related to the behaviour of a Guard on a public street in front of hundreds of onlookers,his conduct was unbecoming for a member of AGS and reflects badly on the force.The fact that it was DHR is irrelevant.

It that guard conducts himself like that in public think what he could potentially do behind the closed doors of the station or in a quite back lane in Dublin.He needs to be disciplined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,956 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,613 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Danny, looking for notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭xl500

Or as a pub owner he knows the potential backlash from Local Gardai if he made a complaint I know people still feel you dont want to get on the wrong side of the Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,020 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

They seem to be getting it hard to get anyone to join never mind the type you want. Anyone going into that job with the abuse they get and the poor wages would want their head examined. That guard was out of line though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Like many I don't like DHR as a politician but that's a disgraceful reaction from the Garda. I'm sure he'll get a talking to regardless of an official complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭Xander10

It mightn't get any easier to recruit after hearing of a Garda being stabbed multiple times in an unprovoked attack while on duty in Dublin this evening.

Puts a bit of perspective of the DHR handbags issue (not suggesting the garda was right)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

yes an rightly so.

we pay these guards to know and uphold the law not go around assaulting members of the public and acting like scumbags while on duty.

it shouldnt matter what DHRs opinion or choices are around this. this scumbag should be reprimanded and suspended for this.

imagine what other laws he breaks . does he do his job correctly in other areas and violate rights or gather evidence corectly ect. doing this so openly should lead to an investigation into his other actions and into who trained him and who ever is his superiors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭JVince

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Don't like either Healy-Rae but we've all met and wanted to punch power-tripping Gardai like this. In an era with camera phones and bodycams, they won't get away with antagonising the public like this anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Watched the video. I would say there was a good chance that the Garda didn't know who MHR was. He just decided to give an old guy a dig. Very poor form and there should be consequences.

The lack of reporting on the main state sponsored news channel is also telling.

MHR is on government gravy train.... soo for him there is no point in rocking the boat and antagonising an arm of the state whom his family relies on to protect their highly profitable IPAS business.

Tis only a pity the silly little Garda didn't give a dig to the young Kerry county councillor Healy-Rea (aka "The Chip van scrapper") and we might have seen a proper throw down 💪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭chooseusername

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,827 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

If a pack of Dublin youngfella's started acting like that in Kilgarvan, roaring, boozing, blocking traffic and throwing their rubbish around like that you'd be giving the Garda a medal.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,816 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

but he wasn't boozing, he wasn't blocking traffic, and he wasn't throwing rubbish around.

and if he was, a garda shoving him would do nothing to address any of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,827 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

While he himself may not have been, he was part of a crowd that was. The Garda had no idea who he was, just that he saw someone roaring and shouting in the middle of the road, surrounded by cans, bottles and spilt drink.
    Yes, he messed up, but if the tables were turned, as I said in my post, the Garda would have been applauded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,524 ✭✭✭harr

No real time of the HRs and definitely would be in support of a more physical approach to policing but to go out of your way to push a 71 year old man In front of cameras and large crowd is out of other .. if he is doing that in full public view what is he at other times .
    Lucky on the day it was a party atmosphere and not a hostile environment . If he did that to my father i would be raging . With that attitude I don’t think public policing is his ideal profession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,956 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

That's utter nonsense. The Garda and fans were outside Croke Park on All Ireland final day. He should have known his surroundings and audience. If he cannot handle that kind of big match atmosphere, he should go back to training. Nobody did anything wrong except the Garda. I don't like the Healy Raes but the Garda was an ass and got over excited. Your tables turned point is very silly.

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭purifol0

This should be a very simple case of Garda assault and then escalating behaviour when called out.

Secondly the public shpuld have full access to the Garda bodycam, sadly Garda themselves get to decide when to switch it on - and when to switch it off.

As with all public sector workers there is no accountability to the actual public. And they all get paid either way, and the Gardai get paid more than almost all of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭nearby_cheetah

Err, isn't that the whole point of the story? I don't know what point you think you are trying to prove with this post.

Gardai get into argy bargy all the time with young and boisterous lads and no remarks are passed.

This however was an old man, unprepared for the push, if he stumbled and smacked his head off the kerb and got killed, does the Garda still deserve a medal?

Are you not aware of the frailties of old people vs young?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭CPTM

I'm all for a bit of rough and tumble between lads actually. Nothing wrong with a bit of messing or shoving here and there on a day like that when emotions are high but the context needs to be right. A Garda and a politician in a crowd doesn't fit that bill. I can only imagine that the Garda was pissed off about something else that happened in the moments leading up to this.

Healy Rae was a Garda's dream there - uniting the crowd, being a clown, making people smile. So I don't think it had anything to do with Healy Rae. I'd say something happened just before it.

He should have stayed tf away from that young girl. Bang out of order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

I cannot stand any of the Healy Reas but based upon that clip, that was well out of order from the guard. Whether you like him or not, Healy Rea was not "riling up" the crowd. As said, he wasn't being belligerent, wasn't a public nuisance, wasn't littering or jay walking or causing offence to others. Even if he was, there are methods and ways to deal with such. If it was a "situation" that needed to be addressed (It was not) then walking past, pushing and walking on without any interaction/addressing of "situation" was NOT the right method to deal with it. Large, peaceful gathering. (Yes yes yes, I'm sure there was some reports of drunkenness and the odd argy bargy as expected at a large celebration but this was not a rioting mob).

Do I think the guard should be stoned to death? No. But they were definitely uncalled for and unprovoked actions on his part and he should be professionally disciplined. Not saying any such reaction would be right but it COULD have escalated out of control given heightened emotions and alcohol involved etc.

I do not see anything untoward there from the crowd or DHR and do not see any justification from the clip for the guard's action and reaction. We live in a world of people assuming that looking at someone cross-eyed is an assault. Was he bludgeoned over the head? No. However, did he do anything to necessitate such a reaction? No. While age should not matter, he still is a 71 year old man.

I base all my point on the supplied clip. It may be out of context. We did not see what happened before. BUT, based upon the clip itself, this was an uncalled for shove from the guard and poor handling of the woman and it certainly should be addressed.