Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Niall Gilligan cleared of assault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Ah Jaysus - we're just going around in circles here. Welcome to my ever-growing 'Ignore List'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,719 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Its no surprise the amount of ferals prowling about when you have presumed adults and thus potential parents waving away criminality as just "children".

It was the same eejits in the Kriegel case crying over the backlash those "children" were facing. And of course the poor "child" Keane Mulready-Woods. And the poor child that killed Urantsetseg Tserendorj, poor children.

Its no wonder theres roving gurriers when they have literally no responsibility or consequences for any action because they are children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Sometimes cynicism is the refuge of the intellectual cripple.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 11,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

What you get in the papers is a summary by a journalist who almost certainly did not sit through the trial as the jury did and so you not want to put much faith in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,837 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

In this case it's critical thinking born from experience. Cop on in short.

This has been said repeatedly on this thread: nobody is condoning what the boy did. Nobody is waving away criminality. And this is the second time you’ve brought up the Kriegel case, claiming you saw “lots of evidence” of people excusing what those boys did. Except you didn’t. Nobody excused the killers of Ana Kriegel. You’re dragging her death into this under false pretences, making a baseless and dishonest comparison.

No there were people like you lamenting that the killers were being called scum and wastes of oxegen etc.

No doubt you yourself feel bad for those two children, as you do with Mulready and Tserendorj's killer.

Or you are being incredibly inconsistent with your child amnesty.

Mulready Woods met a horrific death, his mutilated body was scattered across the country. The whole nation was in shock, and it made international headlines. It was an appalling crime. If you want to cheerlead the killing of him, that’s on you. I'm sure you were lamenting his killers death. It shows exactly what kind of man you are. Tserendorj’s killer, on the other hand, was dealt with properly… by the law.

Look, it's cool. You think children should be dealt with and beaten by grown men for crimes. I don't.

No when Mulready's achivements became known that sympathy evaporated as people realised he was a scummer wannabe gangster rather than child.

You dont believe in responsibilty or consequences, what a shock.

Gillgan has been correctly dealt with by law. Stop slandering him to defend a scummer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,573 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

relatively minor compared to grown men beating children to a pulp, yes of course it is.

there is insufficient to no evidence to show this will have any effect on others visiting that property going forward.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Noworries!

No they're not, they're serious crimes, luckily a jury of his peers agreed. That's why he was found not guilty. Lot of people meeting the consequences of their actions lately, people getting fed up of the scum and vermin acting with impunity I suppose.

they are compared to grown men beating children to a pulp.
    all a jury agreed is that he was not guilty of asault, anything else you claim they agreed with they ultimately didn't even if they did as what a jury think on what the child did or didn't do is irrelevant as he wasn't on trial.
    the rest of your post is irrelevant as beating minors to a pulp doesn't equate to people suffering consequences as they are not proscribed consequences in irish law for the authorities to use.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Claiming that men found not guilty are in fact guilty is not the behaviour of anyone with a sliver of cop-on. It’s a very legally dubious strategy. Also to imagine you know more about the case than the jurors that certain posters have cast aspersions on is jaw dropping in its conceit.

No they're not. Being "beaten to a pulp" as you keep saying is a consequence, one would be stupid to think otherwise. Long may it continue, if people think they're going to get "pulped" instead of hugged, they might behave themselves. I'm unsure what you're trying to say in your middle paragraph?

they are ultimately lesser crimes then being beaten to a pulp.
    being beaten to a pulp is not a consequence as it is not a proscribed punishment in irish law for the authorities to use.
    there is no evidence or at least insufficient evidence to show that being beaten up will make people behave themselves.
    what i said in my middle point was that all the jury agreed on was that the individual charged with the crime of assault was not guilty of assault, anything else they may or may not have agreed with would have no relevance as not only was the relevant charge the only thing they were asked to deliberate on, but the child and victim was not on trial ultimately.

So the jury decided he done nothing wrong, excellent, I agree.

Or at the very least, what he did do, did not constitute assault, let alone "beating someone to a pulp"

Maybe, the dregs of society do tend to be pretty stupid, maybe being pulped won't send the message home, I think it will though, even stupid scum tend to get the message after a few hidings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I don't think he was found not guilty partly because of the gaa connection, instead fir what it's worth maybe the jury like a lot of decent sensible people are sick to the teeth of kids doing whatever they feel like doing and parents not bothered teaching them right from wrong.

Regardless of the time these kids were in this place, bottom line is they shouldn't have been there. They shouldn't have been interfering with private property. It's really not complicated.

Personally I don't think his parents are soing him or themselves any favours whinging about what occurred.

Instead hey should be questioning why their 12 yo was up to such anti social behaviour.

I think the man was a fool for going at anyone with a stick/pipe/whatever. He opened himself up to this family who appear to be without any sense of responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭deandean

I was about the age of that kid when the owner caught me robbing his orchard. I couldn't get over the wall in time. I got a thumping. I learned from that.

My father didn't photograph the bruises and go to the local newspaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭SpoonyMcSpoon

Did you grow up in a kid’s story book?

Surely taking what, maybe 3/4 apples what you could carry and running away, does not justify getting a thumping from an adult. I get you were not starving but a few apples in an orchard is absolutely nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,898 ✭✭✭robbiezero

As a matter of interest for the thumping you received, what would you have regarded as going over the top by the owner for what you did?

Let's say 2 broken legs - might that have been a bit much or just adequate thumping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭jluv

We had such an orchard by us also and we liked to grab a few apples from there too. Multiply that by 20 odd kids then quite a few apples would be gone. And the bottom line is...we shouldn't have been there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

“does anyone think a man should face arrest or charges for being unwilling to put up with unprovoked aggression”

Jvince and JohnRambo seem to.

Problem in this country is the likes of those who condemn these racist attacks (like that video) were defending non-racist unprovoked attacks on people for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,713 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

No but if 10 or 20 lads are taking 4 apples 2-3 times a week it's more than a few apples. 40 years ago apples were a seasonal crop. They were often grown for to sell to Bulmers or if you were near a port to ships. . There is a man in his eighties that I have a chat with now and again. He used to buy apple crops on trees in the 60's pick them, bag them and send them by truck to Bulmers in Clonmel. His mother was widowed when he was young. He bought his own pub and about 60-80 acres of land.

My own grandfather had a commercial orchard ( about two acres) and he used sell apples to the boats coming into Bantry, Glengarriff and Castletownbere in the 40's, 50's and 60's.

Stealing apples would be the equivlent of taking money out of his pocket.

I do not get the attitude that just because the building was in poor condition that some here consider it was OK to further wreck it. One of the blights in small towns and villages is unoccupied or vacant building being targeted by youths or young adults who consider it OK to break in and damage the places. In larger urban area other then use them as squats or for drug use. I know of one place locally that was wrecked over 3-4 months by a group using it as a drug den. Owner was not from the locality and it was slightly off the beaten track.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

On another note, re : this video, allowing a scumbag to attack you is simply foolish.

“They’re just kids”- they usually are not, pretty irrelevant if they are attacking you, driving a stolen vehicle, have a weapon.

“Call the Gardaí” - I’m sure the scummers will stick around and suddenly stop for 8 hours for them to turn up.

“Then you could be arrested” - not if the Gardaí never turn up. This is a cop out, your safety is paramount.

I recommend always having something for self-defence, boiling water, knuckle duster, penknife.

It is the job of adults to discipline the young.

Anyone who believes Niall Gilligan is a criminal or that the above scumbags should not have been dealt with is an enabler of violent crime.

Don’t forget, Mulready Woods wasn’t killed because of his intimidation of society. He was killed by the very people who groomed him and helped create the environment that produced his behaviour. By applauding his death, you’re siding with the cartel and the criminals who destroyed the area and set the stage for him to act as he did.

He was groomed, and I’m well aware of what he did before he was killed. But every modern society condemns what happened to him, and rightly so. Sure, you’ll always have fringe lunatics who cheer on the dismemberment of a child, but they’ll remain on the margins.

If they’re not, they’re just mouthing off online, not actually doing anything constructive to improve the situation in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭SpoonyMcSpoon

Interesting historical anecdote and I would agree with a good hiding for teenage boys being up to no good there. Context would be important though, especially if it was the one lad and he was already running away - just because you can beat him up, doesn't mean you should as an adult, especially if he is non-threatening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭New Scottman

It would have much better if Mulready Woods was killed by one the members of society that he intimidated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,296 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Wouldn't it have been better that nobody was killed?