Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Niall Gilligan cleared of assault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,687 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Good you see sense in your first sentence and can actually admit the angle was in the wrong.

After that the emotive language is utterly irrelevant. He tresspassed, he got the consequences, he shouldn't tresspass again.

Everybody wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭JVince

And by your response you think a young child should be given a severe beating for a minor indiscretion.

I sincerely hope you don't have or never will have children or be in charge of any children if you think a violent beating by an adult is the correct way to punish them for a relatively minor incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,687 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

A young child, more emotive nonsense.

He was 12, not 3 or 4, he knew he wasnt supposed to be breaking and entering unless theres a severe undiclosed mental/developmental issue.

The likes of you are the embarassments that were excusing the young children who murdered Ana Kriegel. I get it suits ye to infantalise the scummer but he wasn't an infant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Does anyone know if or indeed what verbal exchange took place between Mr Gilligan and the kid, prior to the physical side of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,822 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

In Irish law, a child is defined as anyone under 18. He was a young child, you can’t deny that. Nobody is excusing what he did, everyone accepts he and his friend were trespassing. The issue is the beating he received afterwards. He didn’t stand a chance against a grown man.

On your other topic… where, exactly, were the people supposedly excusing the boys who killed Ana Kriegel? I don’t recall a single one, and I’d genuinely love to see those posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭mikethecop

not trespassing though was it , or once off ,him and his chum did a lot of damage to the inside , left off fire extinguishers stole keys. hardly their first time out and about

this is a fine example of the sort of **** behaviour that going unanswered creates **** people as adults .

some one posted already here about a situation where if he had brought the kid home or called to the parents door Gilligan would have ended up in court regardless. .

Gilligan went a bit hard yes but also glad he got off and only for his popularity in the community he would faced years of intimidation from this wee shitebag and his family for years , now that seems unlikely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

I think it was the right decision in the circumstances, I don't think beating a child was right, but the jury accepted that he didn't see it was a child in the moment and I have no reason to doubt their decision.

But it is extremely regrettable that it would come to this at all. That people feel there is no support from the Gardai when they are suffering ongoing criminality and that people, particularly minors, are getting away with scummy antisocial, and at times criminal, behaviour in our society without decent guidance and reasonable consequences. I have sympathy for Gilligan and for the child. This shouldn't be how it is but unfortunately this is the reality.

The parents did themselves no favours with that Indo article at all - they don't seem to accept any responsibility for their child's misbehaviour. Full of excuses and sounds like they just dismiss any complaints with some "boys will be boys" nonsense. They havent even discussed the incident with the child. They really need to rethink their parenting approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Homer

sounds like the parents went for the all carrot and no stick approach to raising their kids while mr Gilligan went with the opposite 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,566 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

actually no they don't and this case is definitely proof of it as there was no defending of property in this case.
    the moral of the story is the opposite of what you state.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

The article in the Independent doesn’t reflect very well on the parents. They don’t seem to see the child’s behaviour as seriously problematic or an indictment of their own parenting.

I guess if you think there is nothing wrong with intruding on other peoples property you won’t see why there might be a reaction to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Juran

I saw the photos of the boy on some news outlet, but didnt read the Indo article. I wonder were the bruises confirmed as a result of assult by an object by a doctor, does anyone know ?

As kids, me and my cousins used to come home covered in bruises from falling off bikes, jumping out of trees, jumping off shed roofs, etc. Usual 1980's past times !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭jackboy

I don't think Gilligan denied beating him with a stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,178 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Yes it looked bad, his injuries but it might deter him from to do anything like it again

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,566 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

"might" does the heavy lifting here and it is debatible.

either way, even in the slight possible event it did deter him from whatever, that is not justification for him being beaten to a pulp for which there is none i'm afraid.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

'Beaten to a pulp' 😆

won’t someone think of the children 😄 cue hand wringing

in a sense there is a need for people to move on. Gilligan did not break the law, that’s just a fact. Conspiracy theories about jury corruption with no proof whatsoever are beneath contempt. Niall Gilligan did not break the law, of course you can argue that the law should be changed, but the reality is he is just not guilty of a crime, even if that doesn’t suit some peoples agendas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Hodger

Youngsters, acting the bollix and consequences.

This video went up on twitter yesterday.

While we can,t see his face clearly with his hood up, we can see he was acting the bollix and playing with fire.

Luckily for that particular youngster on that bus, the man he targeted showed self restraint and didn,t react in anyway.

But what if had of been another man the wrong man on the wrong day scenario and if a different man reacted with one good hard open hand slap to the youngsters face ? does anyone think a man should face arrest or charges for being unwilling to put up with unprovoked aggression if that had of been a different man on a different day ?

Whoever the parents of that little **** are they obviously never taught much regarding acting the bollix with unprovoked aggression towards a random stranger can have consequences, if and when he decides to do likewise towards another random stranger he may not be so lucky .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭New Scottman

The age of criminal responsibility in Ireland is 12.

The boy in this case was 12.

The most important thing about this case is the fact that if he hadn't trespassed, he wouldn't have been beaten. He created the situation i.e. instigated it so must share most of the blame. People who retaliate should only be punished in very exceptional circumstances.

Re Ana Kriegel. The Journal have never allowed comments on any article about her murder. Even after the killers were sentenced. That's because they don't want any criticism of the killers - which in a way is excusing their actions.

We’re all in agreement that the boy was trespassing, nobody disputes that, yet it keeps getting repeated like it’s breaking news.

The real issue for the empathetic person is the beating he received and of course the frustrations Gilligan endured. Even Gilligan’s own supporters admit it was a deliberate revenge attack to injure and “teach him a lesson”. Nobody buys the self-defence story, it's barely mentioned here.

So it boils down to this:

One side thinks grown men should dish out their own justice by beating children.
    One side believes no man has the right to take the law into his own hands and beat up a child.

I think this is one of those instances where we'll just have to agree to disagree as they say.

In that case, you believe grown men should dish out their own justice by beating children.

Jesus give it a rest.. thankful for the ignore function for the likes of you 🤦🏻‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,272 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Even if they were adults trespassing they shouldn't have been beaten. A quick check of the criminal justic act does not have being beaten up as a punishment (https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1994/act/2/section/13/enacted/en/html).

But it's a local GAA man, he was never getting convicted. Rubbish decision.

Again, people who were not at the hearing, who don’t have a clue about law, insisting that Gilligan is guilty, even though he has been proven to be not guilty. It’s contemptible and ignorant.

More than one person saying he was found not guilty because he was a GAA player. With literally no evidence to support that. Ignoramuses and fools.

Not sure why you're keeping on with this nonsense. The case appeared before the court and he was found not-guilty. Also the whole GAA favoritism thing is getting old now as well.

It's not something you can prove. It's something you know if you have an understanding of culture and society in Ireland. Only an ignorant fool thinks prominent GAA players get opportunities and gets away with stuff other people don't! We've seen plenty of examples of it and we've seen plenty of people found not guilty of crimes they clearly committed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Noworries!

Lol, trespassing, criminal damage and theft is relatively minor? And to top it all off, lying about what happened. It'll be a long time before some other scumbag creeps into that property intent on damaging something that doesn't belong to them.

This is a discussion about Niall Gilligan being inexplicably cleared of assault, the only reason it’s being discussed is because it’s controversial. If you want me to stop talking about it, report me to the moderators. If you don’t like being labelled as one of the men who thinks grown men should dish out their own justice by beating children, then change your tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭fawlty682

A sensible jury. Vandalism is rife in Ireland and very rarely are they caught.