Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Donegal GAA Discussion Thread

1346347348349350352»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

The bag of ashes it is unfortunately.
    This game will be analysed to death but the only analysis that matters is what Jim and the lads learn from it.
    A few reflections from the game.
    We lost both throw ups and conceded a score each time putting us on the back foot immediately.
    For the first time in the championship we conceded two frees from outside the arc. The first was extremely harsh and many refs would have given a free the other way. The second was very poor at a vital time in the game and extended the lead to six killing our momentum.
    Our bench, with the notable exception of Jason, was poor and some had a negative impact.
    The challenge that led to Ryan leaving injured was a shocker.
    We conceded both times we were down a man due to injuries.
    The team selection didn’t work. We left ourselves exposed in midfield.
    Kerry, having built an early lead, controlled the game really well. We played on their terms.
    It is bitterly disappointing that we didn’t perform to our standards yesterday. We all know how difficult it is to get to this stage. However I firmly believe that there is an All Ireland in this team and it will be all the sweeter when it happens.
    The level of vitriol levelled at Jim and the lads is pathetic. We are not liked because we are different. We don’t know our place. Long may that continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Seadin

Not having a go but you said your team didn't flop like Cork did in the hurling ? Kerry beat yous by 10 points? If that's not a flops then I don't know what is to be fair but I won't say no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭timmyntc

lol what happened Cork was embarrassing. snatching defeat from the jaws of victory. How any team could go from so far ahead to losing so badly in the 2nd half, ouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,385 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

In fairness, 3-14 to 0-2 in a second half is many times more a 'flop' than what happened Donegal yesterday.

Jim showed great class and humility in defeat yesterday. Some posters could learn a lot from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Seadin

Jim flopped as well unfortunately . He left Paudie Cliiford free for the whole game and nobody marking him. Clifford had a field day. Jim is a big instigator for fitness but Kerry looked a level above Donegal yesterday as well with fitness. Poor tactics and Jim looked nervous before the start. For a guy that thrives on sport psychology he made a poor stab at it yesterday and looked nervous. He was destroyed all over the field and Kerry should have won by more. Very unDonegallike performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,385 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

He got it back to 4 points. His players from the get go did look off the pace. Happens on big days. A few minor adjustments and it might have been different. A late goal flattered Kerry a bit.
    A 'flop' is a stretch and a bit unnecessarily demeaning. Kerry are a great team. no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭babybuilder

The origins of yesterday's performance could be found in the first half of each of the previous three games against Louth, Monaghan and Mayo. Poor starts and allowing the opposition to dictate play and get 2 pointer attempts on goals. Kerry took full advantage yesterday. Equally Kerry playing against two better opponents in the quarter and semi-finals stood them well. Donegal's lack of All-Ireland final experience was evident. Even during the warm-up the players looked very edgy. They were on the back foot from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Out of curiosity, why do they break away from the parade early. It is (a little) disrespectful. The band are playing and proceeding around the pitch. And Kerry team following them. I don't know why Donegal feel they should break away from it prematurely.

Anyway, it's just a minor point, and doesn't impact on the final result. I thought Paddy McBrearty might swing over a couple of 2 pointers and narrow the gap to make Kerry sweat. But when he missed the first one, it can be a dent in the confidence at such a crucial stage in the game. McHugh and Thompson going off had a big impact as well. Ryan McHugh wasn't in the game much, but he has great experience and would surely have had an impact if he didn't get injured. But ifs and buts are no good at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,814 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I dont think Donegal.lost because McHugh, and Thompson, went off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭gooner99

I agree to a degree, as I think Kerry were on their game and had answers to our threaths. But if you look further into it, Thompson looked like he could have been a two point candidate and McHugh impact attacking play. I see McHugh's arm is in a sling in Donegal town tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I know. I just meant that I think that with the form that Kerry were in, that Donegal needed almost everything to go right for them in the game. Getting injuries like that is a big set back, especially Thompson fairly early in the game.

And then if I recall correctly, ye missed a fair few point attempts with approx 15 mins to go. Couldn't get it below that 4 point lead. If it had come down to 2 points, it would have made the opposition a little more nervous and could have made it more interesting. But it didn't happen, so it is all theoretical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭GBXI

Speaking of substitutions, why did they take Gallen off? Was he injured? Bringing on McBrearty for Gallen was a shocker. McBrearty can't move whereas Gallen is very quick and I would argue Gallen is also much more accurate. I think he had 3 from 3 when he was subbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

I would counter that Gallen has had a bit of a stinker of a year. Granted, he was returning from injury early in the season but he seems to be now consistently hesitating in positions where he would have taken a shot before. Paddy is done, as is Jamie sadly. We've a serious forwards problem in the county. Lads who can win 1-on-1 ball, beat their defender and consistently score.

I believe the sum of our parts were good enough to beat Kerry in the final, but the difference was Kerry had leaders all over the field who took the game to us. Bar Murphy and COD, we lacked players with that grit on the field. I'd imagine that's why Jim gave Langan the vice captaincy, to try and get the most out of him, when there are matches that he can disappear into the background when he has the potential to be immense, and a game changer. He reminds me a little of MacNiallais in that sense. Buckets of ability, but questionable consistency in workrate.

I said a few games into Murphy's return that we'll get a second season out of this fella and I still think we'll see him next year. Ryan has had a fairly desperate season, he looks like a lad who just doesn't want to be there and the performance up until his injury in the final was surprising, as he admitted in the buildup to a poor performance in the '14 final, and thought I'd see something from him that was missing all year.

I feel as a squad we'd be better without McHugh, McBrearty and Brennan next year which sounds harsh given their stellar service to the county, and to try and fill those gaps with the best alternatives available in the club scene or development squad, and to bench Oisin if he's not putting up and/or creating enough scores. I've serious doubts over whether Dara O B is cutout for a team with all-ireland ambitions either. A ridiculous threat when firing, but lacking in any consistency.

I feel Niall O Donnell could be pivotal for us next year if we can keep him injury free, as he seems to have the big game attitude that some of our fellas lack. OMFF should be back at full tilt for the league, which should give us a second sticky defender, and add some menace to the backline. Another winter of training under Jim should reveal further gains for Moore and Roarty and if we can manage Jason's injuries that he's able to play full matches, we could be a dangerous animal next summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

A ticket I found which I think was Michael Murphy's Ulster championship debut. Rory Gallagher was actually doing co commentary that day for BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,302 ✭✭✭overshoot

did he play both games that day or am I thinking of mcbrearty in 2011?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,797 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

You`re thinking of McBrearty.

2008 was Murphy`s first Ulster Championship game, but his first game as a county senior was in 2007 against Leitrim in the qualifiers.

wrong thread lol

Post edited by ghostfacekilla on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Given his history Fat Freddie has the potential to take Paidi Clifford out of the game.

Speaking of Thompsons, ciaran thompson has done his cruciate. He had a great run injury-wise through his career. Wishing him a speedy recovery. Big blow to NC for championship.