Zero Situational Awareness

191011121315»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Their lived experience does not include any time when they would have used a landline handset. They might not ever have seen one. There is nothing in the design of a moble phone to indicate that it should be held up against the ear. This is on sale on Temu, described as vintage. The earpiece and the mouthpiece dictated how the phone was used, not so with a mobile.

image.png

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

plus - spitballing here - if a woman is wearing makeup, holding the phone in the manner described would remove the chance of getting makeup on the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭506972617465

I just want to say "THANK YOU" to everyone in this thread. You helped me realise that I'm not an old, bitter person and that I'm not alone. I was reading your responses with a smile growing on my face. Today, sanity and faith in humanity have triumphed - idiocracy loses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Google results for "not holding mobile phone to ear". This has been exercising the minds of the internet for a few years. But what it has to do with Zero Situational Awareness is not clear to me.

About 60,600,000 results (0.27s).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

It’s that or majority on here are old and bitter and I’m getting closer each day to the older side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Your posts on this subject make no sense. I'm unsure if you're the "pot smokers" or the "well brought up church going women".

Could be solved /helped by making sure that every kid doesn't get shuttled to their classroom door in the back of an SUV. Remember when kids could walk or cycle or get the bus to school?

Having the staff on headsets cuts out all the 'Customer service staff to Till 4' announcements that were a serious PITA for everyone, and worse for people with sensory overload.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I mentioned they were having conversations, not exchanging logistical information. Like what Paul who usually works weekends got up to in magaluf, that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

But they're having the chats not sorting out store issues. It's still the norm in my local Aldi anyway. While scanning your items and taking payment they're deep in conversation with the lad two tills over. It took some getting used to when I started shopping there (never lived near one before).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,751 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

In my previous Lidl two of them were brothers who lived together. I don't know what they had left to talk about when they got home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,040 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

My local Dunnes is infamous for staff roaring down the microphone which gets blasted throughout the store - it's positively unpleasant.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

Can't say I've seen that particular scenario. I'd be more often in Lidl than Aldi. Perhaps it's down to local management.

But if we're going to put people into mind-numbingly boring jobs, it shouldn't be a huge surprise that they're going to look for outlets for stimulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Another ZSA, people who are standing at the back of the conveyer belt looking at their phone and don't realise that they are almost the next customer and their shopping is already up at the till. Nobody else can place their shopping on the belt until they snap out of it and move their arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,378 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'd say it's more the makeup. I don't think saying they have no lived experience because they never used a land line right. They see people everyday holding phones to their heads.

my wife has been using a knee scooter for the last couple of months after suffering a bad ankle break. it's kinda hard to miss, she wears a big plastic boot out in public and the scooter itself is unmistakable.

but some people seem to enter a boot loop when they see her on it. they stop and wait for her to navigate around them. and the worst is, as happened earlier today, a guy was walking towards her on the path, while staring at his phone; glanced up and copped her, and straight back to his phone, and did not break stride or direction. she had to veer out of his way to avoid him walking straight into her. it's not the first time it's happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I had one of those at one stage. They just haven’t reached the same recognition level as a white stick, crutch, or wheelchair yet. Most people don’t realise it’s an aid for someone with an injury or impairment. That… and people having zero situational awareness of course. Hope the ankle is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭Turbulent Bill

Had an example of good situational awareness in a supermarket today, a rarity. At the checkout, both myself and the woman ahead of me had plenty of stuff on the belt. She politely asked whether it's ok if the guy behind me (with two items in his hands) could go ahead of her. Obviously agreed, everyone went home a bit happier.

I'd normally be aware of the person immediately behind me in the queue (have they a few items, elderly etc.), but was distracted today. It takes good awareness though to spot something further back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Work experience person giving out bc they are never going to inherit a house, as their parents lost it in the banking crisis(bank "forced" the parents to take out loans they could never repay apparently)

This trainee has appox 6 months left on their contract and is in the break room complaining that 1. They cant balance their revolute 2. How many transactions she doesn't recognise on the card and shops are belligerent when she "stands up for herself".

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

Classic one from early autumn.

I was legging it to collect one of the kids when a tiny fly went straight into my eye. Blinked without thinking and ended up mashing it under the eyelid. Not agony…. painful and couldn’t see out of the eye at all.

Straight into the chemist for an eyewash. There was one oul fella ahead of me at the counter. Once he was finished, instead of stepping out of the way like any normal person, he turned around and just stood there, planted, even though there was loads of space either side. I didn’t clock it at first, head down, rubbing the eye, half blind and fairly rattled. Then I hear the pharmacist say, “Can you let him through there, I think he’s in a bit of pain.”

I looked up and, through the one good eye, there he was, grim faced boomer, glaring at me like I'd put a barrier between him and his wallet. No drama. Once I realised what was going on I just went around the petty gobshite and up to the counter.

Pharmacist was sound, checked the eye, sorted me out with the wash and explained what to do. As I was leaving she told me your man had marched out the door muttering away to himself and shaking his head, raging that the world hadn’t revolved around him for thirty seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,031 ✭✭✭circadian

Sounds like she inherited financial ineptitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭csirl

Here's one I experienced this morning.

Was exiting a busy multi-story car park. The car on front of me stops at the exit barrier. Gets out of the car and, slowly without a care in the world, walks around looking for a payment machine. When he finds one, he starts rummaging through his pockets for change and takes his time paying. Then slowly walks back to his car seemingly oblivious to the queue of cars that had built up in the few minutes since he left his car!

Well written. I can actually visualise it happening, it's sort of funny! I hope you weren't in a rush!