Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Forest Fest 2025 - Emo , Co Laois 25-27 July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,734 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Stranglers went on 40mins ahead.

They could really do with explaining what the **** is going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,936 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Seriously. What's the point of having a timetable/app if you're going to do that.

So far each act is taking the advanced time of the previous and adding ten. Manics will be an hour early at this rate (and clash with Kerbdog)

I've seen the Stranglers before, and thought they might be 30 early so not missed much and nothing I've never seen before either; but still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,774 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

he’d have a fairly curt response and I’m not sure I’d blame him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,774 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

It mentioned the tribute but didn’t say everything was f’ed due to it.

If it’s just one hartnoll does that make it orbit instead of orbitall?

VIP area is overcrowded and hasn't enough toilets. Toilets are one of the biggest selling points!

Snarky Snark Snark

looks to mostly be an issue for the wimmins loos though. I’ve been brewing a special all day for the “posh” loos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,824 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Kula shaker are abysmally awful. Honestly can't believe they're not the first band of the day and not in a plum spot on the bill. Actually, scratch that, can't believe they're still going as a band.

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Rest of the site seems way busier when they're on....

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,701 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Please tell me that is not Lerbdog playing one hour ahead of the wooz schedule

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 LLamachara

Crowd got noticeably busier at Kuala Shaker at the time when they were due on. But they only had 2 songs left and were 40 mins into their set.

Bit of a **** up with the main stage times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Kerbdog started at 8:15.

Closer to 830. That stage isn't running insanely early, it's just the main stage

Snarky Snark Snark

looks like a 21:30 start for MSP

scratch that. They’re still fiddling about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,173 ✭✭✭rino87

In what way? Sloppy playing, band singing, or they just not interested??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,936 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Very small crowd for The Manatees but I thought they were pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭over-30s-soccer

Weather this year vs other ones must have brought a full crowd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,824 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Yeah they weren't bad. Only caught a few of their songs due to clashing with Kerbdog but might check them out again. I only bothered because the Coach Party girls were raving about them so thought they'd be worth a gander. Coach party themselves were excellent.

All of the above. Bad singing, bad songs, bad vibe, just all around bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Solid 90 minutes from Manic Street Preachers in front of probably the biggest ever crowd on the field for Forest Fest in its a 4 years so far.

Snarky Snark Snark

orbital enjoyable but bed is singing her sweet sweet siren song.

and we have much work tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,492 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Great day, saw charming men, therapy, Peter hook, stranglers, kerbdog and the manics ....all great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Great day. Very impressed with the whole thing. Kicked off with TCM, maybe the most I've ever enjoyed them, great crowd. Just got the end of Therapy?, Hooky, deadly, a couple from Dirty Blond, not for me, last couple from Coach Party who sounded great. Wandered off near the end of the Stranglers to the Fleadh tent, caught a bit of Buille, Armagh lads, fantastic craic. Lovely crowd there, room in front of the stage where a little one, 4 or 5, was out giving us her Irish dancing moves, cheered to the rafters. Where would you get it? Pillow Queens excellent, tent hopping for Kerbdog, Manics left me cold, loved Teenage Fanclub, bit of Beoga back in the Fleadh and a rip roaring set from Johnny Cash before home. Fantastic day. Only quibble was the mother flipping chairs which ruined the main arena for me. Everything behind the sound desk is chairs and there's loads of the feckers beyond that right up to 10 rows back from the front for the Manics, a couple of dopes sitting down like it's Sunday afternoon at the bandstand. They really need to do something about it.

Lovely to bump into the legend that is @scruff monkey

Post edited by Stillill42 on

Couldn’t believe how much it emptied out after the Manics. Thought Teenage Fanclub and Orbital would be wedged but you could go right up the front for both. I presume most of the Chair-Feckers had kids and left early.

Loved Orbital, wasn’t expecting them to play Satan but they did and it was so intense.

My first year there and I’d definitely go again. The Potato Shack food truck doesn’t sell potatoes but they had the nicest festival chicken I’ve ever had. Or maybe I was just starving.

Great set up and organisation, other than the main stage times going a bit wonky half way through. I’d agree they need to enforce the ‘no chairs near the front’ rule a bit better because let’s face it, you’re always going to have a small percentage of ignorant fcukwits at a big event like this.

Why not just install some long benches at the back of each tent / stage and ban chairs altogether? That way folk have no excuses. First come, first sitting.

I get people wanting to sit around and have a chat, also that it's a necessity for some, just the nature of the site means there's no dead space so the chairs clog up the flow. No excuse for the clients that pitch themselves 30 yards out from the main stage headliners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,485 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Its that way every year, after 11pm people just leave in big numbers hence why they have changed the headliner timeslots. In 2023 they had the headliners running from 11.30-1am but it was likes of Proclaimers and Bell X1 who had the biggest crowds not James or Suede who probably should have had.

Folks i have a spare ticket for today if anyone fancies it. Free gratis to a genuine punter.

PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 LLamachara

Fantastic little festival. Really exceeded my expectations of it. Great crowd and vibe.

Thought Manics were excellent followed by Orbital. TCM were brilliant, they seemed really chuffed with the turnout for them. Therapy? we’re class. James Joyce is **** my sister caught the chair brigade unawares. Ha.

Great to see Hooky but Jesus, he can’t sing. But those guitar riffs!

Chairs are a bit annoying, particularly those creating whole rows and blocking access to the main stage.

Brilliant festival though. Reminds me of the Avalon area of Glastonbury.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Anyone use the martleys shuttle bus that goes from portlaoise to emo and back? Do they take cash or card and how much? Trying to decide on my route down today but the Dublin shuttle that stops in newbridge at 4ish isn't bookable on their site so maybe it's sold out.