Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Renault 5

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

The fit and finish is nice and I’d suggest superior to any car I’ve previously owned. I’ve never had a luxury car, so I’m not a good judge. The suspension is really good and it’s a really comfortable place to be. The sound system is fine, but I’m no audiophile. The quirky Renault media controls stalk is fine once you get used to it.

BTW, to change the EQ you tap the settings icon next to the gear in the music source menu.

Post edited by 5uspect on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭dsandson

Good to hear someone else who uses Plexamp! I have a Megane on order, with the same infotainment system. Personally I'm interested to see if I can get a good self-hosted music app onto Android Automotive. Unfortunately Plexamp isnt available. I have seen someone has produced their own Jellyfin app so might have to give that a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I know it's a dirty EV but I really want one and this isn't helping:

https://www.autoexpress.co.uk/renault/5/367369/renault-5-monte-carlo-edition-pays-homage-clio-williams

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,926 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Pity they didnt add any oomph to the car, its the small 40 kWh battery and the 120bhp motor thats slower to 60 than the original Clio williams.

At least give it the bigger battery and the 150bhp motor FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭JKerova1

How long does it take to charge, if charging at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,013 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Empty to full, 6 hours for smaller battery, 7 hours or so for big battery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

Good, there should be strict limits on EV or any other car when it comes to acceleration because the level of speeding on L roads and in general is ridiculous. Cars accelerate now so fast in such a short amount of time and a lot of people don't care about people walking or cycling on country roads or kids.

The 110 Hp in the Leaf wasn't slow, it was appropriate for a hatch. These SUV should have 100 Hp motors or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,521 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Power doesn't equate to speeding. I'm regularly tailgated and undertaken for sticking to 50kph limits around built up areas in Dublin. A huge number of cars on the road will play catch up and casually speed if nobody is in front of them just to sit behind cars further down the road.

My EV is faster than the majority of diesel shitboxes on the road but they're the ones speeding. It's not the lads in the tidy BMW M cars, Porsche, performance Tesla etc.

The issue is lack of enforcement.

image.png

20 to 80% at 7.7 kW took about four and a half hours. The Zappi reported 32.29 kWh indicating a 4.5% charging loss and a 51.4 total battery capacity.

Are all the apps and stuff easy to use and get used to? I'm a huge technophobe, I can't even work our heat pump at home! There's a lot to be said for the simplicity of putting petrol/diesel in a car

I’m the opposite of a technophobe so I’m not the right person to ask. I had some issues connecting the MyRenault phone app to the car so I just did a factory reset on the cars infotainment system and it was pretty easy from there. I’ve set up a programme on the car to charge to 80% every night at 11:30 so if I decide to plug it in then it’ll do exactly that. The Zappi comes with an app too but I’ve not configured anything there. The car blocks charging until programmed.

In car the Google system is pretty straightforward, but I use Apple CarPlay which is also easy to use.

You can set these programmes from the infotainment screen or the MyRenault App. It looks like this.

image.png

Of course you can ignore all of this and just plug the car in when you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,595 ✭✭✭Fitz II

I was about to ask about the MyRenauly app problem but you got there ahead of me and your fix worked a treat. Lovely little car, drive very smoothly and comfortable. Audio system is not too bad at all although at high volume the bass does clip, all in all excellent.

image.png

Such a cool looking little car…

I'd love to buy one but I feel they are targeted at young, tech-savvy people. I don't fit into either category.

Post edited by JKerova1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

There are plenty of EVs that fit your category - starting with almost any VW, MG, or BYD product, or - as we're discovering by the orders on here - the Hyundai Inster.

Anyone know what this is? Do I still have to activate something and what am I missing by not having it activated?

The purple activate the service message in 2nd pic doesnt do anything when i press it

1000059147.jpg 1000059148.jpg

It’s to connect the car to a cellular network, specifically Orange. You get 3GB free for six months and it’s €5.99 per month after. This allows the built in Google Services to work. Alternatively you can let the car connect to your home WiFi or via your phone.

In the MyRenault app go scroll down to Vehicle Info and tap Contracts and find the infotainment pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,740 ✭✭✭whippet

I spent a few weeks down the south of france recently and there are plenty of 5s about the place. I really like my little hatchbacks and would seriously consider swapping my iD4 for one. Must get a little test drive for my self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

if you like little hatchbacks and your lifestyle can accommodate one with no sacrifices, how did you end up in a pipe & slippers ID4 over at least an ID3 or a Cupra Born or something similar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,740 ✭✭✭whippet

don't mention the war. I had a Cupra Born and loved it .. I had a lend of an iD4 while a software update was being done on the Cupra and for some crazy reason I thought the extra boot space and bigger interior was what was missing in my life. So I changed and regretted the decision almost immediately. The wife has a nice big estate and that is for the dogs and any time I need space. So - now I want a little fun car again.

She loves the idea of me getting a Mini Cooper JCW electric - but I'm not too interested - I believe the ride is far too stiff and not sure i'd look that great behind the wheel …. the 5 just seems to tick all the boxes for me. I've two teenagers but anytime we are out and about it tends to be in the wife's car - so the back seats would be for occasional small journeys.

We have gone from cupra born to R5 in the last month and apart from style I do believe the Born is the better car. Still happy with my choice as its only ever a 1 person or 2 person car.

I also have Tavascan which I dont feel is boring at all, feels extremely similar to drive as the Born the way they have it set up.

Like you I would have zero interest in a mini. They dont even look good anymore in my opinion, they used to be good looking cars but not the new ones

What's the craic with spare keys for these things? Its the card shaped fob not an actual key.

It looks like it have misplaced the spare, its not where I thought it should be with the other cars spare and can't locate it anywhere. Probably in the house but if I dont find it in next week or so I'll have to order another one. I defo want a spare.

Is it better to go dealer or one of the autokey specialists?

Annoyed at myself now but not the end of the world

The only way I can afford one of these at the moment is through PCP. I'm wary of PCP and would rather take out a loan and buy the car outright. However, most people are saying with it comes to EV's PCP isn't such a bad thing. In three years time technology might have moved forward and there could be a new iteration of the 5 out with a bigger battery etc, so it might not be a bad thing to have the option of buying outright or trading up in a few years. I think I'll wait until the end of the year and see if any ex-demo models come up for sale at a reduced price.

You're trying to get validation on your wanting to spend money ? by using the fact technology is changing ? To justify the never never of PCP ? from others hooked on PCP ? we'll always find excused to want to spend money rather than just invest.

Best , in my opinion is to buy the car outright then you know exactly what's what at the end but that's not very attractive to you because you may have checked what it costs to pay for a car over 3 years per month on back loan vs PCP ? PCP being much cheaper and car loans are mostly stretched over 5 years and low payments over 3 years is much more attractive ? clever way to get people hooked on car repayments.

PCP payments are based on the interest and calculated depreciation over the 3 years and xx mileage, this is why it's cheap per month but eventually the balloon has to be paid or you simply walk away which is what I did after the 2.5 years into ID3 PCP, I walked away from a car that I hated for various reasons using the Half rule, others have done it here.

Mostly what happens is that you end up in a cycle of car payments because the monthly payments are cheap and the car salesman will try tell you " PCP is designed to ensure you have equity in the car after 3 years" if you hear that nonsense walk away, he's talking pure shyte. If you hear him tell you to put down 20,000 Kms if you do 40,000 Kms a year, walk away because while you might save per month you will pay in depreciation at the end and risk paying 8 cent per Km if you hand the car back at the end of the contract, I avoided this by using the half ruel, whether this is standard I don't know but it's still a risk you will end up paying all mileage over the agreed amount.

If you can only afford a car on PCP then you can't afford a car, sorry if that sounds offensive and blunt, but alarm bells ring out when I read that. If you can't afford a car via bank loan then you can't afford the car. Just because you can afford the deposit and monthly payments doesn't mean you can afford the car and in 3 years if you decide you are spending far too much money you risk walking away and handing the car back and being without a car and you will be charged around 8 cent per km of mileage over the agreed amount.

You said the only way you can afford one of these at the moment is pcp, then you say you would rather buy outright via bank loan perhaps ? but you can't afford it so why are you considering a new car ? honestly, save the money and buy a good 2nd hand car in 3 years time and you'll feel a lot better about it because once you realise how much you spent on a car and the novelty wears off and reality hits, 2 more years to go…..then 1 year……., then what ?

Can I ask you a question? Do you have a life? Girlfriend? Wife? Job? How in gods name would someone have the time or inclination to write SIX paragraphs on a forum like this, aimed at some guy you dont even know. Just piss off and get a life for yourself, jesus!

I Didn’t realise offering input deserved a personal attack. Your reaction says more than I ever could.

Theres always going to be new and probably improved versions of cars coming out, thats inevitable. Don't stretch yourself for any car though if you have other obligations. It really is a lovely car but not worth financial pain.

When initial demand dies down and they are readily available you might pick up a good deal but its predicted to hold value pretty well.

Run your numbers and once you really properly understand PCP and can afford it, then its an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,595 ✭✭✭Fitz II

Just going to ignoring the agro stuff…but the real answer is it depends.

I have on my drive a car I have bought outright, a car I have on PCP and a car on HP….each one was a decision based on what made sense at the time and for the purpose. The PCP car is the family car. We like to change it every 3-4 years to to stay in warranty. If market values are crap at the end and you have no equity left, hand it back and then immediately buy it back at market on a HP or personal loan…or cash if you have it. If values are good roll into another car if you want, or refinance the residual for a cheap second hand car…You have to be happy with the monthly and the fact you may be stuck with the car at the end.

HP is good from a emotional point of view as you always have the equity in the car. But if the car tanks you also own the loss. Half rule applies to PCP and HP so if the economy tanks you can bail (or usually threaten to bail to get the lender to drop repayments to subsistance levels to avoid taking the book hit). There are certain EV tax breaks for the self employed, and others for companies that need consideration also. I HP'ed the Renault 5, the difference in the monthly was about 200 euro to the PCP which made sense for me.

Look at the interest rates, if you are getting low rates then that makes more sense, 10% rates make no sense. Renault are doing 5.9% at the moment HP and PCP, so the costs of the credit is not terrible…not fantastic, but not terrible.

There is no clear answer, and a good answer would need detailed knowledge of your circumstances and the stability of your financial situation, which I would not suggest sharing on the internet. Credit makes the world go round, you could be dead tomorrow, but dont go into debt for a car if it jeopardies more important commitments. Credit is not evil, it just a contract to exchange your future time and money for the opportunity to have goods today. Sit down and work out the numbers and whatever makes sense, makes sense. As I have gotten older and my finances have become more complex, my certainty about what is good and bad has changed over the years, but the PCP debate on car forums always causes some issues as people make sometimes insulting judgments about others financial situations based on their own bias, however in general the advice is well intentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,521 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I'd like to point out that PCP is just car finance. The idea that "you can't afford the car" is laughable. Most people can afford the car, they just don't want to save for 3,4,5 years to buy it when they can finance it now and have cash on the side for a rainy day.

I couldn't afford my house either...

I'd also like to point out that car finance isn't new. Before PCP, people got bank loans. My mam had a new Skoda Octavia every two years between 04-08. Now that PCP is a thing people seem to have an issue with it.

Nobody seems to have an issue with people getting €20-30k credit union loans for high mileage secondhand Audi, BMW that they can't afford to service or even put more than €50 diesel into.

At the end of the day if you couldn't afford PCP you wouldn't be approved for it. It also isn't a trap, you can walk away or pay it off entirely if you want. If you're the type of person to change cars every 2-3 years it suits you. If you want a car outright it's often cheaper than a bank/credit union loan.

Obviously don't kill yourself paying €600 a month plus bills, mortgage/rent, kids, crèche whatever...

Thanks a bunch it means a lot and if I had read your post clearly I should have realised you weren't actually asking a question about PCP so apologies for the lecture.