Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭tinytobe

Suppose she was shot? It would stronger point to Daniel. And an experienced professional could easily make it look unprofessional and a rage killing. Leaving her so clearly at the roadside, would have also meant he felt safe with his getaway, wanted her to be found soon, - so he'd gotten "his money worth".

It's not that as you wrote "I have a motive", it's that we know that there is a motive. In absence of any evidence we've got to look at motives and Daniel's is by far the strongest.

Who had the biggest bank account? Who stood to lose the most? Who knew where she was exactly and that she was alone that night? Whose finances were never investigated? Which husband didn't go to Ireland when his lawfully wed wife passes away? And which widower gets married and has a child very soon after? Who gotten the life insurance payout? And the cottage?

It's a bit obvious, eh? But as said, it's just a motive, but a very strong one.

Another strong motive could have been Leo Bolger. He would also have known that Sophie was at her cottage and alone. If doing something illegal he'd certainly go to jail this time, and he wouldn't want that. The judge wouldn't have been light a 2nd time around. Financially there would have been less on the line for Bolger than for Daniel but Bolger could easily have faced 10 years for some drug related racket. If Sophie gotten in the way she had "to be dealt with".

Why would Bailey's only motive always be sexual?

That "old story" he hiked over to her house at 3 am in the morning with an expensive bottle of French wine and recite his poetry? He never even cheated on Jules? He never raped another woman. He wasn't in the habit of chasing after women at all.

If it was Bailey, we'd have to come up with another motive, other than sexual. There is also no real material gain for Bailey from Sophie's death.

The only sexual motive I could think of is that Guard from Bantry who also wasn't shy to using force, blackmail, rustling farm animals, a corrupt and bent man. His motive would have been a lot more than Bailey, in position of power, and known interest for foreign women, known to be cheating.

And then least likely Tomy Ungerer was known to have rather odd sexual interests, but I don't think there was even ever a consideration between him and her and his jealous wife was probably always after him….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,132 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,425 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

What was Bolger caught doing? Growing a few weed plants?

Yes, but it was more than a few. It was large scale and described as very sophisticated, one of the best ever seen. He would have been put away for a rather long time, if the Guards hadn't mentioned that "he helped them" in another case and then Bolger gotten off lightly, just some suspended sentence. He wouldn't have been lucky a 2nd time and he knew that.

That is all a "big if" where one can deduce a strong motive for Bolger, and same for a corrupt Guard if he was "in league" with others and some racket. Or suppose they blackmailed someobody with a record, like Alfie? All speculation, but still a possible motive.

As to Bailey he had nothing here, he wasn't doing drugs, he wasn't after material gain, his only priors with the police where domestic confined to the for walls of the house, beating up Jules and too much to drink.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I also added a bit to that comment when you first jumped on it (as if it was something amazing) - what was that again? (hint: I said that the circumstantial evidence could apply to anyone)

A lot of “hope” and indeed not a small amount of “hype”- so obviously I get the “marketing”- they’re American so dollar and profit is bottom line so every cold case counts.

I’d prefer if they just shut up and get on with it - we’ve seen cold case reviews, digs and publicity campaigns and all sorts of other bollox through the years for many murder enquires without any results - it’s time to shut up and deliver

“The US team is being led by Jared Bradley, chief executive of M-Vac Systems“
    https://www.thesun.ie/news/15596623/sophie-toscan-murder-experts-dna-tests-bloodstains-solve-mystery/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭mazdamiatamx5

So Bailey's only priors involved a history of violence against women, and he didn't have any history of taking drugs apart from alcohol, which as we all know is harmless.

As far as I know that's correct.

It's possible or more or less my good guess, that he may have smoked weed here and there or now and then, but if even so, it wasn't a regular habit I was aware of. He may also have had a history violence toward his first wife back in England?

Alfie Lyons had a drug habit, that is known.

He certainly smoked hash but for how long before these cases (b low link) who knows - I would guess he was an occasional user before the murder

https://www.southernstar.ie/news/bailey-tells-court-that-box-with-cannabis-was-a-gift-4256583

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

No, not plausible. Many attac-ks on lone females are mot-ivated by sexual intent.

I am not aware- of a single case of such a -crime being motivated by a failed attempt to persuade the victim of the quality of the perpetrator's poetry. So…..,,implausible.

How many women were attacked or sexually attacked, atempted rape or rape? As far as I know this was non existent in West Cork. There was probably a lot of consentual casual sex after a few drinks in the pub.

My gut feeling is this crime was about Sophie. She gotten somebody in the way or seen too much, couldn't be reasoned with, and had to be dealt with.

Either it's down to her husband Daniel, or it's something regarding drugs and bent Guards in West Cork.

West Cork attracted a lot of people with psychological issues and those running away from their own lives -,doesn’t make any of them killers - but I would bet certainly a lot more people per 100,000 of the population with psychological challenge and illness resided there than did in most other villages in Ireland

Those blow ins who moved to West Cork had made their money somewhere else, were looking for a quiet life, often an alternative, some of them were misfits, hippies and total losers as well. The big money isn't there, except maybe in drugs but those who were in it didn't seem to show it in a big lifestyle. Bent Guards were probably only muscling in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Right so you admit that Farrell is a perjurer. And we know Bailey and Thomas have a history of perjury and lies. And these are the ones mainly of making unsafe conduct accusations. Their accusations are not reliable.

I've constantly said Farrell is an unreliable witness.

There was a flimsy case against everyone, regardless of the murderer due to a lack of hard evidence. The evidence is entirely circumstantial and there's more of that against Bailey than anyone else, particularly his false alibi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

@jesuisjuste

You clearly don't understand who GSOC are. They are not an internal department of the gardai. In investigating this case they found many aspects in favour and against Bailey, but ultimately did not uphold his accusation of a garda conspiracy to frame him. They found his arrest to be lawful, not my words, theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭chooseusername

@tinytobe

" It was large scale and described as very sophisticated, one of the best ever seen. He would have been put away for a rather long time, if the Guards hadn't mentioned that "he helped them" in another case and then Bolger gotten off lightly, just some suspended sentence. He wouldn't have been lucky a 2nd time and he knew that."

This was in 2010, so hardly a motive for murder 14 years previously.

Post edited by chooseusername on

Jules book, if it ever gets finished/published will make for interesting reading - she’ll need to ensure though that the chronology on the night in question and the morning after is very clearly documented - it has to address areas such as just when did Bailey bring her a coffee in bed, when did Bailey first learn of the murder and by whom.

Documenting the Gardai interviews will also be very closely read - what did she say first and when and why did she amend original statements - these are the aspects discussed again and again on this thread- it would be good to get her version, albeit 30 years later, so certainly it will be open to challenge in terms of what is recollected - but she’ll also have a lot of documentation to back it up

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/i-would-have-liked-closure-for-ian-that-his-name-was-cleared-over-sophies-murder-ian-baileys-ex-partner-jules-thomas-on-writing-book-about-their-life/a235887811.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭csirl

The problem with GSOC is that they are a toothless tiger. They are dependent on receiving cooperation AND evidence from An Garda Siochana. Most of their investigations are conducted by Garda Superintendents who then forward their "findings" to GSOC. The only investigations conducted by their own staff are a very small number of criminal investigations where Gardai were alleged to be involved in blatant criminal activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭tibruit

This is what you said in post #11419 and I reproduce it full and exactly as you said it, errors and all….

"You`re right! Sure what`s the point in considering other possible scenarios when you`ve already made your mind up based on hearsay and circumstantial evidence that? Discussion of facts should have no involvement!"

Point out to me the bit where you said that circumstantial evidence can apply to anyone.

I didn't know that. I also don't know how long Leo Bolger was in the drug business. I suppose he must have done something prior to 2010, and maybe something smaller in the 90ies, also the operation described as a bunker won't be built overnight. It's at least possible Sophie discovered something, as she also did extensive hiking in the countryside. Not impossible to think she'd seen something, but all speculation. Somebody roaming around in the rural charmes of Ireland is naturally not welcome by those who use the remoteness to hide their racket.

I also don't know if the Richardsons ever complained about any issues, drugs, corrupt Guards, someone using their house in their absence, etc….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

We're talking about the integrity and credibility of the gardai, and you're comparing them to a drunken alcoholic wife-beating buffoon as if that is the standard they need to achieve, come on? Regardless of why the GSOC got involved it is the negative findings regarding the gardai in this case that matters, as it is one of the only assessments of the gardai that we have.

The Garda have a responsibility to treat all suspects and all cases with the utmost integrity, and they didn't, they were far from it, to the point that evidence was destroyed and senior Garda would have been recommended for prosecution.

When it comes to this case, their integrity was undermined, their credibility was undermined. Their investigation could not be trusted. That's it.

Post edited by jesuisjuste on

It wasn't ever clear what happened to the roof, I presume it was taken as evidence because later pictures show it missing. The cavity block of course we know what happened to it. I do think the roof should of course be test also, it would have been a lot of physical effort to pry that up, hopefully that's on the list.

There was a flimsy case against others but it's not apples to apples comparison, it's only as far as we can tell, we don't have the Garda files, and some of them now have been purposely destroyed. There has never been anything released about any other suspects, aside from some Bailey adjacent information.

Much, if not most in fact, of the Bailey circumstantial evidence came out weeks and years after he was already named in the press and arrested, so at that point it was a one horse race. When it comes to other suspects, if you don't look you won't find.

Also people tend to say 'evidence' only when it matches the Garda proposed story, and Bailey being the perpetrator. There was other evidence, just wasn't deemed valid as it didn't match the story.

I strongly feel that any evidence if found would have been on the roof of the pumphouse. It was only handled and removed with the clear intention to retrive the cavity block. This would have been a very clear evidence. Probably not beyond reasonable doubt but a lot more secure than the gate. The gate was handeld and touched by anybody coming and going, but the pumphouse? Certainly not, unless you're a repair man doing some work, or some homeowner living in the area. Suppose we would have found somebody's DNA and fingerprints on the roof of the pumphouse, even worse if it was someone who wasn't a repair man or someone who lived in one of them houses. Then it would have gotten interesting.

There is a whole lot of truth in this statement. The essential problem is that the Guards couldn't be trusted at all. As a Guard you have to have the trust of your community, and they didn't have that.

Take for instance that Guard from Bantry, - may he have done it or not, but if you're rustling cattle and sheep, accept bribes or are in a position of blackmail, nobody in the community would ever talk to a Guard with such a reputation if a real crime happened in fear of retribution if they suspected the Guard was in it as well.

Going door to door or letting people filling out some sheets and questionaires or questioning possible suspects would never have gotten them to any sort of truth, as many would have avoided telling them really sensitive information as they feared consequences.

Suppose drugs were involved and say not everyone, but many of the locals knew about it, any kind of questioning could easily have gotten out of hand, - the likes of "if you would behave with more integrity I wouldn't be afraid of telling you everything I've observed recently". So the locals probably responded with "I don't know" and "I can't remember" etc… out of fear.

The local Guards in Bantry and Bandon would have had a credibility problem for a long time among the local population untill the Guards in question either retired or in the case of the Guard from Bantry passed away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,053 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Grand so, you implicitly admit the Garda conducted an unsafe investigation then as they relied on an unreliable witness as a central plank of their case, and their handling of that witness was unsafe.
    Detective Fitzgerald meeting Marie Farrell alone in a Dublin hotel - unsafe conduct.
    The same detective cursing out and berating Marie Farrell over the phone because she gave a statement to a different detective - unsafe handling of a witness.

And between the Guards and Jules Thomas, I in the main believe Jules Thomas.
    That's because we have Guards on record talking about chopping up her statement.
    We have her original statement being conveniently lost by the Guards.

We have pages deliberately removed from the Jobs Book without any valid explanation.

We have Guards stonewalling GSOC when they attempted to get answers. Clearly not the conduct of citizens concerned about truth and justice, just covering for dodgy behaviour.

This was clearly an unsafe investigation.

There are multiple instances of unsafe conduct both documented and alleged, as noted in the DPP report:

On 29 September 1998 Garda Kevin Kelleher advised that D/Garda Leahy was the sole officer assigned to dealing with Bill Fuller. Superintendent Twomey confirmed this to be the case. Such an investigative practice is unsafe.

It should be remembered that at this time many people in the local community were convinced that Bailey had murdered Sophie Toscan Du Plantier and the community had been exhorted to obtain incriminating evidence in the matter…Once Ian Bailey was believed by the public particularly in the local area to be responsible for the murder the fear thereby engendered was bound to create a climate in which witnesses became suggestible.

A private conversation outside the car for a couple of minutes then takes place between D/Garda Jim Fitzgerald and Martin Graham. This is not recorded and is therefore not in the transcript. Based on the above conversation and on the allegation by Martin Graham that he was given Hash by the Gardaí, despite D/Gda. Fitzgerald’s denial, the balance of evidence suggests that Graham is telling the truth. Such investigative practices are clearly unsafe to say the least.

The reason we don't have more evidence of the dodgy conduct is because it was covered up, or because as above with Martin Graham, 'chats' were had 'off the record'. Implicitly this is unsafe conduct - regardless of whether Graham's specific allegation is true, which it likely is.

An awful lot of unsafe conduct traces back to the same detective.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

"That`s because we have Guards on the record talking about chopping up her statement."

What record are you getting that information from? Serious question.

Fennelly report:

The report said an unnamed detective sergeant considered doctoring a written statement prepared by another officer and removing detail in a second statement.

One involved a statement on an assault being "pre-dated".

Judge Fennelly described it as "improper conduct".

The judge also found "improper and inappropriate disclosures" by investigating gardaí.

And remember, that's only what could be found on the snippets that were recorded and preserved.

Judge Fennelly said he could not make general conclusions about the Du Plantier investigation based on the Bandon tapes. He described them as "fractional, fragmented and essentially random" and "often unclear or ambiguous"… “Although it is possible to say that, in general, no abuse of this system occurred, it is not possible absolutely to rule out improper use in any specific case.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30784789.html

As has been remarked on reddit:
    It is incredibly ironic to think that at the time the Gardai were taping every phone line they never bothered to record suspect interviews on tape, instead using this ridiculous longhand which is clearly inadequate or worse, easy to change or falsify.

The art of getting a suspect to sign an incriminating statement is known as “verballing” and it can be done in various ways. One simple way is to read out the statement aloud to the suspect but alter the text somewhat as you read it. The statement is in the Garda’s handwriting after all. The Bandon tapes recorded Gardai explictly discussing verballing Ian Bailey. Here is an excerpt from Bandon Tape 48 recorded on 26 June 1997 between D/Sgt Liam Hogan and Supt Sean Camon. They are talking about the file they are sending to the DPP.

LIAM HOGAN: I think I suppose, the file won't be going into anybody though.

SEAN CAMON: Will it not?

LIAM HOGAN: No. That is the other thing I need to talk to you about, how receptive will they be in that office?

SEAN CAMON: If we are to do that?

LIAM HOGAN: Yeah. If you take it, if you were sitting in his desk and you get in this file and you say: You are very near it, lads, but you are not quite... It is almost saying like, now go and get your pen and verbal him or something **** thing, you know. It is a position, you are putting them in a bit of a position I wonder. I just wonder how you approach it that is all.

SEAN CAMON: Who did you deal with before, was it Robert Sheehan?

LIAM HOGAN: Robert and...

SEAN CAMON: You're **** going nowhere with him.

Other tapes talk about “pre-dating” statements “chopping up” statements they didn’t like. Garda corruption and tampering with evidence is not an outlandish possibility – it is very real.

Here's another snippet from the Bandon tapes of the very strange relationship between AGS and Marie Farrell:

On Thursday and Friday the jury were played the Bandon tapes, phone calls in and out of the station that were recorded in 1997 and 1998. In one, Det Gda Jim Fitzgerald and Sgt Hogan discussed the Farrells, and how it would be "**** brilliant "to tape Ian Bailey. "And the Farrells are in the equation so much at this stage, Liam. I know they're **** this and that and the other thing but at the same **** time we need them to use them as well..." said Gda Fitzgerald.

You made a very specific allegation about Gardaí talking about "chopping up" up Jules Thomas`s statement. I`m asking you where you are getting that specific information from because it isn`t anywhere in that reply you`ve just given.

You tell me? What statement was it?

Whether it was a statement by a Guard about Jules or a statement by Jules, it doesn't change the point of the unsafe and improper Garda conduct in this investigation and demonstrated willingness to alter and tamper evidence relating to the case.

By the way, have you come up with an answer as to whether there was a conspiracy or a frame up in the Kerry Babies cases?
    Can you explain how so many innocent people either confessed or gave false witness statements in that case?

Here's a tidbit of information that may help you to answer that question:

The court accepts her evidence that she was successfully subjected to grievous psychological pressure by D. Sergeant Hanley and perhaps officers also to assist the police in breaking down the accused who up till then had maintained consistent silence over many interrogation sessions."

And remember:
    Note D/Sgt Hanley was the Garda assigned to interrogate Jules before her arrest on 10/2/1996.

The conduct of the Kerry Babies investigation is therefore relevant to be cited in relation to this case.