Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2025 (Munster And Leinster Championships,Liam McCarthy Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭siyo

Brilliant post, this is how I feel about the final and the championship in general. Too often people write off a teams win or performance because they view the opposition as underperforming or a poor side. I genuinely feel the hurling championship is incredibly close between 5-6 teams with another 2 well capable of beating any of the top 6 on a good day. I believe that's a good thing for hurling. Like everyone thought the quarter finals were a bit of a foregone conclusion and that the semis would be cork v tipp and kk v limerick. Dublin winning really injected great life into the championship even if their semi performance was underwhelming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭siyo

That's really disappointing if true. I'm not sure which cork player it was who was interviews beside the rte panel after the Munster championship win but he talked about how much closer the group had gotten in the last 3 years. I remember thinking at the time that was a really positive thing to hear for this cork squad.

Talent will get you so far but often it's the team that's willing to stick together and fight to the bitter end that will get the win.

I hope for Pat Ryans sake these are just baseless rumours to explain away a bad performance as he strikes me as a man with genuine integrity and a love for cork hurling.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,468 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Ryan has a real love for hurling and you would be doing well to find anyone with a negative word to say about him. Such a nice guy, maybe too nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭farmerval

Two things from last Sunday. The stats for Cork's poor showing in the second half don't give Liam Cahill and his team the credit they deserved for an outstanding second half. I was there and so thrilled as a Tipp man, for much of the second half we were waiting for Cork to come back, but they never did. Tipps second half was a total Cahill team, savage work rate with a total focus on the goal.

The single most damning thing of Cork I thought was Seamie Harnedy probably won more ball than all the other Cork forwards put together. That's a shameful indictment of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,633 ✭✭✭MfMan

Overhyped by outside. Sometimes various clubs have hard men who cross the line and give the rest of their team a bad name. These things come and go. No different from any other county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Watched back the 2nd half few nights ago and while cork were bad, they also had no luck. 3 points attempts hit the post and a goal attempt hit the crossbar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Because they were under extreme Tipp pressure. Totally smothered by Tipperary's work rate. No clear easy chances to tap over. Shots under pressure with no space hitting the post rather than sailing over is no real shock or bad luck. And then Cork just gave up. Kingston had a couple of attempts on goal but again all blocked down before they left his hurley.

Been said multiple times but after the last few years and the underperformances Tipp were always going to be extremely hungry this year. I think a lot of pundits were enjoying the fact that Tipperary were in the doldrums and didnt want to accept the thoughts of Tipp even troubling Cork in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭einn32

Tipp players actually look like they have done a lot of gym work. Bulked up a lot. They broke through a lot of Cork tackles. On the other hand Cork defending wasn't as ferocious as where it needed to be. Odd because in the Munster final they were willing to go through a brick wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,190 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Why would the pundits give a bollocks one way or another, let alone not want to accept that tipp might trouble cork? They just called it as they saw it, they were wrong. There's no extra money in it if tipp aren't good, or if the favourites win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,992 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Came out of Croke Park in 2024 singing "fuk your 5 in a row", Came down to Limerick this year singing the same. Ya Ya I know all the stuff about good fans (the majority in every county) but the bandwagon, the hype and the goading from Cork fans went way beyond anything I have ever seen from a team that won no All Irelands. Cork of old and Kilkenny used give us a little tease but they earned it. Total arrogance and no matter what posters claim it was coming from Cork people and we all saw it.

There is a very valid reason why the whole countrywas happy to see Cork "nick nack Paddy wack give the dog a bone, and fuking off home"

No supposed about the cockiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭Seadin

Christ you Limerick boys are still very bitter towards Cork. I suppose it hurts that they were the team to end the 5 in a row All Irelands and 7 in a row munster. And we didn't need the help of the ref to do it either on both occasions.

Ya I'm are so bitter when I look at Will O'Donoghue's medal haul and realise he will never have the "stop the 5" medal that Hoggie has 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,961 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I remember them singing Cherrio to us when they hammered us in 1996 down the Pairc.

But its always Cork arrogance that bothers them. I would not bother. Leopard don't change their spots

EVENFLOW

Ya your right. Them arrogant Cork leopards hadn't changed they were only hiding.

You often get everyone cheering against a successful team but Cork need to ask themselves why everyone was delighted to see a team that won no All Irelands lose. Pretend away that it wasn't yere arrogance if it keeps ye warm through the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,961 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Funny when teams came out thats what I thought too. Some of biceps on Tipp lads they ripped out of the shirt

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,468 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Plenty of Arrogant Limerick fans got their fill of it when Cork stopped ye doing the 5 in a row - it clearly still hurts Limerick fans - I'm okay with that, losses like that are supposed to hurt, we know that all too well.

Nonsense to think ' All of Ireland hoped ye would lose' - such utter nonsense, but sure it's easy to say. Heard from many from outside Cork that they were shouting for Cork because of the recent losses, Pat Ryan being a nice fella, style of hurling etc and of course because we were playing Tip - not everyones cup of tea in fairness. But yeah, everyone wanted Cork to lose 😁 sure it would only be arrogant to think otherwise.

In my experience most Limerick fans were cheering for ye last year including me so believe away about the bitterness if it makes you feel better but it's not true.

It was only this year people turned on Cork. That is with the exception of Ryan who seems to be very well liked as you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭lukin

Limerick supporters are no saints I can assure you. The vebal abuse me and my elderly father got from them in 2021 All-Ireland final was the worst I ever experienced.

I know I'veseen some bad sht from. Every team has its mostly good and bit of bad. I wouldn't be accusing Cork of having a rougher crowd or anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭C4000

That defeat to Cork last year did hurt. But not really....not the same way losses used to in the years before we'd won anything. The 2014 semi final v Kilkenny for example. Before 2018 we'd won one all ireland in 78 years....there was a genuine possibility of never seeing one.

The lads having already won 5 all irelands meant we were way into bonus territory last year.…anything else would just be icing on the cake.

Might even still be some icing to come over the next year or 2.

And you gloat about that and say Cork fans are arrogant. How ironic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭High bike

Stop worrying abou 5 in a row or 7 in a row and concentrate on getting 1 in a row for yereselves.

It's not ironic at all. My whole point was gloating before you actually won so nothing like gloating when you have won loads. I also said I had no issue with Cork or anyone else gloating when they were successful.

Win 1 on a row before you start singing about stopping the 5 or whatever. If you don't people will laugh at you for getting hyped up which is exactly where Cork are. Ye are the English soccer team of hurling now.

We weren't worried about it at all. It seems the Limerick lads were when Cork beat them.

Il just remind you now that hurling didn't start in 2018. Ye were 45 years trying to win yer first All Ireland in 2018. Since ye crossed the line ye have become an unbearable bunch and the minute a team like Cork beat yous a few times you can't take it and then take pleasure in Clare and Tipp beating us. How sad are you.

Well I just said I was cheering for Cork last year as were most Limerick I knew.

But you seem to think 2018 was our first All Ireland while also trying to laugh at people who don't know history so you have probably just had a few too many to understand when you posted.

We were all shouting for Limerick in 2018 as they had gone over 40 years without an All Ireland. All fans have their share of a-holes but doesnt mean all of us are.

Well you are the one pushing the half time fight story, attacking Cork players and calling for Ryan to step down. Also having a go at Galwover and over because a single poster made a comment.

Ide say most on Boards would say you are exactly that type of fan.

Something happened at half time but nobody knows exactly.

You exactly didn't cover yourself in glory either with Limerick fans and your gloating so it works both ways I guess.