Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2025 (Munster And Leinster Championships,Liam McCarthy Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭I says

Cork have no bottle is right. They’ve fooled away the last 2 finals and couldn’t seal the deal in 13 in arguably the worst yr in the last 20 all Irelands. Galway always had to be at peak in a semi final and then try and hold that for the six weeks or so for the final. League hurling only handbags no real championship edge to it. Also the old structure didn’t lend itself to gaining big game experience compared to Leinster and Munster teams who’d be more battle hardened and used to ups and downs in provincial finals. But that perception is there for Galway now as it is for cork going forward that they’re soft and can be got at.
    Regarding tipp and Galway and the keady affair. Tipp co board wanted the ban rescinded anyways it went to a vote and who fooked keady over.
    The other Connacht counties read up on it Cyril has said that in interviews as well. We will never know what the result would have been in 89 had he played too much emotion and stress involved in that probably would have still affected Galway.

No one fears cork now themselves and Waterford are lucky there’s no relegation in Munster. That jeopardy should be for both Munster and Leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭Field east

Pressed the wrong button- so to continue

(4) missing the chance to go 7pts up immediately after the start of the 2nd half did not help matters - all these things add up.

(5)@2222222

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,946 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ah thats right. Lot stuff online was about that 89 game. Never seen such colourful language online as I did read by tipp/Galway supporters.

Was the rte facebook page now I remember and they showed clip of 89 game and thats where saw some comments.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭Field east

something going on with my buttons, so

(5) the putting off did not help Cork

(6) the scored penalty further challenged Cork.

(7) Teams can thrive on leaders stepping up during the game . Tipp had a few of them eg Maher and the 20 yo Toomevara lad. Nobody stood up for Cork throughout the match

(8)Tipp had more reason to be the hungrier of the two teams - maybe because of the more recent experiences it had with those big defeats by Cork . The hurt was more recent/ more clinical. The 20 year famine was more ‘in the past’/ that was not the fault of the present team apart from last year

In summary, with a team apparently oozing with confidence and those 8 points lurking in the dark , they may help to explain the Cork crash. I fail to believe the flair up in the dressing room , if it was the case, caused the collapse. If management wanted to drop two players and they refused to yield surely you would expect them to PROVE HIM WRONG and the other 13 would play their’ hearts out’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,955 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

On #3 the Cork tactics the last few years were pretty basic and obvious but they are so good at it no one could stop them. Everything was coming down that same left had channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭almostover

With the fulness of hindsight I think Tipp were very unfairly written off and we (Cork) were ordained as destined to be champions without there being much substance to that.

Tipp drew with Limerick, beat the AI champs in their home patch and beat Waterford in Munster. Their sole loss was to us where they had a man sent off before the ball was thrown in. They also beat Galway handily and KK playing with 14 men for the last 15 mins. That's a pretty impressive run in to the final.

Us on the other hand, drew with Clare luckily after a 2nd half collapse where we squandered a huge lead, got hammered by Limerick where we were pathetic, beat Tipp handily but the entire game was against 14 men, and laboured to a victory over a limited Waterford side. We battled well in the Munster final but some uncharacteristic Limerick mistakes let us off the hook in extra time and in the SF we beat a Dublin team handily who had played the equivalent of their All Ireland final the week previous. How we were such hot favourites is beyond me. Our 2nd half collapse in the All Ireland final was true to form in a lot of ways, we had done it twice already in the Munster round robin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,007 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I think the psychological aspect played a huge factor. The pressure and expectation to win. The Cork support massively outnumbered Tipp fans. Tipp players were probably more calmer. Nothing to lose just give it a lash. Look what effect Currid had with Limerick. She was a huge loss this year and Limerick underperformed. Cork need someone like her. Also Corks management team seemed confused on the sideline. Who was making the decisions? Liam Cahill and one of his selectors were calling the shots for Tipp. A bit like Kiely and Kinnerk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

what was KK's ratio at in 2015 i wonder… they have is it 5/6 finals lost since then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭HurlingBoy

I think the key thing with Cahill is that he moved alot of the older players on and brought in U20s who had experience of winning U17/U20. He kept the likes of Noel McGrath who despite being a sub is a positive influence in the dressing room and a real leader. For the younger players knowing you have a player like this to come is a kind of safety net if things are not going well. The problem for some managers is showing too much loyalty to older players and if their attitude is not good being a sub it can bring the whole dressing room down. If Pat Ryan has the backing of the players he should be given another crack at it. The Home Coming saga is not a good look and but I think once everything settles down Cork County Board should give him a 1 or 2 year extension and put it to bed early as leaving it run leads to public opinion influencing decisions. There are plenty of "hurlers on the ditch" who throw out opinions when they wouldn't know how to manage a game of tiddle winks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Keane didn't want to be there from day 1. Two ends of a bollix. Cusack the same. Player power, Does no one any good. Keane forced McCarthy's hand.

Keane the fella giving out about the media and how he'd never be one of their number. An absolute hypocrite and media whore. Having a great time playing Paddy for English laughs.

What nonsense about standards and Roy Keane, same shite going around since 2002.

You judge success by results on the pitch. The Cork strikes didn't achieve success on the pitch. There had to be a better way rather than striking, going backwards and other teams cleaning up.

Post edited by Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire on

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I think the swirly wind into Hill16 played a significant part too. Tipp had a really good first half, but it wasn't reflected on the score line due to bad wides while Cork were much more efficient. That reversed in the 2nd half.

Tipp puckouts were big too. Cork went 5 v 5 at the back, but also allowed Tipp to take short puckouts even if it was only to give it back to Shelly to gain 20s metres. I am baffled as to why Cork with a spare defender allowed their half back line to be run ragged by Ormond and Jake on puck outs. Robert Downey got eaten by their movement but should have had cover.

I said after the round robin game that playing 3 up all the time was very inflexible and they needed to be a bit more dynamic at times and bring a player out the field, obviously that looked a foolish comment after the Munster final, but possibly not as foolish now. Tipp do it with McCarthy, Limerick with Reidy etc. But instead of pulling out a player, Cork pushed up leaving a lovely compact Tipp defence where instead of stretching the legs of the likes of Ronan Maher, ball was being hit on top of him. Nuts to a monkey, one of the great aerial defenders in the game. And at the other end, tipp forward were 5 v 5 in acres forcing Cork defenders to mark in front of the likes of John McGrath due to the space around him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭Seadin

We are in the same league as Galway now serious underachieveers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,955 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Wasn't the Cork psychologist down in Australia with the Lions ?

Both Kilkenny and Cork have put some big dents in their stats that last few years.

You obviously didn't like Man utd or Cork to be coming up with that scutter about Keane. Keane proved what the FAI were which was revealed several years after. Keane wasn't in the world cup just to take part. He was in the frame of mind that Ireland were there to win and wanted everything right to give Ireland the best chance possible. If you think training on a football pitch that was a car park and players getting injured as a result was the correct way to prepare for a world Cup then I can't discuss this any further with you.

You can say the Cork hurlers are bottlers and you are right but seriously also have a look at Galway in both football and hurling and they come under the definition of bottlers tag. Couldnt beat the big three in All Ireland final day and in 2022 gave Kerry the step they needed to get over the line after few near misses. Galway never had a winners tag about them in anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,633 ✭✭✭MfMan

Galway have beaten Kilkenny and Tipp in AI finals, and for all the finals they've lost, they've never produced a no-show last Cork last Sunday. (Don't think Oiche is from Galway btw).

Keane was a sociopath, a nightmare to manage and work with. When Brazil went to Japan for the 2002 they had to go to 3 different training grounds before they found one suitable for their needs. Some Cameroon players had to pay their own way to get to that tournament. None of them engineered a row and were sent home.

Keane may be a sociopath but he was also a winner.

Yes in 1987 and 1988. But that's almost 40 years ago now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭letsseehere14

Next year is going to be one of the most interesting championships in a long long time. So many teams will now say hay theres no clear front runner here, everyone has their weaknesses.

Big year coming up for Kilkenny Clare and Limerick especially. Transitions are coming.

Limerick need a change in the HB line. Byrnes is clinging on, Hannon is done. We need changes in the HF line too and we need at least 2 more young lads to break in and join English, O'Neill, O'Brien and O'Connor as real starting prospects.

This is last chance saloon for Clare I feel. Their age profile is unsustainable. After this year theyll need a new FB, CB, midfielder and big changes up front.

Kilkenny, should Lawlor travel could be in trouble but regardless they need a new keeper, new centre back and they need Cody and Mullins to grab that team by the collar and pull them forward.

Waterford are still surprisingly young. They need a fit squad and a game plan that works for them The trouble is their two best players in Bennett and De Burca are nearly done.

Galway need a full rebuild.

For Cork, they just need to deal with it. It doesnt end there, just like if they won it wouldnt have ended there. Just meet again in a few months and get going. They are good enough to be in the conversation next year. It would suit them to have an average league. Let them build into the year as looking at some articles online, theres people in Cork intent on generating hype again as soon as they can and a strong league might do cork more harm than good when heading into the championship. They need to work away now behind the scenes and clean themselves up.

Tipps motivation now changes. Lets see how they deal with that. Theyre young, even if many dont realise it I think theyre the youngest squad of the main teams in the championship. Ronan Maher is 29 ffs and there was people retiring him last year.

My perception of the up coming final changed after I watched Shane Stapleton on OurGame last week and looked into what he was saying. I went from a clear Cork win to a 50/50 with a winner coming down the stretch. Its amazing how his viewpoint was missed by practically everyone.

The team Cork were facing last Sunday they hadnt faced before. All week it was on about the last 3 hammerings Cork gave them but I looked at that Tipp team from 2022 against Cork. Only 7 that started that day started in the final. And of the 7 that did start, I think 5 played in a different position. It was basically a new team from last year. They were also much changed from the league final and RR games. 5 odd new starters and multiple positional changes. And those games were played in Cork with one being with only 14 men for the full game.

Now that alone wasnt enough to make Tipp favourites by any stretch of the imagination, but these changes and their evolution through the year plus the results that followed showed a really competitive side that should have been given more of a chance. And that alone would also have helped Cork.

Also Corks goal scoring reputation was really only based on 5 games this year, 3 of which were league games and then against a 14 man Tipp and naive Dublin. They only scored 1 goal in 6 of their 14 games this year. 66% of their goals this year came in 33% of their matches. That stat was true in the championship and true over the entire year.

In the tight games, the big games, when every ball is fought for, when space is at a minimum, they can be quelled.

Here is a stat for you. Horgan, Hayes and Connolly played in the 2024 All Ireland Final that went to extra time - 90 minutes, the 2025 Munster final that went to extra time - 90 minutes and the 2025 All Ireland Final. They scored 0-13 from play between them over 250 minutes in big finals.

Clares named FF line of McCarthy Rodgers and Reidy (I cant remember how they lined out) scored 2-8 (14) from play in the 2024 final.

Limericks FF line of Gillane O'Connor and Reidy scored 1-6 (9) from play in the Munster final. With O'Brien replacing O'Connor and adding 1-2 from play totalling 2-8 (14) from play.

Tipps FF line of Forde McGrath and McCarthy scored 2-8 (14) from play last Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭DBK1

More of a narcissist really.

He was 100% right to demand better conditions and better facilities but 100% wrong to turn his back and walk away.

There was men women and children all over the country that would have slept in a wheelie bin and trained in a quarry if it meant they got the opportunity to play for their country. He had it and walked away from it when he wasn’t getting it all his own way. He’s the one type of person you wouldn’t want anywhere near a team you’d be involved with. And I say that as a Utd fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,726 ✭✭✭endainoz

Pretty well summed up, Cork people will likely disagree with you though, cult of personality and all that. Hard to believe people are still debating this 23 (!) years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

I've no interest in Galway.

And I'll always think Keane and Cusack are a pair of bollixes.

I've plenty of time for the majority of Cork people, JBM, John Allen, Tony Davis, Jack Lynch, Graham Canty.. I could go on all day.

By the way Sead'in' are you particularly small?!

P.s. There were no players injured v Cameroon, Germany, Saudi Arabia or Spain in World Cup 2002. You sound like a verbatim Roy Keane interview from May 2002. Ferguson got rid of him quickly when he got lippy in 2005. Keane is a complete hypocrite. He's no Denis Irwin.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭I says

welcome 😂😂😂😂😂 Heavy is the crown of expectation. It’s only now people can see the proper level of Galway hurling over the last 15 yrs of the new championship structure. People equate minor success to senior well that’s dogshite of the highest order. Too many young lads in Galway with one and think they’re the second coming. It doesn’t work out stats back that up. Look at the shite going on now looking for a new under 20 manager who placed his stock on small skillful players where has it gotten team. Hammerings by bigger more physical teams, Dublin the last twice. So Galway hurling will be scutter for a while yet. It’s not underachieving it called bad management by county board. They are already hamstringing themselves by not properly identifying the right young lads for the job. Selecting from the few bigger clubs to the exclusion of a lot of teams between loughrea and the eastern half of the county. The number of players is there but the crowd running it are ignoring a large number of young fellas hoping their own ducks turn into swans.
    plenty of bigger physical young lads not picked because they wouldn’t be up to the skill level at u14 development squads means they’re excluded the whole way up. Those kids all develop skills at different ages, time is what’s needed. Development squad management only interested in the short term wins rather than the next five ten years down the road for senior preparations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭lukin

I have a theory on the supposed cockiness of Cork supporters heading in the lead up to last Sunday (being a Corkman myself); I think it was more that they didn't want to comprehend defeat rather than thinking they couldn't be beaten.

The prospect of being beaten in second AI final in a row (while enduring a twenty years without winning one) was just unthinkable, incomprehensible. So they just shut it out and said "it's not going to happen, it can't".

But it did happen. In fairness to them afterwards most of them congratulated Tipp from what I heard. I was doubtful myself Cork would do it. The implosions against Limerick and Clare earlier this year planted a large seed of doubt in my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,946 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Is the rivalry at Club level a big problem up there or is that overhyped by the outside.

Heard very bitter rivalry between clubs up there in past.

You would know 1000 times more than I would

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭challengerbell

I wouldn't believe a word of the rumors going around. Pure cope.

While there's stats being thrown out, correct me if I'm wrong. Before the final Pat Ryan had lost 6 of the 18 championship games he'd managed from taking over in 2023.

That is the same amount of games Liam Cahill had lost over the same period and over 17 games.

The manner of some of these losses was different but given the so called two annus horribilis Tipp endured in 2022 and 2023 its still an interesting stat. Cork under Ryan have lost more games than Tipp under Cahill.

Also Cahill has 8 wins now for Tipp. Ryan has 10 for Cork. The gap is pretty narrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,007 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,105 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Tactics are important but from being at the game Tipp were just hungrier and wanted it more. Tipp were winning all the battles, all the 50/50s. When the game turned into a dog fight Cork didn't want to know similar to Cork teams of old.

Now that's a hard pill to swallow for Cork as they are the up and coming team and everyone thought they had turned a corner.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

But Cork have won games that were dogfights this year and last year.

In the games they beat Limerick in their workrate was outstanding. But it was terrible in some games too; most notably against Clare this year in the second half and against Limerick for the whole game (in the Munster round robin game).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭tanko

It’s irrelevant how many dogfights Cork won in the last two years, they lost the two games that really mattered.

That's true although it wasn't lack of workrate that cost them last years All-Ireland final, they just weren't quite good enough on the day.