Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Lions tour to Australia

• Administrators Posts: 55,262 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

If they win this weekend they will go all out for the 3-0 and Australia will go balls to the wall to avoid a whitewash.

I don't see them gifting out token caps for lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,057 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I know I shouldnt get wound up by a podcast I've never actually listened to but that is such BS. Ireland literally beat Wales in Cardiff in the 2013 6Ns...lol

We're the current TC champions, champions last year and GS winners the year before. We've lost once to another "home" nation since 2022 and that was a last second DG at Twickenham last season. That is pretty dominant.

Anyway, listening to the BBC rugby podcast with Chris Jones, Ugo Monye and John Barclay earlier and they seemed pretty much behind the selection. Maybe you were just unlucky with the podcast you chose.

Edit - we also won the TC in 2022.

In fact we've lost once to another Lions nation since the last Lions tour. 1 defeat in 13 games (including the Scottish WC game - WC warm ups not included) If that can't be described as dominance then what is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Conan is unlucky in an Ireland and Leinster sense that he was sandwiched between two generational greats in Heaslip and Doris. He's a great player in his own right.

But he's been the beneficiary of good runs of fitness whilst his peers picked up bad knocks. In 2021 Vunipola and Faletau were injury ridden and couldn't regain any sort of form. This tour was a lock for Doris to start all three tests and probably captain the squad, but for injury.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

While Conan, who has never been first choice in his life,.starts 5 or 6 Lions tests in a row. Funny old game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Who does the ruck Podcast?

I generally just watch the Aussie one, Kick offs and Kick ons

and the South African one, the Boks Office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭FtD v2

Well, not really - one of the reasons he might be in line for the shirt would be that the guy who is primarily selected ahead of him in the 13 shirt for club and country is injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,949 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

It's not just Ringrose that's primarily selected ahead of him in the 13 shirt tho; Henshaw generally is too.

Having a guy who's 3rd choice for club and country starting at 13 would be pretty mad to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Anyone note how exhausted Itoje was for the last 20mins of the 1st Test. If he wasn't Captain would he have been subbed off ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭50HX

Its a great reflection of his ability & the depth at club level tho

A poor reflection on the depth of 1st & 2nd choice 13's at the other 3 countries tho.

Yeah, I think that's fair.

It's also kind of reflective of things being at a transition point - Jamie Osborne is on the way up, and Henshaw and others are probably on the way down a bit.

By the end of the season, Jamie Osborne started at thirteen for the URC QF and SF - and played really well in both games. Granted this was also driven by injuries to Ringrose & Henshaw.

I don't even think Osborne's best position is 13 - I think his long term future is at 12 tbh, but there is a real paucity of good 13 options across all four Lions countries. Ollie Lawrence is a guy who had a good 6Ns and probably would be out there but for his ruptured achilles injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,889 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Yeah it would be great for Osborne but he’s well down the depth chart for the Lions too

Even if something happens Jones, Tuipolotu is likely to be back next week, so he needs two injuries to feature. That’s in addition to the previous injuries to Daly and Ringrose, and it’s a fair bet Lawrence or Henshaw would have been called up if fit, Jordan maybe and I don’t know if Joe Marchant was considered being in France.

It would be a serious achievement but a huge slice of luck also.

I'm not sure they'd go with Tuipolotu at 13 if Jones is hurt. He was really poor there against Argentina, and hasn't featured there since (despite Ringrose missing a good amount of time with injury).

It would be a big call to plump for Osborne in that scenario, but it wouldn't totally shock me.

Yeah, I meant that they'd play Aki at 13 with Tuipolotu at 12.

But I wouldn't be shocked either, especially if it's a dead rubber third test. I would like a 3-0 series win but would be great to see a few more guys feature in a test - Bealham and VDF especially.

I'd be more surprised at that tbh - at least Tuipolotu plays 13. I would have still thought Farrell, Easterby and Co would have battle scars from the ill-fated decision to pair Stuart Closkey & Bundee Aki in a 12-13 partnership against Italy back in 22/23 season, and that was only against Italy.

I do agree we're likelier to see some rotation if it's a dead rubber - really would love to see Josh in particular get a test cap.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Lawrence, Daly and Dingwall are all injured for England, I think. At least two of them would have been called up before Osbourne IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,392 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'm getting fed up of it now. Australia are crap, they are not going to beat the Lions. It's a forgone conclusion. There really is nothing to watch.

All I care about now is our players returning home injury free.

I really couldn't be bothered watching the last two tests. I've loads of gardening to do and I think I'd rather spend my time doing that than watching matches that are meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭Felexicon

The man is spitting pure facts.

Worst Lions tour in memory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭dublin49

The history books don't grade the opposition.in 10 years time these guys will be feted like any other Series winning Lions team.Assuming Joe doesnt pull a rabbit out of the hat.

Was the 1971 All Blacks or the SA 1974 a vintage team.No idea.

On a lot of the tours back then it was who was better the day after a heavy nights drinking.

They weren't serious like they are today, they were like a holiday.

Tony O'Reilly used Lions tours to build up his empires. He was picked for two and travelled with a third one. It is well known that he'd invite business associates out drinking with the Lions team and have a photographer take photos of them with the players. I was told the players were getting well looked after for doing it. That's from somebody who knew a couple of them but I'm not sure how true it is.

Anyway they were drinking holidays for the lads back then. I'm sure the tests were taken seriously but not the other games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭dublin49

Ok,well say the Northampton v Leinster win in 2011,were Northampton a title winning team that year,I have no idea,I just know it was an iconic day for a Leinster supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,919 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

4 years ago was more competitive but jesus the rugby was shite.

Tiresome “real fan” bragging

That's totally different, as is the Six nations and world cups. Even the AIs with world rankings are important.

Playing a terrible team for nothing outside of joining an unimportant list is what this is.

Fact of the matter is it doesn't matter what they do, this doesn't compare to a tour of South Africa or New Zealand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Fact of the matter is

Touring Australia generates more income than tours of NZ and SA combined.

ie: No Oz tour = no Lions tours at all.

Now maybe some would be happy with that. But it would simply be replaced with a newer format that is also designed to generate income, just without the history.

A Lions tour in this day and age should be three test, one against each of the three Southern hemisphere teams.

What's going on now is ridiculous. The best of four nations, in the pro era, taking on weakened clubs.

And taking on one weak nation for three games doesn't interest many people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭50HX

Flip side is there wouldn't be a word of cribbing of this tour was in SA or NZ with the Lions prob getting there arse handed to them.

Its a poor tour no doubt...it'll pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,997 ✭✭✭jacothelad

2005. Pure dross under Woodward.

20 players from England…plus 4 added on tour. , 11 from Ireland, 10 from Wales and three from Scotland. Most of the England players were past their best. They played seven matches against first and second division teams from the National Provincial Championship, one match against the New Zealand Maori team, and three test matches against New Zealand (the All Blacks). The Lions lost the test series 3–0, the first time in 22 years that they lost every test match on tour.

1983. 9 Irish players in the squad.

In 1983 the British and Irish Lions toured New Zealand for the first time since 1977. The Lions went down to a 4–0 whitewash for only the second time in history – the previous was also inflicted by the All Blacks on the 1966 Lions.

Overall the Lions played eighteen matches, winning twelve and losing six. In addition to their four test defeats they also lost to the Auckland and Canterbury provincial unions.

Post edited by jacothelad on

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,729 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Lions test shouldn't at all be playing all 3 of the big SH 3 in tests on same tour. That would just be ridiculous. Now you have a point about weakened sides in the warm ups. But that isn't as much of a problem in new zealand. Or south africa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭GolfPar

Itoje really is as dull as ditch water when you hear him talk. I'd say he's great craic to be around.