Price of a pint !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,282 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Jaysus, do Spoons get their electricity and staff for free or something?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Ye I would agree that using Spoons is unfair as they are basically a separate business model by design with their no music, crap news on tv all day and the cheapest of cheap crap food. I don't find anything inviting about them at all.

I've been to the one on Abbey St. twice (Uncle won't pay for a pint anywhere else) and their cheap casks both times was not working, my Uncle told me it's regularly not working and even when it does it's shíte stuff that according to the staff barely any one drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭JVince

I would say spoons is as close to drinking in your grandma's front room as you can get.

Utterly boring.

They can sell cheaper because they are boring. No music, no TV, no table service, no atmosphere.

If it suits you, then fine. But it's not for me or most people. It's why their model didn't work here and except for the Dublin bars, they've got our of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,539 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I've only ever been to the one beside the Bleeding Horse and every time we've been there it's been grand. I couldn't give a shite about music (live or otherwise) and if there's no TV, that's a bonus as far as I'm concerned. I don't eat in pubs and despise that "gastro" bollocks. So there's no loss there for me either.

However, as a place to meet the lads for some pints at reasonable prices and have a few chats and a laugh, Whetherspoons more than suffices.

I absolute refuse to fork out over 7 euro for a pint and that's the end of it. There's zero value for money in that nonsense.

Pretty sure we've been over this before but it's only your opinion that there's zero value in it.

A previous poster (think @JVince ) said they find €6 - 6.50 for a creamy pint in a nice pub is good value to them, does your opinion out weigh theirs and make that untrue?

I find no value in a cup of coffee for €4 or expensive name brand clothes, but other's do. It's just my opinion, not a fact.

If someone thinks handing out nearly or over 7 euro for is "good value" for a pint, that's up to them.

It's not going to convince the vast majority of people though.

I rarely drink in town any more because it's so expensive. So most of my going out is local where I can get a pint for around 6.

II still think that that's too expensive for what you get.

Exactly it's just an opinion, nothing more.

I've no issues spending 50 quid a week having 7/8 pints and judging by the packed pubs most nights of the week neither do a lot of others.

It's all opinion.

That doesn't invalidate anything.

The fact is, however, is that the price of a pint has risen to ridiculous levels and by ludicrous amounts in a short space of time. The likes of Diageo are raising prices on a whim and the knock on effect occurs at the tap, with the punter getting mugged at the last stage. And whilst there's publicans that don't care about their own gouging, the ones I know locally are very disgruntled about Diageo's because it does affect their business.

If there are some people that don't bat an eyelid at paying silly money for a pint, that's on them. And yes, there are others that will hand over their money too. But don't mistake that as having "no issue" with doing so, or being happy about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭Feisar

In fairness to pricing, inflation has go silly generally the past couple of years. On the other hand looking at Keavan's Port, the Wetherspoon's on Camden St. they are selling Greene King Abbot Ale for €2.60 a pint. Seems like mad value to me. Pub looks pretty decent from the pics online.

First they came for the socialists...

It also doesn't make it a fact as you're portraying it to be.

We all wish that things were cheaper, I wish my house was cheaper, I wish my electric, gas and food were cheaper. I wish it was cheaper to go out for a meal but I've little to no control over the cost of the products.

I can be miserable and complain about it all or I can have one less pint a week and enjoy my night out with friends all the same. I know which one I see as as better.

That spoons is grand. It all depends on who you're with really. If you're going there expecting some sort of "experience", don't bother. If you're going with mates for a few beers and a bit of craic, that's another thing entirely.

I say that as someone who isn't a fan of Whetherspoons' layouts in most of them that I've been in. Ones in England are bloody awful places. But that Keavan's Port place is ok, especially down the back near the "church" bit which is just beyond the bar area. Get a nice quiet spot there and haugh a laugh.

The thing about Spoons that I don't get is why they can't do more traditional pub type pubs. Whoever they get in to knock up their decor must be blind.

It also doesn't make it a fact as you're portraying it to be.

If you're trying to tell me that the price of the pint hasn't risen to silly levels then there's not much point in continuing this.

I can be miserable and complain

It's not about being "miserable" or "complaining". It's just about being honest.

No you're statement that there's "no value at all" despite 2 posters telling you that they don't agree with this. It's just your opinion.

"it's just being honest" again there you're implying that other opinion is dishonest or untruthful, when that's not the case at all, they just don't agree with your opinion.

I'm sure there's things you spend your money on that you enjoy and get value from that other people think are nonsensical, doesn't mean that they're wrong and you're right, it just that things are more value to some people than others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,175 ✭✭✭54and56

Spoons carry the same operating costs (labour + rent + utilities etc) as every other pub. Yes their offering is fairly bare bones but so too are many "traditional" pubs where there might be a bit more character (age) to them and you might prefer the decor but what else do the traditional pubs offer that costs so much more than the Spoons offering?

I used to go to the pub 2-3 nights a week and am lucky enough to be still able to afford to do so if I want but I no longer feel I'm getting value for money so I stopped and now I go maybe once a month to my local and have 3-4 creamy pints which are a treat but I also find it frustrating that my local (suburban Dublin) is stuck in a time warp offers the same 5-6 beers on draught (Guinness, Heineken, Smithwicks, Birra Moretti and maybe Rockshore) but zero craft on tap and zero craft in chilled bottles. Same ole same ole selection and that's one reason why, from time to time, if I'm near a Spoons and have the choice between a traditional pub with good quality Guinness and a proper nice athmosphere and Spoons I'll sometimes dip into Spoons and jsut try a few different beers despite the boring decor etc and the fact theya re able to do so at half the price charged by the traditional pub a few meters away is just a bonus.

The other thing I'd say is pub owners paying stupid money for a pub which forces them to charge high prices to generate enough margin to get a return on their investment and then complain when people stop frequenting their premises or do so less often becuase they won't pay the inflated prices have no one else to blame but themselves. It's a poor commercial decision they make with their eyes wide open.

It's just your opinion.

It's all fucking opinion.

"it's just being honest"

It's being honest with oneself.

The price of a pint has gotten out of control and has been raised on the whim of the likes of Diageo which has a knock on effect all the way down the line and it's not only punters that are unhappy about that, it's publicans as well. Not only has it been raised, it's the amount it's been raised by and the frequency that's an issue.

Maybe when a pint is close to a tenner more people will finally get the message.

You'll still have people trying to tell you it's "great value". The owners of the The Temple Bar blow that smoke up people's arses all the time.

Maybe have a pint if you're getting this agitated.

It's being honest with oneself.

No, it's not, that's your opinion that you're declaring as fact and if I don't agree I'm lying or being dishonest. Another poster they said it's value to them too.

Is having a pint cheap? No it isn't, but it doesn't bother me and my mates when we're out, we still go out and buy 6/7/8 pints and we're not all sitting there saying "we're not doing this next week". The text "pints?" still gets sent and not for a single second do I think no it's is too expensive and judging by us doing it regularly neither do they.

Endlessly repeating "it's just your opinion" means fuck all. It's the most redundant response anyone can offer.

Enough of this rubbish. I'm off for a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭Feisar

In fairness the whole argument back and forth is a bit like the old parable about the blind men and the elephant. All are perfectly valid points based upon ones own experience. Personally pints/coffee/sandwiches out have broken some mental barrier where I've said internally, that's not worth that. Despite my ability to afford these things more than ever.

First they came for the socialists...

Agreed. Being able to afford something doesn't mean that it's worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭JVince

Wetherspoons have a lower cost base as they operate a low cost model. They also have economies of scale.

They have lower staff as they have lower service, they don't pay SKY because they don't have TVs, they don't pay imro because they don't have music. (For a medium sized pub Sky is about €40,000 a year. For a small rural pub it is about €9,000 a year)

They don't pay chefs within their premises because they pre make most of the menu off site into vacuum packaging and simply reheat.

In the UK (it didn't work here) they are very much a cafe from 8am until 5pm in the majority of their premises, thus fixed costs such as rent, rates etc are spread over a longer trading day.

It's a model that works very well for them, but only in the UK. The model didn't work here and they lost millions on their pubs outside Dublin and in Blackrock.

The large super pubs in Dublin and other cities make large profits as they get discounts and can charge €7-€10, but small independent rural and town pubs struggle because they can only charge about €6 - €6.50 and don't get the discounts, however they provide a fantastic offering in many cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,057 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

The final point made by @JVince is a good point.

"The large super pubs in Dublin and other cities make large profits as they get discounts and can charge €7-€10, but small independent rural and town pubs struggle because they can only charge about €6 - €6.50 and don't get the discounts, however they provide a fantastic offering in many cases."

I have particular ire for the Irish pub chains (e.g. Louis Fitzgerald) that get volume discounts, but do not pass them on to the customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,568 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Value is subjective. Lets all agree on that and move on.

I agree with some of that but what Spoons prove is that there's a market for:-

1. A low cost operating model (no table service, no Sky etc).
    2. A wider variety of drinks.

Too many pubs are stuck in the same operating model that they've had for decades, feck all food / coffee offering during the day meaning more or less all the fixed operating costs have to be recouped in the evenings.

To put come context on the price of a pint discussion a litre of petrol costs an average of €1.72 at the moment which means a pint of petrol (568 ml) costs €0.98 of which €0.27 is excise duty. That liquid has to be drilled out of the ground or ocean, transported as crude oil to refinery's, refined and then transported and stored before being transported again and it's a highly flammable liquid which requires specialist equipment to transport, store and dispense.

Beer on the other hand can be made in unlimted quantitied by combining a small number of widely availble ingredients.

Out of a €7.50 pint of beer €0.55 is excise duty.

A pint of petrol inc 23% VAT but excluding excise duty costs €0.71 to the end customer at the point of sale.

A pint of draught beer inc 23% VAT but excluding excise duty costs €6.95 to the end customer at the point of sale.

If the petrol supply chain (oil companies + refineries + forecourts) can extract oil, refine it and sell a pint of petrol at a profit for €0.71 but the beer supply chain (ingredient producers + brewers + publicans) requires €7.50 a pint to be profitable the latter is one highly inefficient supply chain which either needs to radically reform itself or accept a slow demise to the point where going for a pint is seen as a luxury to be enjoyed in moderation on special occasions only.

How is it either possible or justifiable for a pint of beer cost 10 times more at the point of sale than a pint of petrol?

Post edited by 54and56 on

There's a golden rule in pricing theory which an Economics lecturer taught me many moons ago:

Never charge less than your customer is willing to pay.

Why should pub chains who have put the hard work into building up a large scale business not retain the benefots of same when they don't face price competition from their competitors?

If independent pubs want the benefit of volume discount they should form buying co-op's, it's a commeon enough practice in a lot of retail verticals e.g. hardware and electronics and often the only way independents can remain competitive.

Post edited by 54and56 on

A low cost operating model (no table service, no Sky etc).

I know for a fact that the Keavan's Port Wetherspoons has table service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,488 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I think every spoons has order to table. They don't have roving floor staff looking to take orders though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,568 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

You'd want to be an impoverished alcho to drink in spoons. Bingo halls have more soul.

Absolutely not true. I'm neither impoverished or an alcho but there are times when I fancy a quiet pint (no Sky and no IMRO) of something different and Spoons is often the best option as the alternatives just sell the same ole same ole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭SteM

The Blackrock wetherspoons had sky sports. Do none of the others?

Having a few pints largely depends on who you're with, not where you are, and nothing to do with being "impoverished" or an "alcho".