Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Calf to beef thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭lmk123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭kk.man

See Dower house farms has a problem with lameless in bulls. I'm not on utube but aquadine tablets in water troughs is brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭dmakc

If the current market persists, what might I be hoping for in a Sept sale of AAX and HEX (mostly Feb/Mar born) on 1.5kg per day and good grass in front of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

The best of them 3/4 month aa/hex at present are making 700 awould 800 be in aroundnd stronger Janurary born are not making much more so would 800 be a realistic price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

What lameness issues does Aquadyne overcome? It's a form of iodine supplementation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Did anyone make it to any of the calf care events last week. I wanted to go to the local one but I was in France last week? Was there anything we could be putting into practice?

Foul-in-the-foot, also known as foot rot, is a bacterial infection that causes lameness in cattle, primarily affecting the soft tissue between the claws of the foot. The foot would swell and animal unconformable to walk with it.

I always had a case of two or 3 every year at grass. It didn't set them back much but the expense of noraclav and injecting them up to 5 days on the trot was no joke. If he was near finishing I'd have to watch withdrawal dates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Listen: Young farmer with 170 cattle on a 100% leased farm

https://open.spotify.com/episode/7jCKNYqAcskqnHx4nicnQx?si=N0xzyH2jRcK2xTqfQOOUEQ&context=spotify%3Ashow%3A2KEzytHGnFUWW29V45TM0E

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Just listened to it. Fair play to him. I even took a few notes.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

The financials are adding up at the moment and I've no doubt he's doing well but after paying rent would be the real measure. Fair play it's no ordinary undertaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Tibulus

Great listen, fair play to him running a good system. Would go as far as saying I'll listen to it a second time with a pen and paper in hand opposed to driving. Or even make the journey 2.5 hour if he ever has a farm walk.

Interesting how he manages the purchasing in Q1 on 20 hours a week, marts take time. Although he is in dairy country, expect lots of good dairy Angus crosses about.

Significant money spent on farm roads and infrastructure, hope he is well covered with owner.

his day job is a teagasc dairy advisor on the kk/waterford border

A discussion group I’m in had him facilitate a meeting last week. He was super I thought. Very practical about issues on the farm that hosted the meeting

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I didn’t want to say it, but you get a sense he’s a Teagasc advisor alright.

Interesting in that context that he dismissed red clover (for silage) and MSS.

Still worth listening to thou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,710 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Had a listen to it. It shows the risk associated with buying stock after selling stock. Having said that from the figures given he needs 1 approx 1.35/ kg more this year than last year. He should achieve that I imagine with him selling last Autumn until after Christmas he probably avreaged approx 5.70-6 euro/ kg. However he will need to average above 7/ kg to cover extra cost of replacements

HHe US not actually doing anything drastic with silage 75DMD is achievable in a simple 2 cut system

I am not sure about the farm roadway but if it was put in with farm grant it's probably fairly reasonable. After that it's fencing and grass

Slava Ukrainii

As a dairy teagasc advisor would be in lots of dairy yards through the year, know what lads keep a few calf's on. Buy in batches from reliable dairy farmers. No having to trawl through marts.

My take away what that he taught red clover didn't work for his system. All in the one block and grazing after grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,710 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

He taught red clover silage did not work, he uses some red clover in grazing mixes. He was not interested in multi species swards either

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Sami23

From what I see all that Multi Species is is dirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭DBK1

As a baling contractor I’ll second that. I’d sell the stock and lease the land before I’d be persuaded to put that sh**e anywhere near my land.

Interested to hear why @DBK1 @Sami23 ?

Not an advocate or even considering sowing. Just interested.

Fella on the podcast said it was mostly because you can’t apply a post-emergence spray on reseeds. And he didn’t want people thinking he was growing weeds on a rented farm.

I tried a few acres of MSS in a reseed a few years back. It’s mostly docks now. I’m blaming the lack of post-emergence and not grazing it right. I still don’t know how to graze them! I’ll be reseeding it again when I get a chance. PRG and white clover only this time.

Establishment first day, grazing management, and the various non-PRG grasses not lasting are all issues to be considered. But there’s others on here I’m sure with more knowledge than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Sami23

Similar to what Siamsa said. The fields I've seen of it are destroyed with docks and thistles and actually I said to one of the lads will ya spray that bloody field n his response was I can't as it will kill the MSS. I'll post a picture of one of the fields when I get a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I've reseeded 5 acres of pure rush into mass, my thinking was that the scheme paid for the seed, lessened the pain of reseeding. If it starts to get infested with docks I'll have no problem spraying it and still have new grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭limo_100

folks I being looking round for some reared calves and have found 20 up the country for 850euro about 140kg average. Is it too expense for aa and he heifers? would prefer bulls but I can made this work with heifers also. I don't have to put 20 but could do with 10 - 20 anyway as I have 8acres reseeded a few weeks ago and will be ready for grazing in less than a month and them type stock would be best suited to it. But I don't want to buy gold too expensive either, what's peoples opinion on this?

IMG_2192.jpeg

That’s the reseeded where they would be going.

Have you had those type of animals before? If yes, then it might be worth buying them.

yeah of course reared calves on and off over 30years. just wondering if that's too big of a price for them or is it about right

If you can get a bust of them to 500kg by Sept-2026, then at 250kg DW and stress-test price of €6.50, then you’ve €1,625 to work with. Take off your €850 purchase price and there’s €775 to cover the rest of the costs and a few bob for yourself

Probably a tad on the expensive side but if cattle hold they could be grand. We're they well reared ie age for weight?

There was no bullocks sub 300 in Thurles on Monday in fact v difficult at this time of the year to source. In kilkenny today hex 265kg made 910 dob oct 24 and fr 260kg 820e dob Feb 24. If I was u I be buying them. Hardship gone out of them plus sickness and if weather turned bad later no rush to get them in.

They would be much better valve in fairness but I was looking at the weights and every mart with 250kg hex and AAx cattle (bulls and heifers) where over 1000-1400 at that money they are out of my range but at 900 they would be much better value but I can't see them at that money watched bandon and tipp mart any calf over 120kg was making 900 amazing money for small stock. cattle have moved on this week and hard to see the prices rolling back much over the coming months.

Also seen dairy cross heifers sold locally yesterday.

IMG_2216.jpeg