Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tesla Talk 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,974 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Absolutely hateful yokes to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭sk8board

more the bingo card -

I forgot that there will definitely be some sort of Optimus video showing it do something amazing but not really useful. Available to buy a home unit of Optimus in 2026 for $25,000. It won’t ever happen.

There will be a 69,420 joke in there somewhere - musk hasn’t realised yet that the world tired of that joke so long ago. The Diner thing opened at 4:20pm 😬🙄

There will be a complete and total lie about the bump in sales they are seeing, but won’t say where.

Musk will spend almost all the call talking about how much they’ve already achieved with the Austin trial, ignore all the issues, and that they’ll rollout countrywide by year end - it’s the single easiest way to pop the stock in the short term - Tsla bagholders are just baying for it. The rollout won’t happen because they don’t meet the bar for the regulators, and they’ll blame the regulators for not seeing that their camera-only solution is better.

Dan Ives will adjust his SP target up $50 based only on the Diner opening. 😛

There you go - saves you reading the call transcript in the morning 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,828 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Haha, yeah I never bother watching any of those events from Tesla 😂

I'll just keep up with the actual developments over time. I do want to buy TSLA shares again, but not so keen at the current value. This might turn out to be a big mistake (not buying now), but I go in and out for a bit of fun and to realise some short term gains. It is not a strategic investment, I have my pension fund and some other stuff for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Optimus Plus to be released next year, April 20th (4/20) for $69,000. Can serve me popcorn.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭mr chips

You lucky fecker. 😋 I've been looking at what night rate options are available here in NI for when the end of September comes and the output from the solar won't provide any surplus to charge the car, and the cheapest one is over 15 pence (so nearly 18 cent) per kWh - i.e. more than triple the rate you're paying.

Oh well - on the plus side, I doubt I could have bought the car itself as cheaply south of the border. Swings & roundabouts …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭maidhc

I have a 251 Corolla hybrid van that has averaged 4.9l over the first 3000 kms of its life. Mixed driving, various drivers. It’s far cheaper to run than the 1.5hdi proace/berlingo it replaced.

Headlines, robotaxi making good progress but some rough quarters ahead for the company, sales figures as expected by the market. Aftermarket down 4%

I can see a further drop in the next few days

But let's put things into perspective: there are only 2 companies in the S&P that have gone 100X in not much more than the last decade. The only other one is NVIDIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,326 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

TSLA. The only stock where literally you could have made $100 on a $220 per share basis within the last 3-6 months if you timed your investment right.

Also TSLA. PE Ratio (TTM)188.95.

It's feckin gambling lads, remember there have been 2 stock splits at this point, the stock is astronomically overvalued to the point that even if one of the moonshots don't come off (eg robotaxi) eventually the market will get fed up looking at this naked emperor and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,926 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

The flip side is that 5c rate is only for 4hrs between 2am-6am and for the other 20hrs it's 34c. My plan is 25c day with 12.5c for 9 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,199 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Unkel isn't using any of that 34c electricity though, between batteries and solar he could run the 3 arena 😂

This is true, I never owned a V8 petrol. I've owned a couple of petrols and diesels in my time but was never massively obsessed with efficiency. If you argue my ratio of 3:1 is very conservative then at least nobody will be disappointed if they use that ratio

Which to be fair is a great use of batteries and solar, but not everybody has those

Not quite 😂 But between my buddy and myself we can nearly power the baseload of our entire estate on a sunny day. Before I had a smart meter I used up all the cheap electricity myself 😀

But now I just buy for 5c and immediately sell back for 25c. My negative electricity bill pays for running all my 4 electric cars and also pays for my entire gas bill for the year. With a few hundred quid left over 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,326 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Yup same here, we use too much electricity between our 3 EVs and 6 bed rural house, so I couldn't get enough in to cover use in merely 3 or 4 hours.

If I bought a second inverter or a separate battery bank and charger, along with increase to 16kva then maybe, but we do 50-70k km across three EVs, have two tech professionals that work 100% from home, and two teens that have too much preference for electric showers lol.

As it stands I'm on the BWG flogas deal, switching between them and energia for the last 3-4 years. Keeping MCC02 with my RM109 smart meter, best of both worlds. If I had less usage I'd have switched to Unkel's model years ago. Can't say I'm not envious at times, but my own bill is largely negative most of the year (winter not so much unfortunately) but I have to contrast not only with what the bills were before the solar (500+ in winter), or what fossil fuel would cost to do the miles.

Myself + 4 adult and teenage women here, we use tons of hot water. A lot of that comes from my solar thermal (40 tubes). And using electric showers like you do is an utter waste of expensive electricity, get a pumped shower. More comfortable too.

But yeah my 3 hour only night rate is tight. It is enough for doing 45k km per year or thereabouts on electric (the overwhelming majority of Irish households do less total annual mileage) and of course the gigantic savings of paying only 5c / kWh are enough to pay for a substantial number of km on the high day rate. And my battery is big enough to dump extra range into an EV if I have to, rather than use the expensive day rate

That said, if I wanted to replace my gas boiler with an electric heat pump, I would need either a 4h night rate or an upgrade to a 16kVA MIC. Or both. My gas boiler is 12 years old now, so will likely need replacing within a couple of years. I don't expect this 500% difference between the 5c day rate and the 25c FIT rate to last much longer anyway. But it was great while it lasted, all my renewables are fully payed off now

2 EVs in this household, only recently got panels and 5kWh of battery so looking forward to the payback day.

Relatively high mileage, charge the tesla twice a week, 3 times per week in the summer to account for holiday home weekend trips, and charge the leaf once per week, probably getting a heat pump as the next big purchase on the house so a 3 or 4 hour window wouldn't be a smart move for us.

Like yourself, quite envious of the 5c rate that works for some

I know your point, but to frame this with numbers - they’re up 20x over the past decade, from $17 in 2015 to $332 - based on simply pushing up the P/E ratio.

indeed they were still at $16 in 2019.

Most tellingly, their performance since Jan 1 2021 is just +13%.

So it’s 20x in 2019 and ‘20, and nothing since.

To put it another way, the only window to buy Tesla and get that 20x was early 2019

Musk appeared to spend most of the call trying to reframe literally every aspect of their business, indeed it all sounds even more ‘not believable’ than usual.

e.g They framed the sales drop as being related to “It is difficult to measure the impacts of shifting global trade and fiscal policies”

but EV sales worldwide are streaking ahead, roughly +70%, while Tesla in H1 was -13%.

Looking at commentary this morning, most seem to be saying that Tesla are running out of places to go before they can just blame their CEO.

Couple of weird bits:

Musk is saying he needs more shares and control (the contested pay packet), as they mightn’t be able to fend off a hostile takeover.

Also, the financials show they could easily be Free Cash Flow negative by Q4, which I think will be a tipping point, as the car business is funding everything for many years.

and finally, car margin was 15.0%.

I think you are forgetting the share splits? Just checked and TSLA went 150X between 2012 and the high point earlier this year

An investment of just €7k back then would have made you a millionaire 😶

2 things from my bingo card -

“Musk anticipates that half of the US population will have access to the robotaxis by the end of this year (a goal that seems unlikely given the regulatory hurdles for driverless cars). Musk added that Tesla is being “extremely paranoid” about safety.”

“As for politics, the CEO has said he is not yetdone with Washington and is now starting a new US political party called the America party.”

the SP popped almost 50% off the bottom when he confirmed he was leaving Doge and returning to managing the companies.

We knew he was lying, but it’s interesting to hear him actually say it on a financial call for one of those companies.

Post edited by sk8board on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

While I don't have the same storage capacity as @unkel I am sure I use more power in my HH at circa 18MWh per year. We charge off the Energia EV window of 4 hours and use almost no day rate power. Decided to keep Energia this month for the extra hour window over Pinergy.

8.8kWp Solar.

Main Inverter 5kW.

45kWh storage usable.

Stopped using Triton T90. Very rarely used and only if hot water is not available due to certain kids taking long showers! Upgrading 130L cylinder to 250-300L and getting thermostatic valve installed soon. It involves replacing a bath, some water pipes, tiling and reinforcing the hot-press base. Every little helps, but I have had an expensive 18 months with home and car changes/upgrades 😪

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭reaction238

Anyone slightly disappointed to hear Musk talking about a transition from EV to autonomous? As a recently new EV owner and a new Tesla owner, its a bit disappointing to hear the focus has moved to essentially building a taxi fleet. I feel like I've just bought a Toyota Corolla 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭DrPsychia

If you were famililar with his historical predictions, you shouldn't be disappointed. His comments were added to the rest the rest of the pile. It will continue to grow.

if you are getting a HP that 5kwh of battery will seem very small….

Not at the expense of the EV market. That part is new. Private owners will benefit from better autonomy of course. But the shift in focus will mean less design innovation. I know we're already seeing that, it's not like other traditional car makers where you can expect a model revamp every 6 years. The MY facelift is jist that, a facelift and some QOL improvements. It's not a new model in the traditional sense.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

The Model 3 is the Toyota Corrolla of the EV world. Its unfortune that clickbait social media titles are constant "Tesla Killer" but the M3 is just that, a normal every day saloon with good space, good range, good economy for a good price, and generally it does everything good.

The current M3H and MYJ are mid life facelifts, no secret to that.

Will we see a re-design in the next few years?

id have said the model 3 and y mid life facelifts are in line with most other manufacturers these days.

similar to the ‘iphone killer’ about 10 years ago, the ‘Tesla killer’ mantle is already dying out, with Tesla’s share of the worldwide EV market dropping below 10% in 2025, and they are by far no longer the key innovator in the space.
    9 out of 10 EV buyers choose something else, even though Tesla’s are generally best in class and well priced. I happily maintain that the totally base €37k m3 rwd is the best all round vehicle for sale, Bev or ice, albeit my own eye is turning towards the ID3 GTX, and stay in the VW network.