Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

If only Waterford could have a quality team when the standard is so low. Whenever we had a very good team there was always some phenomenal team to compete with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Pudz2180

think these are 2 different situations. Tipp trained hard last November December and January which is grand. McGuinness came in mid championship with us (between a very tough physical limerick game and the cork game) and by all accounts the players were flogged for two weeks and subsequently couldn’t wag against cork and basically that was our year over. The timing was the issue winter is grand for that stuff but not in the middle of the championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭decies

Yep limerick not at their best last two years and both Clare and Tipp have taken advantage now. It’s up to us to RAISE our game and to do it in the next couple of years before another Limerick appears and we rinse and repeat . The minors have given us hope but a huge lot to do both on and off the pitch .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Pudz2180

as far as the grit question I just don’t know. Watching Tipp celebrating there today I was like why the feck can that not be us? Are our players that much inferior to that tipp team? If not is it just a mentality thing with us? Is it a coaching/management issue? If queally and the players got together in the next few days and decided we are going to train like **** over the winter and give it a right lash next year would it make any difference to our chances next year or would it be the same old story with year over in may. Like Tipp were rock bottom last year and look at them now!

you have to have both though very fit and ENOUGH skilful players we are lacking the latter while the first can be more easily worked on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Yeah I don't know. I'll admit I am jealous watching Tipp win today, they were better than us in Thurles this year but not by miles.

IMG_2452.jpeg

God almighty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭deisedude

2017 was the biggest chance. It was a good but not great Galway team

I still have nightmares of that I was fully convinced it was coming home , I had to leave immediately at final whistle couldn’t take it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

I agree, Cahill was still in learning mode at senior level when with us he will have made mistakes and learned from them. We can’t hold that against him we gave him the job knowing he is Tipp to the back bone and would want to manage his own county some day, and as someone else said him and Bevans effort can’t be faulted

In terms of what are we lacking well as a starting point we are weak on the sideline. Look at the quality of the Tipp management and backroom team today with the likes of Herity, Bevans, Eamon OShea. With all due respect Queally Dan and Eoin Kelly are not going to mastermind an all Ireland win, Queally needs to Buck up his management team over the winter we need to be looking at getting the best people we can get into the setup. Look at how it’s worked for our minors. This needs to be the model all the way up

sorry for Pat Ryan and Hoggy

can’t say the same for Harnedy, his antics in Walsh Park a couple years ago when they beat us still rankles. And he half a Waterford man. Karma is a right bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Dammo

That cork full forward line, great cycling down the hill with the wind at their backs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

brian hayes again went abroad for the day like last year , great hurler but definitely physiology problems within the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Yeah but Hoggy was straight in on Shelley today roaring in his face after the Cork goal and look how Tipp responded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭914

What struck me most with all the Tipp interviews this year (managers and players), they always mentioned needing to make up for last year.

The hurt they and their supporters felt, they needed to make it right, how they know it's a privilege to wear the jersey etc.

Cahill really had it drilled into them that wearing the Tipperary jersey isn't enough that there is a level of expectancy with it.

You would be hoping our lads, management, backroom team and players after today come together with the same attitude and drive, I maybe naive in my thinking considering Tipp are All Ireland Champions, Cork are National League and Munster champions and we have failed to get out of this round robin, but I feel we can be as good as both.

I honestly feel at this stage it's a mental thing. This year and last year has without a doubt been our best chance of getting out of Munster and on both occasions it was within our own destiny and we failed to take advantage and undoubtedly it was both games V Tipp that did us.

Last year we couldn't see the game out, this year we didn't show up in Thrurles bar the opening 10 minutes.

Seeing Tipp win today will hopefully have our lads chomping at the bit and raring to go next season.

If I'm Peter I'm going all out for division one to try and build momentum into the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 kasporov

Waterford are not far off the top table if the management are given all the tools. We've been missing Ozzie now 2 year's who'd walk into any team in the country. Fagan, Lyons and Montgomery stepping away were all huge loses, physically we cldnt match others without all these. Also the appointment as Dessie as captain was a huge mistake, the weight of being captain seemed to effect him greatly as his performances were awful, played with no freedom. We also need to find a free taker, Stephen is usually good from 45 in but we have no long range free taker, he goes out the field to take these and more often than not mis hits them. Ozzie is our only long range option.

Conditioning of the players is one of my major concerns, more than other county's we always seem to be picking up injuries. We were missing a lot of players during the league which didn't help going into the championship especially coming out of 1B.

Away from the playing side we need to get away from Azzurri, need to provide the players with top quality gear. Also compared to every other county, leisure wear is bland and hardly ever in stock.

If we could get our full panel back playing we could surprise a lot people next year especially playing more competitive games in A1 in the league

Déise Abú

lads don’t worry about the league yes it would be good to stay up but it’s only glorified friendlies under the current Munster / All Ireland set up . We certainly don’t have a good enough panel to go all out in the league and bring form into championship. We might not have many new faces to come through but we need to see some movement in that regard . Eventually it has to come time to deliver then the usual we are not far away crack .

agreed. Our gear is a joke and has been for many years. I’m sick of looking at it so no doubt the players are too and they’re the ones that have to wear it

I’ve got high hopes that new co chairman Neil Moore can be a progressive appointment and not be afraid to break through barriers. I was impressed with his interview after the minor final where he acknowledged Waterford took our eye off the ball with the underage after we won the last minor all Ireland and said we can’t afford to do that ever again. I know talk is cheap but accountability for past mistakes is a good starting point. self reflection is not something you associate with a co board chairman

what’s the story with that Waterford supporters club and when does it open again ? The blurb says you buy a ticket in a win a house in Waterford ( already bought ) and you are automatically enrolled what ever that’s about . I agree with azzurri a disaster when the new merchandise is launched they hadn’t the stock to sell it online , the leisure quality is uninspiring. The win a house will bring a good bit of money in but the normal Deise draw is pale comparison to other counties . Rome wasn’t built in a day but please make progress .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,107 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The good news this morning after the championship supporters match up from hell, at least from the neutral point of view ,big difference from last year where you could be happy for Clare . Anyway the championship is reset and we can all dream again . Would love to see the chairman of Waterford GAA now sit down with Queally what can we do better this year on and off the pitch , to finally through that glass ceiling of Waterford GAA the Munster championship .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

We are the only team in the last two years who didn’t get out of Munster who didn’t win the All Ireland. We must be nailed on for 2026. 😆

Seriously, that’s how fine the margins are. Without Lyons, Montgomery and Fagan and a with a clearlyunfit Ozzie we were drawing with the All Ireland champions on their own patch with quarter of the game left. Add in a misfiring Dessie ( that was the day he smashed his hurl when substituted) and Patrick Fitzgerald not being at the races either this season and we really should be capable of adding another 7-10 points a game if everyone is on it.

Considering Cork are probably damaged after yesterday, Limerick are dropping from their peak, TJ can’t keep turning up for Kilkenny and Tipperary will think they only need to turn up to collect the trophies next year and you would have to say we are not entirely without hope.

Realistically, it will take the players, management and county board getting together and asking themselves do they really want it and agreeing what do they need to do to get it. That and avoiding retirements and the perennial injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭seananigans

popped my head into semple for a look , must be 40,000 at least, all over the pitch the stands, it's claustrophobic it's so busy say they will open the terraces as people are still streaming in . wanted to see what it was like to be in a wining homecoming,. it was so depressing i left after about 40 minutes.

we had 3 chances to get out of munster and blew them all, and as tipp proved, once you're in the ai series anything can happen.

are you mad man going to a rivals celebration s. I have to live amongst them the radio is now insufferable and the endless flags . At least it will be calm by the autumn . One advantage of the early season !! How could you stay for 40 mins !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,943 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

What would ye all be thinking if it was Waterford who failed to score more than two points in the second half?

I can easily imagine the wolves baying for a change in manager etc. etc.

What will happen in Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Like you said Tipp struggle with being champs. I've my doubts if Clare will be back so soon. Cork can go either way but could be damaged goods but I'm expecting a bounce back from Limerick. I think the next 2 or 3 years they'll be like the sting of a dying wasp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Anything worth mentioning on last weekends club championship games? Any stand out performers? Wins for Passage, Lismore, Sion, DLS, Roanmore, DLS and Ballygunner (the latter with an unmerciful 30 point battering of Brickeys).

I saw Neil Montgomery was back for Abbeyside, has Calum Lyons returned? Is there any indication they would be available next year for the county.

Hard to know what really to even think of next year, you could look at it that Munster is now even more difficult (if that were even possible). We've now to get out of a group containing the current AI champs, last years AI champs, the year before that AI champs and the last two years AI finalists. It's funny how only 2-3 years ago the thinking was our best hope of getting out was to get wins over Tipp and Cork whereas now the thinking seems to be shifting towards Clare and Limerick.