Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2025 (Munster And Leinster Championships,Liam McCarthy Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭eastie17

sorry not to be splitting hairs and to be arguing about the best ways to lose all irelands, there aren’t any! But Mayo never collapsed, they just found all sorts of bizarre ways to lose. Brought two finals to replays and lost by a point, so they never collapsed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭DireD

im from cork but the comparison to mayo is in no way fair to those mayo teams. always lost by a hair to the best team of all time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,073 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭jacool

Just heard the Portrush story this morning.

1951, 2019, 2025

Tipp, Tipp, Tipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,132 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

It was written in the stars lads

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Bobby_Bolivia

Pat Horgan was laughing in Rhys Shelly's face after Cork scored their goal.

An absolute loser in every way. You'd think so much failure throughout his career would have taught him some humility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Imeall an cearnóg

Did the water bottle thrown at the Cork players entering the tunnel at half time come from the Tipp subs seats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭CWMMC

Cork the Mayo of hurling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭siyo

Damian cahalane gave away a free yesterday doing exactly what your talking about. No idea what point your trying to make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭randd1

Cork don’t have any real natural defenders.

They have lads that have great pace covering back, they have lads that are good on the ball, they have lads capable of setting up attacks, and in fairness, lads willing to throw their bodies in the way. But they have poor defensive instincts.

They’re so explosive going forward, everyone seemed to forget what happens at the other end. They’re always coughing up a huge score, and concede serious amount of chances every game.

Ordinarily, they just out-score the opposition because they have the pace and shooting to take out anyone, but the question of whether do they have the quality in defence to hold the opposition if their forwards have been curtailed has been well and truly answered.

They just can’t.

That’s twice this season that the Cork forwards have been completely shut down by the opposition, and twice their defence has been utterly unable to respond in kind and have been ripped asunder.

In all honesty, you need defenders will real dogfight defensive instincts, the type you can’t coach, to win AI’s, because there’s going to be days when the forwards or the system shut down.

Cork don’t have that, and it cost them dearly yesterday. And it’s the same weakness that’s cost them repeatedly for the last 20 years.

I don’t think it was as much of a meltdown as people think. I think it was simply that Tipp completely tied up the Cork attack, and that Cork’s serious deficiencies in defence just came to the fore.

And Tipp made hay. They worm had turned completely by the time of the sending off, but once Downey was (deservedly) sent off that was it. They didn’t have the defensive quality on the field or the bench to do what Tipp did in the semi-final, and dog it out by keeping it tight at the back.

As good as you are going forward, and Cork on their day are better than anyone at that, you have to have solidity at the back for the days you misfire.

PS - Harnedy, Kingston, Lehane, Cahalane were their subs yesterday. Kingston, Lehane and Cahalane struggled badly for consistency years ago, never mind yesterday. They were never going to dig it out for Cork. Harnedy, while still quality, looked barely fit. When you’re relying either unfit men or tried and failed to turn things around, you’re not as good as you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,150 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

2006 All Ireland final. 2004 wasn't much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭tranquilo

Corks fragile mentality is baffling. Actually unbelievable when you think about it.

The way some of their fans go on you'd think they were the great Kilkenny team of the naughties or more recent Limerick team. The arrogance from some of them leading up to the final, I couldn't understand it going by their most recent failures. They're the Arsenal of hurling. All rosy in the early stages, lovely style and goals galore, but when the pressure is on in the biggest games they s**t the bed.

Hopefully yesterday will make some of them a bit more humble going forward, although I highly doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

There isn't one - our backs/ over all defense just are/is not good enough, Downey is prob one of the worst if not the worst FB cork has ever had. Couple that with our inability to take ball in the air/long puckouts. It cost us against limerick, last year against Clare and yesterday against Tipp.

Also Ryan never has a plan B, Either A works or he just screams from the sideline. Threw away 2 All Irelands in a row. Surely questions will have to be asked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

you’re correct, l said that to friends all through the season as they were getting carried away by corks scoring. I said they scored a lot but they conceded a lot at the back, a bit similar to Newcastle under Kevin keegan. You need a solid defence. Tipp are the more complete unit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭I says

Cork kept hitting ball after ball into the sweeper system in the first half. That left oceans of space between midfield and halfback line that they didn’t utilise by either running at them from midfield and popping over points from 35/40yrds or moving any cork attacker into that space.
    They totally bottled it in the second half no leaders to take game by scruff of the neck.
    Tipp were ferocious all game. There’s only them and KK that you can say that to a man they give their all from throw in to full time whistle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

You can see the common traits in all bottlers and I say that as someone originally from Mayo.

Arrogance, over-confidence, turning up to collect the cup, dismissing the opposition to the point that tactics don't matter, hunger is meaningless and you believe you are so good that even if you have an average day you will still win easily. The team ends up full of passengers and the management didn't even think of a Plan B in case the sh*t hits the fan.

The Ireland rugby team at the World Cup, Mayo in a number of AI finals going back to the 1990s, and Cork hurling and football teams have been guilty.

The Dublin football team were guilty of it from 2000-2009, but they managed to turn it around, so there's hope yet for this Cork team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Cork do have young talent from those u20 teams who can gradually take over from the older guys, e.g. Horgan, Harnedy, Lehane, Cahalane etc.

However, the point someone made above that they don't have "pure" defenders is a good one. The half back line all like to play their own game. If a team gets a run on them, they can put up a big score. They need a better balance.

I think Cormac O'Brien got injured, he had a great league and maybe they missed him more than they thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭challengerbell

Everything is easier with Hindsight.

But it cannot be denied that the pundits as a whole did Tipp a disservice in the build-up to this game.

They foolishly took last years performances as a baseline for the teams ability - ignoring the 10 All Ireland Winners in the squad and multiple underage All Ireland winners, they thought that was our ceiling rather than our floor. The turnaround was always going to be swift. Granted, this is a year or so swifter than most of us would have thought.

Corks weaknesses and failures were ignored. Tipperarys were amplified.

Cork lost a 12 point lead to Clare - sure they were down to 14.

Tipp lost by 15 to Cork playing with 14 for the entire game - sure thats Cork destroying Tipp with their running game.

A 16 point hammering to Limerick was ignored due to a fairly low quality foul ridden yet low free count Munster final that they could only draw in play with a last second 65. Yet Tipp beat Galway by 8 in a Qf and they nearly come out of it worse in pundits eyes due to goal chances conceded, not goals, just chances.

Cork hammer a poor Dublin on the day - bigged up to the max.

Tipp beat the Leinster champions, coming from 2 points down with 14 men and its all about the score board and how Kilkenny would have just pinged a few points over and get a draw at least - after Tipp outscoring them 1-4 to 0-4 in the previous 10 minutes.

The league final was played in Corks home patch, against a Tipp team evolving 2 weeks out from championship.

This year we played:

Cork x 4 - Won 2 Lost 2

Clare x 2 - Won 2

Galway x 2 - Won 2

Kilkenny by 2 - Won 2

Limerick x 2 - Drew 1 Lost 1

Wexford x 1 - Won 1

Waterford x 1 - Won 1

Laois x 1 - Won 1

Played 15 - Won 11 - Drew 1 - Lost 3 (P8 - W6 - D1 - L1 in championship)

This compared to Corks

Played 14 - Won 9 - Drew 2 - Lost 3 - (P7 - W4 - D1 - L2 in championship)

Our Full Forward line was scoring freely each game from play, scoring notably more than Corks yet the talk was solely around Corks dangerous FF line. We stat top of the league after the 6 games and joint top of the Munster championship along side Limerick and Cork. Consistency and performance that were both looked past in the lead up to yesterday.

Pace will win no team an All Ireland. I listened to this back in 2019 - Cork were supposed to run through us that year in the Pairc aswell, Tipp are too slow they said that day - yet we won by 7 and won the All Ireland. Pace doesnt win All Irelands - hurlers do.

John McGrath is a hurler. Jason Forde is a hurler, Noel McGrath and Ronan Maher - hurlers not sprinters but give me those lads any day over what Cork have.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 26,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Being the underdogs suited Tipp, they had absolutely nothing to lose. If they got hammered people would be hyping Cork and their "goal machine".

Cork really thought they would cut through Tipp and score 3-4 goals. They tried to play against us the same way they played against Dublin… two very different teams!

Cork's management team didn't even try to change their system up even before the sending off and the momentum was turning in Tipp's favour.

Easy have a go at the pundits but I think anyone saying they did not calling a Cork win is either lying or was a Tipp fan going on heart.

By no metric could a pundits not call anything but a Cork win.

This was posted on Premierview Saturday and rang true again yesterday.

The 1991 Munster Final replay

O Muircheartaigh's Miracle

Far away from Thurles town on Munster Final day

The wireless was our only hope of joining in the fray

Le Harve is a long way off across the foaming sea

But Michael O Muircheartaigh would be there with RTE

We switched her on at throw in time to hear the self same man

But all we got was static, like rashers on a pan

We turned knobs and aerials and did our best to clear it

But Michael O Muircheartaigh, sure we couldnt hear it

At half past 5, thats French time, the rashers quietened down

Our joy at getting RTE became a dreadful frown

O God I don't believe it, are they selling us a pup?

Michael O Muircheartaigh said that Cork were 9 points up

With higher mathematics we analysed this figure

And came to the conclusion t'was no smaller nor no bigger

No matter how you looked at it, in France or Thurles Town

If Michael O Muircheartaigh said it, then Tipp were 9 points down

The brilliant Gallic sunshine was soon replaced by rain

And holidaying Carrick men were jumping in the Seine

The French police, the Gendarmes, had never seen the likes

As Michael O Muircheartaigh said that Cork were on their bikes

An old boy from Cashel Town took up the kitchen knife

To plunge it into his saddened heart to end this pitiful life

But first a pint in Brosnans, he did things by the book

As Michael O Muircheartaigh said "poor Tipp are looking shook"

A Bansha farmer kissed his wife, said goodbye to his daughters

And headed dourly out the door towards the foaming waters

His last words to his missus was "I'll never stick it out"

As Michael O Muircheartaigh said "Tis looking like a rout"

As if it wasnt bad enough that Nicky wasn't playing

Aul wans from Clogheen took out the beads and started praying

Their sons were drinking poison just before they died

To the tune of O Muircheartaigh saying "They'll never stem the tide"

That Cork would win and do us in there seemed to be no doubt

The red and white now rampant and the bookies paying out

Not a sound from Tipp men, the county in a daze

"Begob" says Muircheartaigh, "theyre bring in Joe Hayes"

Ryans, Dwyers, Mahers, Heffernans and O'Mearas

Were swept away in France that day so far from Toomevara

In Thurles Town some men with guns were headed for the gate

"Whist" said Muircheartaigh "Pat Fox has made it eight"

Saint Wedger Meagher in the Paradise Bar, of this had gotten weary

So the Lord above looked down on Babs and Michael Cleary

The Saint slipped one to Declan Ryan, a point, a gift from heaven

And Michael O Muircheartaigh said "And now tis only seven!"

The skies came clear, the sun spun round, we heard the angels play

The sweetest kind of music, another on the way

A voice cried out from the crowd "Good man Pat Fox ya hoor"

And Michael O Muircheartaigh said that six was now the score

Divine intervention in hurling isnt rare

And its use in Munster Finals is deemed to be quite fair

The Fox then scored that magic goal, designed celestically

And Michael O Muircheartaigh said "And now tis only three!"

The light that came from up above found Carr from Holycross

We saw his hurley lengthen and broaden at the bas

He goaled from higher altitude "Take that and shame the devil"

And Michael O Muircheartaigh said "And now the sided are level!"

Bobby Ryan, Delaney, Mick Ryan and Sheedy thundered

The Bonnars drove out everything, the forwards struck and plundered

Hogans saves were epic, as Joe Hayes gave his all

Then we heard O Muircheartaigh sing "The Hills of Killenaule"

The rest you know as our great foe were burnt in Leahy's fire

Through Cleary, Ryan and Bonnar, our tally mounted higher

Said Aiden Ryan of Borrisoleigh "You aint seen nothing yet"

And Michael O Muircheartaigh roard "Sin cul and Cork are bet"

The lads who went for drowning found the tide it wasn't in

The knives were blunt, the bullets blank, the poison only gin

The widows from Clogheen had reached the second joyful mystery

As Michael O Muircheartaigh told of Tipp men making history

Many famous victories for Tipp one can recall

And each man has his special one that's greater than them all

That day we heard a miracle like Fatima or Knock

From Michael O Muircheartaigh - fair play to you, aul stock.

No issue with them calling it for Cork before the game. The manner of the discussion and how they got there was the problem. It was blinkered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,132 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Morris for player of the year, Darragh McCarthy young hurler of the year?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Huge difference with 2004 Kilkenny and yesterday. Kilkenny had won back to back All Irelands and were a bit flat all that year. You could excuse them lacking hunger. That team had proven itself.

The Cork team had no All Irelands. I hate teams, any county, being over hyped before they've actually won an All Ireland. Cork should have been running through the dressing room walls out to finish the job in the second half.

Even RTE with that awful Killeagh song being played at every ad break, maybe 40 times a day, was another nod to the inevitable coronation expected. They were firmly on the hype train.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭siyo

Very well put but I'd disagree the media done tipp a disservice, in actual fact they done tipp a huge favour all year by letting them fly under the radar and building up cork so much.

Imagine everyone dismissed a team that -

-got out of the Munster championship minefield

- went into ennis in a KO game and beat the all Ireland champions

- showed the strength of their bench all through the latter stages of the championship

- went down to 14 and beat Kk in the semis

- were on a 5 game winning streak

There's plenty more that could be added to the above. The point is the punditry in GAA is just noise at this point, ya have to scratch under the surface to really see what's going on with teams. Pundits too quick to write off tipps form because they 'only' beat Waterford, Clare, Galway and Kk.

Well the first 2 points mean little in hindsight because Clare were total sht.

People were calling Cork with a few to spare not just pundits. People were right to call it that way because all the evidence pointed towards it.

The biggest noise makers in sport are the ones whk are forever shouting "written off". Teams are never written off its just called as people see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭endainoz

Beating the All Ireland champions at home means little now? Jaysus don't let the biases get in the way of a good argument anyway. Poor as Clare were this year, still didn't lose three championship matches in a row, the third being the biggest upset of modern times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭endainoz

I think the Tipp story is amazing considering where they were last year and some said they would need years to rebuild, a good template for teams to follow.

Huge turnaround. Fans and players seemed totally in the dumps after the last few years.

Ya Clare were sht. Limerick being terrible against Dublin doesn't change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

lm sick of Marty morrisey, same old sh””e. He went on and on about one of the Tipp players who would be 31 soon…. So flippin what? It’s hardly pensioner territory 🙄. He was all about the “great” Cork team, he must have been sick that Tipp won. Time Rte got rid of him and Joanne Cantwell who is becoming a bigger pain in hole every match