Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Reduce Voting Age in Ireland?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Also knowing what the right decision to make versus actually making it is a huge thing. Everyone knows stealing is bad, smoking is bad and a bunch of other things are bad. We still do those things for some reason - this is not exclusive to any particular age group. So I don't see how being given a choice to do something means maturity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,415 ✭✭✭✭elperello

You'll have to do more than that to back up your suggestion that public service workers votes should carry less weight than the votes of private sector workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,403 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

na you re grand thanks, you re clearly extremely uninformed and pretty damn ignorant to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,186 ✭✭✭blackbox

Double post deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,186 ✭✭✭blackbox

I completely agree regarding 16 year olds drinking beer and cider, but they are doing it as minors, not as adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭purifol0

They are paid from taxes. Each pubsec employee is a bill for the state to pay. That bill is paid by private sector workers and general taxation.

On average a pub sec employee is paid 35% more than a private sector worker, they are also given far more paid holidays and sick leave, can claim retirement earlier (or much earlier for Gardai and Defence Forces), and of course their pensions are all unfunded and the current amount (2024) the state is on the hook for is *drumroll*……. €170,000,000!!!

So yeah they get paid heaps are mostly useless jobsworths, and give a *tiny* bit back. And now the rest of us are taxed to bits to pay even more for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Ah ye why not throw immigration and sexism into your rambling tirade.

Enjoy waffling nonsense with no actual facts to back your statements up.

Ok so for all the soon to be 16 year old voters, this is called "arguing in bad faith".

No matter what I write or how much I source it, someone who just wants you to shut up will say your sources arent good enough and that you are just talking rubbish.

There is no point engaging them further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Exactly what would you like a source for.

Everything I've written is common knowledge (to anyone over the age of 16 of course, they're so well informed these days)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,087 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

What an odd turn this thread has taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,773 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Even though it's becoming more like Ireland the UK still technically allows you to leave school after GCSE. So I do feel for people who are out in the workforce but have none of the benefits of an 18 year old.

I myself done my Leaving at 17 and a friend the same year was 16 when we both started college. I would love to see a more dynamic system where you can apply to vote with proof of a completed Leaving cert.

People say what do to teens know about the world and in my experience it's a lot more than many 80+ voters.

Looking at the UK it was mostly old people that were so dumb that they voted Brexit. Not the young.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,542 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Mod: purifol0 is on a 24 hour break from the Politics forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Noworries!

I would agree with a voting age linked to the age of criminal responsibility, if you're old enough and mature enough to have a say in the future of a country, you're old enough to understand actions and consequences. I think it suits left leaning governments to have a younger voting age because young people tend to be more idealistic, as many people get older they start to realise that nothing is free, and look for governments that acknowledge that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

With reference to Brexit,It was mostly younger voters that were too stupid to vote in the first place.Brexit wouldn't have happened if the young got off their arse and voted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,087 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

So 12 years of age?

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/children-and-young-offenders/children-and-the-criminal-justice-system-in-ireland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Noworries!

Apologies, I made my point poorly, I intended to point how the juvenile justice system treats those under age 18 as children, with underdeveloped brains and lesser capacity for understanding,a biological reality. I understand that there is a push to extend this age to 23. The point I am trying to make is that if your old enough to be treated as an adult in civic responsibility, then this should extend to criminal justice also. This also begs the question of should 16 year olds be allowed serve on juries!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

If it's so cushy and lucrative, why don't you apply? Is it because you couldn't even spell PAS, never mind get past a competency based interview? Guess we'll never know.

Anyway, it's Friday afternoon, time to stare into space for the rest of the day. You know they don't let us look out the windows in the morning because then we wouldn't have anything to do in the afternoon………thanks for paying my wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,444 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Your 16-18 year old you would be ashamed of your opinions of right wing capitalist you, and how you put your own personal interest ahead of the general good.

Having said that, I'm really not sure that lowering the voting age would be a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,444 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

That's great news. Please let me know how I can get my refund of all the tax I paid last year? I'll give you a 10% commission when I get my refund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,899 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Very much oppose this nonsense for all the reasons mentioned already- at 16/17 you’re young and idealistic and have been through the left leaning Irish education system tend to have a leftist outlook- ie “tax the rich”. It’s really only when you start making decent money yourself you change and start to feel conned as you see how much of your own hard earned money the state takes from you for practically zero personal benefit. Why should anyone be making effort to pay for those that don’t ? If anything 18 is far too young and ought to be upped to 21 at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭oceanman

If you are old enough to get a job and pay tax, you should be allowed a say in who runs the country you live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭michael-henry-mcivor

Sinn Féin already beat the brit / Unionists with the 18 + vote-

Let's beat FFG with the 16 + vote-

This will be a great help in the All Ireland vote-

The more Irish that vote- the bigger Sinn Féin will be-