Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 14/08/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

No I’m saying the article doesn’t have to explicitly cite immigration as a cause for anyone else to come to that conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

But the article link you provided actually cites other reasons as the problems and doesn't list immigration.

So you are providing a link yet it disagrees with you.

Anyway I do not believe you read the article you linked.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭nachouser

Running with 7% ownership, while not mentioning that it rose to 39% by age 32 - a realistic age for one to be buying their first property - is, to my mind, rather disingenuous. Agree to disagree, I guess.

Well look fair play, at least you’re honest about your uncaring indifference for Ireland’s younger generations. I actually do respect that.

Enjoy the gaff and the cheap migrant labour - hopefully it’ll go well enough to sort your children or grandchildren and they’ll not have to deal with any of this misery!

Yes I linked the article because of the data it cites demonstrating the collapse in home ownership in the 25-39 cohort (from 22% in 2011 to 7% in the same cohort).

Omitting to mention something doesn’t mean it disagrees. IT articles, apart from the odd Michael McDowell or David McWilliams article rarely highlight any negative aspects of migration.

But it’s not 39% at age 32, you’re using outdated data to try and undermine current data, you have to compare like with like.

In any case it also provides a figure of 22% homeownership for that 25-39 cohort in 2011.
    Applying your parameters the age 32 figure must also be way lower than it was in 2011? Which just makes the same point really

What data was used in the paywalled article? I assume the 2022 census as that would be the most recent comprehensive dataset available.

It actually doesn’t state the data source - you can read the article here https://www.archivebuttons.com/articles?article=https://www.irishtimes.com/business/2025/05/23/irelands-enduring-failure-housing/

I suppose it comes down to whether you reckon the IT would publish some made up numbers - anyway, like you said, can agree to disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,104 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It’s rather uncaring indifference for your perspective on immigration, than any feelings one way or another about Ireland’s younger generations. As it is though, I don’t care much for anyone who imagines that what’s preventing them from getting on the property ladder is other people getting on the property ladder who are in no way, shape or form preventing them from getting on the property ladder or gaining access to education, healthcare or indeed welfare and blames other people for causing their perpetual misery.

Enjoy the gaff and the cheap migrant labour - hopefully it’ll go well enough to sort your children or grandchildren and they’ll not have to deal with any of this misery!

That’s generally the plan alright, I worked hard enough for it, why shouldn’t I get to enjoy it? Why shouldn’t I pass that on to my child? That’s what most people do anyway, rather than suggesting immigrants are at the root of all their woes, and in order for them to be happy, Government has to turn the economy on its arse, making the vast majority of Irish people suffer for the minority who are opposed to immigration and are grasping at straws to justify their arguments. It’s not that your article has to mention immigration, it’s the fact that it doesn’t mention immigration at all! I got that you were presenting it in support of your argument about an increasing population being one of the reasons why young people weren’t buying property, but it tanked that argument too!

You’re also welcome to continue pretending your concern is for Ireland’s younger generations while it’s plain to see that Ireland’s younger generations are nothing more than a proxy for your arguments against immigration. Survey after survey shows that Ireland remains largely positive towards immigration -

https://www.esri.ie/news/new-esri-research-finds-that-attitudes-towards-immigration-and-refugees-remain-largely

https://www.gov.ie/en/department-of-children-disability-and-equality/press-releases/new-survey-examines-peoples-attitudes-to-diversity-in-ireland/

Full report is here:

https://assets.gov.ie/static/documents/survey-on-people-in-irelands-attitude-towards-diversity.pdf

Not going to bother after seeing your "brown people in Laois" post.

Post edited by nachouser on

First paragraph simply amounts to a denial that increased demand for a scarce resource results in the price increasing. It’s simply not true, nor borne out by reality.

What is your assertion then for why home ownership has collapsed for the younger generation?
    If there aren’t enough houses but there are continuously more people coming in, does that not exacerbate the already lacking supply?

And I’m not suggesting immigrants are the root of all woes - that’s a dishonest misrepresentation. Read back through my posts and you will see I consistently acknowledge the benefits of immigration to the country. I most certainly do not want to stop immigration, I do want to temporarily stem the inward flow however, until our infrastructure can catch up to where it needs to be.

And I honestly don’t give two shíts if you try and cynically frame my concern for the younger generation of Ireland as simply being anti immigration. I’m 29 and I’m seeing first hand the difficulties many of my friends and family are experiencing with the housing and related crises.
    I’d be sure your stance was all down to your own moral purity and not your simple lucky privilege of being born at the opportune time but thankfully you’ve put us right on that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

What the home ownership figures among young people don’t reveal is how many were only able to buy because they continued living with their parents to save for a deposit well into adulthood. In the past, many young adults could afford to move out, live independently, and still manage to save for a mortgage. But now, the proportion of those staying in the family home citing financial reasons is rising steadily each year.

Census 2022 told us that over 440,000 young adults were living with their parents, up 13% from Census 2016. This accounts for 41% of people aged between 18 and 34 in Census 2022. In Census 2016, 37% of this cohort lived at home and it was 32% in Census 2011.

Either way, the situation is pretty bleak. Young people who can’t live at home (their job is in Dublin but their parents live down the country, for example) are at a clear disadvantage. They’re forced to pay extortionate rents, leaving them with little chance to save for an overpriced home of their own. Meanwhile, those who can stay with their parents often have to remain there well into their 30s just to gather a deposit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭_Quilombero_

David McWilliam's most recent podcast is about the housing and public services crises being a result of reckless immigration policies. He supports the idea of reduced immigration from non-EU countries via work permits/asylum seeking.

Talking about this stuff mustn't be racist any more, I guess. 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Flying Dominos

Its basic maths.

2 + 2 = 4 kind of thing…although im sure some here would argue against that conclusion.

In fact they already are if you extrapolate the statements around increased immigration != increased demand for housing.

I suppose ideological dogma is more important than objective reality.

First paragraph simply amounts to a denial that increased demand for a scarce resource results in the price increasing. It’s simply not true, nor borne out by reality.

Housing isn't scarce though, what's scarce is the possibility of getting a four-bedroom house for under €300k, but that's not the same as suggesting that properties can't be bought for far less, and I've already pointed out that even 10 years ago, rental prices in Dublin were hitting €1k per month. Even from your own bloody article (and I'll keep coming back to it) -

“In fact, and contrary to the public perception, a combination of new builds and absorption of vacant properties provided enough accommodation to keep pace with growth in household numbers​ between 2011 and the most recent census,” he says.“Housing demand is actually about the willingness and ability of society to pay for housing rather than being about population growth per se,” McCartney says.

What is your assertion then for why home ownership has collapsed for the younger generation?
    If there aren’t enough houses but there are continuously more people coming in, does that not exacerbate the already lacking supply?

My assertion? It's your assertion that home ownership has collapsed for the younger generation based upon an article that provides no sources for the statistics it uses, but leaving that aside, I've already given you plenty of explanations as to why younger generations aren't so adamant about owning property as previous generations (apart from the fact that they have to have some way to pay for it!), including but not limited to:

• I think it’s to be expected in a country where more people than ever before are obtaining third-level education and are not as previously was the norm in Ireland finishing their education at secondary level and obtaining low-paid employment which is ok if all one wants is to be able to afford to rent a bedsit from one of the many landlords creaming it before bedsits were outlawed in 2008 when rents even then were around €1,000 a month.
    • I also expect it with the fall-off in demand for three and four bedroom houses with people choosing to have smaller families than previous generations, people emigrating to countries for the better lifestyle on offer (I know, better lifestyle than our generous Welfare State, greedy Irish bastards!), to the point where the only phenomenon that could be considered unnatural, was the spike in asylum seekers from other countries applying for asylum in Ireland, while workers from within the EU are pointing out that it isn’t a housing crisis that’s the issue, or immigration, it’s the fact that people can’t afford accommodation - https://www.thejournal.ie/housing-ireland-spanish-workers-hostels-5931955-Nov2022/

And again from your own article -

Stanley says there is a notion that Irish people don’t want to live in apartments, which is not true. “It’s the greatest piece of misinformation that’s put out there,” he says, highlighting the strong demand for new apartment schemes. Apartments comprised 60 per cent of Cairn’s sales last year. Density or the lack of has long been cited as a big factor in Ireland’s housing problem.About 10 per cent of people here live in apartments versus an EU average of 47 per cent, Eurostat has reported. The State has made things difficult for itself by building out instead of up. Wraparound infrastructure – transport in particular – is harder to deploy with such a scattergun approach to housing.

And I’m not suggesting immigrants are the root of all woes - that’s a dishonest misrepresentation. Read back through my posts and you will see I consistently acknowledge the benefits of immigration to the country. I most certainly do not want to stop immigration, I do want to temporarily stem the inward flow however, until our infrastructure can catch up to where it needs to be.

It wasn't intended as a misrepresentation, it's how not just your post, but many posts in this discussion come across. I don't need to read back through your posts at all, and you shouldn't take it personally when I point out that what you're suggesting is Government should turn the economy on it's arse making the vast majority of Irish people suffer for the minority who are opposed to immigration and are grasping at straws to justify their arguments. You are grasping at straws to justify your arguments though, and anecdotes, like the one below -

And I honestly don’t give two shíts if you try and cynically frame my concern for the younger generation of Ireland as simply being anti immigration. I’m 29 and I’m seeing first hand the difficulties many of my friends and family are experiencing with the housing and related crises.
    I’d be sure your stance was all down to your own moral purity and not your simple lucky privilege of being born at the opportune time but thankfully you’ve put us right on that point.

Indeed, wouldn't want you thinking I was one of those lefties who as it has been pointed out already in the discussion -

promise to deliver more social housing, more schools, more hospitals and be less reliant on private businesses to solve social issues.

Turns out my son was born at an opportune time too, and he's 10 years younger than you are. Or was it simply that I put the groundwork in 30 years ago so that my family and future generations would enjoy a better standard of living than I did growing up, so that they wouldn't end up in a situation like the Little Englanders who voted for Brexit and are ending up even worse off than they were before. That outcome wasn't remotely surprising given who owned most of the land in the UK in the first place -

image.png

Briefing 17: Who owns all the land? | Inequality Briefing

You appear to be operating under the belief that depriving immigrants of opportunities means that those opportunities will open up for you and yours. Life experience should have taught you otherwise by now.

Ah right yeah that’s grand, this generation just don’t want houses because they went to university and all want to move away for a better lifestyle (maybe to somewhere housing is reasonable 🤔), that’s why they’re not buying.
    The supply of houses for reasonable prices isn’t there anymore, but that isn’t because of demand OR because it’s scarce, no it’s just like that now randomly

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/2025/07/04/irish-rents-rise-by-115-since-2010-more-than-four-times-eu-average/

Yeah no everything is fine here in Ireland, everything is normal, it was always like it is now. People complaining just need to pull themselves up by their bootstraps like you did 30 years ago, that’s all, any dissenters are probably just racists looking for excuses like those Brexiters.

Everything is normal, carry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭emo72

There is so much wrong with jack's outlook that I wouldn't know where to begin. Jack we were just lucky to be born in a time when we could buy houses on an average wage. That's not skill or cleverness on our behalf, just luck. We got there before the ladder was pulled up and this generation left to grow old in their bedrooms. **** sake jack. Have some cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,821 ✭✭✭Cordell

Yes it's racist to notice anything abnormal with a random sample of 8 people containing 5 non whites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

It's an absolute joke we are 'obliged' to house every single applicant, even if it is completely obvious that their claim is going to be rejected. O'Callaghan is spot on too that the state will have to prioritise housing AS/IPAs over Irish homeless if the AS/IPAs are to be paid damages if there is nowhere to put them.

No surprise to learn that the Irish Refugee Council (partly funded by the state!) are funding the court case of one of the IPAs that is suing the state for damages because he wasn't given acommodation straight away:

"One of the applicants in the case was represented by the Irish Refugee Council Independent Law Centre, Mr Henderson said, adding that the male experienced “72 days of street homelessness, hunger and fear in Ireland” after applying for international protection and being told that there was no accommodation for him."

The law is clearly not fit for purpose in a country that is undergoing a housing crisis. If this case succeeds the hoteliers will be laughing all the way to the bank and tourism will be used as a sacrificial lamb.

I didn’t say this generation don’t want houses, I’m sure they do, they just don’t want to be saddled with a mortgage while pursuing education is all, in much the same way as people are leaving marriage till later in life than in previous generations, or foregoing marriage altogether and just starting their families while in third level education. The point being that this generation has options and opportunities that previous generations didn’t have. You’re trying to paint that as this generation being trapped and locked out of the property market, but that simply isn’t the case.

As far as the supply of houses for reasonable prices goes, that was never there, it’s why Government spent billions on social housing and then cottoned onto the idea of outsourcing housing provision to the private sector, and that’s why skyrocketing rents are what they are now, not because of immigration, but because landlords could afford to charge eye-watering rents and go as high as the market could bear, because people didn’t want to live in slums, and Government wasn’t going to let them. One of the reasons rents are so high is because the market is artificially inflated by Government subsidising rents.

People complained then too, yet still voted for the established parties instead of voting for parties that would have introduced policies which would have a more direct impact on the property market by abandoning Capitalism and introducing Socialism on steroids, and nobody wanted that, nobody still wants it, though it’s not so much pulling oneself up by one’s bootstraps as making the most of opportunities when they present themselves, rather than being concerned about what anyone else is getting that you imagine they shouldn’t be entitled to. That’s exactly the type of person who racists do look for when they’re touring the country looking to whip up anti-immigrant sentiment and being told in no uncertain terms that they’re the people who aren’t welcome in any community. They’re also fierce for playing the victim and trying to convince anyone else that they’re victims too of some grand conspiracy of one form or another.

Far as I can see though, I don’t imagine you’re racist at all, more simply a disgruntled leftie who wants everyone to come together only when it’s in your interests. The name for that kind of behaviour is Protectionism, very much a concept associated with leftist politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

First that group is the very opposite of a random sample. That have not been randomly selected.

They have identified themselves as the buyers from a small group of owners. Nothing random about that.

And yes it is racist when you look a picture of people who have committed no crimes. Committed no act of violence or criminality against you or anyone else as far as you aware and to yet you are upset because you don't like the colour of their skin.

That sure sounds like a textbook racist right there.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Emblematic

I want to look at a particular paragraph you have posted and try to make sense of it.

"As far as the supply of houses for reasonable prices goes, that was never there, it’s why Government spent billions on social housing and then cottoned onto the idea of outsourcing housing provision to the private sector, and that’s why skyrocketing rents are what they are now, not because of immigration, but because landlords could afford to charge eye-watering rents and go as high as the market could bear, because people didn’t want to live in slums, and Government wasn’t going to let them. One of the reasons rents are so high is because the market is artificially inflated by Government subsidising rents."

You say skyrocketing rents are because landlords can afford to charge what the market will bear. But isn't that always the case? If you limit supply or fail to limit demand, then landlords can charge more because there are more and more people chasing after the same or fewer properties.

And yet you can’t see anything wrong with the claim that we were just lucky to be born at a time when we could buy a house on an average wage? It was no different then than it is now - some people could afford to buy a large property, more people inherited large properties, and most people were far below the average wage and couldn’t afford to buy a property and would never be in a position to be able to afford to buy property. To suggest there’s no skill or cleverness in it ignores the reality of the times it was when people on minimum wage could get 100% mortgages on properties worth €250k at that time, and find themselves unable to pay the mortgage a few years later when the economy tanked and all anyone could talk about was how much they were in negative equity.

There’s no generation are growing old in their bedrooms, plenty are still buying properties, paying eye-watering rents to live in nice properties, and there are rising numbers of people who are homeless who are living in what was only ever meant to be temporary accommodation, but is now becoming a way of life, and none of that is the result of increasing immigration or increasing population (and an increasing aging population at that because more people are simply living longer than previous generations meaning that younger generations are waiting longer for their inheritance), so I don’t agree with your view at all that the previous generation has pulled the ladder up after themselves, as there’s little evidence to support that conclusion. It has always been the case that people simply looked after their own first, and social media gives other people the opportunity to complain about how their lives are so unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,821 ✭✭✭Cordell

First I never said it's something wrong with them people, and certainly I never mentioned crime or violence - that was you and that IS racist.

It is a random sample of owners from that estate and it is statistically abnormal considering Ireland's demographics. The sample, not the people, so please.

Landlords can charge more for desirable properties, in desirable locations, and can raise prices so long as there are people who are willing to pay. Housing supply isn’t limited, it’s simply a matter of where people want to live, and how much they’re willing to pay to live there.

There aren’t too many people want to live in areas of the country where there are a lack of amenities or employment opportunities are scarce or schools or hospitals or whatever else that are available to them in urban areas. It’s why our cities are more like an urban sprawl than any proper planning or infrastructure being developed. Government are trying desperately to avoid ghettoisation, but as hard as they try, people are still choosing for themselves where they want to live, where they can afford to live -

“In fact, and contrary to the public perception, a combination of new builds and absorption of vacant properties provided enough accommodation to keep pace with growth in household numbers​ between 2011 and the most recent census,” he says.“Housing demand is actually about the willingness and ability of society to pay for housing rather than being about population growth per se,” McCartney says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

So irish people who are on the streets can’t get shelter, but if you arrive here from another country, you’re immediately entitled to housing under EU law. That’s an absolute fookkin disgrace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Emblematic

No, I wasn't asking why people pay more to live in some areas rather than others. I'm asking why, overall, people are paying more generally compared to in the past relative to wages.

I think this is what you meant too, when you were talking about skyrocketting rents. You meant rents going up rapidly over time.

Ah sure, look, brown people aren't welcome. Clear as day on the thread.

Irish people on the streets can get shelter, the problem is they’d rather stay on the streets than avail of any shelter provided, for various reasons.

And no, nobody from another country is entitled to housing under EU law. Applicants for international protection however, are entitled to have their basic needs met, and the State’s failure to do so means that they could be found to be in violation of the terms of the international agreements in law which Ireland have agreed to abide by, as a member of the EU -

While Ms Medina suggested that force majeure may apply temporarily, it should only be for a reasonable period to resolve the issue.

She has concluded the right to dignity is non-derogable, an absolute right, and if a member state fails to meet the basic needs of applicants for international protection, it infringes EU law.

Therefore the member state cannot invoke force majeure as a defence.

The advocate general's opinion has been viewed as highly significant by advocates of those seeking international protection here.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/0410/1506948-international-protection-applicant-european-court/

O’ Callaghan’s attempted justification is apples and oranges, while doing little to address the causes of either issue and then claiming it would be a hard sell for Irish people, as if that should make any difference in terms of the State upholding its international obligations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Hes such a populist snake, was full on pro immigration a few years ago.