Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Thinking of moving to EV

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,649 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Thats a different topic. I specifically replied to the "Large & Expensive" comment.

Looks are subjective and that's irrelevant to this specific post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

People are well aware of Tesla and you can be sure they've checked out their prices, I'd rather pay more for a better interior or at least less minimalist and I know I'm not alone in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

You would be amazed at how many people still think any Tesla is around €100k and don't realise you can pick up a brand new model 3 for well under 40k.

Stay Free

Irrelevant in your head, you assume people haven't a clue about Tesla prices, most EV owners do their research, if Tesla was so great why aren't a lot more sold ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭User1998

100% agree. Everyone is absolutely shocked when I tell them I paid €18k for my Model 3. They all think its a €50k car despite it being 6 years old.

You'd be amazed at how many people do know and simply don't care for Teslas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,790 ✭✭✭pah

We get it, you don't like Teslas

Ok mad head. Go get a snickers. You’re hangry again. I think we get it that you would rather your Kia Picanto and its sublime driving dynamics over a Tesla so no need to derail another thread with your silly shenanigans again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,191 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Three of them. One for each cylinder of a certain ecobox

LOL struck a nerve of the Tesla Fan boys who can't debate but try to insult someone who drives a Kia lol ,

"those who don't drive tesla are fools"

"they don't know the price of teslas damn it"

Oh how far the mighty boards.ie has fallen. Funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,191 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I'm not a tesla fanboy, I haven't even had a tesla since last october.

Just the irony of someone in an EV forum espousing the greatness of a 3 cylinder city car and criticising probably the most popular EV in ireland is delicious.

It is a cracking car, does what I need, and while it hasn't near the same level of torque it has enough for a small family car on pubic roads and it's much more engaging to drive, no range or charge restrictions as a car should have and I couldn't care less about the badge, I actually couldn't be happier with it despite having a timing chain replaced under warranty. VW couldn't even sort out one of my Matrix headlights fogging up.

I'm in a far different mindset now when it comes to car ownership.

Tesla fanboy yet I was trying to sell a Kia EV6 this morning to someone looking for the first EV.

Seems to be the usual response when you get backlash from your idiotic posts, ohh the fanboys….

You posted in the usual silly idiotic manner and you got called out again.

You get out what you out in, and in this case, it seems to be fitting.

Mad by name, mad by nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭MightyMunster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

Only happened to me twice in the 2 years I've had an EV. Once it was a problem with the card reader so had to use the app instead. Other time I don't know what happened but after a couple of attempts, it started working no problem.

Nope not alone. I personally don't like the interior of Tesla's. Same way that I don't like the general interiors of Fiats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

OK. Little snarky today I see. I'll leave you to it.

Stay Free

I could argue the usual backlash I get is from the usual people because they don't agree with me but I couldn't car less, I'm, not here to think like everyone else, I speak my mind and that's it, I don't care if I get a million thumbs up , in fact, I think it's idiotic that boards.ie removed the down vote, the Journal and others did this too. Bring back the down vote !

"called out" who here has the right to call out anyone ? Call out, would you ever cop on.

Define Mad ?

And by the way, I don't like the EV 6, and I did mention this numerous times before. I test drove it and found it wasn't the best to drive, dull , boring, the steering had 0 feel and it felt as bad as an outlander to drive. Granted, the interior was better than the Id3, bloody hell, anything would be better than VW at this point and I'll admit Tesla are probably way better in the software department but I don't like their interiors and so what ?

If someone put a gun to my head and forced me to pick a car then it would be the EV6 vs, Tesla or VW rubbish.

The EV6 is seriously over priced , just like the Ioniq 5.

Lol, if you think this is me being snarky…….

I'm just enjoying the relaxed modding here on boards, so far it's showing to be a lot better while they have the hat out looking for money, previously a lot of my comments like the last couple here would have been deleted and I would have got a ban just for speaking my mind and this is why so many people left and boards have admitted they were wrong and the site is on it's very last legs, for now at least, I can be on the site again and this is bound to p1ss off a lot of people who could simply hit the report button and see my comments they didn't like and a lot of others by the way, simply disappear.

Question is , will they revert to the ways of old if they get the funding they need ?

Interesting, do you like the interior of the New Mini ? I find it an abomination what BMW did to the new Mini, replacing that beautiful analogue speedometer with a round TFT display, what a disgrace, retro should mean retro just like modern retros versions of motorbikes, the Honda Super Cub 125, The Honda GB 350S, the Kawasaki W800, the brand new Meguro S1, the new Triumph Speed 400, the Royal Endfield classic 350, the list goes on, I wish car manufacturers would make modern retros too. These motorcycles sell like hot cakes. I see no reason why retro versions of modern cars wouldn't even EV with proper retro interiors.

Do you remember the Original Renualt 5 ? I remember the 1980s model my Aunt had clearly, It was an amazing car, the new model is so far from the original that Renault should have called it something completely different. I think Renault missed a big opportunity, I admit there is a lot of interest in it, It would be great to see small cars come to market but I feel Renault let the 5 down by the completely ultra modern interior.

I had a 2002 Fiat Punto Sporting, I got it new, I loved the interior, it was really refreshing vs the dreary VWs at the time. Though I admit, I'd have a 2000s VW interior any day over the junk they have today.

What kind of car interior do you like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,865 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Why keep posting about motorbikes, Kia picanto or whatever it is you drive, Fiat Puntos and slating pretty much every EV in an EV forum if you hate them so much.

Start a thread about them and see how much discussion you get.

In last few posts you have slated Tesla, EV6, Ioniq 5, Renault 5, every VW....Im fairly sure the next car someone says the like you will have a go at also.

Theres hundreds of categories here i have no interest in but I dont post in them to tell people their interests are rubbish.

Because the bought a lemon of a motorbike and it’s now off the road 😂😂

Nothing got to do with speaking your mind. You’re just being a d1ck for the sake of it because of your bad decisions and think you need to release those on others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,865 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Non stop, going into a thread you have an interest in and reading tripe about something completely different.

Right Im off to the soccer forum to tell them it was better in the olden times and they should bring back heavy footballs with laces that get waterlogged and how they should be following GAA and rugby now anyway and see how i get on.

Oh great, you express yourself about time, well see I can deal with it, I don't loose the rag, you're entitled to your opinion and I respect someone for being honest.

But the thing is I'm not being a D1ck for the sake of it, never was never will be, I speak my mind and that's it.

I remember the day before the EV section here on boards.ie and being abused for mentioning electric cars and it took boards.ie long enough to create the EV section which was created for the purpose of shutting me up and getting me out of the regular motors threads. That must have been 2009/10 ish.

I was replying to witchgir26's post on the fiats.

And Motorbikes and scooters offer a real viable alternative to the Big Sub and car, most cars have one person in them and no one needs suv.

I slate ev due to their massive environmental footprint.

I have only "slated" the R5 for being so far from the original, but you must have read where I praised Renault for making a small car? surely you didn't miss that bit ?

VW are trash ffs, come on Man. I drove petrol VW Passat in Sweded, ffs, it was a great car f1cked by shite screens and infotainment , I thrash VW in general for making sh1te cars not just EV.

I've never told people their interests are rubbish.

Talk about bad luck, I'm told I must be the unluckiest person on the planet to have a Honda Deauville NT-700 that had engine failure. But hey, who knows, could have been clocked.

But boy, do I miss it !!! Hopefully know more by tomorrow evening.

it’s such a boring bike, I’d say the bike just had enough of life and killed itself.

It probably had enough of Mad_Lads farts and killed itself.

Ah it's not really boring, boring is EV with no driver engagement, no engine or exhaust sound , no gear changes. Just infotainment and screens to pass the time.

A 65 Hp bike is not boring vs EV.

Motorbiking is a whole new level car drivers will never understand unless experienced. Even your average scooter is a lot more fun than a modern car these days.

I’m driving motorbikes since I’m 13, before I could even drive a car! The NT700 is a Sunday cruiser.