Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The 2025 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭cgorzy

I wonder come the final will the ref be strict on penalising slowing frees, marks etc being taken. I can see it being a case where the ref is slow to move frees forward to the scoring zone especially as it will give 2 point opportunities. Will Donegal/Kerry test the ref on this? Risk the punishment for the potential benefit of slowing play. For Donegal to slow quick kick passes to Clifford, for Kerry to stop Donegal’s runners having space to break into?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Treble double

Fair play to Kerry and Donegal two brilliant teams.

But where is the game going now. It is obvious that to entertain any notion of competing at All Ireland level a professional set up is non negotiable. A panel of players that are available to train at professional levels with "lifestyles" to match is non negotiable. A major benefactor is also non negotiable.

Reaching the fitness levels of the Donegal squad is not possible for counties that do not have all the above in place. Every other county does not have a sponsor like the Kerry Group.

It is apparent that only a select number of counties can hope to replicate what Donegal and Kerry are doing.

Where is the level playing field for all counties, where is the amateur ethos that the Gaa was built on.

Ego maniacs like Jack O Connor and Jim McGuinness are not good for the future of the game. McGuinness success is no great mystery, implement a relentless running game, with a professional level of fitness and have an edge over most other teams who are not able to prepare as professionally. He hadn't amazing sucess when he coached in professional soccer where there was a level playing field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

And so it begins. Tune in for similar insights over the next fortnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,500 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

So you are telling me any county can't get 20 committed lads that will work hard and get fit? You don't have to be "professional" to do that just committed and have a working ethos.

You are basically saying most other counties are not bothered. Which is a real insult to them I think.

Also you have to play like McGuinness/O'Connor. A team with power and two point shooters like Meath can go far. They got hammered yesterday because the previous accurate shooting was off.

Teams that will constantly struggle are those who lack energy and persist with the slow working the ball up the field, with poor two point shooters like Dublin.

If you put McGuinness in charge of Kildare (for example) I bet he would transform them. It is not just fitness and work ethic but ATTITUDE. If the attitude and mindset is not there it does not matter how talented and fit a player is.

I think it is great that players have to work hard now at inter-county level or are found out. It instills discipline in the youth. Asia has its history of martial arts. Ireland has Gaelic Football. And it transends to other codes Rugby, Soccer etc. Irish people do not respect a sports person that does not work their bollix off. The same in life itself you see a fella working hard, people say fair play.

You seem to pine for the days of layabouts and jolly ups. That is what junior football is for!

I think it is a great thing that players have to put in an effort to succeed. Great for the mind, the body and the spirit.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭munster87

Do you expect teams to train less to give others a chance?

I want a level playing field for all teams in who enter a competition. There is either warm weather training camps for every team or none at all. There is either full time managers fof every team or none at all. It's either amateur or professional. It's players that are trying to hold down a proper job or have a career outside their hobby that I feel for. Someone has to shout stop, but it's not going to come from the pundits, podcasters or coaches because they are all riding the gravy train

I'm telling you that a level playing field is required, every team in the competition haven't the resources to do what the select few can.

Jack o Connor managed Kildare, remind me how that went again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Westernview

What do you mean egomaniacs? How are they more egotistical than other managers? They both heap praise on their teams when they win, especially McGuinness. OConnor doesn't like to single out individuals but that's to retain the squad spirit.

McGuinness and OConnor definitely have something. They understand player psychology and know how to strike a balance between discipline and giving players autonomy.

I was shot down yesterday when I mentioned the article in the Sindo but it describes how McGuinness operates very well. 'One last run' was the mantra in his first stint when players were spent at the end of games but found the extra reserve to go again and power through pain. The way they create overlaps and line up shooters is also very impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,728 ✭✭✭MacDanger

It is obvious that to entertain any notion of competing at All Ireland level a professional set up is non negotiable

It's been like this for about 15 years now; most of the D1 & D2 teams have something pretty close to a professional setup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,500 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Yeah you can really see it when watching Donegal live. I was shocked how good they were in Ballybofey league v Dublin. Not just the shooting which was accurate. But the off the ball movement of players.
    Giving the opposition defenders loads of problems. And the Donegal players loads of options.

It is the same in every sport if a fella makes a run but doesn’t get the ball. By making that run he drags another defender out of position, creating space for another player.

All the Donegal lads seem to know their roles, and you can see the transitions up the field must have been practiced over and over again.

I was thinking it might be a one off. But no, Donegal continued it in the league. I saw enough to convince me that they would win Sam then.
    I know Kerry have the forwards and now revamped midfield. But for me Kerry don’t have that consistent control Donegal have.

For example v Meath. Meath got in four of Donegal. Meath two pointer. But Donegal flicked the switch. Goal and a point game over. They seem to be able to do that when they want to. Change of pace and bang. Not to mention their subs which are frightening.

I expect Donegal to win. And hope they do. Not just because I would prefer Kerry not to win. But because their tactics and consistency is seriously impressive. They deserve Sam. And that is even after McGuinness annoyed me with his “turnaround” blather.

I would still like them to win. Best overall panel, great tactics, and great attitude. Hard to find a weakness in it. If Kerry manage to beat Donegal it will be well earned.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

All the Division 1 teams and the yoyo top two teams in Division 2, I would say, but there is levels again within that.

Any county outside that can't aspire to that level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,425 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Watching Donegal the last few games I think they have the squad to take Kerry even if MM isn't in it.
    Can Kerry mount a challenge without Clifford…doubtful tbh.

Hopefully the two are fit and good to go. Will be a great showdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭The Moist Buddha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Westernview

Its set up beautifully. I still think Kerry have a slight edge but it's almost 50-50. The Donegal bench evens it out as you say. I think they need at least a half from Murphy though.

I admire both managers and don't mind which does it. Only right than Clifford would get more than one AI but would also be nice to see Donegal commitment and Murphy rewarded too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭50HX

The GAA is far more about inter county big days out.

There is a pitch & thankfully nowadays super facilities in practically every parish in the country...run by volunteers & the focal point of every community if you so chose to participate...thats the ethos of the GAA. Community involvement.

No other sport in ireland can reach the corners of the country that the GAA does...thats our heritage & its unique to us.

Could you explain why you think the 2 managers you mentioned are ego maniacs??

Meath have blown your theory out of the water by getting to a semi final this year...which nobody would have predicted. Up to them to build on that progress next year.

The largest county in Ireland whilst having both codes can't get their county board in order & have a senior team competing at the top table in football..have you seen the facilities in PUC...the level field is in front of them & for various reasons they can't get their sh1t together

Have a look at the backroom team Cavan have & tell me they are being underfunded.

https://cavangaa.ie/2023/09/raymond-galligan-has-been-appointed-as-cavan-senior-football-team-manager/.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,728 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Really looking forward to the final now, probably the best two teams in the country and I'd say Jimmy will be using 2014 as a big motivator for the players; I think he feels like that's one they let slip.

Considering the sh*tshow that Donegal were in when he took over, it'd be some achievement to win another AI - I doubt even the most optimistic of Donegal supporters could have envisaged this in late 2023. For him to have the belief in himself and the players that he risked what was already a golden legacy is very impressive IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Most counties are all doing the same training.

They all have S&C coaches and same gym programs. Same nutrition and supplements.

Jim McGuiness is a brilliant manager and has a messiah effect. He also has a good panel of players.

Kerry Groups sponsorship is no real advantage.

Kerry's advantage is over a century of culture and tradition.

Jack O'Connor has been managing teams since 1992. Most of the time for free. That's service to his community, not ego.

Are you honestly trying to claim that there is a lack of resources in Kildare? There is more money in Kildare GAA than there is in most counties.
    The big difference between Kerry and Kildare is the quality of players they have produced over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,568 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

And its almost like he has redesigned himself in terms of running game. Like if it was aped by clubs, which tends to happen regularly enough in football when team masters a set-up, it will gets bums on seats.

Their fitness levels are off the charts. McHugh popping up on the right wing one moment, on the left the next. Roarty, Mogan and Moore like Frank McGlynn reborn. Langan and the two O'Donnell's relentless too, with the likes of O'Baoill and Jamie Brennan of a similar style to bring on.

God I hope they do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,819 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not sure why Kerry and donegal are being held up as some sort of elite counties, who have facilities more than any other county.

Didn't hear this when Dublin were bossing the sport.

As said, every county can get as fit as each other. Its not rocket science. That is achievable.

If it was all down to sponsorship money, surely Dublin would still be winning every year?

I think management and tactics are what has taken these 2 teams to be the best in the country.

I really hope Donegal do it now. Not just because I live there, but because there are a large number of McGuinness haters in the country, and just to stick it to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,303 ✭✭✭✭event

So are you saying only Donegal and Kerry will win the AI for the next few years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭cosatron

where has this so called level playing field being for the last 100 years with kerry and dublin having 69 all irelands between them with no other team in double digits yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Said it before but football has never really been much different to the Old Firm in Scotland.

A two horse race with odd exceptions thrown in. Nothing really has changed. 90s being the exception even though between them they got to 4 finals still.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭C__MC

This decade will look decent if donegal win Sunday week. You'd have 5 different winners with Dublin winning two. A kerry win and I'd imagine they'll win a few before the decade closes.

It's not a good comparison.
    Kerry come and go in cycles.

Right now we're in an up cycle but have only won 1 AI in 10 years.

Dublin have had huge droughts also. Between 1983 and 2011, Dublin won one AI.

Kerry had an 11 year drought.

The nature of Gaelic football is that hunger and desire and work rate and fitness count for a lot, so there's no guarantees.

Also Kerry's small population and high emigration means we'll go through periods of not producing players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭overshoot

Can I insert the Kerry lost to Meath argument now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The roll of honour though suggest a total relatable comparison to what I mentioned.

Plus by Irish standards Kerry is not one of the smaller populations. Its 14-15th out of 32 and higher if you were take into account the loyalist populations of 6 counties in north

EVENFLOW

Celtic and Rangers have won every title since the early 80s.

The PL with Liverpool and Man Utd is a better comparison maybe or some other league.

Ok Kerry have an average sized population.

Our playing population probably puts us higher but don't have data on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,204 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

To have a level playing like that you'd need to ditch the county system. Big populations win all Irelands . End of