Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,874 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Congrats on your unknown promotion to a mod where you see fit to tell me what to do.

A great example of what is wrong here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,874 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

If you are accusing me of trolling report my posts instead of accusing me on thread.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 57,780 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

It's kind of funny reading the posts claiming we are throwing tantrums or pulling stunts. The majority of this thread (with some points supported by the owner of the site) were quite clear that moderation was part of the problem (Current Affairs is the most active forum on the site and it's plainly obvious that's what the references were primarily in relation to). Indeed there's two feedback threads open presently also stating the same things.

So we listened and discussed it while all of this was ongoing, and we have decided that we don't want the site to go the way of the dodo. If that means doing things differently then so be it, that's what we will do.

The forum rules will be as described previously by Leg End Reject and updated in the charter by Trigger. We don't need to mention racism or anti-semitism (to use two examples mentioned) because they are covered by the rules everyone signs up to when they create an account on this website - linked here.

https://www.boards.ie/content/terms?site=desktop

That's it. No grand plans, or conspiracies. We listened, we acted. Drastic times call for drastic measures. We have done what we can from our end at this point to try to keep the site going as per the feedback we have received.

(Oh and for the record I'm also centre right in terms of my political leanings, seeing as we're being open and honest ala Trigger!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭halfpastneverr

What a joke. Run the site into the ground with crappy software, a disinterested owner appaers begging for money and then the cherry on top of allowing a free for all for the sensitive types who can't stand their moronic opinions being fact checked, but have no bother harassing Gardai, staff and politicians outside Dail Eireann or blocking O'Connell Street on weekday afternoon to spread their hate.

Site deserves to crater now. Ye won't be getting a cent of my money. I was on the fence yesterday when I read the news on reddit, but decision has been made for me. You would have thought the powers at be would have had the sub/donate buttons to grift a few quid out of people before this disasterous turn this evening, but the fact they couldn't even manage that sums up the way the site has gone really. Absolute clownshow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭archfi

I'm sorry it's turned this way too even though I've added to it.

I don't honestly know the thinking behind dropping the CA change into the middle of this thread to be honest.

Maybe it'll recover back to finding ways to save boards later today…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

That's not a bad thing. Anyone who knows how to use X would only use the Following tab (ignore button here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,982 ✭✭✭jj880

Thread gone weird.

Hopefully a monthly sub option available for those on the fence. Over time if moderation too harsh / lenient then cancel but at least give it a few months if funds allow. It would be sad to see Boards go out like this.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭Akabusi

Boards can't die, I have used it everyday for 16 years (granted I'm more of a lurker) and nothing else comes close to a community as we have here.

I'll happily pay the 50 Euro and more to keep it going but I think it's obvious that we need to get away from Vanilla. If the 50e can buy time and we know there is works in progress to switch and improve things then it will have a future.

It's so Irish and unique with a wealth of topics for us it deserves funding from Government.

I too remember Trent and facekicker, the mad thing about Spurs having their own soccer category. The late late thread which was always so funny etc. - we have to save this first and secondly we have to bring it back to the good old days prior to the upgrade.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,786 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

And I'm slightly more right leaning, my post history will back that up if you can get the search function to work.

No conspiracies or tantrums on our parts as Necro said.

Good to know but just shows what an officious void can be filled with, a little bit of explanation goes a long way. Hopefully obvious trolling is still a no-no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,094 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There is nothing in the general site terms about trolling as far as I can see.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I'll take you at your word.

I still don't think it's a good idea though. Moderation needed to change but I don't think the solution was to bin the charter. It remains to be seen if a no hands approach will lead to the forum flourishing. Do you think it will? Do you think it will become a place where the casual reader will now want to participate? Honest answer.

Because fundamentally that's what the site actually needs: Traffic and engagement. Otherwise we are circling the drain, subscriptions are only life support.

Yes, I looked as well but surely everyone knows trolling is a no-no. Trolling isn't an opinion. Maybe not, things are in flux at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,901 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I've brought this up a few times before, but the basic rules like 'dont be a dick' 'attack the post not the poster' 'dont question mod action on thread'... whatever page they were on never made it over to Vanilla, so at this stage they really are unwritten rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

More often than not, the people constantly whinging about mods decisions are the problem.

They lack self awareness and will blame everything and anyone before even considering their own **** posting style.

Save boards.ie by subscribing:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,276 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

My question remains, If we sub (or donate, which I hope is an option) but the site doesn't get the needed 2000 new members, will Boards close down in the next few weeks??? …as Mike may have indicated in the original post?

👉️ KEEP BOARDS ALIVE 👈️ there's a new donate option

….and check out Forum of Games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭RurtBeynolds

Why would you make this announcement before being ready to accept subscriptions?

Also, why was the subscription model removed in the first place? That seems like lunacy to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,171 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

”valuable”?

No- I watched a sh1t show last summer where trolls ruled in CA reported posts ignored and any dissenting comments were banned- it’s moved from that to pettiness and pedantry and an overabundance of stupid rules .

Neither worked , so no- the moderators of CA/IMHO were not particularly “valuable” in my view.

I’ve seen very knowledgable posters on particular topics, badgered by fcking idiots- that poster responds and they’re the poster who gets sanctioned- I have seen this time and time again.

It was a sh1tshow a year ago- it was a condescending sh1tshow lately - let’s just take off the mask and call it what we’ve known it to be for some time now - Sh1tshow !

Do that, and immediately your experience of the forum will improve- you might actually find something you like - a thread to contribute to or a topic that interests you. Its fault up to now was thinking it was serious forum - it isn’t - it is and for the last year at least was, a sh1tshow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

I've noticed a definite change in what was allowed and not allowed to be said since we got some new CA moderators (in a good way). I was particularly pleased we had a female mod, as I think some posters on boards are pretty dismissive of women and jump to 'not all men' reflexively and it was nice to know that there was a mod who understood that experience.

I don't blame the mods for what they are doing, it must be hard to put in work for free and listen to people complaining about it. I understand the other perspective as people felt small infringements amounted to big punishments with the new system.

This new way will be a huge adjustment, but if people are smart and just ignore the trolls, then it can be a good thing. You can now post what you like within the parameters provided so no need to be worried about a penalty for a minor offence. Could make for robust discussion if people are mindful that we make the site. Post shite and we have a shite site. Post well and we have a good site. You cannot control anyone else's actions but you can control your own so focus on that.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Avatar in the Post

Apparently there was a meltdown yesterday evening and now some won’t pay the cost of a coffee per month. Surely it’s worth that just to be able to whinge ‘not paying now!’. It sure is a lot cheaper than paying a therapist to listen to you.

Anyway, stick up the subscription option so I can fill in and forget about it…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,298 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Only seeing this thread now.

I don't understand why people think losing the customisation is a bad idea. A forum is not about how it looks. It's about the community of people. The platform has been broken since we switched to it. A large part of the boards decline is the software being unusable and the moderation tools being broken.

Also keeping all the old posts was always a mistake. You can't post in them, and you can't search them. It's dead weight. Start over and leave the old posts as a read only archive.

I don't see what Google's changes have to do with traffic to the site. Unless its a euphemism for ad revenue failing. The way ads were implemented broke the site even further. It's unusable with them unblocked.

The reason this site has survived has been the moderation of extreme views. I've lots of issues with the moderation on this site but it's better with it then without it. Sites that were created without moderation or allowing extreme views have struggled to survive because they become just monologues and their user base can't grow as result.

I guess if it's a paid site I'd give a month. I owe it that. But the owners or mods have for years not listened to the user base about it being broken. Hard to see that changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Leaving side what has become a discussion about modding in CA…

Whats the long term plan with regards to attracting new users? As I noted in my post yesterday

"Is culture a part of boards decline too? It seems the younger Irish generation nowadays are all on snapchat or instagram - forum/discussion sites like boards aren't their internet fix. Some of them probably don't even know what boards is and I'd bet the last thing a leaving cert student nowadays is worrying about is 'can I get help from boards?' (Assuming they know what it is).

Even assuming unbanning posters from CA, donations/subscriptions keeping the site alive bought a few years - I still feel like its kicking a can down the road.

The leaving cert of the 2010's didn't have snapchat or instagram so their social media was boards."

Nowadays kids are just interested in their dopamine fix and I doubt boards is doing that better then snapchat or instagram.

I imagine the age profile of users is quite high and thats only going to rise assuming boards is up long enough to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭JamBur

This place has been an invaluable resource/distraction for me over the years. It'll be a sad day when it goes 404.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Inviere

The customizations happened for very, very good reasons. Traffic absolutely hemorrhaged in the days/weeks/months following the shift the Vanilla. It wasn't just about how it looked (which was the usual modern swathes of empty wasted screen space), it was missing tons of functionality that users were accustomed to using for many many years. It was deeply unpleasant to use, not only to look at.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

CA Mods are not given nearly enough credit. You all work extremely hard on a voluntary basis to keep the motor running. Not to mention you all stepped up to Mod a forum few else would dare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,928 ✭✭✭Rawr

Was going to post something of a similar vein. It is notable how a good chunk of complaints about Boards on this thread are about moderation.

Internet moderation isn't a perfect art, or science, and it is done by flawed humans, but it is considably better than none at all. The appeal of Boards over many other platforms on the Internet is that there is human-powered moderation. There have to be defined limits and those limits need to be enforced, otherwise you end up with civil discussion being drowned out by those who steal focus by obnoxious means.

In CA in particular it usually goes down to having threads discussing a contriversion topic and then having the fans of extreemist persons or nations getting increasingly frustrated to find that most posters disagree with them. Time and again we see this with Trump fans, Russia fans…hell, we even sometimes have an admirer of North Korea paying us a visit. Civility goes out the window and what had been a debate of the available information mutates into a slangingfest of brused egos.

Moderation is needed to keep a lid on things like that, and to ensure that civil discussion is possible. When the option becomes available, I will subscribe. There's not much I can do, but I'll do what I can. Boards ain't perfect, not in the slightest, but it is the best place on the web to discuss the world at large. We'll likely never see the like again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

it’s a good start but all historic user and forum bans need to be lifted in order to liven the place up and escape the circling of the drain

Time and again we see this with Trump fans, Russia fans…hell, we even sometimes have an admirer of North Korea paying us a visit. Civility goes out the window and what had been a debate of the available information mutates into a slangingfest of brused egos.

I don't know, take a look at the Trump thread or Elon musk thread, they're echo chambers of the left and they're not all sunshine and rainbows like you might expect... (I don't go near the Russia thread but I'd expect it's less of an echo chamber but more of the same)

I wonder what ever happened the 'responsive site' that was developed here, I reckon we'd settle for that rather that vanilla Vanilla.

Was ownership transferred over when @Boards.ie: Odhran bought the site, or was it even thought of at all?

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.