Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Another “won’t somebody do something” article on making dairying attractive. The theory is easy (time off, technology to reduce manual labour, etc.) but neither the processors nor the Dept seem to want to put their money where the mouth is.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/how-can-we-make-dairying-an-attractive-career-for-next-generation/

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,804 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Strange comment given that you thought it was attractive enough to go into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭straight

I think it's gas the way "the industry" are very concerned about keeping the gravy train going. Most farmers I know are either discouraging their children or leaving the choice up to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭older by the day

How many reactors had moorepark I wonder, will they blood test?

Or is that only forced on poor fools like myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,263 ✭✭✭jaymla627

The blue print involved making sure you had kids in your early 20's, so by the time you hit your late 40's, the heir to the farm was full-time on farm, you then hit a sweet-spot for maybe 15-20 years till the ole chap/lady physically can't stay slogging...

This is where historically the son/daughter now in their 40's would have their own sons our daughters to step-in to take up the slack from the now knackered older generation, but as we all know it's early/late 30's now before families are started, and with only 1 our 2 kids at that, the shadow/free family labour isn't going to be their anymore, along with mammies who probably are right don't want their childern next our near farming as a career.

Of course theirs exceptions to the rule, but their simply isn't enough coming through anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,814 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

so many questions to answer

How many reactors

How long is herd restricted (janurary been mentioned)

Has the herd cleared a 60 day test

How did they secure premision to hold a national open day

Why wasn’t tb status and fact herd was restricted well publicised prior to the event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭yewdairy

The average herd is 96 cows where there is a full time owner operator how much actually help would they need to run the farm. Can't see family labour making or breaking the farm

Haven't had any family help here the last 4-5 years. Thankfully both parents are still here but both have had a few serious health issues so have completely retired.

Kids are still young so just come out for the run around and the craic, everything takes longer when they are with me but it's great to have them out.

Milk 130 cows here with high use of contractor and relief milkers doing around four milking a week.,

if a reasonable amount of money is reinvested in facilities cannot for the life of me see how it's needs to be hardship.

High use of contractor, is basically your second labour unit, between loader/tractor at silage/fert/slurry etc theirs about 2k hours a year been racked up, can't afford the contractor route, I'd be looking at over 6 cent a litre, whats your costings per litre for contractors is it still magically low like you see in the top of the class profit monitors

Exactly our contractors are a bit part of our labour. Our contractor bill is one of biggest bills on the farm, but can't see much of a saving doing work myself. Any additional tractor work would have to be done by paid labour, so when you look at costs of machinery, breakdowns and hopefully getting someone reliable and competent, for me anyway it's not worth the hassle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

It's been outlined already, but with a farm the size of Moorepark they were able to keep all animals away from the event route for last few months, no slurry was spread on the area, and there was no access to sheds/yards. It would be like saying you wouldn't go to a BBQ in a neighbours garden because his farm is restricted. How do you think you are going to bring the infection back to your farm, just think about it rationally.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

The only problem I see is the reliance of contractor s on 16 Yr old and the like to get the work done.while I have no problem with young lads driving tractors should the industry be reliant on them

Post edited by K.G. on

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I have a theory that the likelihood of young people keeping farms going has alot to do with the way the parents talk about farming and the attitude to life in general. But I could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

It's all a bit too hush hush, a definite lack of glasnost/perestroika, which in turn hints of a disconnect and a culture of and arrogance towards the farmers.

The situation should have been publicly disclosed, mitigation measures announced, and let farmers make up heir own minds.

no they weren’t kept away from area for months ,not buying no slurry on any of area used for last few months ,and there was access to milking parlour because I went in for a look and know few others that did too…..sorry but that’s a bs argument …..silence is telling on this from Tegasc and various ag media outlets on this ….said it earlier but total double standards at play on this and needs to be accountability ….lots have been depopulated ,seen large numbers of stock taken off farm ,and taken financial and mental toll on farmers ….this just gives 2 finger salute to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Ah stop, so you were told at the start of walk about the restriction, told to stay on the designated walk area, but you went for a snoop around the yard anyways... and now you are the one complaining!

for the record no I wasn’t told anything at start ….i was there after 11….wasnt told to stay on designated route ….i floated around ….i wasn’t the only one who went for look at parlour …lots of others around too

this isn’t complaining its calling out total double standards and scant disregard for tb and other farmers locked up in this country …cant fathom how a minority are defending this or calling it anti Tegasc …..maby the minority here have never been restricted with tb and dont really understand the toll it takes at farm level

This event was on in a field ….farm under restriction since janurary by all accounts ….no reason this couldn’t of been switched elsewhere…..but hey different rules for the elites in this country

If the contractor is doing a lot of the machinery work, and you use relief milkers every week, then you can't claim that you are looking after 130 cows yourself.

I'm wondering what is the cost per litre in farms that use a contractor for most things. I feel faint, paying for silage making alone.

I never claimed I was looking after 130 cows by myself , any discussion on here I have always said contractor is doing a lot of work. I do winter feeding, about 50 % of fertiliser and odd bits of mowing, contractor is doing everything else.

I don't think there is any difference in cost, once you put a price on your own time.

Fag box figures here would be 300 acres of silage @ 130 39k circa 300 hours at slurry/agitaing 24k and circa 100 ton of fert spread at 50 a ton 5k..

If you added in hedge-cutting, bit of reseeding/spraying which is all contracted out, you'd be another 7k, works out at 7 cent a litre and you still need a tractor/loader for feeding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Think your low balling silage cost. It's around 160 for pit silage now for first cut.

Multi-cut here with wagon, all cow paddocks go into pit aswell, contractor charges 90 a load incl vat, and 14 a acre for raking, works out circa 55 a acre incl vat i mow and do the pit if he was to do the full job 130 a acre would easily cover him probably nearer 120

I must get on to my contractor. I don't have the scale but around here precision chop is near 180.

On a more serious matter, how do people keep the yards that the cows are walking in to parlour clean, is it all going in to a tank. There's a big survey on water happening here on local rivers.

Are those hydraulic brushes any good.

Contracting bill here last year was just short of 33 k

19 k on silage bales and pit

6.2k slurry

3.5k reseeding digger work

800 hedge cutting

1.9 k fertiliser

2.5k miscellaneous

Delivery 720,000 litres so just under 5cent/litre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,611 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I think ppl forget the contractor bill is tax allowable expense. I’ve alot of machinery but when you add it all up along with getting taxed on the money you’re “saving” theres definitely no way you could justify going out and buying machinery to save on contractor costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,804 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

I had a look, 8.8c/L was my cost last year. I contract out everything bar winter feeding. That includes plastic for silage, bales left stacked

Judging from this thread, I would have less liters and higher solids than most if not all in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Farney Farmer

That's good in fairness. I suppose the large numbers of litres are diluting the costs.

I do alot of my own stuff here. It's more convenience than money driven decision. You can't really rely on contractors around here with alot of heavy ground and everybody wanting the contractor at the same time. I definitely make much better use of my slurry.

It's all grand until I have to sit up and drive them. The young lads are growing up though.

Did you ever work off farm in a 39 hour week like...

It's not that farming is hardship but there are so many good alternatives now.

My biggest problem is that I'm too tied to the farm. I'm working on it. 😅

Our Parents never pushed us into farming. Educated us all and we all worked for 10 to 20 years off farm. 4 of us now are back farming in our own right and we have all bought land and are managing away. If my children want to take over, I don't mind but they will have to go and see the world and get educated and hold down a real job for some time first. My 12 year old reckons he could take the reigns now, no bother. 🤣

I don't mind working hard but I'd need to be putting away as close to 1k per cow per year to be bothered with milking cows.

That's only what it costs to spread about half our fertiliser.