Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

I always paid till a mod decided to pick on me so I closed my old account and opemed d a new one

Old account was 24 k posts and 20 years mod was 5 k posts and 2 years but people clash

Never paid since sure why would I 🤔

Be sad that its gone but that's what happens when you treat your customers like fools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,611 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

It's going to be a tricky one. There are a few threads that I continue to get great value out of such as Gaming, Bargain Alerts, Gigs and Events and Rugby to name a few.

I'll certainly support the site in the short term however the long term support (for me) will really only come if all the posters in those threads I've mentioned themselves sign up as most of them have a core group of posters. It becomes a bit chicken and egg!

As i said though, Boards has given me loads over the years so I'll certainly sign up for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

I’ve dipped in and out of Boards for years but I don’t see the point of throwing €50 euro at the site just to kick the can down the road a small bit. The writing is on the wall at this stage and €120,000 a year to run a message board just seems mental to me..

The switch to Vanilla and toxic modding culture the last few years really killed the site. This is obviously in spite of message boards dying a death anyway.

Years ago it was a bit of a novelty to talk to a completely anonymous stranger via the internet on a variety of topics, that novelty is obviously worn off these days. Message boards obviously still have their uses but have been super-ceded and out competed by better social media alternatives. A critically endangered species about to become extinct. 6 quid a month from me ain’t going to stem that tide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I use it, but I personally can't stand the Reddit way of structuring "conversations" - for all its faults - there's nothing really comparable to boards. As **** and all as it is these days I still think there's more of a community feel to boards than on Reddit.

I'd be happy to support the place - I had subscribed in the past - but the more I think about it, the more I'd like to know a bit more about the plan and how people's money will be used.

Is it realistic to expect the site to continue? Or is the plan just to hopefully get money off people and hope for the best: a short term injection of cash. What if the overall user experience still gets worse? What happens then? It's the increasingly worse user experience that has killed the numbers using the site: buggy and glitchy as ****

People won't keep paying for the sake of it if that doesn't improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,798 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Love all the lads crying about Mods not realising that they are the ones who killed large sections of the site. Especially the "culture war" obsessed ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Conte_Partiro

Saw the news on Reddit so made a new account to post this.

Boards has given me a lot in the 18 or so years since I first discovered the site.

I'll never forget the time the news broke on boards that the english leaving cert paper was leaked. It was assumed to be a joke but soon it was found to be true. I stayed on boards the whole evening while I should have been studying.

Padraigggg with Trent, the madman, giving some of the funniest things I have ever read online to this day.

Feeky Magee giving us live updates about him fancying his grinds teacher and wanting to ask her out. Tens of users waiting in excitement for the next update.

The site was hopping in those days. Being able to see posts with the big ream of 'thanks' under it really stated the post even further. Being able to see how many active users were on at a time.

Reddit is good for topical news and events but if you want to see long term trends through a living thread, it's just not possible. For example, the property market thread. You can quickly and easily guage the mood and thoughts of a time years ago.

I learned things and got so much help from this site. From what a certain area is like to where there is stock of the latest GTA game.

Another positive for boards is that you know the posters were Irish. Reddit is full of yanks talking about Ireland. Everything is 'trash' or a 'dumpster fire'. Reddit is also heavily censored, worse than boards ever was and is very left wing.

With boards, you have a voice. Your post will always be the most recent and be seen by many. Reddit, it can get downvoted and hidden.

While I got a lot out of boards, boards mods also took it away from me. Over strict modding resulting in me getting a life time ban. Bans and warnings are part and parcel of online discourse. People can go over the edge. Being never allowed to post on boards again is over strict. If for example, someone posts 300 times a month and gets 2 warnings a month, are they really a troll? That's 0.6% of posts being warning worthy.

If I had an account and was not going to be banned, I would probably be someone that would sign up for 6 euro a month. But as this account will be banned now, that won't happen.

Hopefully boards doesn't disappear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

can those feeky Magee and leaving cert threads still be viewed on the site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭con747

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

Save Boards.ie from closing down. Buy a subscription to help keep it running here https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Site Banned Posts: 28 kurt_angle

ye put the nail in your own coffin. There was plenty of opportunities here to modernize the site and the modding is completely outdated. Ye have fallen well behind in that aspect. There’s specifics mods on power trips who treated long term posters like ****. Especially in the old prison forum.

The way the site is currently run it was only a matter of time.

this is the Reddit thread if anyone is interested.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/1lvkhks/boardsie_probably_has_weeksdays_left_to_live/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭I see sheep

The mods have let current affairs descend into a wankfest for Irish gammons.

Adios Amigos.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,054 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I have been a user of boards.ie for a very long time. I will be 14 years on this site in December 2025.

Boards.ie has given me a lot of knowledge & value to me when reading & making posts on this site. I get a lot of value from reading posts in forums like Infrastructure, Commuting & Transport, Films, Motorsport, Broadcasting & Current Affairs. Boards.ie is the only place where you get valuable information from discussing topics like Metrolink, BusConnects & DART+ Expansion when you want talk about things with it's users in much greater detail online when compared to other social media platforms like Meta & X etc.

I would happily pay the €50 yearly subscription to keep boards.ie going into the future.

However I do know that boards.ie had offered online subscriptions in the past when I was student in college over 15 years ago. I couldn't understand why that option to continue paying for the online subscriptions to boards was scrapped in the past. I would imagine this site would have been in a much better financial position if those subscriptions as to what you guys are facing right now in 2025.

I wish you all the best of luck as I would be lost without boards if it does close very soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭I am me123

Subscibing? Sorry but I don't think it's something I want to do. For that reason - I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,467 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Constructive suggestion;

One of the most important factors in running a discussion forum is to have meaningful thread titles, so people know what to click into. "Important news" is not a meaningful thread title.

"Important news - new crowdfunded business model" or something like that might be a meaningful thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,455 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yeah some people won't see it on CA 😉

I will happily pay a sub or regular donation but would like more effort including using existing boards tech voluntary talent into retaining Boards style interface instead of generic Vanilla styling if at all possible .

I don't want to be using a site that exists only for ads and advertisers and their agendas .

I think it goes without saying that people will eventually leave if they are paying a sub for a site that isn't working or that they have no say in its direction .

That does not include asking volunteer mods to not apply the rules btw .That should stay the same as now .

I would also like to see more figures because as @fritzelly said we need to know where the money is going .

Are we paying someone to leave us ? I hope not

I really don't mind paying salaries back money etc as long as we know what's going on .

€5 a month is nothing today and I get far more value every week our of boards and the chats ..except when on a ban of course 🙃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭deathtocaptcha

It has had its day. Shut it down and archive it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,733 ✭✭✭Cordell

Best of luck and hope boards.ie makes it for a few more years, and hopefully realise that prioritising mods comfort over user experience was a big mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭feelings

I'm sure some of the wealthier boardsie's might consider a hefty donation to keep it going. Time to tag a few Irish millionaires on twitter etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Quiet Achiever

In the era of the enshittefication of the internet and more and more AI slop wherever you look, this is an opportunity for Boards to be high quality user lead i fo site for Ireland.

This can only happen if the categorising and navigation improves vastly, and that mods and admins are truly objective AND actually willing to volunteer their time. Which is what it was. But it.lost its usability around the same time twitter stole our attention. But now twitter and social media is gone. Boards.ie can be the bedrock.

It needs an intelligent promotional campaign. Daytime radio reminding people and informing newcomers of what it is, some of its greatest moments, its usefulness as a resource. Podcasts.

RRegional And town forums are an opportunity as Facebook groups are ever more full of slop.

Simply looking for temp handouts won't plug the dam.

Are there any users who miss the glory days that have the expertise to throw in a handful of hours a month to make this a truly useful community resource?

(I don't, I'm just an ideas man!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Meself

Yep.. happy to pay the sub. The platform still has that annoying jitter going on but I regularly use it. There are decent heads on i and it's irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

Will definitely pay 50 quid a year for Boards. Hopefully if this funding model doesn't work it can be kept alive somehow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,156 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I can't believe Angus Von Bismarck hasn't stepped up to the plate to fund boards in perpetuity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,568 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Boards.ie is like The FA Cup.

It's popularity is waning because other things have taken over and become more relevant to a changing world.

And like the FA Cup people come up with simplictic ideas that they think will save it, like "go back to the pre Vanilla platform".

I used to love this place, I'm here over 20 years and found it great back in the Ireland Offline days.

These days I'm still here but more out of habit than anything else, I no longer love it, I barley even like it now.

Threads are full of cranks, shills, trolls and WUMs, it's a toxic place a lot of the time.

Even this thread as I scan through it has people giving out about mods.

People have gone to other places to find answers to their questions.

I'll not be subscribing, I never did back in the day, and if boards closes for good then so be it, all good things come to an end at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,467 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Hope all the old threads are saved on floppy discs and are being kept safe somewhere.

Sad news but inevitable really. I couldn’t cope with that basic vanilla interface.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

I think this is probably a "so long and thanks for all the fish" situation.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,206 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

@Boards.ie: Mike

@Boards.ie: Odhran

The world and it’s mother knows Vanilla is not fit for purpose as an on-line discussion forum in 2025. Migrate to Xenforo and you might stay relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭feelings

watch this space. I've reached out to the man himself…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,853 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,429 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

20 years or so here, I don't think it has ever been perfect but it has obviously been so much better than it has been since the upgrade.

I've never liked the upgrade, I've forgotten half of the features that we have lost along the way through that upgrade. I'd hate to see it get worse again though with whatever scaled back vanilla exists.

I would hate to see the lights go out though. I probably only frequent 3 or 4 forums as a poster, but many more as a lurker.

I would happily donate to keep the site going for however much longer.

It is still unique enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,756 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The 'upgrade' that was anything but :(

Boards has never properly recovered from it.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.