Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Clampdown on TV 'Dodgy Boxes'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,638 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Well let's take an example

Sky, TNT and Premier Sports have the rights to broadcast live EPL games in Ireland.

So therefore the only way to legally watch a EPL game in Ireland is through a provider that legally carries those stations.

If I'm watching an EPL game on an illegal stream, regardless of where it's coming I'm not viewing the game from an official carrier, thus I am in breach of some law or other.

But it's a moot point because no one is going to court for watching illegal streaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,391 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I agree that nobody is going to court.

Thing is that it would technically be illegal to stream a product that is available legally in Ireland but not from abroad.

So while you are watching the same thing you are not breaking any laws as the service you have is not available in Ireland.

Ireland cannot make laws pertaining to other countries/jurisdictions.

They might be able to come up with some law as regards illegal imports maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,274 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Surely if there was ever going to be a case it would be on the grounds of copyright. So if a broadcaster in Ireland has the rights for the premier league say, and you're streaming it from another country's service, you're still breaching the Irish broadcasters rights?

• Site Banned Posts: 28 kurt_angle

My local bar has three dodgy boxes, they always show the games on a foreign channel like US or being sports etc. for the last five years and no trouble yet even though sky reps were onto them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭thereiver

i dont think its illegal to use a freesat reciever that recieves free satelliite tv stations ,in the 80s people would put up large aerials to watch bbc itv uhf signals from northern ireland .i,m sure young people watch rte tv ,they show american film,s drama,s usa tv comedys, and live sport soccer gaa and its free. Alot of people do not have broadband especially in rural area,s so theres not much point in setting up a android box. you dont need to be a tech expert, any old sky reciever will recieve bbc ,itv, many free channels even if you dont have a sky subscription.

from satellite.ie

If I have a Sky set up, i.e.. dish & LNB installed, can I buy a Free to air box and get the Free to air channels (ITV, BBC etc) from the Sky (astra 2) satellite?
    Yes, you can simply replace your sky box with a Free To air box to get U.K. free TV channels.

The only court case,s i heard of is of people who were selling dodgey boxs and providing a service to update them

theres lots of uk channels you can watch simply using a browser on a laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,452 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I can't imagine many younger people are watching or relying on RTE for American TV and movies - they'll either get it on one of the streaming services (likely shared between several of them or included in the case of Amazon Prime shipping), or they'll just stream/download it elsewhere.

The days of no broadband options are finally rapidly disappearing as well. A friend of mine is literally 300m from the coast in a rural area and has 1gb fibre for the last year. Before that it was Starlink, before that standard DSL.

Even without those, it's very possible to work away using a mobile as a hotspot with a 5G connection. 15/20 quid a month for unlimited data.

In short, connectivity is no longer a barrier for the vast majority of people.

Free to air satellite and Sky via satellite is gradually being phased out as well in favour of streaming services such as Now TV, Freely, Sky Stream. It's still several years away but eventually that'll be the only game in town for such services.

I don't think they rely on rte one tv but most tvs have saorview or else a satellite connection rte has the best service if you want to watch sport free I think sky tv will be on satellite for another 10 years .If you have freesat plugged into your tv theres no reason not to watch it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭ekkinak

Is that a new thing - that new TVs can receive the free sat UK (Astra 28.2) channels?

I thought you always needed some kind of box to receive them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,807 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

A lot of tv brands have had a satellite tuner built into them for years now.

It's often not Freesat branded, which means the channels will be all over the place and the user interface not the easiest. But it does a job.

I've had LG TVs that have had freesat branded tuner for a good long while, so it auto-sorts the channels and all that stuff (you pick your postcode and it'll put the appropriate BBC1 at 101 and so on, and will keep them auto-updated as needed). Other brands do have Freesat too (this list from John Lewis implies that it's LG & Sony - https://www.johnlewis.com/browse/electricals/televisions/view-all-tvs/freesat-hd-included/_/N-6srfZluho) but loads of brands have the basic tuner (i.e. you need to sort the channels in whatever order you want and they don't auto-update).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,678 ✭✭✭✭shmeee

And I see many pubs now won't screen Sky Sports channels, they'll instead show a match on Optus or SuperSport. One publican says it makes it harder for Sky to come at you as it not they're broadcast your showing. Again, zero proof of this but was just a comment passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Apothic_Red

https://businessplus.ie/news/dodgy-boxes-gaa-plus-40pc/

RTE News at One covering this just now.

You can f*ck with the EPL/Sky but nobody f*cks with the GAA.

This is the same organisation that can get lads off assault charges with a single character reference. I'd destroy your firestick now just to save time, it's senior hurling now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,456 ✭✭✭SteM

Do the Freesat models show a 7 day EPG or just now/next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭jj880

I see your 400,000 and raise you 100,000

https://www.thesun.ie/news/15509712/gaa-plus-revenue-hit-dodgy-boxes-netflix-levy-streamers/

The proliferation of ‘dodgy boxes’, which experts conservatively estimate to be in the region of 500,000 in Ireland, is a direct hit to the GAA’s potential subscription revenue earning power

Be a million before Christmas.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Freesat shows the full 7 day EPG. Generic FTA tuners just show the now/next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,391 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

That's the risk you take when you bring it up in the media. People start talking about it and somebody has one and tells you how cheap and great it is and then the Sky customer decides they are going to get it instead of paying Sky fur a lot less content.

My big hope is that IPTV leads to all sports eventually returning to terrestrial TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,824 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Genuine question though - is using a dodgy box illegal? I'm technically paying a provider for a service (the same as i would pay bein, sky, now tv or anybody else). They don't have the broadcast rights for that service, but is that on them? Surely it's not up to the end user to worry about whether the service provider is following the law

I don't think the gardai have time or resources to be bringing people to court because they watched a few soccer broadcasts on an illegal website it's probably illegal to buy a box off someone that is loaded up with software. That is designed to access illegal streams of sky sports or other services that have paid subscribers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,807 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Especially as a high probability that said guards also owning the boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,387 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

This is a few times now the penalty points scandal has been brought up, and there would be similar uproar if someone potentially leaked info from inside the guards if there was illegal use of dodgy boxes within our forces.

The problem with this comparison is, nobody gave a fiddlers about people getting away with penalty points. The scandal was the bullying campaign from inside the force against Maurice McCabe himself.

If somebody leaked info to the media in the morning about some guards using dodgy boxes. 99% of the population would not care less.

The GAA and Sky would go on their own outage campaign over it. This would lead to even less support to the crackdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,387 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Nobody would give a fiddlers if a few hundred dodgy box users were prosecuted. They have no support in the country, only among themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭harryharry25

My sons class watched a film in school on last week 2 weeks ago. I asked my wee fella did someone bring in a DVD or what, he said no teacher brought in his firestick and we picked a movie from all the same ones on yours 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

Report them now. According to some of the analogies here. That school is now funding Indian scammers, who use those funds to set up call centres to rob your nan!

L think it's illegal to buy a device that has software apps on it that's designed to access services that give access to illegal streams of movies or sports events like the premier league that normally would need a sky subscription to watch .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

Time is contagious, everybody's getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,638 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

It's probably no different from receiving or buying stolen goods that you know are stolen.

You know that you are paying for an illegal streaming service, just like you know that that chainsaw that you bought really cheap from that member of an ethnic minority is stolen.

The Gardai happened to find that chainsaw in the boot of your car.

Owning the car is not illegal but possessing the stolen chainsaw is.

But just like the Gardai don't persue everyone who might have bought a chainsaw from a member of an ethnic minority they are not going to pursue everyone (or even anyone) who has a illegal streaming service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Streaming is more like not paying for a bus ticket, the bus is running anyway so what harm on jumping on the backdoor?

🙈🙉🙊

Theres always been privacy before streaming apps there were DVDs with pirated copy's of movies on them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,456 ✭✭✭SteM

Do you still think it's illegal to buy a firestick?