Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,665 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Seeing that goof can serve as a cautionary tale for what happens if you don't put in a basic level of effort (or disappear up your own backside)

The top teams aren't slow to get rid of lads who don't deliver

Mod Edit: Warned for player abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,819 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭IBrows89

I can see the frustration around the Mbuemo deal but by the sounds of it either Brentford have increased their asking price from the initial ask or both clubs are haggling over the small details.

In either of these options that could be the difference between £5-10 million this summer, which could be the price of the John Victo. A lot of people are clammering to get a replacement for Onana/Bayindir. With the way the club had been run previously we just can't have it both ways, try and close transfers and offer up whatever clubs ask immediately and then also try and sign players in other positions at the same time.

If we do sign Mbeumo what would people's thoughts be, sign a number 9 (payrolled by selling Hoijland potentially) or use a mix of Hoijland, Zhirkzee, Mbeumo and Cunha for a 9 and that may leave Bruno at 10 and sign a top class CM? I can't see us doing both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,995 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I really think we need a 9. Playing with Rasmus last year was like having 10 men at times.

I get the concern about Cunha & Mbeumo dislodging Bruno from his effective position and into one he struggles with, but there's no point either in getting our first choice 2 new 10s and then shuffling them around the front 3 without a chance for consistency which we really need.

If we get Sancho, Rashford, Antony & Garnacho all out for half decent money, bring in £20m or so in sell on clause fees then I think we could bring in a decent striker (not in the £60-70m range though) and a midfielder. Defensively I don't think we're doing anything.

Have a horrible feeling that Onana is going nowhere but if we brought in that Brazilian fella then we could at least maybe have a decent backup capable of challenging him for the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,665 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

For a number 9, Hojlund or Zirkzee don't score enough or get on the end of chances.

And no point paying big money for Cunha or Mbeumo to play them out of position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,900 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Wilcox "we're interested in signing this M-bway-mo lad of yours"

Brentford "sorry bud, no one here by that name"

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Cotts72

There's talks now that Juve might be terminating Vlahovic's contract so he'd be available on a free. As part of my desperation for a ST I think it's something United should be looking at hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,600 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I have my concerns about him. but if presented with a choice between Vlahovic on a free, Vary on a free or DCL on a free, Vlahovic is the obvious and clear choice.

Vlahovic on a free vs Watkins though? Or Mateta? Or Kean? Or Ramos? I dunno. I worry taking him on as a main signing, when his previous club have litterally paid him to eff off, is ignoring a MASSIVE red flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Cotts72

I think the problem with the names you've mentioned is a lack of funds to make the moves. Kean seems to be the only affordable one with his 45m release clause being active until the 15th (unless united do a zirkzee deal and pay more but in installments)

The vlahovic fall out with juve is concerning but seems to stem from muani being favoured and contract issues. if you were to get the vlahovic that was at fiorentina with a point to prove then it's a low risk

My hope os that we will see funds released by Sancho going (juve still seems a goer), Antony, Garnacho and even Rashford going on loan removes a massive budget cost with re. his wages - and I do think he goes on loan at least.

Add to that a couple of little cash injections from Alvaro and Elanga being sold and sell ons, I think we will have the funds to buy a striker, CM and GK.

So i'm more concerned with the quality of the player we bring in than wondering if we need a free transfer to get anyone.

Vlahovic on a free could represent a fantastic gamble/opportunity, depending on the contract terms. We'd have to get him on terms that means he is still sellable in a year or two if it doesnt work out. Getting him on a free but a 300k contract (for eg) would be bad, imo.

If we signed him i would blind myself to the Juve time by saying 'Pfft, Juve were a mess, look at fiorentina'. but the juve time is a red flag.

no, I think it will be an annoying loan to Barcelona later in the window. If Diaz goes to Bayern that may speed up Rashford for Barca, but I think he is a backup option for them and he is willing to wait AND they know it. And they will use all of that for leverage in a deal with us.

I think the best we can hope for is a smallish loan fee, and Rashford giving up whatever portion of his wages Barca won't cover in order to make it happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Yerra, it's no harm either to have Rashford in and made an example of like that for a week or two, give him bread and water and a trainee masseuse, it might focus minds.

See that guy over there, he's a big star, big money but we don't want him, he doesn't fit where we're going so look at him and make sure you don't end up like him, if it could be him, it could be anyone….head on a spike type stuff…..argh….

Now we still have to get him out the door but you could see how it might have some positive effect.

Question is, will Mbeumo arrive before boards goes belly up? 😢

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The Sancho and Vlahovic situations are so remarkably similar that I don't see how United can ignore the red flags.

Talented Player that showed class at a former club once but now his current club just want him gone at any price and nobody else seems interested?

No. We already have one of those at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,206 ✭✭✭paulbok

Maybe Mbuemo is the new Sneijder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

That question is normally asked during the match day discussions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Probably not. Site is a shadow of its former self. I used to visit daily before the ui update years back. It was great for lively debate and arguments. The Utd thread had daily heated conversations, humor and warnings dished out, was great craic then the site became very buggy (still is) and many forums got modded to within an inch of their lives (about as nicely as I can put it) and became ghost towns.

I learnt about this pending shutdown from reddit. They need 2000 paid subscribers to stay afloat, good luck with that. Talk about shooting yourself in the foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

also if spurs go in for wissa (lots of reports on it) it'll screw the mbuemo deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,085 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

exactly. half way thru the window. reminds me when they appointed someone's brother (will/michael keane's brother?) to be a negotiating expert half way thru a window.

and more. i'll be dead by the time that thing is built.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,384 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Guessing that '2025' is meant to be '2035'? 😅

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Shame if the site goes belly up. Forums are handy for linear conversations. Reddit can't provide that.

I'll miss all of yiz!

Starting to despair of the whole Mbeumo carry on.

If you've made it perfectly clear (and we have) that we have no plan B for that position then you have condemned yourself to pay the asking price.

Instead we've dragged it on so far that we run the risk of the player getting scunnered and going elsewhere, or Brentford selling Wissa and deciding no more outgoing. Which would mean we've burned 5 weeks of the window for nothing, and have made tits of ourselves again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,881 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

They're also trying to reduce expenditure on wages big time and want Vlahović's current wages off the books given he's the highest paid player in the league. Their next highest paid player is on half of what Vlahović gets.

They even offered him a new deal on reduced terms so talk of terminating his contract is basically them just wanting to get his current high salary off the books asap.

Still think United should enquire to take him on loan for a season. There's not much value in the transfer market for CFs. If he's a success you can try keep him around and if not he's gone in a years time anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭FrankN1

It's clear we are going nowhere with Ineos. Unfortunately the next 10 years will be a mix of average ups and downs but probably just likely falling further away. Ineos may be worse for the club than the Glazers.