Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Post a pic of your bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,941 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Someone approached me about a month ago and told me someone else said I might be able to help them.

They have this Mille R and it hasn't been started in years and can't get it started.

Apparently a bike shop said the engine needs to come out.

So I said I'd take it and have a look and see what was going on

5min later it's up and running.

He's asked me would I be interested in buying it.

Needs a good tidy and a bit of money spent on it to get it like I'd want it.

less than 8000 miles on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭sonic85

Quick one for ye lads. I'm in the process of making my bike roadworthy again and I'm putting the fairings back on - I've noticed the back end is slightly off. I used it as a track bike for a short while and I did have an off but it was minor. I'm assuming the subframe took a knock and that's why the rear is off. Can I ride away on it? I rode it after the drop and there was no noticeable issues. It's just annoying me now that I've seen it!

20250610_190911.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭muddle84

What was stopping it starting? Lovely looking bike, you must be tempted to go for it?

If that was me, I wouldn't be riding it without knowing exactly what's bent and how badly bent. Without knowing that you don't know if there's welds broken or something else gone wrong that could be unsafe!

That aside, I wouldn't be putting it back on the road until that was fixed as it would bug the hell out of me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Banzai600

cracking bike, wear well. Good decision on the YAMT imo. Dont mind the purists…. ive ridden the MT09 & Tracer 9 GT+ with the YAMT. The Yamaha YAMT has more feeling like a motorbike than the honda DCT, but both designs serve their purpose well. Having a few yrs experience with DCT bikes, the weight it adds is a drawback, not that you'd really notice, and the new DCT revision for this yr is another step again.

Whereby the YAMT i believe can be retrofitted to some newer models and i believe more to come from Yamaha. For me YAMT will factor into my next bike soon. you can get on with business, and anything that offers more comfort , focus and rider safety is a plus. it doesnt dilute the motorbike in anyway.

Post edited by Banzai600 on

A couple of little things.

Throttle position sensor was a bit out and they had a battery with 130CCA in it.

Pissing against the wind.

I put one of my batteries with 230CCA in it and made a couple of adjustments, held the throttle fully opened and boom, flames shot out the back and it fired up.

It needs new tyres,fork seals, upgraded battery cables and a 150a starter solenoid.

But it needs a serious tidying which would take up too much of my time.

Ideally, it would want to be stripped and gone through thoroughly.

I've enough things to keep me busy without that as well.

Yeah it's bugging me too! I'm not that worried about riding it - I did numerous track days after the fall and I had no issues - it's more the way it looks that's annoying me! I'll strip the rear end down again and see if I can spot anything dodgy. I don't know how I'm gonna straighten the subframe though

What kind of bike is it? Be worth pricing a few second hand ones, even a new one from CMS?

Thats a cbr600.

Problem with buying a used one is there is a certain amount of risk it hasn't taken a bang as well.

If you could be sure it didn't it should be a cheap enough solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 38,544 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

the old trick with a rear subframe like that was to stick a scaffold pole through it and twist it back

You'd probably get away with it on a steel frame but an alloy subframe is liable to cracking which could be some time down the line. Is it welded onto the main frame or a bolt-on separate part?

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

It's a cbr600rr. I seen a second hand one on Ebay for the guts of €300 plus delivery on top. A brand new one will set me back near €700 minus delivery

That's what would worry me about a second hand one blade - there's no way of knowing if it's taken a slap and it's too late when I've bought it and put it on the bike!

That's what I was going to do hotblack! It's a risk but I don't know any other way to try even it up. The subframe is alloy and it's 2 separate pieces bolted together

20250611_191435.jpg

Can probably see it a bit better there without the tail unit. The right side needs to come up a little bit to even it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

1000024740.png

Not mine, saw it one day outside Lidl.

The shape is perfection.

downsizing 😀

1000020547.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

Wicklow trip today, had a blast going over and down the Sally Gap. 123 total trip just about 200 Kms.

Very enjoyable ride but isn't it a pity there aren't a lot more park benches and places to sit out doors along routes like this ? shameful really, be much nicer when on a bike.

Over the wall in the above pic down the hill is Lough Tay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭robbie_63

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭rustynutz

1000054612.jpg

I have a trip to Morocco planned for September, after s lot of thought, I settled on one of these to take me there. An Aprilia Tuareg 660. I picked it up at the weekend and I have to say, it's lovely to ride on the road, my last bike was a Superduke 1290 and I was afraid the 660 engine would feel under powered compared to it, but it is very nippy, and unlike some of the bigger adventure bikes, this feels light and manageable

Nice spin to Cahir today.

What would you offer me to prise it off me?😀

1000020775.jpg

Nice bike rusty.

Met a few of them on the roads when I was doing the west coast at the start of May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,764 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

IMG_3865.jpeg

nicked from ylyl.

This bike is off to a new owner in the minute.

1000021120.jpg

Just looking at my blade in the garage and thinking how well these 954's have aged.

Looks better now than when they came out.

When they came out they were overshadowed by the R1 and Gsxr1000.

Purely my opinion but if I had the 3 bikes lined up today, I think the 954 is the far better looking bike.

Definitely, has aged far better than the other 2 IMO.

1000021089.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,530 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

My MT10SP was robbed back in March and recovered after about 2 hours, but it took the insurer three months to decide to write it off economically, and fulfill the claim. Got reimbursed last night, and picked up this beasty this afternoon. I had a Tracer before the MT10, so it feels like putting on a pair of comfortable slippers. Definitely doesn't have the crazy DNA of the MT10, but what it lacks in crazy, it makes up for in comfort (yeah, I died a little bit inside, writing that sentence 🤣). This bike was an ex-demo with 850km on the clock and got a great deal, but it's going to take a little bit of time to figure out if it's my forever bike. Was planning on replacing it with a Teneré, but realistically, I'm not going to be hitting the desert sands in Morocco any time soon, so….

I like: CP3 engine, seating position, cruise control, quick-shifter, semi-active suspension (haven't had a real cause to use it, but liked it on the mt10), side cases, centre stand, tank range (so much better than the mt10 which guzzled the juice).

I dislike: single headlight in daytime running lights (why Yamaha, why?), split-screen LCD display with tiny fonts (it's a bit shite), menu scroll wheel and millions of buttons, looks - nicer than the mt10, but only just about.

It's just sooo good to have a bike to ride again. I also bought a Hiplok DX1000, cos those thieving fookers have partially ruined biking for me. Scrotes..

MT9TracerGT.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Wear well. Nice bike. Love the white 👌

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭robbie_63

Lovely machine, had a test ride of an 18 model last week and I think it will be my next bike after I sell the gsxr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,764 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

best of luck with it @Krusty_Clown

looks lovely, but unlike @GBX ill never buy white agaiN, could be the deal of the century but I’ve had a white car and a white bike robbed/written off on me so I’ll NEVER buy white!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Oh I like the look of it. Would never buy a white bike myself 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,530 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I'm kind of the same, but the deal was really, really, good! Also noticed a few extra cars getting out of my way today. Might be time to get a yellow hi-vis.

image.png

Nah, Gardai impersonators really annoy me!

Lovely RS250 for sale.

Pity it's the UK though.

Its a beauty.

Max Biaggi ❤️

1000021446.jpg