Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Another ridiculous suspended sentence handed out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

There's A LOT of very stupid people out there.

He's 62, you'd wonder how he made it this far in life being such a stupid person.

Genuinely believe it deserves study. I wonder have we gotten to a stage in society where we have so much health and safety and pandering to the failings of others, that a sort of social natural selection is no longer working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭thereiver

Irish prisons are over 100 per cent full judges have to consider us there somewhere safe to send a defendant where's he not sleeping von the floor on a mattress you can't have a justice system working as normal unless we build more prisons in line with our growing population. The government is busy building new hostels to house immigrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭mikethecop

Nathan Coughlan: Father-of-three made bogus calls about bodies in water and broke into churches - SundayWorld.com

only the 197 previous then ? why should this obvious parasite and danger to society be allowed to walk among the rest of us? Five years isnt a crime spree its a lifestyle choice.

Arturs Kasevs: Banned Longford driver who rear-ended car while seven times over limit says ‘sun was in his eyes’ - SundayWorld.com

how about this guy . already banned , 7 times the limit but it wasnt his fault he crashed says his solicitor

or these actual two legged pond scum who though it would be a bit of craic to pose for pics when charged with attacking a old man and house full of kids because of "culture " while having 8 bench warrants and still get bail

we have a problem with bottom level criminals in this country but we have a bigger problem with morally corrupt solicitors and barristers who knowingly manipulate and lie to the legal system for their own profit and with weak ineffectually and grossly incompetent judges

Mod - @mikethecop, post edited, please do not discuss matters currently before the courts

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 38,645 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Complete waste of oxygen the pair of them

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,295 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

4 years for 7 sexual assaults, each should have been tried separately imho and at least 4 years for each, our justice system needs reform and tougher punishments

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-jailed-for-sexual-assaults-at-lough-derg-pilgrimage-site-1769965.html

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 38,645 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Sick pervert, the idea that the more you offend the bigger "discount" you get is obscene

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,712 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Just something I've wondered, and kinda off topic but something I wanted to ask the opinions of others on here. And nothing to do with any specific case, just a general question:

Do ye believe there is any space to allow sexual offenders to become better humans, or there's no point trying because no one will ever accept a rehabilitated sex offender? I'm not downplaying the assaults at all. I'm just wondering if others would allow a sex offender to become a decent human in the future, or let them live with the stigma and associated shunning even after rehabilitation? The judge in the above case references it, and used it as a mitigating factor when it came to sentencing.

Like, I see it in other threads for other types of non-sexual offences, mainly people who made a mistake and some posters are all about rehabilitation. But does that extend to sexual offences? Like that lad above, no previous before these incidents, 24 counselling sessions since. If he never comes to police attention again, would people ever look past these? Is he in for a life of exclusion regardless of how his future goes?

I mean, I couldn't care less about these people, just wondering what other Boardsies think. Can there be rehabilitation and eventual acceptance back into the community for someone with a sexual offence record? I know from comments over many threads that a lot of people would castrate or even outright kill the offender in every case. And like, not taking away from what he did above, but he's no Fritzel. Should he have more of a chance at rehabilitation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Source: RTE.ie
    https://search.app/6Kdc6

Six years and 3 months for taking a man's life.

Wayne Harte: Dubliner caught with gun he had ‘for self-defence’ spared jail - SundayWorld.com

Professional criminal(google him) caught with a live firearm and the intention to use it in "defence" gives a totally unverified story and gets functionally no punishment .

This just isnt good enough is it .

At this stage suspicions about Martin Nolans motivations need to be explored.

Crime of the day .

Stephan Obelngoa: Man who dragged child away from her mother outside Tallaght shopping centre walks free - SundayWorld.com

not only does she let an obvious danger walk away but the coward sends to gardai to try to validate her neglect,

''The judge asked Sgt Collins to explain to the injured party “that we can’t punish people for things that aren’t their own fault” and that “if he takes his medication - he’s never going to come near her again.” “It must be very strange to her that he is not going into prison,” the judge added.''

We really do need to demand better from the legal system/industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭slay55

read that , this morning. Found it truly astonishing. Because he had it for his own protection and wasn’t holding it for a gang , it’s perfectly fine really 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

You are going to see a lot more cases like this in future. Schizophrenia is statistically more common in a certain race. Removing clothes in public is a warning sign.

A word of advice to women and children: if you see someone acting erratically in public and you are getting a bad vibe from them, AVOID at all costs, even if you have to go into a shop, cafe whatever, or backtrack and change your route. Do not just put the head down and try to walk on by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 258 ✭✭Roald Dahl

In an article which caught my attention - and which is the opposite of what is usually discussed here - a Howth man has been sentenced to five months for damage to a car.

It seems that the sentenced man had claimed a public parking spot directly outside his house as his own property and had marked it as such by means of a traffic cone. He appears to have punished an interloper who had the temerity to avail of this parking space by dishing out a "dirty, big scratch" to the car.

The address in question is on East Pier in Howth and, as curiosity got the better of me, I checked it on Google Maps. Now, I cannot be certain that this is the very same spot as no house number was given, but I did in fact notice a space with two traffic cones in it from back in May 2021! This incident took place in May of this year.

East Pier May 2021.png

I have myself encountered this exact same behaviour myself on two occasions in the past, where hyper-aggressive individuals believe that the public road outside their house belongs to them and have damaged cars that parked there. The first time it involved the space outside a house on my parents' road, where the owners have both hemmed in cars parked there so that they could not be driven away and have also physically damaged cars. The second one involved neighbours who both had their car damaged and were verbally and physically attacked. There was of course also the case where a man in Citywest was murdered over parking.

This leads me to believe that this phenomenon is quite widespread and I applaud Judge John Hughes' decision. We cannot know if the culprit will actually spend any time in jail for this, but it is nevertheless a heartening sentence and will very much soften the parking bay squatter's cough. The irony is not lost in that the wrongdoer maintained the need to use the space as their own in order to keep his own car within CCTV footage due to previous cats of vandalism.

In all this, I cannot help but thinking that the robust investigation into the damage and the apprehension and prosecution of the offender was very much due to the injured party being a guard and that normal members of the public cannot necessarily reckon with such a satisfactory outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭XT1200

And another. Attempted child abduction and another suspended sentence

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-24-who-dragged-visually-impaired-child-away-from-her-mother-avoids-jail-1779606.html

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,863 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

That one was posted a few posts above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

That guy should be locked up on mental health grounds alone. Mental healthcare in the community, ffs.

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,863 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

it's a tough one; can you make it a criminal offence to not take prescribed medicine? i don't think that sounds at all wise; but then what do you do when something like the above happens; detention for their own and other's safety? can a judge order that without it being the recommendation of a psychiatrist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Marcos

Oh 100%. But I wonder if she would be so sanguine about it if he had done the same to any member of her family or friends?

O'Callaghan really needs to start building that bloody supermax prison in Thornton Hall.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,720 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

https://m.sundayworld.com/crime/courts/man-who-used-false-passport-to-claim-over-40k-in-social-welfare-avoids-jail/a256384325.html

We are not a serious country

How is it that someone can blatantly defraud the state like this and be left off? AND be told we’ll keep giving them cash - say he can’t believe his luck at what at load of rubes we are

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭StormForce13

"The judge heard that the Pakistani man is actually entitled to the money under his own name." 🙄

Curiouser and curiouser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,181 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Really there isn't enough public mental health workers or places to deal with the amount of mental health issues out there.

And it's just going to get much worse with most young people being brainwashed by 24/7 social media/advertising/porn/"news".

And yet we treat social media firms with kid gloves partially because of jobs they bring in, and partially because many people have been indoctrinated to believe it's all ok by the same firms.

Even today in the news ... this is the ******* can of worms they've created.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,732 ✭✭✭✭elperello

This underlines the fact that in this case as in most we are re-acting to media reports of cases.

It should be understood that the judge has heard the case in it's entirety and has also had access to all background reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭aero2k

Some general comments, not relating to the specific case that prompted your post as we don't have enough details: I think forced medication happens a fair bit in the US - I'm not sure what the legal situation is here. Before going down that very dodgy road you'd want to be pretty sure that the medication would a) prevent what you're seeking to prevent, and b) not cause undesirable things to happen. We're very far from achieving either anywhere in the world. I think a judge might have the power to detain someone pending medical reports, the requirement for involuntary detention is here:

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/health-services/mental-health/admission-to-a-psychiatric-hospital/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭arctictree

You kind of wonder are these cases the tip of the iceberg. What if this guy has 10 fake passports but has only been caught using one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭French Toast

I came to this thread to post that story. By far the worst I’ve seen in recent times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Marcos

Well, if the Irish Penal Reform Trust get their way, there will be no new prison built, and we are going to have to keep suffering due to there being nowhere to lock dangerous criminals away.

I can only imagine how awful it must be for the Guards to arrest them and then watch them walk away with less than a slap on the wrist.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Nermal

There's nothing 'tough' about it. Freely deciding not to take prescribed medication is an aggravating factor, not an mitigating one. Attempting to abduct a child would, in an orderly and just world, warrant a multi-decade prison sentence. The comments by the judge really are dispiriting - there's simply no hope for the country until the judiciary are replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭aero2k

Again, not commenting on the particular case, but forced medication is ethically dubious when prescribed medication can have unpredictable effects. Here's a link to a BMJ article on adverse effects of a commonly prescribed antibiotic. There was a similar death in Ireland a few years back where the coroner blamed the drug.

I agree with those who say the mental health card is played far too freely in attempted mitigation of terrible deeds, but it's also true that many mental and physical health problems are caused by prescription medication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

If he is a schizophrenic, that's a hell of an assumption the Judge is making there.

"Obelngoa had been off his medications for six months and was self-medicating with cannabis."

Who is to say he won't go off his medication again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭thereiver

Its very simple our population has increased by at least a million. They means we need. More doctors nurses gardai also we need more prisons our prisons are 100 per cent full so where does a judge send someone who has committed a serious crime ? Having a justice system with no prison places empty is like buying a new car that can only go at 10 miles per hour