Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Packrat

Using a splash plate... ✔️

Burning... ✔️

Urea? A mighty fan of it ✔️

Selling turf? well...cutting it or allowing it to be cut... ✔️

Maybe what Mike saw was a mirror.

I presume you were joking.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭older by the day

Of course, did you read the rest of the post. I was implying what straight said was probably a load of trash. I was using my hilarious sense of humour and Oscar wilde type wit.

It was an unbelievable thing to happen in a quiet community. And I have sorry for your troubles. But you will have to put up with the rumours and stories. Of course you will always have the right to tell everyone to feck off when you hear them. But if it goes anything like the case in schull, you will be have to put up with a lot of stories for a very long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Packrat

Thank you. Yes, its a bit like that. I travel a lot with work and I'm so so sick of everyone from Mayo to Waterford offering their opinions on a family I went to school with and a friend gone.

"Whats going on with yer man in Kenmare, - I'd say its the wife" is the commonest stupidity I hear 5 times a week.

Its particularly galling for myself because this is the third time in my life I've been very close to a murder that 'gripped the nation' One was my first cousin - a horrific case in Clare back in the early 90s. Another was a young man who i was about the second last person to talk with before he was murdered in the late 90s.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I was sorry to hear of the death of Lord Henry Mount Charles of Slane Castle - RIP.

I have many fond memories attending gigs in Slane over the years. My first and best was the Boss in '85 although Prince in Cork 1990 was as good.

I also have dreaded memories of showing PBR cattle in Slane Castle when a heifer took off after a helicopter spooked her, but that's another story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,948 ✭✭✭straight

Relax lad. Everyone is just trying to figure out what could have happened. There is no malicious intent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,017 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The gardai need to solve this case. How sick could you be to dismember someone like that? The killer needs help.

On the rumours, you couldn't make up some of the stuff said to me since oh took ill. You'll have to sell the farm, I heard someone belonging to you died, among other things. God only knows what's being said behind my back but at this stage I dont give a ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,352 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

I think I heard recently that Slane was the boss most memorable gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,948 ✭✭✭straight

Most memorable is one way of putting it...

Bruce Springsteen feared Slane crowd injuries at his 1985 concert https://share.google/R8DCH6IbLrJ9dzAtj

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭148multi

Remember a concert there and a large lagoon development near the stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭148multi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,564 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I was at the ploughing one year and a PBR Limousin heifer got loose and took off up one of the lanes. She came straight for me and I just stopped her with my newly purchased ploughing stick. She just hit the brakes when I put it in front of her head. The owner running after her was well relieved when he caught her.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,543 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Just remember - the people that matter won't talk about you.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

It's hard to put into words but it gives lot clearer vision and you can see the parent material along with the weld pool. If you YouTube true colour welding lens and compare it to the conventional lens it's the best way to see the difference.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

A few years ago at Bantry show a prb Hereford heifer got loose and jumped into the tide .she swam all the way out to whiddy Island. The show ground is just along side the sea. And it didn't take her long either.

Would you believe one of the kids were telling me that last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭RockOrBog

There is an island not far from where I live which is still stocked in summertime with cattle, which are brought out on small fishing boats. There was a tick tock doing the rounds of them jumping off the boat to swim ashore a while back.

A few years back they were bringing them to the mainland for the winter. One mad limousine broke loose at the pier and ran to the end of the island, jumped into the sea and swam to another island. It wasn't actually that far but this is the Atlantic Ocean and the currents would be serious.

She lived on that island for a couple of years as nobody could catch her and even if they did there is no pier there. The only other one living there was a man who deliberately wanted to be off grid. I heard he was a psychiatrist who had cracked up but I don't know how true that is but he was there for a few years. The local fishermen would sometimes drop off supplies to him.

I think the heifer was eventually shot for welfare reasons, I don't know what became of the shrink, maybe he's still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭chooseusername

He's still in Tralee according to today's IT, well, he was when they interviewed him there this week.

"The Irish Times put her concerns about Mr Kelley to him in an interview this week in Tralee, where he is now living."

"Her" being his ex Ms Snow who says 9/11 tipped him over the edge.

She said her then partner’s increasing paranoia after the 2001 attacks “surprised the hell out of me”.

First it was the KKK now it's  al-Qaeda or is The Heaven and Earth Society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,383 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Your a belmullet man?. My wife is from belmullet. I love it down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

"Those that mind don't matter. Those that matter don't mind."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,383 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

My father was hurt in an accident when I was a child. A motorcyclist who sadly passed away crashed and the bike slid along the road to where my father and 2 friends were out running training for a marathon... bike hit my father and shattered one of his ankles. He had nowhere to go and had tried to jump the bike but the peg hit the road and bike pivoted just as it met him.

We had people calling to the house the next morning to see if they could help in any way as the rumour in the village was that my father had also died the night before. Even in school kids were coming up to us and asking us if our dad was dead. Although only 8 or 9 at the time It always stuck with me that adding to rumours like that was a terrible way to carry on.

Some people were very good and decent to us at the time also. We were a 1 income family and although I didn't notice so much at the time it must have been a struggle for my parents.

As they were running the marathon for charity one of the local gaa lads stepped In and ran the marathon on 6 weeks training.

My father ran 2 more marathons after that. A hardy buck!!

Good Game now between meath and galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

new rules are brilliant, great games all year. Don’t understand when they decide to stop the clock for a free, it wasn’t stopped near the end for a Meath free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,564 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ya, football games are well worth watching now. 32 points is some scoring for Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,352 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

In the second half the won the majority of the kick-outs and made the most of their possession. I thought Armagh were too slow getting up, maybe they were tired

Anyone watch the programme on Henry Mount Charles? Was very interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Was On rte1 from 8 to half 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭washiskin

I hope it's ok to post here, not being a farmer.

Has anyone here had to re-roof old Land Commission sheds that were originally sheeted with asbestos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭visatorro

I haven't but I know people that had older sheds with asbestos and they had ideas of renovations but the cost of disposal was too high and they were just left alone then.