Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,007 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I think that's Chelsea's 6th signing now?

It's pathetic from utd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,689 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

His squad building set us back a good 2 - 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,007 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Approximately £600 million spent

It's absolutely nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Calvert Lewin a free agent...just watch United sign him offering dumb wages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Chelsea's model is to throw money at as many players as possible and hope they do well if not sell them off.

We absolutely can't do that.

We'll get our transfer done but not as fast as hoped, I'd rather that than the mercenary approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,942 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

New York Times have a scathing article on Sheikh Mansur, pointing out his involvement with war crimes etc.

And this fella passes the fit & proper person's test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,814 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

And if Chelsea are spending close to 60M on João Pedro then Mbeumo is gonna be a bargain signing once it gets done.

I like Joao Pedro, I think he's silly to go there over Newcastle but money talks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Another silly Chelsea 7 year contract

Other clubs can't compete with that

If Newcastle need a forward we have a lovely Rashford waiting.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,942 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I'd love to see this all fall in on Chelsea. They're making a mockery of the financial regulations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Must be running low on funds because it wasn't a 8 year contract

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

I don't think it will for Chelsea. Player contracts they are getting in avaergaing 100-160k a week spread over 7-8 years. Compared to say us giving lads 3-4 year contracts on 200+ over 3/4 years.

Their players, if they perform can negotiate a new contract or the club could sell them for a profit if they do well.

Their wage structure is very good. Palmer for instance is 140k a week. While sterling, Chilwell and possibly James will be gone soon as the highest earners won't have much of a future for the fact they rarely play. (maybe James if he keeps injury free as he was Cap at one point.)

1000013585.jpg

There's a few on that list that will be gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Chelsea will never win a league title under this model.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,061 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Why do they need so many wingers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,689 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Sterling, Chilwell and Felix all couldn't be shifted last year and had to be loaned out. These mammoth length contracts do not make getting rid easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,702 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

PL voted to keep that loophole…selling assets to yourself. uefa dont allow it, so they'll get a token 500k fine.

we should prob do it now given no european football, though that would take away PSR as an excuse for not buying players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭michael-henry-mcivor

Paul Ince- former Man U player caught drink driving at the weekend-

Why do these millionaire footballers who keep getting caught like Wayne Rooney in the past not hire drivers / taxis etc to take them home after a drinking a few-?-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭waywill1966

No sympathy for him or anyone who drink drives!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭brick tamland

I think you mean former Liverpool captain Paul Ince 😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,083 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

He should have told the cops he was "the guv'nor".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭paulbok

Did they catch him on champagne or charly?

Newcastle should now turn their attention to Garnacho. And to make sure they don't miss out on another player this summer they should offer the 70M United were talking about.

Take both they can keep each other company on the bench up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭randd1

It's beginning to feel like other transfer windows. Everybody else seems to have theirs planned and in order, and finished up quick.

We seemed to be dragging ours out, and price goes up the longer it goes on. Having Cunha somewhat ready before the season was done was grand, but took an age to complete.

Mbuemo's signing feels very much like every signing we've had in the previous 10 years, drags on for over a month, the price keeps going up, we pay what was initially set down by the other club, and in the month we secure one signing, rivals sign 3/4 players, and we end up panic buying in August.

God I'd love to see more movement, more decisiveness and paying just under the asking price and not above, and moving players on quietly. Just once will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

On the Mbuemo bids, I don’t understand how they are so far apart in terms of when the first bid was made and the second.
    But I absolutely understand why the price keeps going up. We’re bidding below the asking price, trying to get a better deal. If we bid exactly what Brentford asked we’d continue to get rinsed by every club. If we end up at that original price and sign him in time to take part in preseason then what have we lost? Not a lot in my eyes.

Moving players on requires a market for players and players will to move. Sancho has seemingly turned down moves / made crazy wage demands. Rashford has limited himself to one club who don’t seem overly fussed on signing him. Anthony has made his preference for Betis clear, again limiting our negotiating power. I’m surprised by the lack of interest in Garnacho, given his wages currently aren’t huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭Cotts72

Whitwell has linked us to Olly Watkins this afternoon alleging there's been discussion between intermediaries

I like Watkins but at 29 we shouldn't be looking at him to lead the line.

Get him cheap and he'd be a decent signing. Villa need to reduce their wage bill but today they've done a Chelsea and sold their women's team so should be alright when it comes to PSR.

Would bring plenty of experience and is PL proven. Think Chido could learn a lot from Watkins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭talla10

Brentford's Director of Football Phil Giles sating Mbeumo is happy to stay at Brentford if the clubs can't agree terms. Now to me that's clear indication that Brentford will not budge on their valuation- So if United can't or won't match it, move on to the next target. It would be such a waste to either A) Spend next 4 weeks talking and then moving on to another target or B) Paying the price Brentford want at 11.59pm on Transfer deadline day and miss out on a full pre season and first few games!!

Get it done or move on please!!