Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Glastonbury 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭Stillill42

You may be forgetting their defender in chief, @myopinionsaremanure. I think that's his handle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Wooderson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭RINO87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

I dont think so, you would have to know their em music to have an opinion.

I'd say most of us will never get to know their music so therefore can't offer an opinion. See..sorted 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Wooderson

CMAT stole the show. Good lord what a genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,751 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Well, well and another well. That was just pure bliss. I think that show will go down in Glastonbury history as one of the all time greats. I don’t understand the pig ignorance of a lot on her, I guess u are just ignoramus. They should have headlined last year and all the songs except maybe 1 I didn’t recognize were last year. But last year we git Coldplay wearing amimal heads. What a unique and beautiful indie rock n’roll show we got tonight. All u people who attack me on this thread should be ashamed of yourselves. The stupid arrogance of ye to even block me, who do u think u are, Matty Healy?? Ur just a bunch of losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,186 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Give me animal heads any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,130 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

The cavalry has arrived

But seriously, that was like the AM set few years ago. Fairly uninspiring but picked up pace right at the end, about 50 mins too late. Terribly insincere frontman to top it off.

Whick AM?? Their last which was like corpss on stage?? Or the early ones when they were great?? I don’t think their great shows 10+ years ago were better than tonight tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Shite. I said his name 3 times in front of the mirror. I didn't think he'd actually appear. That one's on me folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,130 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

The last one. Certainly wouldn't get the juices flowing anyway. It'll go down as a set that happened at Glastonbury

Let’s wait and see. I’d disagree, I think it will be remembered as a classic. Like, I get it if that’s not ur thing, but for those who do u can’t really complain about that. The energy in it compared to Coldplay last year and AM last time.

Which band are you talking about?

Beautiful indie rock n roll? Was it Wunderhorse?

I agree if so, they were savage

I do like wunderhorse and fontaines, but they are not yet at the level to do a show like we saw headline tonight. They don’t yet have the variation of songs that 1975 have yet still keep true to their music soul. Fontaines are great but they need to develop more and are nt yet Glastonbury headliners.

Oh, you were talking about the 1975

Maybe the indie rock and roll line threw me..

All I heard was wet, plastic pop music that I avoid by not listening to Irish radio stations.

Admittedly I did only listen to one song.

Maybe they changed it up after I switched over. 🤔

The 1975 is indie rock n’roll for intellectuals who live in the now. Thank God we got this amazing show tonight before the Oasis sh1tshow rolls into town soon. Great in ‘96 but now just sad and rubbish.

Seriously Dua Lipa last year was pop, and she was good. Olivia R on Sunday nite is pop, she is not grunge even if she has some head banging songs. The 1975 are not pop.

Haha, ur su funny. Well done fair play to ya!! I’ve never blocked anyone and I’m putting u on my list to definitely never be blocked!!

Oh no, Lewis Capaldi again. Now fair play to him, but this music is boring.

Oh and I have to voice my disgust at wet leg. I liked their first album, they were kooky and some great songs. But armpit hair on women, and even muscles, it’s so gross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭1992ChainGang

Lot of music snobbery here with 1975 😂 , I thought they were great, a lot of it is tongue in cheek with the pint and cigs, nothing wrong with a bit of confidence and swagger from a front man.

Post edited by 1992ChainGang on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭reubenreuben

First time hearing CMAT. Impressed tbh.

Has the personality to go far.

It’s not even music snobbery, the same fools will say rubbish like Charlie xcx is great. Most people on this thread are thick’s. 1975 shuda headlined last year as it was their time, I was very vocal on that, all the idiots on here went for me. These people don’t understand the art of music and how it evolves.

100% - it's an evolution of pop rock and the band dont care about public opinion or reviews which I think is very refreshing.

Love classic rock to the bones, but you have Neil Young not allowing his set to be played live….give it to a more refreshing generation so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,829 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The 1975 are a pop band. Huey Lewis and the News for this decade. Should have been called The 1983, for the purposes of trades descriptions legislation.

They are a tight act, good show, catchy numbers, but not a sniff of Indie about them.

"I like my men like I like my coffee. "Full of soy milk and so sweet, it won't offend anybody" -

great piece if lyric imo.

Maybe not indie, however you labled them they have such a diverse catalogue and do their own thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I like The 1975. Now when I say I like them, I like whatever couple of tunes I've come across, couldn't tell you any names of songs albums or band members (apart from the lead singer). I was looking forward to seeing them last night. I've never actually watched them perform so I was interested to see what they were like. I couldn't get into it. Is that stumbling round the stage thing deliberate? He was carrying the Guinness but I don't think he actually took a sip of it, I wondered had he had a few pints beforehand and it was like that last pint you think you're well able for but then you take a sip and realise your mistake, but you've ordered it so you'll give it a crack. I couldn't watch when he was on the travellator because he looked like he was going to crash off it. Every time he lit up a smoke his hands were shaking. It made me so nervous I turned it off. It shouldn't be that complicated to watch a band.

Maybe if it's his way of performing I could have got over my anxiousness and got into it. I looked on twitter to see whether it was just me and saw someone post a clip comparing the lead singer to Bambi which was quite funny.

Anyhow willing to go back and look at them again if it's all just his way?

ETA: Loved Alanis Morrissette. How amazing was she!! Totally forgot a out Uninvited what a tune. Enjoyed Wet Leg, though was really just hanging around for On the Chaise Long, but enjoyed the rest of it. Reminded me a little of Confidence Man...not sure why. Franz Ferdinand were fantastic too!