Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,085 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

So Bailey was the first civilian on the scene or wasnt he? This deflection is implicitly an admissiom he was not. So no matter how many of the points you cited are discredited zero change in your belief in his guilt.

Conclusion - they were made up claims and you know you cant stand over them.

So when you shift to another dubious claim... it has negative credibility. No point in asking for the basis of the claim just as you never offer, just shift to another. Completely discrediting of your claims and position.

Its clear your opinion of Baileys guilt isnt based on objective evidence.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,400 ✭✭✭tinytobe

The French have shown the world that they do indeed operate kangaroo courts. This particular kangaroo court was only set up for an influential family and to appease them.

The evidence heard in this court wouln't stand a chance, neither in Ireland, nor in the UK, or Germany or the US or Canada.

There is no connection DNA or otherwise, to connect Bailey to the murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Why do you think Bailey burnt the clothes (the following day) that he wore on the night of the murder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Who is saying he did based on what specific evidence that supports that specific claim?
    Is it the same bogus source as your false claim that Bailey was the "first civilian on the scene"?
    You couldn't stand over that claim, couldn't provide a single piece of evidence to back it up it was so obviously misinformation.

Completely discrediting of your certainty of Bailey's guilt - when you drop in claims like this, backed by nothing and whenever challenged on them, respond with another question or new claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Baz Richardson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

He stopped on Hunts Hill that night and wondered if there was a party in Alfie Lyons house.

He had a drink problem so might've been wanting more drink. I'm not a big drinker but sometimes I've the urge to just keep drinking after the pub. It wasn't that late.

It was a short drive not an hour's hike.

There's a gate behind Sophie's house leading to the Lyon's house. Maybe he got out of the car to open it and made noise. Sophie got out of bed to investigate. They had an argument and he went too far.

It's the simplest explanation.

He had been at parties at Alfie Lyons house as well as doing gardening for him.

That night he stopped at Hunts Hill and wondered if there was a party there.

It's the simplest explanation rather than the husband hiring a hitman.

It wasn't that late when he went to bed and maybe he wanted more drink or a party or smoke some weed.

Simple or over simplified. It's an invention out of nowhere that is implausible looking at history of criminal cases.

It's an hour's hike in the scenario outlined by the Guards, and the reason they had to resort to that is that they couldn't find any evidence for the car being missing in those hours or used in the murder.

If it's such a simple explanation, find us other examples of that scenario in crime annals. And yes, we can find examples of wives being killed by hitmen hired by husbands, witnesses killed by crime gangs, we can find botched murder attempts by hitmen, neighbour disputes that get out of hand and lead to violence.

You're already including maybes, might'ves.

It is just special pleading.

There's no reason to believe he didn't drive up there. Jules and the daughter were in bed, presumably asleep.

He had a history of violence against women when drunk.

Lots of murders are acts of violence that got out of hand. It's pretty common.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Aw ffs, we're back to all this ill-informed sh1te again 🙄

Except that is a reason to believe he didn't drive up there. Zero evidence found showing him to have used the car, the car to have moved, or that the car showed traces of being used in the crime. The daughter came home at a different time, did not observe the car gone. So that all pushes out the timing when Bailey would supposedly have used the car, so late as to hardly think a party would still be going.

He doesn't have a history of violence against women when drunk, he has a record for domestic assault, which is a different scenario. It proves nothing in relation to this murder.

"Lots of murders are acts of violence that go out of hand. It's pretty common."

Yeah it is so common and vague a scenario that it could be applied to anything, not just Bailey, but a neighbourly dispute, or her being threatened to keep quiet about something she say… so it discredits your claim, if anything.

You were asked to find a crime matching the scenario you outlined here, if it's so simple and common… except you couldn't except via complete over simplification of the scenario.

Further reasons to doubt the use by Bailey of the white Ford Fiesta in the murder comes from this article, ok granted it is by Senan Molony…

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/investigators-are-again-studying-whether-a-car-was-used-in-killing-of-french-filmmaker-sophie-toscan-du-plantier/40674312.html

The white 1987 Cork-registered Ford Fiesta belonging to Jules Thomas, the partner of Ian Bailey, was among the cars examined for clues. “Many” vehicles were examined, according to a source with knowledge of the original investigation…

In a memo of his interview with Ms Thomas, Det Gda Jim Fitzgerald wrote that she said: “I remember hoovering our Fiesta car around Christmas time, and I thought to myself at the time that it was unusually dirty when I did so, and also there was sand on the floor of the driver’s side.“
    In relation to the fire that has been mentioned at the back of my mother’s house [the studio] at Lissacaha, Schull, I wish to state that I started up this fire myself long before Christmas. The place needed a clean-up and I burned an old mattress and there was a heap of old magazines there which I also burned.

(from this it requires explanation as to how such a murder could have been carried out leaving no clues in the car)

I didn't know Jules had a white Fiesta.

But still, hoovering the inside of one's car doesn't proves murder, nor does the sand on the floor driver's side.

Regardless what the police did and how much they'd botched up the investigation, one would think that examining all possible cars for evidence of blood would be the one job the police couldn't go wrong.

If they didn't find anything in any of the cars, no car was used in the murder unless it was more than professionally cleaned, and I doubt that would have happened.

Yes, Bailey had noted the vehicle on his Garda questionnaire:

Questionnaire responded to on 14 January 1997 by Bailey has a question which asks “account of movements between 12 midday Friday the 20th of December 1996 and 10 a.m. on Monday 23rd of December 1996. Details of all travel and meetings with other individuals no matter how trivial should be included that is visits to shops, mass, pubs, local visits etc. Means of transport need to be included. Use separate page for this information if necessary. Bailey’s response was, “access to car 87 C 1524 (white ford fiesta) as attached”.

The implication I took from the remark was that the car had built up a considerable amount of dirt i.e. "unusually dirty", therefore it had not been cleaned up shortly after the murder, that it had been a long while since it was last cleaned. Traces of use in such a murder would lead to more than sand being noticed. And a domestic hoovering would not get rid of all such traces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭chicorytip

What time did Shirley Foster discover the body that morning? If Bailey was the killer he could have gone home to clean up and then returned to the scene and attempted to destroy evidence even in broad daylight, unnoticed by the still sleeping Shirley and Alfie, before departing back to the safety of his own bed. Jules would have been oblivious to all of this - according to her own statements, that is, but these are inconsistent and open to question.

So, the first "official" sighting of him at the crime scene could be a misnomer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

There were no legal grounds for extradition. Anyone with the slightest insight into the facts of the case would understand this.

Every post seems to only demonstrate further your lack of knowledge of the facts of the case.

If ... could have... would have.

Thats a million miles away from what was claimed and there is zero evidence to support it.

The claim I responded was that Bailey was the first civilian on the scene. He wasnt. Its complete nonsense based on absolutely nothing and is just spreading disinformation.

He was the first civilian on the scene after Sophie had been found and the crime reported to the Gardaí. It would have been quite odd if he'd discovered Sophie himself when clearly he had no business being in that area the following morning. The likely people to have found Sophie were the people living next door (Alfie Lyons and his family). That is what occurred. Then it was reported to AGS. Then the media found out. Someone told Bailey. . . Then he was the first to turn up.

He wasnt the first civilian to turn up. And he wasnt even just a 'civilian', he worked in the media and therefore not at all surprising he was at the scene. Do you even remember how you think this relates to Baileys guilt anymore?

"Somebody told Bailey". So there was nothing suspicioius about him being there after all. Easily explainable as an innocent Bailey, in search of a story, turning up instead of fairytales about a guilty Bailey turning up to contaminate a crime scene that by that time would obviously have a Garda presence. And in fact Bailey didnt even get a good story or photos as he wasnt allowed anywhere near the actual scene.

You have got your basic facts about the case wrong and you wont even disclose the source of these nonsense claims you are making.

This is simply disinformation and if you've been fed this pack of lies by someone its no wonder you think Bailey is guilty.

It has already been posted on the thread who turned up at the scene and when. The account from the DPP on points of evidence has also been cited proving your claims to be false and you have no response.

That you continue to repeat these falsehoods in the face of the actual facts is entirely on you.

I wouldn't waste any time convincing a user who doesn't believe things anyway.

One just has to pose the question in reverse.

Suppose you ( or myself or Peter Flynt ) lived in an area or part of the country where you're not particualrly liked by the locals due to your personality, and suppose something else negative happened, would that all make you number one suspect in a murder case, even if there is no evidence? Or even worse, convicted for murder without any evidence, with a coerced witness and a completely botched police investigation…..

Nobody seen Bailey do it, Bailey didn't leave any DNA, no fingerprints, his cuts and bruises from either killing a turkey or chopping a Christmas tree also wasn't tied to the crime scene, there was basically nothing, and still some like Peter Flynt insist he did it.

Suppose we all don't like Peter Flynt's personality, but all agreed he did it, not having any evidence…..

What kind of system would that be?

And this is what Bailey had gotten.

I will state this in favour of Bailey's innocence …… the "loss" of the gate by AGS - absolutely astounding to be honest and there is no way it would have been lost to protect Bailey but someone else with friends in high places.

This is a damning comment by the first journalist to interview Bailey (Senan Molony).

"He said he had told the guards when under arrest that he had a sidebar selling Christmas trees, and got them from lopping them down. I can still see his mouth opening and closing like a goldfish when I protested: “Who the hell buys a Christmas tree on the 23rd of December? They’ve already got them up.”

Turkeys came into it days later – belt and braces, because he never said turkeys to me that night, but had instead told trees to the gardaí. Henceforth he had been nicked by an upside-down bird… but I knew then he was lying."

Again it wouldn't be enough to convict Bailey in a court of law and this is the argument taken by some posters on here.

Not the first time Bailey lied either. He almost certainly lied about ever meeting Sophie as Alfie Lyons stated he was 90% sure he introduced them and he originally lied over leaving the house that night. The story constantly changed.

It is possible to simultaneously believe that Bailey was guilty and yet accept that AGS screwed up the case so much that it is understandable that the DPP did not proceed with a case.

Therefore it's up to your own judgment and, let's be honest, this area of West Cork is not The Bronx in the 1980s. It was almost certainly a local man with about 200 living permanently in the area at the time. It would not be unreasonable to link a man with a known history of criminality and violence towards women.

The amount of Garda corruption, coercion and collusion would in my opinion point to the possibility the murderer was actually a Guard, not necessarily in high places, but of higher rank and certain access to things and procedures….

However this is only one possibility of many other theories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭redoctober

When I first watched the Netflix doc I thought, like you, yeah he's guilty and all the circumstantial evidence points to him. Then I watched the Jim Sheridan one and listened to the murder in West Cork podcast. To be fair there's really nothing tying Bailey to the murder. There's a lot of hearsay and maybe people didn't like him (no shock there). However, there's no motive, no DNA, no witnesses. Yes, he had been violent with Jules but that really doesn't add up to murdering a woman he would hardly have met let alone known.

I think one of the issues is that Bailey himself, the bizarre person that he was, seemed to court the attention and almost enjoyed laughing at the paddywackery approach from the guards. I'm sure this wound them up more and it seems like they really wanted to pin it on him. A lot of the "evidence" that people quote against Bailey comes from statements made years later, half-remembered conversations, hearsay, and let's not forget the amazingly incredible, in every sense of the word, Marie Farrell.

It's my gut feeling that this crime will never be solved thus speculation, writing books and films will never cease.

Reason being, ther is no evidence on anybody, and there are several motives and many more loose ends to consider. The only possible evidence would be centered around unknown male DNA which has never been matched to anybody. Suppose they would find a match for that DNA, the question would be how it gotten there, or did it get there on the night of the murder, especially if it's about a person totally unsuspected to the crime, with say a more than solid alibi.

Unprofessionalism or paddywackery as you called it by the Guards is only one part, but it's an equally big part. Lack of experience would also play a role here, if it wasn't deliberate collusion and corruption. The Guards were never able to find a motive for Bailey, or maybe at best tried to center that motive around his history with alcohol and beating up Jules, but that's about it. As far as I know Bailey had no other history of violence outside of his home like beating somebody up in a pub or beating any other women up.

One big loose end in itself is that both Daniel and Sophie were cheating massively, Daniel having lot's of affairs, Sophie having one major affiar, even wanting a child with her partner Bruno, so in that sence the marriage couldn't even be described as an open marriage, but more a marriage which was essentially over for both of them. The question on how the marriage could have ended would fuel speculation regarding the murder even futher because money and wealth would unmistakable have been part of that ending.

Then lot's of shady characters whom Sophie surrounded herself whilst in West Cork, the Ungerers possibly the only exeption.

Lot's of theories, lot's of loose ends, no evidence.

Yeah. There are more questions than answers. Why were the pages torn out of the casebook by the guards? Some of the conversations taped of guards discussing the case. Missing evidence and generally poor detective work. Also, the fact harbison didn't get there till the following evening (was it?). Shambolic really. If it was someone belonging to you you'd be so angry. I can understand why her family want to pin it on Bailey as the "evidence" they've focussed on points to him. If they could be objective though they would see that it doesn't stack up. The French court case was embarassing. To be fair to the guards, they weren't used to dealing with murder in a small locale like that. But that's probably being overly fair to them.

The Guards probably neither had the training nor the experience. Their day to day business would probably be small time drugs or two farmers having a fistfight over some farm animal or who's grazing on who else's land, maybe the odd TV license evasion, at worst a pub fight after too many beers etc… But that would have been it.

Parts of the murder would point to deliberate Garda collusion and would point to a Guard being the murderer. The other motives could still be her husband sending somebody to avoid a costly divorce, some local drug thing or maybe the odd sexual advances. And then a possible oddball like a drifter, the German musician etc…

I would never believe the story that the murderer was or has to be a local, based on heresay and experiences of others trying to find the house, which others, non locals like myself found with considerable ease and no google maps or sat nav. It'll be the same shallow answer as stating Bailey did it, couldn't have been anybody else.

I would largely believe that Sophie's son Pierre Louis Baudey suffered the biggest shock of his life to the degree that he would never accept it was anybody else other than Bailey and the trial in France was only there to appease his influencial French family. He probably never recovered from that shock.

As someone mentioned above, it's a travesty that the guards didn't interview the husband and anyone on the French side. That's basic really. So many cases, it's the husband as we've seen recently in other news. Who did she know in Ireland: not many people really. Was it someone unknown? Then it could be anyone. The guy who committed suicide not long after?

Her husband in France was well shielded form all to intense questioning, - he was influential. Also no insight into his finances, as far as I know. He also didn't travel to Ireland, avoided questioning by the Irish Guards, etc… This is a point which can't be denied at all.