If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Upfront with Katie Hannon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

This isn't anything new. I remember maybe 6 years ago being in a shop in Ballyfermot, when a shirtless ginger t0$$€®, got off his horse, came into a shop, grabbed a drink from the fridge and whatever else he liked and walked straight back out.

I asked the shop assistant are you going to do anything, or ring the Gardaí. He was Indian, or somewhere around there, a nice man, he said there's no point, as nothing will be done, and it was a regular occurrence. If he tried robbing me, I'd have knocked him into next year.

These ####### face no consequences. I've talked to security staff from Asia as well. They feel powerless, they've said if that happened in their home country, they'd be battered by security, battered by the police, and would be locked up for a long time. Here? Nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,088 ✭✭✭CH3OH

Jesus... Cynthia is annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mykrodot

why is Cynthia ni Mhurchu on this panel, she is an MEP, can she effect any change here or is she just spoofing? She's trying to lead the narrative and debate on this, trying to talk over everyone else too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭technocrat

Haha.. Gannon again with his “community justice” solution for retail thiefs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

To be honest I think vigilantes are the only real deterrent these crowd will understand. As these shop lifters know legislation, courts etc are only as good as the deterrent and enforcement. There are no real consequences for them.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Fair play to that security guard in the audience. Chris is speaking the truth. I've a PSA license myself. But you'd wonder why anyone would go into the industry. Brutal pay, €14.50. Abused by thieving members of the public. And I have to say, Chris is in the minority, as most security staff are non-Irish. You might say I'm generalising, but I'd say it's 95% at least non Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

time to start chopping off things.

Maybe she's looking for publicity, and wants to occupy a certain big house that will be empty in the Phoenix Park come November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭technocrat

This is a harrowing story I remember reading about it recently.

I hope all those ghouls who stood there recording the incident without offering help are proud of themselves tonight!

All that did was upset the mother. Should have been a legal expert on to discuss that German law they referenced. Re camera phones and not aiding individuals. I was more interested in that, than listening to waffling and political point scoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Gooser14

Lining herself up to be selected for job coming up in the big house in the park.

IDK, re tonight calling for recording of incidents/accidents as an offense. I don't think, or I would hope, that the person/people who recorded the teenage boy drowning, would have done so out of curiosity, and wouldn't have believed they were recording the last moments of his life.

Isn't it also contradictory, when the media and Gardaí are constantly asking for any dashcam or mobile recorded footage members of the public may have regarding accidents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Nothing new there, she was on Maeve McMahons programme last week on Euronews and did the exact same thing interrupting the other panelists all the time.

And the worst part was McMahon letting her away with it.

Ni Mhurchu is like that annoying one at the work meeting who shouts over everyone. Even if they are not chairing it. Completely dominating and telling everyone else all the work they are going to do.

I said in a previous post that the shop lifters would only be afraid of vigilantes. But an alternative would be shop lifters put in a locked room for a week forced to listen to Cynthia.

It wouldn’t work as well with Gary Gannon because he would ask them how they feel. And have the tea and cakes ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,219 ✭✭✭corkie

Shame it had some hot topic discussions!

Ms Hannon will continue as one of the key anchors of RTÉ's Behind the Story podcast, which drops three times a week and which is planned to launch daily later this year.

She will also present a new television series in the lead up to the presidential election in October.

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,430 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

No dodgy box talk?😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭StevenToast

It wont be missed.

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

A blight on our screens has been removed………..doomed from day one.

Set up all wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,716 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Katie gonna see out her tenure on a flagship radio show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

It's Katee Hannon just doesn't have the same ring as It's Jooeee Duffy😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,939 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I have a lot of time for Katie Hannon, but no, it won't be missed as a production.

When I was young, the old Questions and Answers (BBC Question Time format) did more to bring things out in the open and pin down the government on topics of the day, than any show before or since.

I think they should bring it back in precisely that format, with the addition of social media questions, and have Sarah McInerney host it.

As for Katie, if she does take over Lahv Laaaane on a permanent basis, well its a pretty good shout, she is a empathetic presenter, in the mould of the late Marian Finucane, and unlike Jofus much of the time.

I'd imagine the style would change with the host. It would become more about the caller than the host as originally intended.

Hell, I might even start listening again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

Will KH be able to save the country and sort out an easy way to open a packet of ketchup. Joe sorted out the mayonnaise 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Bizzare move by RTÉ to axe their Monday night Current Affairs programme.

There will be no audience based current affairs programme going forward save for political debates around elections and referendums?

While they seem to to think the Group Chat deserves a daily show going forward.

Virgin Media TV should really aim to get a Monday night audience current affair show off the ground.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,566 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Katie Hannon not a great presenter who depended on her cards a bit too much. She also went for safe questions and was generally a boring bland RTE presenter in the same tradition of Claire Byrne who for some reason hasn't been moved off her radio programme.

It's baffling that Prime Time cannot be shown 3 times a week with the same number of staff and the same budget. The public wants a nightly current affairs programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Katie Hannon was not up to the standard presenting Upfront…..way too much waving biros around and into shot.

I will predict if she gets the Liveline gig, listenership will tank .

Guaranteed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Upfront wasn't perfect but it occasionally had good debates. It's still miles better than The Tonight Show on Virgin Media One.

That show has degenerated into one of the dullest ever shown on Irish tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭pjmn

Gave up watching it a while ago, worst current affairs programme on RTE by a distance…

Yes, I agree.

Audience shows are severely hampered by a more uptight media establishment in these modern times. Difficult to keep viewers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭The wonderfish

Katie Hannon is abysmal as a host, just not suited to it at all. Radio might be a better fit for her. Like others I think there is a need for a strong panel led current affairs program on RTE. Maybe get Claire Brock or Clara Doherty in to front it, if to keep it in house then probably Sarah McInerney is the best pick.