Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭mylestheslasher

Appalling 1st half display, somewhat rescued from a respect perspective by the 2nd half showing. BUT our lack of any plan on kick outs is a disgrace quite frankly and if we any serious work done on that we could be close to teams like Kerry. I thought ref was really poor too and did us a lot of harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

They backed Graham too. McGleenan was the manager they openly criticised. He was the one manager who wasn’t from the county - perhaps that’s the common denominator.

It’s difficult with Galligan. He was a good servant to Cavan and don’t forget one of them is married to someone from Lacken.

It’s also a difficult situation re biting the hand that feeds them - they rely on the county board for access to players, news etc. This county board do not take any form of criticism well - you’re either on the bus or you aren’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,757 ✭✭✭celt262

THe same lads are the entire local media aswell the Celt, Northern Sound and WAC so it's the same views we are getting the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Custard_Cream

Agreed.. I was just so disillusioned during the week listening to them.. and the general argument back on it was are we gonna keep sacking Managers? Absolute rubbish..

If you actually look at it we have always been good at showing faith in managers.. Hyland had 5 years, Mickey had 5 years. We have had 3 managers in 10 years which isn't bad overall.. it's either an agenda or else they just haven't a clue about what they are watching... I have listened to them for years and I would never question there knowledge so it's clearly an internal agenda at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭benjy1000

it’s all a cosy cartel within Breffni. WAC hounded out McGleenan for much better performances & results than the current set up but no criticism is allowed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,444 ✭✭✭tanko

Careful now lads, never forget that it’s the supporters fault that that management and county board are clueless and incompetent, nobody else.

I have to admit I didn’t rate McGleenan whatsoever. After one year, a lot of players wouldn’t play for him and there was high turnover. That said, he had a better record in Division 1 than Mickey Graham & I don’t think the team at the time was as good.

I said it before and I’ll say it again: it’s disappointing that the county board never backed this group of players with a top, proven manager. Look at what Mickey Harte did in Louth.

WAC throw out excuses that managers weren’t interested but if the cheque book is open for the right amount it obviously peaks their interest. Cavan CB are too busy worrying about hotels and increasing the capacity of a stadium we never come near filling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭quidel7

Please elaborate on the hotels you mention above???

Lads that are having a cut at supporters get into games for free, get paid to travel to the games, paid to work at it and likely get expences aswell for food. There in a different world than the average supporter who if they went as a family with 2 over 16's today would have been out 250e minimum.

I’m not overly familiar with the plans but a bar area and hospitality rooms are part of the redevelopment of Breffni I believe. We’d be better remembering the game is paid on the pitch and put some money into coaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭benjy1000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 South of the Bann

Just reading reaction to yesterday's game on alot of sites and forums.

The general consensus is fair play to Cavan.

I can't get over this mentality; we were an absolute shambles for most of that game.

We played for about 10 minutes in the second half through players taking it by the scruff of the neck.

But kerry should have scored 7 or 8 goals yesterday.

Can't believe we are praising the team after yesterday; no serious football county would accept a performance like that.

The management team whilst trying their best are too inexperienced at this level.

We need a clear out i reckon and a focus on injecting more pace into the team and more physicality around the middle.

I'll finish on a positive fair play to Paddy Lynch great performance from him after a long lay off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭TheGadfly

I agree with you, but the fact remains that, at the start of the year if we'd been offered to be within 4 points of Kerry well into the second half of an AI preliminary QF, hand and all would have been taken. I know that doesn't tell the whole picture obviously.

A lot of serious supporters are desperately disappointed with the way things have panned out but the average supporter who might not look to deeply into things or be privvy to the machinations of the county board is probably happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

I think if we stop playing Ulster teams we'll be grand

Really hard to know what to make of that year . Shoots of green followed by the darkest of days

I enjoy the podcast and didn’t want to have a cut at the lads but the post match review with Michael Hannon really disappointed me. He knows his stuff but the only thing that kept us in that game is that Kerry didn’t kill us off. They didn’t need to.

Clifford said himself he could have had six goals instead of three. He and others like O’Shea also kicked wides they’d never normally kick.

The lads on the pod acted like we had a chance at some stage in that match. We didn’t. In the first half we struggled to even get it past their 40. The turnovers we gave away were dreadful.

We got a goal that was a clear square ball. Only Paddy Lynch kicking worldies and Kerry punching balls over the bar that they could have majored left us anywhere near them.

One of the pundits on the Saturday Game commented that it descended to the level of an A vs B game for Kerry and that was the truth of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 shanemcgerts

anyone any predictions of players who might step away between now and next season ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

Don't want to be pedantic, but which McGleenan results? A draw with Monaghan and an away win against Mayo in the league? Championship results were dreadful. The division two in 2018 was one of the weakest standards wise that I can remember and from memory in our three narrow home wins, Raymond Galligan was man of the match. He made numerous saves against Down and Louth for us to sneak wins.

I distinctly remember leaving Brewster in summer 2018 when we somehow beat Down and there wasn't one Cavan supporter who felt McGleenan had a clue.

@Cavan_King

"I have to admit I didn’t rate McGleenan whatsoever. After one year, a lot of players wouldn’t play for him and there was high turnover. That said, he had a better record in Division 1 than Mickey Graham & I don’t think the team at the time was as good.

I said it before and I’ll say it again: it’s disappointing that the county board never backed this group of players with a top, proven manager. Look at what Mickey Harte did in Louth.

WAC throw out excuses that managers weren’t interested but if the cheque book is open for the right amount it obviously peaks their interest. Cavan CB are too busy worrying about hotels and increasing the capacity of a stadium we never come near filling."

I agree, there was an opportunity when Graham was stepping down to pull out all the stops and get an elite manager and head hunt someone. Look at Louth, Meath and Monaghan- the difference getting the right manager in.

When Hyland left, we had a situation whereby next to no one applied. When Graham stepped down, we had only a handful of people apply.

The Podcast cannot be taking serious though as you know they won't critise managment and go easy on underperforming players. They don't call things as they are beacuse as you said previously they need access to management and players for interviews and getting information on injuries etc.

The club championship will be starting in a few weeks and they will be reviewing games by trawling through club twitter accounts instead of going to games. Fair play to them though its handy money.

I think that is out of order and quite frankly reeks of a bitterness normally associated with some personal issue. Of course you don't have to subscribe to the patreon or listen to their free podcasts if you dont want to either. You realise players are amateur, so how hard would you like to go on them? Do you "go hard" on your club players yourself when they underperform?

As someone who subscribes i heard a lot of criticisms in the past few weeks alone. Not freshening up the starting team was put forward as a criticism, the poor defensive set up was a criticism. The county board and development has been called out numerous times. Not sure what else you want them to say, that everyone involved is shite?

As for all these attacks on Raymond Galligan, I think he has plenty to answer for and I have said so here already, but they are also over the top. Look at what he is dealing with. Kerry are the joint favourites for Sam we have a U20 playing midfield against them and pretty much no other fit recognised midfielder of the required standard on the panel. Young Donohoe came on and if you were there you would see he ain't ready yet. Some of our experienced players made very very poor mistakes and decisions in the 1st half costing us a huge amount of scores - that's not on Raymond Galligan. Is Raymond the best manager in Ireland, for sure he is not. Is he the best manager Cavan can attract - probably, when you look at our underage success or lack of it. Who else would come near us? Oisin McConville was touted, he would be an outside bet - yesterday his team threw away a 7 point lead against limerick to lose a semi final. If Ray or Terry Hyland did that there would be calls for a public execution in Cavan.

Things that management are not responsbile for:

Players running down blind alleys and coughing up possession

Some basic errors in handpassing (one very poor one in the second half under no pressure)

The lack of players 6ft 4 and over in the county

Some awful refereeing decisions

Things that management are responsbile for:

Having a kick out strategy

Match ups

Changing match ups that clearly aren't working

Getting the players to kick the ball into the forwards

Yes I agree with that. In fairness, I think a lot of management teams are struggling with kick outs. We need to innovate and not wait to see what Tyrone or Armagh are doing and try to copy it. No excuse not to have something better in place next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 hatefulrory

The pair of WAC lads attend a truly stupid amount of club championship games and provide coverage and exposure far beyond anything available in most other counties. If you disagree with what they say, grand. But claiming they don't attend club championship games is blatantly untrue.

Talk about selling the players we have short. A man who didn’t even coach a juvenile team in his own club with no management experience whatsoever is the best you think we can do? He wasn’t even the best man of the three or so touted for the job. Kevin MacDermott was a proven club and intercounty manager.

And that’s not an attack on Galligan. He was a great servant to Cavan who reinvented himself but you see plenty of county lads get involved with teams in their clubs and he was one I never saw with any Lacken team. Compare him to his own club mate Finbarr O’Reilly even.

As for McConville, he had already outperformed expectations having Wicklow there as I’m sure you are well aware.

You say experienced players making mistakes is not on Galligan. It’s going on for a few games in a row now. Why not try to change something? Ruairi Curran did well in Brewster but then doesn’t even get a run a week later. Galligan has continued to pick the same team. We hear about jeopardy in the championship & it’s harder to get knocked out than stay in, well there’s certainly no jeopardy for a cohort of the Cavan lads and it’s harder get into an underperforming team than stay in it.

The ones in Breffni maybe I listened to all the championship podcasts last year and most of the information came from clubs twitter feeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 hatefulrory

This is very easy to prove. You're telling me if I go back and listen to the first round review from last year, neither of the hosts will have said they were at any game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,444 ✭✭✭tanko

How do you know how many games they attend????

Go back and see how many games the information they had were from twitter.

They also did some brilliant live broadcasts on Mixlr over the last few years especially for the final rounds. Those were brilliant I have to say. And anyone saying they only go to games in Breffni is talking absolute cobblers. Come championship Damien Donohoe alone seems to go to 3/4 games a week.

In terms of the "updates from Twitter" that tends to be their response to league games and the Celt not getting reports. Hands up here who religiously goes to ACFL games? I might tip into the odd one when I'm home or maybe a league final and I would classify myself as a decent GAA follower. Come championship I will be out to as many as I can when I am home.

I don't agree with everything they say on the pod, but it is entertaining and it is a brilliant resource for those of us based outside the county.

I wouldn't have much interest if it was vindictive or putting the boot into clubs, officials, managers or players. There's players who have been on the Cavan panel who I personally might not feel are up to it, but I wouldn't go online slating them off. I can't see the point of having a go at players who are trying their very best

Call be old fashioned but any player who trains and dons their club or county colours (at any level) should at a minimum be afforded some respect. I actually like that the WAC isn't nasty or vindictive. They would end up with a fairly small following very quickly if they were as harsh as some of the lads on here.