Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsolved Irish Mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,127 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Loos like it's nothing more than a fishing expedition and this search is being carried out to the nth degree to categorically rule this site out.

Personally I don't think that's a good enough reason to wreck someone's house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

I suppose by this action...the suspects family identification to the public is more apparent now... placing him under more pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭mazdamiatamx5

Looks like you don't know what you are talking about.

What? That the gardai have taken 30 years to conduct a search at this property and after a week have found nothing worth informing the media about? It's fairly clear they decided to conduct this without any specific reliable intelligence. After decades of a wild goose chase up the Dublin mountains the cold case unit are only looking at it now because their criminologist states the obvious - these cases it's usually someone close to the victim.

I'd be absolutely furious if this were my home. Just renovated they then decide it's the time to head in and completely wreck it. That family are paying a high price, for let's call a spade a spade, garda incompetence.

I think the authorities don't disclose to the public any evidence being found ( if any ) until the search is officially finished...

Seems to me, the Gardai can't win (and I'm no AGS lackey)

If we want to get into hypotheticals, if they didn't thoroughly investigate the witness statement, and then decades later remains WERE discovered at this property, people like you would be ranting about Garda incompetence. OHMIGOD, IF ONLY THE GUARDS ACTED ON THE WITNESS STATEMENT PROPERLY AT THE TIME, MAYBE THEY WOULD HAVE SOLVED THE CASE WHILE HER MUM AND FRIENDS WERE STILL AROUND.

Also, if we want to get into hypotheticals, if it was my property, then yes I'd be a little pissed off, but also I'd like to think I'd be happy that I did my bit to assist in solving a unsolved murder case of a young female from relatively recent history (or an unsolved murder case of anyone, frankly). Seems the Irish obsession with land and property is deeply-wired, judging from a few posts I've seen on the thread!

Also, potentially, they may have learnt from other cases abroad (where police giving media too much info led to unfortunate results. I'm thinking specifically Haut de La Garenne/Jersey. The police overplayed their hand, and then had to backtrack. Personally, having lived there (in Jersey), I can understand why they went with that approach, but it was a major tactical error).

The gardai absolutely would be letting the media know through their usual back channels if they found anything of note.

My guess is that it will wrap up with "we are examining what we've found" and that will be the end of it. Even if they did find any of Annie McCarricks possessions there, it's so long ago it would be nearly impossible to conclusively link them to her and her disappearance.

First point may be correct.

"Even if they did find any of Annie McCarricks possessions there, it's so long ago it would be nearly impossible to conclusively link them to her and her disappearance."

Second is incorrect as I understand it.

No, they can't win and they absolutely should be castigated for how they've conducted this investigation. The time to search this property was years ago, not last week and not just after the new owners completed renovating the property.

Strictly speaking they are not entitled to compensation either although it would be a very bad look if the guards didn't pay to put the house back to the way they got it. It would be the exception.

I don't have a time machine. Neither do you or the AGS, as far I'm aware.

But it doesn't really speak to my point, does it? Let's face it, people, maybe not you personally, but people would be complaining if remains were found 30 years into the future, not just in this investigation but others, in the course of some house renovations or new building or plumbing works, and it turned out that AGS had received a tip-off or witness statement, but they hadn't fully investigated it. Do you not see my point, even if you disagree with it?

I'd reckon the authorities/government here are being instructed by US authorities/ government lately to finalise this investigation because she was a US citizen missing/killed while here.

If the reports are correct she was friendly and in a relationship at one time with the suspect. That would make it plausible that some of her possessions could be found there.

Secondly, the only conclusive evidence of what she was wearing on the day is some grainy CCTV footage from AIB. It would be very hard to link anything found to both her and her disappearance especially given that most textiles readily deteriorate when buried.

Possibly diplomatic pressure has been put behind the scenes. But they'd done digs in relation to other cases where no US links.

Her uncle was FBI I think ... father a parks cop in new York

That's true but allegedly, some of these cadaver dogs can detect scent if human remains have been buried, even from many years back, something to do with collagen allegedly. Now, I truly don't know if that's correct, could be junk science or an inexact science. It's why I mentioned the HDLG/Jersey case from 2008/09, cadaver dog alerted to human remains at a care home where there had been abuse, copes alerted media, media scrum ensued, then cops were forced into a climbdown, but seemingly after sending bone fragments to a research lab they were from a very long time ago (like, hundreds of years).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭chooseusername

The AIB CCTV footage was not from the day she went missing.

What's puzzling is why she had another affair/relationship with him in early 93 when she came back to Dublin according to press reports ....maybe she was obsessed with him to come back...don't think he was too happy she did come back to Ireland... another press report

Was she the one that broke off the original affair, before she went back to the States?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭NoeldeBournaix

I believe they were together briefly in 89. Annie and Dermot were together for 2 years in 1989 and 1991. Then Annie went back to the US.

Edit. Could have been 87/88

Thanks, there was this from todays's IT,

https://archive.ph/PPrVT#selection-1779.0-1791.286

"Although Maureen is an aunt of Annie’s, because there were only nine years between them, Annie was more like a kid sister.

Maureen has a memory of being in Annie’s house in Dublin one afternoon when she visited in 1989. Annie had prepared three trays of food to bring over to the home of her boyfriend at the time, Dermot Ryan, whom she had met while studying at Maynooth.

The cross-city journey was, in the grand tradition of Irish public transport of that era, highly impractical, requiring several bus changes. Then, the other man, a former boyfriend, turned up, just as they were leaving. He had a car. Annie persuaded him to drive them across town. Maureen was in the back seat.“And it was obvious he was annoyed – and with good reason. But he had a temper. I remember being in the back seat and he was talking fast and calling himself an ‘effing eejit’, which I had never heard before, and asking: ‘What am I doing taking you over to your new boyfriend’s house?’”"

The other man I presume is the suspect.

So a couple of questions,

If they had broken up why did the ex just "turn up"?

And why would Annie persuade him to drive her over to her new boyfriend, rather than tell him to fúck off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭NoeldeBournaix

Maybe Annie was still living in the house in Clondalkin when they broke up and when she started to see Dermot Ryan?

That's interesting that he visited Long Island with Annie too.

Edit to say we will never know the dynamic between them all, young people getting together, breaking up, getting with friends ex etc. Happens all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Crakepottle?

Although the suspect has not been charged his identity has been revealed by media coverage. The family Air B and B business is probably ruined and the wife and children traumatized. If someone is guilty all of that is to be expected but what if he's not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

If Annie actually lived at the house in Clondalkin, it rather reduces the value of any evidence found there, doesn't it?

(Apart from human remains, obviously.)

They find a necklace of hers in the garden? She just dropped it one day when she was out there. Her shoe? Stolen by a local dog or fox. Etc etc.

He's a suspect....but what may have happened may not be as black and white as it's suggested... doesn't look good for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Yes those dogs are amazing. I saw a show once where one found remains of a woman who was executed as a witch in America. She was buried over 200 years ago!

I'd agree... probably the b**** household she probably felt and acted like a family member there...that car episode looks like a brother/sister rant more so than jealousy

Then he has a clear legal remedy.

Plenty of nice chippers around Ringsend way, so he'd have gotten his meal courtesy of the cops while banged up for the 24 hours. You needn't worry about that aspect. Better than prison food too, from what I've heard.

Post edited by mazdamiatamx5 at

Don't know. Is it possible for cadaver dog or other techniques to detect human remains on items which belonged to a victim in a manner which distinguishes between living and non-living human remains? Not a rhetorical question, I don't know the answer.

Post edited by mazdamiatamx5 at

With all due respect, and I didn't see that programme, but some of these shows are based on flimsy science at best.