If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Minimum alcohol pricing is nigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Juran

Update ... UPS dropped off my 6 boxes of portugese wine this morning. Packaged in 2 plain large cardboard boxes. No special labelling or good declaration attached, just the standard european courier address/barcode label.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭bog master

Fair play to ye! Wish one could do that with beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,792 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Just because someone does not drink or stay up late at night, it does not mean they are a 'miserable dry bastard' as some on here would say. Its been about a year for myself (not that I ever drank much to begin with) and I'm happier then ever.

Although labelling alcohol doesn't really do much in my opinion as everyone already knows its bad for you. Labels or no labels people will continue to drink.

Although the smoking package rules had some of an effect, it was mainly slowly built up stigma against the habit which caused people to stop (among other reasons too - health, 2nd hand smoking etc).

There is no so such stigma against drinking and its nearly the reverse in Ireland. There is a stigma against non-drinkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Yeah but non drinkers are wánkers tbf. 0.0 this, low alcohol that.

Like how do you know someone is running a marathon…. they'll tell you.

I think people who need drink to socialise are wànkers, why is drink a requirement for not being a wànker?

I run 35-40 miles per week, don't drink and hate staying up past 10. My life outside of work revolves around being the healthiest, fastest, fittest and strongest I can push myself to be.

Does that make me a wanker? I do my socialising with my running friends - our long runs are plenty long enough to have a chat and catch up once a week along with the post run coffee.

Had two heinegen 00 recently just to 'fit in', do you not that that its a bit crap that in order to fit in, you have to partake in drinking poisen (not judging, just stating that it is infact poisen to your body).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Like how do you know someone is running a marathon…. they'll tell you.

You proved their point.

I used myself as an example (will admit I walked into that - I also prefer 800m - 5ks, have never ran a marathon and won't for a few more years).

My general point is, why is anyone who dedicates themselves to a sport, any sport a wánker because they avoid drink, partying and focus on their physical health?

Can't speak for the other poster or their beliefs but for me it's nothing to do with not drinking in the slightest it's making running/hyrox/the gym etc their whole personality.

You cannot have a normal conversation without it being shoe horned into the conversation.

People make 1 thing their personality all the time. It doesn't just apply to sport.

My "normal" conversation will typically be about running because all I do in my spare time is run. Lets put it to you this way, there are people who make football their entire personality - do I find them insufferable? God yes. My solution? Don't talk to them.

When you ask your office colleague who you know is running a marathon "hows it going? Anything on" and proceed to get annoyed when he talks about the marathon you just asked him about (because you probably already knew he was running).

Your problem seems to be you ask them your nonsense "obligatory" 'oh how did the weekend go? Did you do anything interesting' question then get annoyed when you get an answer you know was coming.

If you find a person is just one thing, and you dislike that one thing, then just don't interact with them. Or at the very least minimise it.

I know it doesn't that's why I didn't just say "running". It's the same for vegans, how do you know their vegan…?

You're making a lot of assumptions there, none of which I have actually said.

Anyone who makes one thing their personality are insufferable. This is coming from a person who's run a marathon and plenty of half marathons, I just don't talk about them non stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,027 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

A good life skill is to know enough about a wide range of topics to be able to hold a 10 minute conversation with anyone about anything. Limiting yourself to running seems, ironically, quite unhealthy. I run (~25k per week so way below your volume) but will only talk running to the handful of people I know who share that interest.
    With other people I can talk TV shows, soccer, irish sports, golf, cinema/theatre/art, travel, politics (fun having a hardcore maga/right-wing good friend when I'm a socialist).

Tonight will be a 7K run followed by a nice few Friday beers with some of those friends after they go to their LOI soccer game (which I know enough about to just about be able to hold my own).

I think you've a balance issue. No offence meant as you do some good posts in athletics.

I offered solutions to the problem of finding people who are only one thing insufferable, just avoid them as much as possible . Some people like myself take things a lot more seriously then others, if thats an issue then don't engage with that person if you know the conversation will end up on a certain subject.

Nothing wrong being just one thing, allows for the possibility to be the absolute best that you can possibly be.

No offense taken, A balance issue implies I have an issue balancing these things. I do not, i choose to ignore them because I don't care about those things. I can talk most of the things you listed except other sports. Zero interest - couldn't hold a 1 minute conversation about football, GAA, hurling, golf etc.

Back to my original question though:

What makes non drinkers wànkers as blankly stated in this post: "non drinkers are wánkers tbf. 0.0 this, low alcohol that."

You do realise that you cannot just ignore everyone that you might want to, ie. work colleagues, extended family etc. you do have to make some bit of effort to be polite to not be a dick.

Running is your hobby, that's fair enough, it doesn't need to be your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Live and let live cuts both ways.

Drinkers have a drink if you want to have a drink and stop complaining about running.

Runners go for a run if you want to go for a run and stop complaining about drinking.

As for the SDs they have got this labelling thing wrong. We don't need to go it alone.

Just wait until an EU standard is agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Pure scutter talk, "I'm better than you". Away with you now and let the rest of us discuss the topic in hand.

I asked a valid question and thats what I get in response. Its things like this that make me support MUP even though I know it has nothing to do with the publics health and only do with helping Publican’s try get more people back into the pubs and away from home drinking.

You didn’t just ask a question though, you started by insulting people then proceeded to talk about your running on an MUP thread.

I used my running as an example, later on I used a more general example listing many sports.

So its not ok for me insult drinkers but drinkers can insult non drinkers? Because thats what you are implying - it was literally stated that 'non drinkers are wánkers' and I asked why.

People like myself support MUP because maybe foolhardishly, I believe drinking is reduced as prices increase some moderate drinkers will cut back. I know problem drinkers will never cut back no matter the price and MUP has nothing to do with public health.

If drinking were to actually be reduced, culture change is required - not just tax it or make it so expensive that it breaks peoples pockets.

I didn’t say it was ok for anyone to be insulted. I merely pointed out that when you say “I just asked a valid question” your first line in that post was insulting people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,792 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

"My life outside of work revolves around" ANY one thing is as sad as fk. Doesn't matter what that thing is

What makes non drinkers wànkers as blankly stated in this post: "non drinkers are wánkers tbf. 0.0 this, low alcohol that."

I don't agree with that post - unless the non-drinker goes on and on about it of course. But there's plenty of virtue-wânking in your posts already, I don't give a shiny shite about how "healthy" you claim to be while you prematurely wear your joints out 😁

Seeing as you don't drink and you don't think MUP is an effective public health initiative would you not just adopt a neutral stance on it ?

Not asking you to join us drinkers in hating it, just consider not supporting it.

Alcohol consumption has been falling steadily for 25 years now, there's no need for punitive measures. Ironically the effect of MUP is to increase the profits of alcohol producers.

Its out of spite to be honest with you. Only so many times I can be called a boring dry insert insult of choice, asked why don't I drink and if I do have to be at a social gathering where drink is involved, then its constantly - "oh just have one, you'll be grand " etc even though the person asking knows I don't drink and will probably be running the following day.

This is the reason why my friend group nowadays is just fellow runners and I don't bother going out with people who don't have the same interest as me.

As the poll asks do we have a drinking problem - I believe not in the sense that we drink too much. As its been pointed out, alcohol consumption has been dropping for decades.

I do believe there is a problem where by celebrations/nights out are associated with alcohol. You cannot go on a night out, to a friends birthday, wedding etc and be expected to enjoy it without drink. This is discussed in more detail in the 'pubs are closing thread'.

I believe culture change is needed, the link in peoples minds between celebrations and alcohol needs to be destroyed. Alcohol consumption is dropping regardless.

So yes, I do understand it does not affect problem drinkers and was only introduced to help the pubs as cheap supermarket stuff was taking over the market for a while. Nothing to do with public health whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Have a listen to the 14 minute audio on Newstalk under this link between economist Dan O'Brien who argues for MUP to be scrapped and Dr. Chris Luke who's unhinged whataboutery defence of MUP will make anyone who has common sense want to rip their hair out

https://www.newstalk.com/news/should-minimum-unit-pricing-be-scrapped-2172280

Includes Chris Luke saying it could take 10 to 20 years for MUP to take effect.

It's taken effect on my pocket since the day it was introduced.

Cheers Chris...

Its out of spite to be honest with you. Only so many times I can be called a boring dry insert insult of choice, asked why don't I drink and if I do have to be at a social gathering where drink is involved, then its constantly - "oh just have one, you'll be grand "

I hate that too, and I'm a drinker.

If people don't want to have a drink at any given time at any given social occasion just respect that without all the drama.

There was a thread on some board a few years ago where some was asking what excuse they should or could us at an upcoming social event because they were not going to be drinking at it.

The fact that the poster was so concerned about this is a sad reflection on society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭techman1

Dr. Chris Luke who's unhinged whataboutery defence of MUP will make anyone who has common sense want to rip their hair out

Yes I heard that Chris Luke was off his rocker, he was trying to be disparaging about Dan O Brien because he was just a mere economist. He said different economists will have different conclusions therefore Dan o brien should not be allowed have an opinion on MUP as that is a public health policy and economic arguments should not be allowed. The arrogance and dismissivenes of Luke was breathtaking . He wasn't able to counter O'brien main argument so he resorted to dismissing the whole economics profession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Anybody else find it Ironic that they want us to pay silly money for our alcohol but want it cheap as possible for the yanks?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/government-urges-eu-to-avoid-tariff-reprisals-on-us-food-and-alcohol-as-it-could-disastrously-impact-ireland/a1389447013.html