Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,235 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Simon Stone thinks our signings will be late.

This feels like a quiet period in the summer, with a lot of rumours about clubs being interested in players and buyers and sellers trying to establish what fees they could charge, or what they would have to pay.

For Manchester United, this might present a problem.

I was chatting to someone connected to the club earlier this week about Alejandro Garnacho, who has been told he can leave by head coach Ruben Amorim.

There is interest in the Argentina forward but no-one has stepped up to offer a fee United think is acceptable and the feeling is this might drag on.

Marcus Rashford, Jadon Sancho, Antony and Tyrrell Malacia are all due to return after spending time away from Old Trafford on loan. All are on the kind of salaries that won't make it easy to move them on without United having some sort of financial involvement.

Players are due to return for training at the beginning of July, which should start to focus minds.

Then there is the first pre-season friendly with Leeds on 19 July followed by a three-match trip to the United States.

Ideally, United would have everything sorted by then. Don't be surprised if it drags on much longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,716 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

and we should do the same.

still waiting on an announcement for selling naming rights to sparkly new training complex.

they need to do something to drive revenue, not just culling costs right, left and centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,837 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

We are two weeks on from the first bid for Mbeumo being rejected - should it still be a case that we haven't got as far as making a second bid? Why can't they negotiate hard, but quicker?

Well the club are trying to sign Brentfords best player. Of course they're going to drag the arse out of neotiations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,947 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Most of the news chatter earlier was suggesting that Mbeumo would be done and dusted next week.

Probably be Use Brentford have been linked with Cheikh Sabaly as his replacement.

are we surprised? same **** every summer.

the only reason to delay is if there is legit concern that rashford, sancho, antony, malacia, whoever else will not leave.

I'm not surprised at all, we need to sell and clubs love low balling us.

i've not heard of any actual bids made for our players (aside from antony actually).

i dont think PSR is that much of an issue. according to the atletic we can afford to lose an additional £141m before PSR is an issue.

transfers are amortised over 5 years. cunha will take up £23m (62.5/5 + ~200k weekly wages). lets assume mbuemo the same. that leaves another £95m available before any sales.

i think psr is being used as a smokescreen, whereas the actual issue is cashflow. use the revolving credit facility, or SJR can put cash in (Currently, interest-free loans are allowed, but the league is proposing a system where a "fair market value" interest rate would be applied. This would effectively mean shareholders would be charged interest on the loans they provide to their clubs. The specific rate would vary based on the club's credit score.).

the dithering drives me mad, just go and sign players. arguing over 5m for mbeumo is silly. offer them an additional 3m, should get the job done.

That's all just speculation though.

We don't know what's going on behind the scenes in relation to our finances or transfers in and out.

It's early days with players on holiday and I think only Liverpool have done a few deals.

I wouldn't get worked up over it considering we got Cunha done already, plus I'm much happier the Woodward style leaks have stopped.

maybe but from the atletic who are considered the best.

its fine to be concerned - the same convo is had every summer and i'm yet to see any improvement.

We've had talks for Ekitike and Mbeumo, enquired about Gyokeres, apparently talking to Emi Martinez, seems like we're just refusing to be ripped off as usual.

Again I'm happy we're taking this stance, the days of throwing huge sums are over.

Speak of the Divil

FB_IMG_1750362231197.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭Quags

Lads when will use learn that United sell so most journalists will throw out news regarding transfers and then people will believe it and then think it’s dragged out and get in panic. The fella is Brentford is imo a tough one due to a manager change over and he being the best player they have so clauses and whatnot are probably sorted. I would think the club have backup plans anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,719 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

The club never has before hence the crawling back and eventually overpaying going all the way back to Fellaini up to Antony.

Rashford would appear to be a problem he is supposedly tryna appeal to Barca despite them signing Nico Williams.
    So we'll likely be stuck until a Deadline Day image of a scowling Rashford at Leeds/Sunderland/Brentford/unless he cops himself on and checks his expectations.

Not a great help for funds. I dont think Rashford or Sancho will move before Grealish anyway. Theres that mini-market of 4 formerly highly rated currently overpaid and unwanted English wingers and I think Grealish would be seen as the best of them then Rashford....Sterling couldn't get a sniff at Arsenal and Chelsea paid to NOT sign Sancho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

There is clubs that would be interested in Rashford I reckon. He was bagging goals not to long ago, did relatively well at Villa that a highly respected manager in Emery starting him over Watkinds against PSG.

It's his massively inflated ego that's the issue. Biggest earner at such a young age at a club if it's stature, by image and history, has his ego out of control.

It's embarrassing the way he's going on about Barca, he's begging nearly and they don't want none of it.

Antony will be gone and I think Garna at some stage during the window.

I've no idea who'd want Sancho. If the rumors are true, Imagine him playing in a Conte team that wants runners and players that put in effort. He's not a Conte type player at all.

If Rashford/Antony/Garna were sold this summer id use some of that money just to pay Sancho off so we'd be done with him.

That'd be some statement. One club pays a fine to not have you and your parent club pays off the contract to not have you around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭Quags

Ok, sure I’ll come back to ye when the TW closes and we can discuss if the club are still the same or improved 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,067 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I'm not convinced the club can use the toxic players as a complete get out of jail free card here.

They have known since last year that these players had to go, they have had a long long time to speak to agents and make plans, they cant be sitting there now with no plan other than hoping than the phone is going to ring.

I'd strongly suspect our plans don't rely on these sales, because if they do then that isca shocking lack of groundwork and forward planning done in the last 6 months. More likely that the club can do what it needs to and getting money for the likes of Sancho is a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Jofspring

Wasn't there links yesterday with Rashford to Newcastle. Definitely a plausible move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

I imagine the same. It suits the club for the perception to be United have to sell to buy and there are cash flow and PSR problems.

We will buy Mbuembo and a relatively good/experienced/proficient/expensive/productive striker within existing budgets is my expectation.

If we don't buy the adjective of your choice striker, we'll be doing nothing again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭scottser

Can we just not register Sancho to play next season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

But the club has literally no cards to play in this. They don't want these players, the world knows that, and the players are on massive multi year contracts. Why would any club try to dig Utd of the hole they dug themselves? Non of the players are pulling up trees. Rashford did ok in AV, but nothing close to the level of pay he will demand and the conditions he will expect.

It is clear the likes of Rashford, and moreso Sancho, are more trouble than they are worth.

So while they know they want to get rid of them, actually moving them is a different matter. I am sure they have hawked them to anybody and everybody but few want them, and those that do, the player probably doesn't fancy.

v

Not if Rashford is waiting for Barcelona to save him. I doubt Newcastle would hang around waiting for him to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Anything4883

The manager needs to have a right word with Rashford. Drop your expectations and your salary expectations- Take a move when we agree a deal, or you will not play a first team game this season. World Cup coming up, he wont want that. Enough of these loan deals paying our players to play for another club. Force him out and if you can… do the same for Antony/Sancho also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,566 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

yes, kinda.

We can leave Sancho out if we have a full list otherwise.

But we can't register a 22 man squad, for example, and just not name Sancho in it despite their being space.

Juve in for Sancho now, don't get too excited Juve love a low ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭BKtje

Have a word? What exactly should he say that would change anything. Rashford, I am sure, is aware of Amorim's stance for next season. What more would having a word do? Either the player wants to play or the player wants to sit on his ass and collect his super elevated wages.

The coach is not his parent or someone he looks up to, it's his agents job to lay out his options and provide realistic expectations for his client.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Anything4883

Have a word, in what I said… tell him there's no loan move this time. Its move or rot for the year without playing.

Its a World Cup season approaching…. Utd need to use that to their advantage especially in Rasfords case to force them to find a new club without it been a loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭BKtje

Alright but that's not Amorim's job. That kind of decision is taken elsewhere at the club and I imagine the club's stance was made clear a long time ago. Once again, it's the agents job to talk to his client with regards offers (or possibly lack thereof) and (re)explain the clubs stance. We are way past words in my opinion.

Heaton has as much chance of going to the World Cup as Rashford.