Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsolved Irish Mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

No doubt they'd be a lot of building sites in and around Dublin city....and it been weekend ...no workers on site either...loads of dumping spots dug out already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,163 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

Is it the man in France or the one in Dublin who was arrested who is the main suspect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭DmanDmythDledge

That's a good point. If she went off somewhere with the suspect, not out of the question she said she was going to Enniskerry and he said he'd drive her there. Although it was a Friday and he was in his early 30s so could have been working. Also could have been off. He setup his company in 1995. I couldn't find any trace of him on LinkedIn.

The brother in France was in his early 40s at the time, so highly probable he had a car at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭bike2wkr

She could also have got the bus out and met him there. Maybe he drove out separately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 padraig1963

I would agree with you on the implausibility of burying someone secretly in a suburban setting like this.

Someone from the same street in Clondalkin might know better but in 1993 when Annie was murdered the suspect associated with this house was from a family of seven siblings. Is it that possible neither parents or other family members were around or noticed unusually digging? Maybe he was the youngest and all the older ones had left? If the suspect as suggested on other media platforms was in property management he or they might have had access to a lot of empty houses. Indeed a property company of the same name were the auctioneers for a house 3 doors down in 1996. Maybe there's a few other houses the guards need to dig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

There have been a few cases in the UK where bodies were buried in suburban gardens and went undiscovered for years. The murders of the Wycherley couple by their daughter and son-in-law, for example, only found in the garden when he confessed 15 years later. House hadn't been sold but was rented out to an unsuspecting tenant. Also, a couple of months ago, the body of a Polish woman missing 15 years found in the garden of a house in Derbyshire - 5 people arrested, so it seems multiple people were in on it all these years.

I can fully believe a body could be buried in such a locations without drawing notice from neighbours. Not involving everyone living there seems more unlikely, but if it's only a small number then perhaps - maybe they were away at the time. For me the sale of the house seems to make it most unlikely.

In 1996 a property company of the same name as the suspect, who media say was in that line of business, was involved in the sale of a house 3 doors down on the same road also. Are we to presume his many siblings, judging by the RIP notice were all gone from the house now being searched, and his parents too? Does anyone from the same street have any insights I wonder. In that line of work you would have access to many properties and know which we currently unoccupied.

It would be interesting to know how many of that family lived in that house in 1993 exactly. But if the suspect, as many say, was in the property business he might have had access to many properties in the full knowledge which were empty. A property company of the same name were the agents for a house 3 doors down the same street in 1996 and probably many others locally.

We don't know if the suspect planned to kill Annie mccarrick or accidentally killed her…I doubt he would have buried her in his family home garden if he had planned to kill her

I similarly went looking for the older brother, the "friend" of Annie who lives in France that the guards went over to interview. The unusual name has a French directory address which when you Google Earth streetview it looks quite rundown and far from grand. Could be wrong too of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,751 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Don't have to go to the UK there was one in a Galway garden a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Caquas

Wrong on every level. My point was to highlight the unreliability of eye witness evidence - the opposite of certainty. I was responding to a question about the Enniskerry and Johnnie Fox sightings. You brought in the bus sighting. I pointed to the likely confusion of dates to explain it.

Are you the last person still stuck on the notion that she headed for Enniskerry the day she disappeared? The last whiff of over-confidence in unreliable evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

If ever this case comes to court, I shall be very interested to hear what REALLY happened on the day that Annie went missing.

I had always thought that the last sighting of Annie was where she caught a bus in Ranelagh; it may seem unlikely but the report was by a witness known to her: a woman who actually recognised her. This is the last credible sighting.

All the witness sightings after this were people who did NOT know her - they just thought they remembered "a woman who looked a bit like that missing one that was on Crimeline". Well-meant maybe but nothing like an actual recognition!

I never thought the Fox's pub story seemed remotely likely - everything about that whole narrative was way off kilter.

I do see that the woman on the bus may have been mistaken too - but it's still more believable than any of the subsequent reports. Annie could have got off at Dundrum!

The current intense focus on the ex-boyfriend does seem to be based on some as-yet undisclosed piece of evidence.

Did someone come forward with a sighting of that famous leather shoulder-bag? Some place where it shouldn't have been?

If they make an arrest and actually charge someone, then we can all move forward in our understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭lillycakes2

how come the media printed a picture of Michael Gaines suspect but not the suspect in this case ……

Even if he was living in the French Riviera....it wouldn't make any difference to whatever statement he made to investigating gardai…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭mazdamiatamx5

Bit odd that right enough. Suspect might have more 'pull' in Ireland. A lot more evidence against the other guy also (I'd guess).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Crakepottle?

The reawakening of this case appears to stem from the revelation made by the older brother to the Gardai.The burning question is what did he tell them that lead to the dig up after all these years. It had to be significant. And if nothing emerges from the search is that the end of the investigation?Also, is it unreasonably distressing for Annie's mother to pursue yet another dead end?

@Caquas.

There's still quite a few posters obsessed with the Enniskerry thing, I don't get it being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭New Scottman

There’s people on Gareth O’Callaghan’s page still mentioning Larry Murphy in connection with multiple missing women cases - as recently as two days ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭bike2wkr

Sounds like he invalidated whatever alibi for that friday/weekend the younger brother had.

I'd say the gardai had this information already more so than him giving them information....more than likely they contradicted what alibi he gave and he couldn't substantiate it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Crakepottle?

I think it said that the older brother was in hospital.

The poster I replied to mentioned he googled where he might live in France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭csirl

The change in focus of the case to 11am onwards rather than the afternoon onwards (bus sighting) means all alibis have to be revisited.

Gardai in "93 may have asked everyone for alibis from e.g. 3pm onwards. The cold case team may well be now checking alibis from 11am to 3pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭tibruit

It is yourself and a few others that have been declaring with certainty that the Gardaí know the killers of women from the vanishing triangle. I don`t think they do.

"Are you the last person still stuck on the notion that she headed for Enniskerry the day she disappeared?"

Am I? I dunno. What I do know is that Annie rang her friend Anne O`Dwyer on the morning of 26th and asked her would she like to come walking with her in the foothills of the Wicklow Mountains. Anne O Dwyer couldn`t go because she had hurt her foot. Annie was later seen walking down Newgrove Avenue in a direction to where she could have got the number 18 to Ranelagh. The driver remembered her getting on the bus because she ran to stop him She was then seen by Eimear O Grady, (a woman who knew Annie) getting onto the number 44 in Ranelagh and that would have taken her to Enniskerry.

In terms of probability I would say it is very likely that Annie went to Enniskerry and it is very possible that she was the woman seen in Johnnie Fox`s. That doesn`t mean that the current person of interest isn`t responsible for her disappearance. But it does mean that your certainty about this and other cases is undermined by about how poorly informed you seem to be.

Well, social media is a modern day curse. O'Callaghan is a loon, so those who haven't seen through him by now are of similar ilk. And yes, I know boards could be considered a form of social media, but, you know.

I said earlier in the thread that some of the Annie sightings were likely honest but mistaken, particularly the Enniskerry/Foxes ones, and not from Walter Mittys.

Well, O'Callaghan is the real life Walter Mitty, solving crimes using his facebook account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,519 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Because the suspect in the Gaines case spoke to newspapers on the record, and confirmed that he was the individual arrested and questioned.

Which means he cannot later sue them claiming they breached his privacy or damaged his good name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭tibruit