Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Milk Price III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭stanflt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,311 ✭✭✭alps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,047 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Very little milk going to drogheda atm. Most being sent down the country..milkman was here at 7.15 yesterday and we dont finish until 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭stanflt

talking to milkman this morning and they have stopped sending milk down the country

LLakelands Increased their price but it's very hard to follow, price is excluding vat and think the increase was 0.47cpl excluding vat. I got a headache trying to follow the post on the journal page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,094 ✭✭✭roosterman71

There should be a complaint made to the competition authority or something similar for how milk prices are announced. Should simply be price for P & BF which equates to c/l for standard constituents. This **** with a price and ya don't know if vat is in or out and then this bonus horseshit to make it look better. It's infuriating each month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

fully agree ….Lakeland’s and Areabawn/tipp both cut last month and it was nothing to do with market returns ,thankfully Lakeland’s gave some of it back ….fully expect Areabawn to give at least same back

Too much cloak and dagger with milk price …coop management and our farmer elected board members must love trying to confuse us ….theres scc bonuses ,trading bonuses etc ….that’s even before the sustainability 🙄🙄bonus is thrown in ….and to get that in our coop as one of measures you have to buy x amount of pro urea from them to get the bonus …..you could get same product 20/30 tonne cheaper elsewhere but that pro fertiliser isn’t as sustainable as the special stuff coop sells 😉😉…..bonkers how this isn’t challenged ….quote prices on a cent per litre at standard solids and nothing else

It wasn't a price increase it was an unconditional 0.5cpl bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

big volumes of buttermilk and whey going to waste treatment centers by coops at present, hope it would affect milk price later in the year

will tirlan milk price to suppliers be higher than lakelands going forward seen as tirlan are now processing some of lakelands milk pool? Do we get paid extra for them using our assets that we paid for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭visatorro

So the buttermilk and whey is being dumped? Presume there is a charge to this?

Afaik tirlan are paying more than lakeland for a year now maybe. Was always told the coop look after each with processing facilities. If one place was broke etc. Were lakelands over supplied and couldn't handle milk or had they work to do on plants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

they deliberately confuse and bs when announcing the milk prices each month.lets call a spade a spade here.its a derisory price increase and a fecking insult to farmers intelligence.

But like in the beef industry the day of reckoning is fast coming where the b€€&€€&ds will have to pay cause the milk won’t be there due to less expansion with regulations and the age cohort getting older and banjaxed.

And I love how some here still refer to the people we elected onto the co-op boards as if there going to help us.wake up and smell the coffee.they get elected for the prestige and either retire off and pass it on to the son or daughter or die off them

these farmer board members were put in there position by farmers to represent them and do there best for them …..they have an obligation to the coop too tho which supersedes what what they want to do for farmers …..the weak ones go too far in that direction and totally forget who they are first (farmer)and who elected them (farmer)

All well able to talk at elections and tell us what we want to hear ….takes a very strong board member to stand up and go against management …..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,594 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭farmertipp

problem is in dairygold you have to buy 80 percent of your inputs from them to be a board member.

That is a deterrent to a business man who prices around for the best deal

you are nearly showing too much loyalty to the coop and not the guys who you are supposed to be representing on milk price.

ccoops should be competing for business instead of badgering people

yup very similar with us ….you’d practically have to do all your trading to get and keep a board seat ….you’d practically have to do fairly significant level for rep as well……who would want to be tied into that …lot of young progressive thinking young farmers won’t want to be that hamstrung and just not bother

spot on. so management gets management men on board. we have quite a few of those unfortunately.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,560 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Don’t laugh but I thought switching to cows would mean I’d have more of a say with the people buying my produce

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

no doubt you would expect that but sadly not the case. they are elected by committee members every 5 years and don't care after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭yewdairy

All the coops seem to have gone down route or unnecessarily complicating milk price. Agree some of the boards get stale but even that has improved with smaller boards and term limits. It's never going to be perfect and trading rules definitely limit to pool of potential board members.

It's Hard to see a price increase looking at the price of European butter, SMP and wmp. Butter is carrying the current milk price.

If milk price can hold and feed and fert remain at current levels, there is a margin there to make money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

ya id imagine charge on disposal plus transport

lakelands plant closed as far as i know

dairygold cut a cent. 49 including all bull s h i t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 captain hadley

I suppose the have legal fees this month from sending the 6 lads letters jokers.

the gdt has only been down past couple of times whilst since start of yr it had been up.

Ah well they all put out the same bullshit statements as if it was all just a coincidence 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭yewdairy

The problem is the current GDT price would not support current Irish price.

I want milk price to go up but to be fair to all the coops it's not there in the markets.

I think most coops pay the maximum return to farmers on a given month. Coops can't hop between different products. Arrabawn paid a excellent price the last few years but casein into America is tougher going the last while so there price isn't as strong.

The problem I have with coops is longer term issues like tirlan competing with kerrygold in America and the nonsense bonuses added to milk price to confuse the issue.

All the sustainability payments are daft the markets don't return anything extra for all the sustainability measures we use on our farms. The vast majority of people who consume Irish dairy don't care about sustainability measures.

There is one pot of money to pay milk suppliers, coops should just tell suppliers the brutal truth of where markets are on a given month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭older by the day

I would be very loyal to my COOP but they can push it too far too.

The bonus is paid once a year, full milk bonus if you spend 10c per litre supplied. You also get 15/ton back for fertilizer and 12/ton on nuts, which is great.

Only problem is they are consistently 20 a ton more expensive for fert and 15 for nuts compared to the local private merchant. Also can be fierce expensive in hardware. You would get sick of reps telling you about the great bonus

Arrabawn /tipp up 0.5 cent to 49.89’…..it’s not a straight increase to base ….some form of bonus payment ….49.89 also includes 0.75 sustainability ,0.4 scc as well as that 0.5 bonus …..so in reality base is 48.24 inc vat ….see Lakeland increases by 0.5 with similar payment …..both jumped the gun too quick last month cutting by 1 cent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭straight

For all the talk of milk price this year it was higher for May 22. Or at least higher for me. Also my cows milked better in 2022 so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I was 53.3 cent in May 22 and 54.5 cent for this May, DG supplier. Add in calf price and good grass growth overall, this year will do nicely. Edit just to say that figure is the Net payment amount after all deductions.

glanbia cut by a cent a litre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭pureza

Sure they have to pay the wages and the €250 loan they used to buy the milk business from Glanbia is costing them a 100 grand a week,without even mentioning that they’re going to need at least an extra 100 million to pay it off in 18 months time because the shares backing the loan have fallen so much