Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 06/06/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,881 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I wonder why the marching at his parade was so shambolic? We used to do a better job of marching when I was in the Girl Guides many decades ago. Marching may not be high priority in the US army but any one could do better than the casual stroll they were doing, they could not even stand up straight.

Why were they not instructed to salute or even acknowledge their President as they passed the reviewing stand?

Was it apathy, was it the normal state of the army, or were they making a statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,311 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

It reeked of the image of what an uptight committee of bores would perceive as jovial. It's the time old attempt of conservatives trying to "have the craic"

It's a pity this was done for Trumps birthday and heavily politicised because seeing a full history of an armies uniforms and equipment would be quite cool if done well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,203 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

What Krasnov got for his birthday was 3.5% of the population protesting against him.

The “3.5% rule” refers to the claim that no government has withstood a challenge of 3.5% of their population mobilized against
    it during a peak event.

Here's hoping the rule is confirmed in Russia's most recently acquired puppet state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

My bad, I just saw the headline and assumed but I suppose its even worse when a cardboard cutout of Leo attracts more than The Chump !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Notmything

I've attended events in the past with the US military and tbh their drill has always been less than perfect.

I remember years ago at the UN school in the curragh a visiting American officer put it down to the difference in pageantry and display between European militaries with their history and the Americans who didn't have that.

I watched some of the parade and yeah, it didn't have the "snap" you'd see on Bastille Day or Trooping the colours, but they are also very different events.

Normally it's whoever is leading the body of troops who salutes and everyone else turns their head to whoever is taking the salute unless America does it different but I haven't watched any videos of that bit

Post edited by Notmything on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,998 ✭✭✭yagan

I wonder if the lacklustre performance has more to do with defence being increasingly subcontracted out to the private sector, which really seems to mushroomed during the Iraq occupation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,936 ✭✭✭threeball

Those numbskulls deserve everything they get. Voting off the back of macho bullshit from Dana White and Joe Rogan despite knowing damn well Trump was a racist POS and how he treated Mexicans and those of Latin heritage first time out. Same for all the young black men who voted for him. Idiotic beyond belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I'd really like to think that "they making a statement".

Apparently one lad was strolling along, hat pushed back and chewing gum. Give that guy a promotion…stat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,739 ✭✭✭storker

It does seem awfully like a statement. I remember from St. Patrick's Day parades in the 80s that even the part-time soldiers of the FCA looked very competent at marching. I can't help thinking that if the members of the US military couldn't manage a smart march-past, it was because they didn't want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,880 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Have you seen his previous speeches? 99% of the time he's egging on extremism and he's very much so partisan . If your pointing to individual speeches as proof of him trying then I'd say you're grasping at straws.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

They don't do as much practice for parades as some other countries.

Some Murphy's laws of combat

"The side with the simplest uniforms wins."

"Once the pin is pulled, Mr. Grenade is not our friend"

"No combat ready unit has ever passed inspection."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,363 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If Trump hadn't evaded the draft,Trump would have been the guy https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_O._Wooldridge (but without the gallantry)

image.png

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,222 ✭✭✭✭briany

The tick tock nature of American politics is mental.

If Jesus Christ could be president of the US and was having trouble keeping the price of petrol down (because even Jesus can only work so many miracles), Americans would vote in Satan if Satan were the opposing candidate.

The great absurdity of their two party system is that Trump was able to seriously position himself as a 'change' candidate and had people saying "let's give him a chance..." as if he was some kind of unknown quantity when he was literally the most known quantity of all time.

So, yeah, the people who we fully knew he'd victimise but still voted for him do deserve everything they get. It's the only way they'll learn, although they won't...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,204 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Tbh if a unit is spending time getting good at D&C, they're not focusing on the important stuff. It's a complete waste of time.

Post edited by AbusesToilets on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,079 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Kind of like the idiots here who keep voting FF/FG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,227 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Why is the headline printed as fact and the subhead qualified?

1000011514.png

In reality, this is a quote given to the press by the Administration, an Administration which is notorious for lying through its teeth. Every. Single. Day.

Later in the same heading...

1000011516.png

When put to Israel, they don't comment, albeit understandably.

So, what we have then is an unsubstantiated claim that Trump saved the day by his administration, printed as fact.

FFS

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,227 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

1000011517.png

Oh, those cities are the problem?

1000011518.png

Why not mention Texas, or Florida?

Any guesses?

Has the penny dropped with any of his fans here that all he cares about is stirring up sh1t in democratic states so he can justify sending in the national guard in those states and f**k with the midterm election?

PS - "transgender for everybody" - he is such a f**king bully.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,696 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

the obsession with men in women’s sport is unbelievable. They go on like it’s a massive issue. I personally think individual sports should come up with rules that are relevant to that sport. They push this like there’s hardly a race or fight that doesn’t have a man in a skirt winning by a mile.

The boxer from Algeria is my favourite, apparently that’s the one time that chromosomes are what matter not genatalia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,896 ✭✭✭✭Penn

His "Big (sponsored by Coinbase), Beautiful (sponsored by Palantir), Military Parade (sponsored by UFC)" ended up being such a dud (sponsored by Karma) and with so much attention going to all the No Kings protests, now he has to try flex his strength and show how powerful he is by taking revenge on the cities where the largest protests were.

Pathetic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,296 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

To be fair, the idea of a parade with an orange lead isn't inherently a bad thing:

https://old.reddit.com/r/Catswithjobs/comments/1lcazt3/star_attraction_at_the_parade_lmao/

Seriously though, the whole thing just encapsulates Trump's essence.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,050 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

I'm guessing now that if the NYC parties Trump and his pals were as mixed as is reported, the odds of them all being straight or not have at least a few Bi-persons in their midst would be strange. He is known for proclivity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭poop emoji

And here is Trump on video suggesting Americans should be like North Koreans

https://imgur.com/gallery/trump-wants-us-to-be-like-north-korea-ZCyebGb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Hoop66

So soldiers who can drill can't fight?

Would love to introduce you to an old schoolfriend, retired Major in the Scots Guards. He might be able to "explain" why you're wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

glad the parade was shite.
    Four Seasons Landscaping available next year.

IMG_1438.jpeg

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Bear in mind that the only reason Donald Trump is an American at all is because his grand-father skipped out on German National Service and wasn't allowed return to Germany and had his citizenship revoked after a few years on the run in the US..

If the concept of Service for Service sake existed in the Trump(Drumpf) DNA at all , Donald wouldn't be an American.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,232 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

That apprentice movie about donald Trump couldn't be any gayer 😀😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,204 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,549 ✭✭✭techdiver

I am constantly dumbfounded by this. How can he stand up there as a draft dodging coward from a long line of draft dodging cowards and be taken seriously? The mentality of the American (Republican voter) public just confuses me. It's ideology and hatred over common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,102 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Then don't hold a parade. Trump called for this parade. Did nobody think to ask if the military could actually do the job they were being asked to do? It could have been a series of events like the ones at NFL matches (flyovers, etc), but he demanded a parade. And the military failed to deliver. Are you telling me that an army unit cannot be trained in 3 months to march in time?

There seems to be no issue with giving them special training to deal with law enforcement and crowd control, but to get ready for a parade? There are sports clubs and scouts that do a better job on St Patrick's Day.

It was a humiliation. And you know how everyone knows it is seen as a humiliation, apart from the evidence in front of their eyes? Trump has hardly mentioned it. We all know that had this been amazing, he would have been all over Twitter and Truth Social, and his sycophants would have been out telling us that the military is 100% behind their commander in chief and no way they would do that for Sleepy Joe or that evil socialist Kamala

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,581 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

He's not wrong: it's a powerful image. Everyone sitting near him has their head turned or stretched as far away as possible in order to try and escape the stench of his diaper.