Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 14/08/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭prunudo

Nothing says being afraid of organised crime gangs like going to the media and they print your name, your husbands name, where you live and where you work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭enricoh

A bnb owner explains the offer he got for his 6 bedrooms, unreal figures 62k a month for accommodation alone. Very telling question at the end from him- where does it end? It ends in tears when the corporation tax that is being squandered dries up, it's a case of when not if nowadays.

Mod Edit: Warned for ignoring mod instructions regarding anecdotes - yes this also applies to random unverifiable twitter/X accounts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭_Quilombero_

It's common knowledge that the IP system is being abused. 80% of applicants shouldn't be entering the system. It's expected that when the EU migration pact begins, that this amount of applicants will enter the pre-deportation process.

The suggestion that such trends should be accepted as a trade-off for being able to go on a holiday or Erasmus year, or work within the EU - and the idea that you're a hypocrite unless you're in favour of banning air travel - has to be one of the most unreasonable things stated on this thread.

It's very difficult to take this kind of post seriously and it just goes to show what the open borders mentality is like.

Post edited by _Quilombero_ on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭prunudo

I see the department have pulled the offer to use the Shalom nursing home in Kilcock. More and more communities are standing up to the government and aren't afraid to speak out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Emblematic

I think you may have missed the point of the post to which you are responding. The poster wasn't wondering why people come to Ireland to escape poverty. It is very understandable that someone from a poor country would want to travel to a rich one.

The point, as I understand it, was that they can't be credibly seeking refuge from persecution or war if they travel through multiple countries that are safe, the implication being that these are probably economic migrants rather than genuine asylum seekers.

What about countries that have very few IPAS ye

@ArthurDayne wrote: "That doesn't mean you have to accept immigration — not at all — it just means you have to accept that you're part of the reason it exists. What you do with that reality is entirely up to you, but it's worth pondering now and again when people blame everyone but themselves for the fact immigration happens."

Of course migration is partly due to freely available fast and convenient travel options. That is why we are supposed to have checks at borders to make sure those entering the country are authorised. Hard to know what your point is here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭tom23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,536 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Chief Superintendent Aidan Minnock, the Head of GNIB, states that "the vast majority" of AS are actually economic migrants.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2024/1230/1488432-migrant-gnib/

It surprises me that when the key Garda at the heart of the process confirms that "the vast majority" of AS are bogus, people in SF, SocDems, Green Party, etc. continue to speak and act as if all AS are genuine.

I also can't understand that as "the vast majority" of the 180,000 AS who have applied over the last twenty years are not genuine, then why or how are they still here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭michael-henry-mcivor

Millions of Irish have went abroad- to escape Hunger- to look work- to serve with the brit army in India Africa etc-

Irish bars in most countries in the world-

Is it any wonder the foreign want to come here- we went there first-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

Is that your quick-witted reply- or are U still thinking of one-?-

Mod - warned for uncivil post

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

Irish bars all around the world so just suck up the unsustainable numbers coming here. There’s Italian restaurants all around the world too. By the same logic they should be going to Italy

What has Irish bars got to do with immigration,explain in detail if u can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Grand. Tell me where I said anything was an acceptable trade off. You won't be able to, because I didn't say it.

As for calling people hypocrites for not wanting to ban air travel — I specifically said I also think immigration has been too high, but I also enjoy international travel. So I don't think it's hypocritical and I'm not sure how I can be any clearer.

But again, going back to the actual point I made, is that the world being more open than ever before is largely a creation of things we want, things we demand and things we avail of as regards the safe and easy ability to traverse the planet. The Right enjoys these things and avails of things just as much as the Left does — and so the Right is actually also in favour of a certain degree of relative openness of borders.

So no, it is not hypocritical to oppose immigration but also want to travel. What is hypocritical, is blaming the Left exclusively for the creation of a relatively open world — an openness which has beyond debate made international migration easier — when the Right is also in favour of that world.

That doesn't mean that the Right and Left don't differ over what you actually do with migrants when they arrive in your country — it just means that the Right doesn't tend to seriously oppose the things that allowed those migrants to get there in the first place. So they too have to be willing to accept their own moral responsibility too.

Post edited by ArthurDayne on

Why are you saying you don't understand what my point is when your post is literally making a similar point?

"Of course migration is partly due to freely available fast and convenient travel options"

Exactly. We live in world where everyone, Left or Right, is largely in favour of and supports the continued ability to be able to travel globally easily. And as you yourself have alluded to — this is something which helps to drive migration.

So the Right cannot shirk its moral responsibility for the fact that it too wants to maintain the relative freedom and ease of global movement that allows migrants to actually move around and become a "problem". But rather than accept this, and develop a conversation as to what the realistic future is for how we tackle some of the problems caused by migration in a sustainable way that strikes a balance between our desire for ease and freedom of movement — I'm probably just going to have more words shoved in my mouth by posters on here who simply cannot fathom any notion that the problems of migration can't simply be wholly blamed on others.

Italy is full of immigrants to-

Do U think they just come to Ireland-?-

Irish went abroad first- and love putting roots down in others countries-

Not so good when those chickens come home to roost-

You mentioned Irish bars,what has this thread got to do with Irish bars?btw you should try to stay on topic, this thread is not about Irish emigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,759 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

It's not about Australia or Denmark either but they are frequently and readily discussed .Think the op leaves it so that anything that affects Immigration to Ireland can be discussed , correct me if wrong ?

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

You would have a point if ease of modern travel was the only enabling factor. For example, if there was no such thing as border control then you could argue what I believe you are arguing, that we have have to accept a certain amount of unwanted migration in return for the ease and affordability of modern travel. The right are hypocritical because they want one without the other…etc.

This is obviously not true as you yourself have acknowledged. There are many ways to control inward migration without rolling back on travel improvements over the years and many countries exercise this control effectively today. But were it true, you would have a point.

Since it is not true however, you don't have a point, I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,759 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

But he does have a point ..Ireland is not Australia for example . Visas , strict border control , detention centres .

I know many would like that here but with that you lose other benefits like free movement within EU or CTA.

That ...is what was being discussed , not just holidays , but reductivism from other posts tried to make it so that was what was being discussed by the poster, not the well reasoned argument that was initially expressed .

It's very tiresome how that is the way every .single . point . has to be refuted here .

It does no credit to anyone here to bring the discussion down to such a low level that nobody can say anything in favour of immigration without being barracked and told that their opinions or thoughts are not relevant or in any way credible .

Of course there is truth in both your statement and in Arthur's.

Whether you agree with his premise or not you should not try to discredit another poster like that saying they " don't have a point " .

Post edited by Goldengirl on

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

I don't quite understand. At no point have I said ease of travel is the only enabling factor. But it is an enabling factor nonetheless and it's a bloody hugely significant one. There is literally no reasonable argument against this proposition — none. And even if there was the slightest argument being made against the ease and accessible availability of global travel being a principal significant contributing factor to migration, the Covid travel restrictions utterly pulled the rug from under that.

So I'm not sure it's a case that I "dont have a point" any more so than it's a case that you really, really just don't want to concede that if you are OK with readily available access to international travel then (whether you agree with levels of immigration or not) you at least have to accept some "blame" for the fact that migration is easier now than it was before. That's not to say you have to accept immigration levels, or that you're a hypocrite for not liking it, but you at least have to accept some accountability for it.

I mean, could I even get you to accept a wee tiny smidgen of responsibility? The tiniest little piece? Or is it actually the case that you believe that when it comes to immigration you are wholly, totally, unavoidably, completely, invariably entirely not responsible whatsoever in any moral way for immigration levels? Really? There is "no point" there at all?

Personally speaking, I would tend to believe that any person who cannot accept the failures and negative outcomes of their own beliefs and desires hasn't actually thought about them in any great depth . .

Sure, but in the case of Australia, it is important to remember that for the ordinary Australian, their border policy does not affect their ability to travel in and out of Australia freely. They just need to show their passport when entering the country and they're in. Similarly those with a valid visa can enter the country without hindrance once they present their visa and passport.

I suppose what I should have said is that you don't have a relevant point. Since neither you nor anyone else is suggesting changing the nature of modern travel, rolling it back to a time when it was less convenient or affordable, it is simply irrelevant to the discussion.

If you feel it is relevant, please explain how cheap and convenient air travel pertains to Ireland's immigration policy. How should policy makers take it into account when designing a system that works to the benefit of Ireland? Are they failing to do so at present? In what way, etc?

This, after all, is the subject of discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭creeper1

Well in Europe in recent years they have sacrificed easy and frictionless travel within Schengen to deal with illegal immigrants.

The Germans and others put up border checks.

So when given the choice of easy travel vs mass immigration they prioritise their borders.

(As they should)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

Chickens coming home to roost is an interesting phrase to use. Sounds like you’re the one who thinks immigration to Ireland is bad

on your point about Irish bars first of all not all Irish bars are owned by Irish people. Secondly for the Irish bars that are owned by Irish people that means that those Irish people who immigrated have set up businesses and contributed to the local economy. If they own a bar it’s safe to say they’re not supported by the country they’re in. I don’t think Irish abroad are as a group are costing any country billions of taxpayer money in supports

The Irish bar all over the world chickens coming home to roost point is not the gotcha you think it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

By that logic so how about chinese and Indian takeaways.

Flood these countries with various people and different cultures so.

Lots of turks own barbers and chippers.

Pretty sure the irish had to stand on their own 2 feet or starve in yesteryears of immigration

Irish foreign bars across the world is not a gotcha- its just a fact of life-

Irish have been to African India etc in their thousands before Africa India etc came to Ireland-

Nothing wrong with the Irish going abroad-

But some hate abroad coming to Ireland-

Just to follow on from a point made by another poster, you seem to regard immigration into Ireland as some sort of "pay back" rather than as a benefit to the country. "Chickens coming home to roost" was the phrase I think you used. Would that be a correct assessment of your position?