Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Nedflanders02

I think there are lots of positives to be taken from yesterday. The first 20 minutes were dour enough and our poor shooting kept Galway in the game, from the 20th minute on we found our feet and started to play some good hurling in patches. Our defense looked solid through out but for that shaky period near the end but never looked like conceding a goal and we were always able to get a score when Galway brought it back to 3/4 points. For me there was 2 standout moments for us yesterday, the first being when Galway got the goal and a couple of points to get it back to 4 points TJ came from behind 2/3 Galway defenders to catch a puck out, laid it off to Mullen for a brilliant point. The second, Galway in search of a goal, dropped a ball on the square Huw came out, caught it and drove up the pitch before handing it off to Billy Ryan for another brilliant point. 2 great leaders standing up when they were needed most and 2 quality finishes from Mullen and Ryan. I was very happy with how the midfield went yesterday too Kenny and Molloy got through an awful amount of work and when they get the ball in hand they are always looking up to pick out one of the forwards. It was good to get another full game into Mullen and he is slowly getting his sharpness back and played well yesterday. Mossy and Billy carried on their good form and the confidence and directness they are bringing is unsettling for the opposition defense. Huw was deservedly MOTM and I think he is the best full back in the country, he allows our half backs and corner backs to be aggressive as they know they do not need to worry about giving him protection. It's hard to say anything about TJ that hasn't already been said but what a man he is to be still going and affecting big games at his age! He is one of, if not our best ever players and it's a privilege to be able to go watch him! We should enjoy him when we can, because when he's gone we might never see one as good as him. There's still a lot that will need to be worked on but we are where we wanted to be at the start of the Leinster championship and if we can get everyone fit and firing will be a match for anyone, we will be underdogs going in against, more than likely, Limerick but we won't fear them and on our day are a match for anyone.

Also, congratulations to Brian Dowling and his back room team on their win yesterday. They had Kildare set up really really well and were by far the better team yesterday, it's good to see a new team come up to Liam McCarthy level and there is massive scope for developing hurling in Kildare. On Brian's backroom team, are there any other Kilkenny people involved with him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Richie Ruth is involved he's a teacher in Kieran's but he's a Tipp man, very good coach by all accounts. Not sure if he has any Kilkenny people involved. Great achievement for him and you'd wonder how the County Board overlooked him for the underage jobs. No doubt he'll stay with Kildare now so probably an opportunity lost.

Well done to the lads yesterday, we did what we had to do. An absolutely vital result in terms of getting a feel good factor back. Shudder to think the sheer depression had we lost that game. TJ is obviously slowing down but he was excellent yesterday and had some of the biggest plays of the game. His fielding is still absolutely off the charts, still wins balls he has no right to. Huw is just a beast of a hurler, he has everything. Fair play to the 2 boys midfield, and well done to Billy and Mossy for keeping the form going. Mossy's goals looked easy but plenty lads wouldn't have been in there, he's a huge player for Kilkenny. Great to see Adrian Mullen get another game under the belt and he was as elusive as ever. Savage striker off both sides, he'll only get better.

We have 4 weeks now to get the injuries right and have real strength in depth for the first time in a long time, and not just having veterans coming off the bench like last few years. What odds on a Tipp/Kilkenny final? I wouldn't rule it out.

Minors next Saturday is another big game for the county. Big test and unfortunately a terrible venue and time, but hopefully the genuine supporters will still travel. If these boys can win an All Ireland before we head to Croke Park to take on Limerick, the depression after last weekends 20 match will be well and truly in the rear view mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,720 ✭✭✭me89

Why pick Wexford Park of all places, toss for home and away and get a crowd at the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Village87

Kilkenny Minors, the only comment i have said about the Minors is that i believe they are the best minor team we produced in 20 years. I fully believe they will win a badly needed All Ireland.

I did a small exercise to see the average age of both Limerick and Kilkenny teams that started the weekend taking into consideration each players age during 2025. It worked out that exactly 28.5 years old for both. The age dynamic would really highlight that both teams are in there absolute peak age at present. Limerick are in a really good position after being tested in every match. Kilkenny have strolled through a weak Leinster, the decline of Galway and Wexford is doing no favours to Kilkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

That's a surprise. Would have thought kk would be younger on average. Then again, a lot of the limerick lads who have so much hurling played are only 28 /29.

Wonder will there be changes in the backs. Shane Murphy has to be considered for the full back line. Butler wasn't very prominent on Sunday but he'll definitely play. Tommy Walsh had a few tricky moments at the start with Kevin Cooney but seemed to do OK afterwards. Would be harsh to drop anyone but management have to consider the opposition next day. Limerick more than likely.

People are doubting limerick and they're not blowing teams away like previously but they still have great hurlers and more strength in depth than kilkenny. The question is, are the legs failing some of them like Byrnes and wod. Byrnes has been the weak link in their backline lately and Billy Ryan will be fancying his chances of talking him around croke park. Stíll, though I'd never write off that man. He's a big game player and could hurl all before him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,104 ✭✭✭kksaints

If you take out the oldest player for each side what's the average age out of curiosity? I'm wondering if TJ is something of an outlier as he's probably one of the oldest active players atm.

I was surprised that KK older than i thought, Murphy 35, Lawlor 29, Reid 32, Deegan 30, TJ 38, Ryan 29, Walsh 27, Carey and Molloy 26, John Donn 27, Mossy 27. Cian Kenny the youngest at 24 that is the scary stat

Daly made a good point. The teams that go 15 v 15 are the only teams that have success v Limerick. Cork and Clare to certain degree have proved this. If Kilkenny play with Reid as a sweeper and Adrian Mullen deep will only be inviting trouble on. Kilkenny's best chance is is go straight for juggler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭conor05

Agree with this, you’re also giving Cian Lynch a chance to dictate the game by playing a loose sweeping 6.

Lynch destroyed us in the second half of 23 Al final.

Cork also push up on Limericks puck outs and don’t allow them to build from the back which is the style Kinnerk likes the most.

I do think Billy Ryan and Mullen on the wings can seriously hurt Limerick this time round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭jonniegoogle

Is that not what KK did when playing Limerick in the All Ireland? ? I would have thought the opposite as we all (including me) blamed Cody's style of man on man as crazy and we needed to try to keep our shape but as Daly said Cork and Clare have had great joy going at them.

Was the great man right after all??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭conor05

Kilkenny would have won that match except Hegarty got the freedom of the pitch in the 23 All Ireland final, if we had anyone at all on him we would have won it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭blackcard

Comparing Kilkenny 2025 with Kilkenny 2022 to 2024

Eoin Murphy possibly slightly weaker as a shot stopper, possibly slightly better on puckouts

Mikey Butler better than 2023 and 2024, not as good as 2022

Huw Lawlor playing better than ever

Tommy Walsh still struggles, Shane Murphy might be an improvement if he is picked.

Blanch was very good in 2023 and 2024, less so now. Need him back in form.

Reid same from 2022 to 2025

Carey similar

Midfield seems to be an improvement, but huge physical challenge against Limerick.

Mullen struggled in 2024, signs of regaining 2022 to 2023 form

Donnelly has not regained 2024 form yet, still works hard

Billy Ryan's best season 2025

Mossy best season 2025

TJ slowly declining but still important

Eoin Cody, not back to previous years

Subs Stephen Donnelly, Luke Hogan, Mackessy, Deegan/Blanch, Walsh/Shane Murphy gives us better options than previous years.

Tactics. Hard to say there is much improvement

Overall we are probably of a similar standard to 2022 to 2025 which wasn't good enough. Maybe Limerick have slipped slightly from 2023 but they are odds on to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭biglad40isback

it only works sometimes. And is high risk. You might get beat by 16 or win on pens. Clare beat limerick once or twice but limerick also beat clare way more times in finals.

Correct with the sweeper as Waterford have played sweeper against limerick since 2018 and got hammered mercilessly.

Also everyone expecting limerick and talking about limerick in the semi. Limerick have to get there first. Dublin beat them in 2015 in a qtr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Dublin absolutely will not beat limerick, I'm totally confident in writing them off. If they keep the deficit to single digits against limerick I will be surprised. Would love love love to be wrong for so many reasons, but I won't be.

Just listening back to Andy comerford interview on the kilkenny community radio station. Who's the guy interviewing him? Seems a bit of a yes man. Just agreed with everything Andy said.

Andy very bullish about kilkenny. Nothing wrong with that I suppose. Positive attitude and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭KK36

Andy is very passionate and doesn't really care what anyone thinks of what he says. That's a good chat they have with him every Monday. I always like listening to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 amber_black

Players meet and greet this evening with fans and U14 matches on. I find this hilarious.

He definitely says what he thinks and doesn't pull any punches.

They have made an absolute balls of the open session, no crowd control, kids getting squashed, a disgrace from the county board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Rega

I wasn't at it but my wife brought our son and said it was horrific. Not enough stewards, no organisation and kids being squashed, feeling really uncomfortable. She got separated from our son during a surge. He ended up on the pitch while she was left in the stand when a gate was closed in her face. The ignorant pr*cks wouldn't let her on so she had to shout at him to stay where she could see him. It was a farce. They were lucky than nobody was seriously hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭JohnCougar

Yes the open session was very badly organised and a lot of parents were very worried about their children in the pushing and shoving at times. We were lucky our son is 13 and was old enough to look after himself. Very disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭jamesbond2022

The organisation around nowlan park this year in and around matches etc has been poor gates locked after games no stewards around in certain areas there’s a general air of people don’t know what there doing which is strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭KK36

Remember, the stewards are all volunteers.

Is the problem a lack of stewards or just bad organisation of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭JohnCougar

Trains from Cork and Limerick to Dublin on All-Ireland hurling final day have already sold out according to social media reports from the Hogan Stand magazine. Great to have that article pinned to the wall in the dressing room for the next month.

Just The same old lads getting the free tickets and not trained to deal with the crowds, not there fault I suppose if they're not trained properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Not knocking volunteers at all I think it’s training and proper procedures being put in place and that comes from the top down

Just something I noticed this year is all

The u20 round robin game against Dublin for example no signage or information that entry was only via the old stand side loads of people trying to go in paddy grace stand side and no one there to direct people to the other side

One gate left open for everyone to exit after a few league games this year

Only small things but how you do anything is how you do everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭biglad40isback

The cork and limerick railway lines are busy lines anyway. Probably busiest in country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Pablo Escobar

This is totally understandable. You book now and can cancel them if they don’t make it. Every other form of transport will be impossible too which leaves just the car. This means both sets of fans, should they make it, trying to get through the Portlaoise toll booth at the same time which was a disaster last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Rochelle

You'd like to think the Lyng setup is more sophisticated than needing bullshit articles from Hogan Stand to motivate them.

The Clare team of the Loughnane era, who were the masters of the persecution complex, wouldn't try to latch onto something that irrelevant.