Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ballymena Riots **Mod Warning in OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

Why would AGS go and operate outside of the jurisdiction?

Can you even imagine Guards going into that area? What would happen to them? Jesus wept

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,249 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

They've asked for additional policing support from London. Beyond that, I do not expect Westminster to get seriously involved.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I don't think Drew or whomever it's job is to decide these things will be sending any members of AGS to Ballymena.

And I don't think the PSNI would be looking in their direction for help anyway.

As for the riots themselves.

Ballymena and places like Larne are what would be described as "Orange Holes"

It's no surprise that their knuckle dragging residents are up to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,189 ✭✭✭prunudo

I didn't have SF asking Westminster for British Police to control loyalist rioting in my 2025 bingo card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,098 ✭✭✭StevenToast

RTE are desperate not to discuss the root cause of these riots....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Subscribers Posts: 43,326 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Really?

https://www.rte.ie/news/ulster/2025/0610/1517590-psni-disorder/

Police said the violence happened after a protest in Ballymena town centre linked to an alleged sexual assault.

Two teenagers appeared in court charged with attempted rape.

Police said some masked individuals peeled away from the vigil and began to build barricades and attack properties.

Those attacks are being investigated as "racially motivated hate crimes".

Or:

https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/0611/1517932-podcast-ballymena/

The unrest has come following protests on Monday night linked to an alleged sexual assault.

Two teenagers have since appeared in court charged with attempted rape, while on the streets cars have been set on fire, houses have been targeted, and water cannons have been deployed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,245 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Never in the history of Boards has someone said "RTE not covering/discussing it" and not been a total liar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,098 ✭✭✭StevenToast

We were informed that the shooting in Kildare recently was carried out by a White Irishman....

In Britain, Police were at pains to tell us the suspect that drove into crowds in Liverpool was white and British...

Will the PSNI be informing the public of the nationalities and colour of those suspected of carrying out this sexual assault on a girl?

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,007 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Its already known they were Romanian.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,249 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Why do you keep pushing this silly narrative? They're Romanian.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭JVince

EU citizens with free movement within the EU just as the bigoted uneducated types in Northern Ireland (and the Republic) have.

But its par for the course in Northern Ireland and one of the key reasons that people in the Rep[public will never vote for Northern Ireland to join the Republic.

Let's be honest, these types of towns don't like foreigners. Outsiders. They like being around their own kind.

Plus, those rioting wouldn't be the brightest of society. I mean, burn out your own leisure centre, yeah that's clever. I listened to the Nolan Show on Radio Ulster this morning as I knew they'd be a good chance of hearing those justifying it. And there they were, openly racist and misinformed. Social media curse strikes again, with thick people believing everything they read online as fact.

I'd expect the violence to continue for another couple of nights at least. Sure it's a bit of craic for most of them.

And they are rioting in Coleraine too. Why exactly? Cos they are thick too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Let's be honest, these types of towns don't like foreigners. Outsiders. They like being around their own kind.

Exactly , it's no surprise to hear what towns this is happening in.

Orange holes as I said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭crusd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭Acosta

Why wouldn't police anywhere do what they can to stop people from rioting or worse? It's not their fault that people decide whether or not to care about a henius crime, based on the nationality of the alleged suspect or suspects, or the colour of their skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭harryharry25

Exactly when this all blows over in a few days, the same group of scum in these loyalist kips will be back to targeting Catholic homes (just as they did a few weeks back in Antrim)

It's the summer, the politicians for these areas have done nothing to the youth so they have nothing better to do than recreational rioting when the summer comes around

Compare it to West Belfast and in and around the Falls, they have events on all summer for youth, major concerts on nearly every week from now until end August and the Feile in a few weeks. We see very little recreational rioting here anymore

Unionism has no culture. No songs, no art, no music, no films or anything. Just a group of lads who make a nuisance of themselves every July wearing ridiculous sashes named after a man who's family came from Catholic France of all places. We're not dealing with men of wit and learning here.

I lived in Coleraine for a while and yes, it's a tip. Portstewart is quite nice and Portrush is basically the Blackpool of Northern Ireland. Never been to Ballymena so I know nothing about the place. I did learn that anywhere you see loads of Union flegs, you were somewhere that you'd be better off avoiding. Similar to seeing loads of St. George's Crosses in mainland Britain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭baldbear

Racism?

If it was a local man would there be the same reaction? Honest question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,510 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

It seems it was a social media post from Gordon Lyons that brought "heat" to Larne

They also follow the logic of "2 Romanians sexually assaulted a girl, so ALL Romanians bad and must be chased out".

Imagine if that logic was carried for every crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

A white man commits a crime, he's scum.

A foreign man commits a crime, all foreigners are scum.

Seems to be the logic these types of people follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,405 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Loyalists view any changes in their areas as eroding their 'culture and identity ' so it's not surprise some are using the attack on the girl as an excuse for their behaviour. Most couldn't care less about the victim who suffered a terrible ordeal no doubt ,if the perpetrators were local Loyalists there wouldn't be anything like the reaction there is now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Importing scum makes life worse for legitimate migrants that work, pay taxes, don’t commit crimes or drain social services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,378 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

You would imagine the majority if not all are thugs looking for an excuse to cause trouble.

Capitol hill riot, black lives matter.

Scumbags latching onto a cause to justify violence on innocent people.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,687 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

It's a racist attempted pogrom, without question, and the people involved care not a jot about justice for the victim of the horrendous alleged crime in question. At best, the people involved are deeply ignorant and opportunistically using this as an excuse for some chaos. At worst, it's some of the most overt racist violence we've seen on this island in a long time.

The premise of entire ethnic or minority groups being violently punished or driven out of communities for individuals' crimes - no matter how horrendous - is straight out of some of the darkest chapters of history. And some of the imagery out of Ballymena this week - such as marking homes of the 'right' and 'wrong' locals - is eerily reminiscent of some of those chapters.

There's a quote from The Journal doing the rounds this morning which is scarcely belivable. A NORTHERN IRELAND resident wishing the area was "once again be what it was in the 1970s". Northern Ireland - famously peaceful and safe in the 1970s. It's impossible to even comprehend that level of deeply-rooted ignorance and delusion.

As ever, there's a deep irony in people claiming to be in favour of making feel safe in their communities while burning out homes and destroying valuable community centres.

I think @StevenToast meant the media aren't saying the alleged rapists are Romanian boys, we are taking it they are from a Romanian interpretator was needed , I think in these days over misinformation releasing the correct information in the media would be better as lots of speculation

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,261 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod: A mod warning has been added to the OP, copied here for ease of reference:

Please note this thread is just for discussion of the riots. The case of the boys accused of attempted rape is now before the courts and therefore can't be discussed as per Board's Terms of Use.

Please stop all the whataboutery of other cases too, I'll clean up the thread but warnings will be issued if this continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭dinorebel

This can be easily summed up as scum scumming.

So true

Look at Paris recently. PsG win the CL and fans take to the streets to celebrate.

Except they are joined by thousands of others who see it as an excuse to cause mayhem and loot.

2 dead, hundreds injured, businesses gutted. But sure it was a great night's craic.