Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Switch 2 Thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,906 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

Have ye paid for the BOTW/TOTK upgrades?

I'm on the fence about getting the new switch cause of the battery life and the inevitable upgrade.

Also…. is the new Pro controller much different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,501 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Can't find a pro controller anywhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,601 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Been absolutely hooked on No Man's Sky. I put about 30-40 hours into it a few years back but there's something really lovely about having it on a handheld. It's on special at the moment for 20 euro.

It was running like dog shite on the Switch but there's been a free update for the Switch 2 that has it running properly. Looks absolutely gorgeous.

One one those games I sit down to play for 5 minutes in the middle of day, look up and it's 1am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Hello Games really went the extra 1000 miles or light years to get No Man's Sky to where it's at today. Sean Murray, the founder and MD is Irish. So, an Irish gaming dev success story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I've no reason to get Switch 2 at the moment.

But very envious of those people who get to play BOTW and TOTK for the first time. And at 60 FPS and much higher resolution.

Hands down, my favourite games of all time. BOTW is simpler and purer. Also it has a Macaw that plays quite moving accordion. So it pips TOTK for me.

1000010263.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭LauraW7746

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

Not Nintendo's fault but I am now left with Sophie's Choice in terms of choosing either HDR or 5.1 surround with the Switch 2. My surround system is showing its age and doesn't have pass through for HDR and the TV doesn't decode Linear PCM for sending 5.1 back to it. So, need to decide whether I'll enjoy the better picture or sound (or use it as an excuse to upgrade the surround system!)

Master of the Universe

I love a good sound system myself but was never really that bothered with them and videogames. After the initial 'wow, that sounds amazing!' I don't think it necessarily adds enough to warrant running it through a surround sound system instead of full HDR visuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭wassie

You could put a HDMI audio extractor between the switch and the TV (if I am understanding the problem correctly) so you could get both?

I had one for an older system. But didnt last long as I wanted Atmos so ended up down the upgrade route afterall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

Cheers. Hadn't thought that would be an option but will looks like it might actually be the solution for me.

Anyways, back on topic. Loving the new Mario Kart and very impressed with the Switch 2 unit in general. The new joycons are a big improvement too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,458 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Switch 2 still in my girlfriends friend's house. I don't think she realizes that this is like denying Christmas to a child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,273 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

I'm enjoying the "clunk" of the controller connecting to the magnets when you connect them way more than I should.

Master of the Universe

I was sitting at home playing No Mans Sky. Saw my sister logged on to it too so thought I'd see if I could send her a multiplayer invite - it worked! Just hear a 'hello???' over the console. Didn't have to do any configuring, worked straight away.

Spent an hour zooming around space exploring planets and shooting up some stuff. Great fun! Really very surprised how seamless it all was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,592 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Folks is there a way to turn off the auto play on the eshop when you're browsing the store?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Almost as good as bubble wrap. Like a cat:

Buy basket/bed thing for cat - "They will love this. Better love it, for the price!"

Take out and air basket/bed thing.

Cat ignores basket/bed thing and is obsessed with box…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Agreed. I have a Sonos Arc and satellite speakers setup at home. Playing Breath Of The Wild at the moment. Forgot about the rear speakers really until I was playing with my cat as she was on fish tank. Rear speaker near. Heard the wildlife through the speakers but really, had forgotten I was using them.

I would say TV is definitely more important than speakers. Especially for the "bang for your buck" difference. You can pay thousands for a really good 5.1 setup but a LOT less for a great TV

Edit: Fixed VERY unfortunate typo….. :)

Post edited by TheIrishGrover on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,273 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

They have a few really annoying things.

Auto-play on the store. Want to see this game? Here is a video so you can't.

Returning to the main screen after each game card is loaded. Want to install lots of your old games? We will return you to the main screen after every individual "game card is loaded," so it is really annoying.

Choosing your profile every time you do anything. Want to play a game? Which Profile are you on again? Want to look in the store? Which Profile are you on again? Want to see your old games? Which Profile are you on again? Want to change a setting? Which Profile are you on again?

The back falls of the Dock. Want to move the cable slightly? We made the back fall off, so you have to pick it up and reattach it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Agreed on the auto-playing on the e-shop - now that it's actually fast to use, the auto-play is incredibly annoying so hopefully they introduce a setting to turn that off. Can't say I noticed the dock issue myself but I'm only moving it slightly when taking the Switch out which isn't that often.

Master of the Universe

The returning to the main screen is really annoying alright. When I was transferring my old games over there wasn't enough space, so I wanted to delete quite a few of them. Brings you back to the main screen every time you delete a game. Makes the process quite tedious.

I prefer the OLED dock too, was easier to dock your console. This new one feels a bit more fiddly. Might be down to the console itself being substantially bigger.

On positive notes, I do quite like the auto play on the eshop videos 😅 really makes it feel like a premium product with them all running so smoothly.

Very happy with the battery life and console temperature too. I thought it would be running really hot in handheld mode with fans whirring like mad playing No Man's Sky but has remained cool and silent throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,397 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

5.1 in any kind of first person open world game is great. Even in Mario kart it was nice to be able to hear that damn blue shell coming up behind me 😂

On that note, really disappointed Nintendo didn't add Dolby or DTS support. It really does feel like switch 1.5 rather than a true successor, that said I don't mind too much as I had the original switch with the fairly poor screen that I had managed to scratch too so hated using it handheld.

Folks am I missing something obvious with the e-shop - is it not possible to buy more than 1 game at a time?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,529 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

Been playing a good bit of Cyberpunk on my Switch 2 however I ran into a problem yesterday. Everything was grand and suddenly near the end of Act 1 when your escaping the building with a few guys to kill, extreme slowdown suddenly kicked in and I started seeing triangles like as if the system overheated very quickly. I quickly exited the game and a minute later loaded it back up and everything's been fine ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,300 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Fairly sure it never was possible to buy more than 1 game at a time

Got my Zelda upgrades free with my NSO subscription

General advice from reviewers seems that it's worthy of a purchase unless you already have the one for the switch already. I got the GC controller which can be used to wake the console then just switcheroo them in the menu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,689 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Yep.. I've always wished they had a cart system.

Ok thanks. Thought it might have changed and I missed something.

The lack of a cart system is probably the only thing stopping me from blowing the monthly budget on games so long may it live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

I paid for the upgrades. I never really got into NSO, I don't play enough to warrant a monthly subscription.
    I've put enough hours into both I don't mind playing.
    I'm starting BOTW from fresh again. I'll play through that first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

There's an option to install multiple owned games at once. It's on the left hand side somewhere within the game card section. You don't have to do each one individually.

Picked up the official switch 2 case from Nintendo's online store for €24.99. Same price as Smyths but Smyths are out of stock according to their website

1:1 Avios points as well if anybody collects them