Richard Satchwell Found Guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Juran

Does anyone know what he said in court at the sentencing ? Irish Indo reporting that he told his barrister that he wanted to speak, but its behind a paywall, so cant see if he got to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Banjo Carney

Just said he's appealing and despite what was said in court Tina was a nice person. He didn't speak it was said through his barrister

https://archive.ph/rwB3W

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭Glaceon

I saw Wikipedia has a source for the "found something in the drain" story that was discussed at the time. Albeit a tabloid.

https://www.sundayworld.com/crime/irish-crime/tina-satchwell-suspect-must-be-charged-or-released-by-8pm-as-her-sister-pays-tribute/a990465792.html

The latest dramatic developments come days after workers trying to clear a blocked drain found suspicious material which was brought to the attention of authorities.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Yep when people mentioned it earlier in the thread I went searching too and this same article was the only one I could find that specifically mentioned the blocked drain aspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭tara73

this is the old thread, posts of the remains found and upgraded to murder start at page 16, post 455. circumstances were not clear in the beginning if remains were found in the garden of the neighbour but unisono info at the end were plumbers in the neighbouring house doing some work on drain pipes found suspicious material. maybe some links are not there anymore due to newspapers made them unavailable or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,134 ✭✭✭✭road_high

yes the blocked drainage story was very prominent at that time. Clearly that wasn’t true or related to the murder

how do you know it wasn't true? How else did the guards get a search warrant for the house of RS and dig up the living room? Hard to say these days what's true or not, can't even trust the guards stories I think. They searched the house but didn't detect the fresh poured roughly 1sqm, 1m deep concrete patch. Fresh concrete has a distinctive smell, stays for some weeks, especially in a damp, old house like this and there was his concrete mixer. They must have noticed it was used recently. Why did they not ask him what he's done and where the fresh concrete was placed and check on it.

Fishy altogether and that was my perception 2017, comes back actually that feeling.

He's a lorry driver and still had that job after Tina 'disappeared'? Who employed that shady figure and what goods did he deliver. Was never mentioned anywhere…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,859 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I listened to the old red fm interview last night , if I was a chief superintendent listening to that in my best chief wiggan accent I'd have said immediately "bring him in boys"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

It's my understanding that they rarely refer to a defendant as 'unemployed', as long as they have ever held a job.
    You worked 6 weeks as a barman, then unemployed for 10 years. The courts and by extension the media reporters will refer to you as a barman. Perhaps 'unemployed' is regarded as potentially negative for a defendant?
    It was similar with Josef Puska being referred to as a labourer, despite no indication that he had ever worked in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭pah

Drew Harris has ordered a review of the case for the policing authority. Hopefully that will shed light on things with facts and information rather than speculation and guessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭hold my beer

A cadaver dog should be absolute standard procedure in all searches for missing people. Hopefully it is from now on

that's good to hear. but if there are things covered up good chance they will still be covered up…also, who's doing the review? shouldn't be AGS themselves but an independent board.

memories coming back and I remember I was always thinking in 2017 with RS giving his interviews, he' s so confident and why is he giving all this interviews, he's risking saying sth. which could be revealing. He seemed so sure he can say anything he wants, he felt so safe..where's that coming from, it felt so wrong…unfortunately I can't repeat my theory here to this or I will be banned I guess.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

The Policing Authority. An independent organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭pah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,362 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

From the descriptions of the state of the house on every Garda visit subsequent to her death, it seems his depiction of himself as something between a domestic god and an indentured servant were, like everything else, complete and utter bullshìt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,471 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Seen on The Journal, related to this case and future similar ones - may have been a factor in why cadaver dog not used initially?

GARDA COMMISSIONER DREW Harris has said the force will look into acquiring a full-time cadaver dog in order to avoid being reliant on other police forces when searching for bodies.  Speaking to reporters at Garda Headquarters this morning, Harris was asked if the force would benefit from having a dog available to help search for bodies at all times. At the moment, An Garda Síochána makes use of a dog from the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI). 

https://www.thejournal.ie/gardai-to-consider-getting-their-own-cadaver-dog-to-search-for-bodies-6727694-Jun2025/

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I'd have thought that the main reason a cadaver dog was not used in the initial searches of the house were because budget to hire it from NI wasn't approved by management. That the budget wasn't approved would bring us back towards the view that the investigation team had found nothing (despite having pretty much the same evidence that Supt Twomey had available to her).

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,178 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

RTE version https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2025/0609/1517477-cadaver-dogs/

"He said while An Garda Síochána might consider one in the future, as it does not want to be reliant on others, but then other police services might then seek to rely on gardaí."

Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,471 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I read it to mean that if we have a cadaver dog, might have to loan out the dog to the UK, or other police services in EU? The PSNI might not replace theirs. Something like that.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Whatever about the cadaver dog, they took a laptop and a phone from the house in 2017 and if I understood the reports I read correctly nobody checked to see what was on either of them till the new team took over 4 years later.

Did the original team take Satchwell at his word that she walked out on him or why would they remove items from the house and not investigate them any further. Its seems pretty basic work wasn't carried out.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I had a similar understanding from the Crimeworld podcast that the items were taken and what was on the phone & laptops was looked at but they didn't take it one step further to then request his location data and search histories, for example. I can't recall if the email accounts were accessed originally or later to see emails sent such as the ones exchanged with the monkey sanctuary.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

That's kinda my point - it really does seem like the initial team didn't do very much by way of basic investigation so I suspect even if AGS owned a dozen cadaver dogs, they wouldn't have been brought to Youghal because at that point, AGS had nothing to suspect a body. It was only when Supt Twomey bothered looking into it that the realisation was she was still in the house.

But, at the same time as ignoring the laptop and visual clues in the house, why did they search Youghal harbour? Why did they do a dig at Castlemartyr?
    Honestly, why do all that when they hadn't bothered checking his laptop - had garda management been lied to about the investigation?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

It's difficult to understand their thinking. I must admit in the early stages I suspected she never got back home on the 19th after the car boot sale so I was hopeful during the wood search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,702 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I listened to an interview with Drew Harris where he himself was explaining away or justifying the catalogue of errors with all sorts of nonsense. I found it appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,702 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

We don't even have our own dog? Not one? That is so feckless it is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,885 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“explaining away or justifying the catalogue of errors”

That’s all I’ve ever seen him doing - An Garda Siochana have gone backwards since he joined, which is some fcking achievement given where they were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,859 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

This is another botched investigation , sat on their holes for 20 months then decided they'd knock on the door without a warrant and when turned away by the guy they're hunting for they hear two gunshots before they get back to the car

The deirdre Crawley abduction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,885 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

We can’t possibly have faith in something like the Sophie murder investigation with Bailey lead suspect when clearly Gardai are illustrating their incompetence time and time again in murder investigations - right up to the latest one in Kerry